Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Madison

, Madison, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Madison

Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Madison

3 star

Rooms: 158

1109 Fourier Drive - Madison - Wisconsin - 53717 - United States Hotel Website | | 6088260500
113 Traveller

Reviews - Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Madison

Historical Traveller Reviews of Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Madison

Great for the Price

from CRTravler7
Spent a Saturday night at this hotel and was very pleased. The water park is not huge but very nice and clean. Our room was fairly standard Holiday Inn and very clean also.

The front desk service was exceptional - very friendly and accomodating. We got room service and found it to be moderately priced very good and freshly made.

Only complaint is that the elevator can take a very long time to arrive.
Management Response from CPBadger
Thanks for the review! Hope you have a chance to return soon!

Very disappointed

from travelingteacher1010
The website for this hotel is deceiving. It looks "upper class" and fun for families. We were disappointed with the small, run-down water park. The room was clean but very noisy (we were pool-side but were told that noise would not be an issue). I contacted the front desk when the pool remained open (and LOUD) after the reported 10:00 closing time and was told that there was nothing they could do. I needed a crib and called 3 days in advance to reserve one, only to be told upon arrival that there were no cribs available!! That made for a sleepless night (besides the noisy pool!) Our phone was broken, the HBO was out and the restaurant is terrible! Kids do eat free there but adults are charged $10 for a small buffet!
I will visit Madison again but never again at this hotel!
Management Response from CPBadger
Thank you for the feedback. We truly hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again, we have a new team of management in place since your last stay and look forward to serving you again soon!

nice folks, really small rooms and pool

from FPNC3
My wife and I brought our two boys (6 and 3 years old) to the Holiday Inn Madison West “water park” Hotel for a two-night, mid-week stay between Christmas and New Years.

Pluses:
1.The lobby area is nice- gas fireplace, player piano, and large (but never open) bar.
2.The staff is very friendly. Particular kudos to the lifeguards, who not only keep the many small children in the pool area safe, but also welcome guests and occasionally give children swimming pointers.
3.As the hotel obviously caters to families with small children, the pool is very safe and child friendly.

Minuses:
1.The “water park” is extraordinarily small. The hotel bills itself as Madison’s only water park hotel. This is somewhat misleading, as the “water park” consists of one really slow 35-foot long slide and a very non-interactive boat for small children. Otherwise, this is little more than a typical hotel indoor pool.
2.The pool deck is way too small and there are not nearly enough tables to go around.
3.The pool is open to the public. Since we went while school was out (as presumably most families with children would need to do), we shared the pool with two busloads of kids from area daycare centers and a child’s birthday party. I suppose this wouldn’t be big deal, if the pool area weren’t so small.
4.It was freezing in the pool area, both water and air.
5.The restrooms/changing areas in the pool area consist of one toilet in the men’s room and one-toilet in the women’s room. Both were disgusting. We felt sorry for anyone who had to change clothes in either of them.
6.The rooms by comparison made the pool area seem outright spacious. We stayed in a suite, which included a king-sized bed and a partitioned (i.e., partial-walled) bunk bed area for the kids. The king-sized bed ate up most of the floor area, leaving precious little room to walk around. The bunk-bed frames were metal and rattled every time the boys moved. As a result, our 3-year old was unable to sleep until we dragged his mattress to the floor near the bathroom. The downside was that we were stepping all over each other. The upside is that our boys enjoyed seeing if they could make it from one end of the room to the other without ever touching the floor…
7.The rooms have a microwave and mini-refrigerator, both of which worked fine. Unfortunately, there is no room for a table and thus you cannot sit down to eat. Six- and three-year olds with pizza, cereal, donuts, juice and milk on the bed. Does anyone see a potential problem there? Apparently the hotel management does not.
8.There is no tub in the bathroom, only a shower. My three-year old son only takes baths.
9.There is a small arcade in the pool area. Unfortunately most of the games are either broken or labeled as being too violent for small children (i.e. war games, Land of the Dead, etc). I’m not sure why they would place these kinds of videogames in an area obviously geared towards young children. It is probably to placate older kids who would be bored to tears by the pool.
10.The hotel location is not great. While easily reached from the highway, the hotel is located in a business district and everything is a drive to get to. This is not entirely bad, as the frequent drives offer welcome relief from the claustrophobic conditions at the hotel.

