Hotel Max

, Seattle, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Seattle

Hotel Max

, Seattle
3 star

Rooms: 165

620 Stewart Street - Seattle - Washington - 98101 - United States Hotel Website | | 206 728-6299
701 Traveller

Reviews - Hotel Max

Want to see more hotels? View all hotels in Seattle

Historical Traveller Reviews of Hotel Max

t wait to come back!

from A TripAdvisor Member
The Hotel Max was a nice surprise. After staying at the Monaco and other boutique hotels, I wasn't sure if the Max would meet my expectations, especially since it cost so much less. I was very impressed. The service was impeccable, from the moment I pulled up to the moment I left, the staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was delighful - loved the artwork, the colors, the textures, the views - a lot of thought went into this place to make a space to delight the senses. How many other hotels give you a pillow menu??
The location is perfect, and there is a bar and sushi restaurant right downstairs. Since the first thing I always do when arriving in a new city is scope out the local sushi joint, this was right up my alley! I ate breakfast there, I have to say it was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had. The menu was very creative, not your usual selection, the service was spot-on and the prices reasonable.

I would definitely stay here again, I just need to find more reasons to come back to this wonderful city!

Great Customer Service

from mjhutee
I found this hotel to be very stylish and clean, supported by great customer service. We had a slight problem during our stay(water temp) and it was resolved withing minutes and our nightly rate was reduced. This hotel is perfect walking distance to pike place and all of the shopping in downtown Seattle. I would definately stay here again.

Pleasant Unique Hotel

from ramblingranny
I visited some friends who live in an apt building next door to the hotel and their concierge made my reservation. I stayed four nights. I was very pleased with the room and the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. My room had a large king-size bed. The room had a nice flat screen TV, Aveda bath products, a mini-bar and great coffee. . The decor is very "arty" but not unappealing. As to the size of the room- I have stayed in much smaller rooms in Europe, where single travelers are treated very poorly in hotels. The toilet room was small but useable and the bath was roomy. The bed was soft with lots of pillows and good side lighting. All in all, a very pleasant experience. I travel alone (60+ single woman) and I never felt unsafe or insecure. I would stay here again.

You should try it...

from A TripAdvisor Member
My mother and I stayed at Hotel Max on 05 Dec 2005. Both of us felt that a few of the front desk staff were snooty toward us, perhaps two little old ladies are not the average Hotel Max guests.

We loved the modern decor, lots of orange and red with black and grey. The room size was fine for two, and the queen beds were like sleeping on clouds. The widescreen TV, honor snack bar and artwork were nice touches, and our room had a safe in the armoire.

The bathroom was a little weird with a step up as you opened the door - not after you open the door, the step was actually the threshold of the door. You'll need to be alert if you visit the bathroom in the middle of the night.

We enjoyed the Red Fin for breakfast - the offbeat menu offerings were delicious. We used valet parking, for which there was a nominal charge.

We will stay at Hotel Max again, and recommend it to all that are looking for someplace a little different.

Loved It

from A TripAdvisor Member
ROOM: My girlfriend and I stayed in the corner room on the 10th floor with views of Stewert/7th St. The room was fairly small but it didn't bother us, as we were out for most of the time we were there. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel provided a pillow menu as well. A small honor bar also provided some snacks, drinks, and sexual products such as condoms, lotions and other necessities. The restroom was fairly small but adequate and the hotel provided great brand name bath products. Our nights were very quiet while sleeping with the occasional honk from the street and door slamming in the hallway.
SERVICE: Prior to our arrival we made an early arrival request, but once we arrived they were unable to accomadate us. They took our bags and told us to come back at noon as we arrived at the hotel around nine. The staff was very courteous and helpful with our needs. Room service was exceptional as our room was very clean and inviting. The restaurant/bar joining the hotel (Red Fin) was reasonably priced but not very good. They did have a great happy hour with a huge selection of sake.
TIPS: My girlfriend and I took a bus from the airport to downtown Seattle for $1.50 each. We also took the bus when we departed Seattle at around six a.m. They have buses running early morning and late into the evening. A cab will run you $30-$45 from downtown Seattle to the airport. The transit system in Seattle is awesome. Across the street from the hotel is a small deli which serves great sandwiches and soup for a decent price. If you want a really good view of Seattle climb out of one the fire escape exits on every floor, and climb on top of the roof for an awesome view of the city.
CONCLUSION: I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying for a one or two nighter with not a lot of luggage. The hotel's decor was beautiful with a lot of eye candy. It reminded me of an Ikea store turned into a hotel. I would definetly come back to this hotel.


from A TripAdvisor Member
This is a really creepy hotel. Apart from the artsy decor which would appeal to a goth perhaps (predominantly black with hints of red and white), the rooms were very small. The shower was ridiculously small. I'm not a portly person, but there's no way an average American would be able to lather up in that shower.

I was hoping for free wireless as a courtesy, but no, you may connect to the internet for a "nominal" (how about whopping?) fee of $12.00 per day. Thanks, but no thanks. There's a coffee shop (with a scooter or mod theme - I forget the name) if you turn left out of the front door and walk up the street past the court building for a couple of blocks. The coffee is excellent as is the service and the wireless is free!

As for the "Red Fin" restaurant attached. I'd avoid it unless you want to spend some unscheduled time in the bathroom or you are a yuppie (in which case eat to your heart's content). The torte we had was cooked through - in fact it was burnt. Two carbon mouthfuls for $7.00! I sent it back once I could get the attention of a waiter which took a while - the place was virtually empty.

The part that bothered me the most was the lack of security. I walked in very late one night and was followed in by a streetperson. To get up to the rooms you need to slot your electronic card in the elevator to get up to your floor. He obviously knew that if he got on the elevator with me he could probably find somewhere to crash out in a hallway or worse, try to follow me into my room. I waited downstairs by the reception desk where the night clerk was doing her very best to ignore me rather than calling security (if they have any) to escort the fella out of the building. Fortunately for me and unfortunately for the next guest to walk in... he got on the elevator and - yes - was followed in by the homeless guy. Ummm... ok! The night clerk didn't even bat an eyelid.

I can't recommend staying there for the price they charge. The only good part was the location and in all fairness the day staff were very friendly and forthcoming with where to eat, what to do/see etc. which is normally information I'd get online...
Management Response from fiji22
Thank you for comments, I appreciate the time you have taken to discuss your concerns. Please contact me at the hotel.

Thank you

Do not stay here

from A TripAdvisor Member
This hotel was terrible. Broken elevators. Cold, drafty, heat didn't work. Was the coldest night I'd ever spent indoors. Called the front desk and asked for a space heater, but none ever arrived. Went down to the front desk at 5am to speak to a manager, but none was on duty. Checked out after a terrible night and switched hotels. The hotel agreed to refund my charges for the night.

About two weeks later, however, I checked my credit card statement and saw that I had been charged about $350 by the hotel, including a random, separate charge, of about $4.50. It turns out they had never actually checked me out, so while I had been staying at (and paying for)another hotel, this hotel had still been charging me. Also sounds like someone maybe charged a drink to the room.

The hotel was very nice about refunding the money, but it took a few phone calls, and was stress I didn't need after my brief and unpleasant stay.

This is basically an old, budget hotel with fancy water taps and a nice bed installed. I switched to the Hotel Vintage Park, which, when you add in the free wireless internet, was basically the same price. Plus at the Vintage Park they had a free wine reception and a free port reception every night. Really saved on the mini bar bill. Most of all, it was comfortable, inviting, well run and WARM.

Bottom line on the Max: Sometimes a bargain is no bargain at all.