Summary: Madison is a wonderful city to visit. Nice parks, cool campus area, impressive State capital, and - coming soon - a newly expanded Henry Vilas Zoo. The Holiday Inn Madison West may be an acceptable place from which to briefly base your exploration of the city; however, if you are a fan of water parks or personal space, this is not the hotel for you. Next time, we will drive the extra few miles to the Dells and stop off in Madison for the afternoon on the way back home.

Great All Around Place to Stay!

from OU8MINE
We spent two nights at the Holiday Inn and Suites for a family wedding trip. The reception was at the hotel. I travel a lot for work and stay at many upscale hotels and based on that I'd say this hotel is a hidden gem for all it offers and the wonderful staff.
We landed at Madison's Airport Friday afternoon and Bob our driver was there waiting, the free airport shuttle is a big plus because the taxi fare to the hotel would be HUGE! We checked into our room a Kids Suite, which has a little "cove" with bunkbeds, a desk, and it's own TV and VCR. It was on the 4th floor and overlooked the indoor waterpark. The kids loved the room and so did mom and dad in the king size bed. The indoor waterpark was awesome, there were always 2 lifeguards and the hot tub is huge.
The room was clean, the hotel is gorgeous and what made it all was the staff. I've yet to stay at a hotel anywhere that had a staff so helpful and willing to accommodate any request. It wasn't just one or two people, it was everyone on every shift. To top it off, I could not believe the number of restaurant coupons they gave us for George's Chophouse, the hotel restaurant. We had several 5 dollar off coupons/person and the kids always ate free. Even the restaurant staff was incredible - the host, our waiter Jeff - Outstanding service and good food! My only negative is the kitchen was a little slow getting the food out at dinner, but we got there right when they opened and I think they were just getting spooled up. The breakfast buffet was excellent.
This hotel is around a lot of good restaurants and shopping and would be my pick of places to stay on the West side of Madison. The wedding reception went flawlessly , the food, the banquet staff - everyone was great. Well done - we will be back!

wow, what a way to treat an (ex) future guest!

from harrisfamily4
When i called at the end of Aug to check rates and avail for this hotel, i was thinking that it was classy and a good place to stay if you wanted to get away from it all. Instead, the girl who quoted me the rates didn't tell me that she was going to charge my debit card for over $100 to reserve the suite. The lady Pam is no help whatsoever. Don't just take my word for it. They caused my checking acct to overdraw and for everyday they do not fix it, i am getting charged a PER DAY overdraft fee!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Loved it!!!!!

from A TripAdvisor Member
Went to the Holiday West to celebrate a Birthday. Had an outstanding visit there. The woman that handled our stay Luisa was Wonderful! Friendly and helpful. Made us feel right at home. Am looking forward to another stay there.

Wonderful time

from zimmdj
Had a great time here, Feb 18-20. We had one of the Kidsuites on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. Great for a 18 mos and 4 year old, they loved the pools and the slides. Room was kind of worn but clean.

Loved this place!!!

from A TripAdvisor Member
We had a great time!!! Stayed a Tuesday night in Feb. The kids (4 & almost 2) loved the water park. Room was clean, spacious, and over looked the pool. Breakfast was great and we had a great rate!

Jungle Fever! Kids Loved It!

from Scheck
The indoor water park was excellent. We had a room with a balcony (table & chairs) overlooking the "jungle-like" waterpark. Our kids 4&5 loved the large waterslide, (they were tall enough to go up themselves-if I caught our 4 year old) basketball hoop, ship with waterfalls and slides, game room. Pizza was included at poolside one evening, but the line was extremely long-everybody in the hotel was lined up-I'd rather pack up and go out or order in. The bar was handy poolside but a beer/alcohol costed $5. Convenient but expensive. Overall, we loved it.

"

from A TripAdvisor Member
We checked in. What a stupid way to check in. You have to pay when you check in. Then the nonstop talker on the phone,Lacey. The room wasn't clean. The bathroom was the worst hotle bathrom i have ever seen. The waterpark was BORING. NEVER WILL I STAY HERE AT HOLIDAY INN MADISONN. Where is the holiday?

Top Local Tips for Madison

Great Outside Restaurants The restaurants where you can eat outside are all over the place and the weather in July was still comfortable to eat outside.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Madison

  • madison holiday inn
  • holiday inn madison
  • Address: 1109 Fourier Drive - Madison - Wisconsin - 53717 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
7.0/10

See All 113 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Madison