Loved It! Great Time

from Shocked1
We stayed at Hotel Max on Jan 21st 2006. The experience was excellent. The front desk staff was very helpful and the valet/door staff could not have been better. We had a room with two beds and there was plenty of room. I see that several of the reviews complain about the size of the elevators and rooms.. I wonder about the size of the reviewers. There was plenty of room in the elevator and the room size was nice. We stayed on the bay at the Edgewater Hotel and I would say the room was the same size. Of course, the room there cost more than double what we paid at Hotel Max. I would also like to highly recommend the "Red Fin" Restaurant. The Sushi was excellent and the staff could not have been more friendly. This hotel is perfect for a couple or business traveler wanting to be close to everything downtown and you will even save a few bucks :-)
Management Response from fiji22
Thank you for your great comments regarding your stay. The entire team is committed and "empowered", to make all experiences great.

Max props to Seattle

from A TripAdvisor Member
I stayed at the Max for 3 nights while in town for a football game. I had a very good time. Paid around $150 for a room with 2 queen beds. When checking in, I heard that rooms were going for as little as $109 a night. So don't believe what they tell you over the phone. If you are up for the risk that they'll be booked up (not likely), just show up at the front desk and ask for the best available rate.

The hotel is old, but completely redone from carpets to ceiling, including new euro-style sinks in the tiny bathrooms, fancy shades on the windows, and decent 27 inch flat screens on the minibar. Lots of interesting pictures and art throughout the hotel. The place has character, but still offers a quality room that feels modern yet comfortable.

If you want a fun hotel, try this place

Lots of postives - a few negatives....

from Kosair
I just returned from staying two nights at the Max. I paid $116 per night for a queen room, which for dowtntown Seattle is an excellent rate. The hotel sits right next to the Westin - which costs over twice as much. All the sights downtown are within walking distance.

I liked my room. It was small but it had a Dell flatscreen TV and great bed. The bath was small but very functional and the Hotel supplies AVEDA toiletries, a very nice touch. Everything was very clean and well-kept.

This a trendy hotel and not a place I would take my kids. I would say they are going after the same clientele as the "W" brand of hotels - the upscale young crowd.

The Max offers Valet Parking, but they have an old garage which requires the valets to use an automotive elevator. When several people come for their cars at the same time, the service gets really slow as they can only take one vehicle up or down at a time.

Another oddity is the stairway. It does not lead to the lobby. There are two small elevators, but as I was on the second floor, I thought the stairs might be quicker to get the lobby. The stairs took me to the alley behind the hotel.

The Red Fin restaurant was excellent and had two happy hours - the first from 4-6 and the second from 10-1. The prices at happy hour were great - $5 for big appetizers and $2 for good beer.

The front desk staff did not go out of their way to be friendly, but the valets were exceptionally well-mannered and hard working. The restaurant staff was very friendly as well.

In the end I was happy with my stay and I will return to the Max on my next visit to Seattle if the rates stay where they are. The Max is an excellent value at current rates. However, if the Max, Westin, and W were all the same rate I would be at the W followed by the Westin.


Top Local Tips for Seattle

Free buses downtown If you only have a couple of days to spend in Seattle and are okay with staying downtown, don't even bother renting a car. The amount you'd spend in renting & parking is much higher than what you'd spend on cabs. Buses are free for the majority of the sights downtown. In a two-day period, we toured the International District, Pike Place Market, the Space Needle, the Experience Music Project, caught a concert at the Paramount Theatre and dined at some of the best places--all without a car.

No need to rent a car Buses are free in the main perimeter downtown

Dining is overrated. I found dining to be very much overrated in Seattle. Menu items are expensive, double what one would pay in "flyover country". Seattle bills itself as a gourmet center, but menu items wind up being very pretentious "goose liver confit with swiss chard and cilantro vinegar glacee." This pretentiousness pretends to be innovations. This goes against the casual atmosphere that helps make Seattle a great place to visit. Stick to basics. Asian and Regional cusine. If you go Asian, go where the asian people go. etc.. If you do not see Japanese people in a sushi joint, run... run... away.


Other names for Hotel Max

  • max hotel seattle
  • hotel max seattle
  • Address: 620 Stewart Street - Seattle - Washington - 98101 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 701 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Hotel Max