The Inn At Essex Hotel, Essex Junction
Reviews - The Inn At Essex Hotel
Read 431 additional reviews of The Inn At Essex Hotel at TripAdvisor.
Want to see more hotels? View all hotels in Essex Junction
Historical Traveller Reviews of The Inn At Essex Hotel
Big Expectations, Big Letdownfrom TrustMyAdvice
I went back to the room, changed into my bathing suit, decided to cool off my person and mounting temper at the pool. I found the pool to be clean and fresh towels provided in a container at the entrance. However, there were only two cheap, small pool umbrellas provided. There were probably six to eight places where table-type umbrellas could have been inserted into holes in tables and stands. Over a period of three hours, many guests came to the pool: I would extimate 35 adults, 18 children. Whoever happened to be getting the umbrella shade got the evil and envious eye of those who had no choice but to endure the sun. I made a trek to the front desk again after the vending machine at the pool ate my change and did not deliver a drink and also mentioned the lack of pool umbrellas. No one cared. The desk person was barking orders into a walkie talkie, but not about the concerns I expressed.
We had a fun dinner with business friends down on the waterfront in Burlington. We went back to the Inn, decided to tour the grounds. Along the path by the pool, a young man was filling tiki torch chambers with fluid and happily volunteered to us that the next evening there would be a large bonfire and s'mores for the guests to enjoy at about 8 PM. We showed up the next evening at 8:30 -- need I say it: there was no activity going on, no lit torches, just the lingering of guests from a wedding that had taken place earlier in the afternoon.
The next day, hubby and I compared notes and decided that we were trapped for one more night at this hotel, but we decided it came in second to an old Motel Six. We are used to staying at grand hotels internationally, and people, this was so poor, I cannot believe the ratings it has received. Here is from a list of things about our room we noted: faded and stained bedspread, white and other-colored spots on navy wing-back chairs, a 12" bleached-out area on the carpet, many marks (from shoe soles?) on the walls, dead insects in the light fixture over the tub that could fill a two-ounce container, water-mark stains randomly in the ceiling, a grimey plastic card on the bathroom door requesting guests to practice towel and water conservation (all the while our toilet never stopped trickeling), two mattress pads were on the bed to disguise the lumpy, hard mattress, black mold amongst the bathtub caulking, and to top it off: the fresh drinking glasses left on a ledge above the bathroom sink had both lip and finger marks on them. Into our second day there developed a musty odor to the room: perhaps the real reason the ozone machine had been in there? This was maybe a $69 per night room. One star.
As for the Culinary Institute: we had breakfast two mornings in the Butler's Pantry. The first was okay food, took about an hour to order one bowl of oatmeal and an order of french toast. I noticed crumbs all along the carpet and baseboards. But no surprise after seeing how the hotel lacked upkeep in general. But not acceptable in a restaurant, especially one that brags and endlessly promotes itself. The breakfast was so mediocre that we cancelled dinner reservations. The second morning in the same restaurant, we placed the same food order and this day it took more than an hour to get our food served. We each ordered tea and the waitress brought one small pot for two of us. That was about 1/2 cup tea per person. She also did not bring tea in an infuser while other diners around us had infusers. This girl did not have a clue. A guest sitting at a nearby table offered to go into the kitchen and cook up something for us all. That got some laughs. The man greeting and seating guests had a frenzied and panic stricken demeanor, even when there was no one waiting to be seated... he brought chaos to an already unsettling experience. I think diners in general were as disappointed as we were. You could read the ho-humm expressions and lack of enthusiasm for the food: the mood was palpable.
The best part of our trip was driving to Stowe, seeing the Trapp Family Lodge, having lunch at their tea room. We regretted we did not stay there. Another good thing to do in that area is the ski lift in the state park. The view was beautiful.
I had read mixed comments prior to our trip and stay at the Inn at Essex. I decided I had to contribute a comment here. If you are considering an over-night in the Burlington area, go elsewhere. If you are desiring fine dining, I think there are plenty of other options than the Culinary Institute.
Unless you like dirty, smelly rooms and poor, unprofessional service. This place has quite a bit of cleaning to do: both with the physical environment and with the personnel. That goes for both the "hotel" and separately operated "restaurants." Just no excuses for this place.
we loved itfrom MIssBanff
not worth the long drivefrom A TripAdvisor Member
Super hotel !!!!!from superhousewife
Fine room; mediocre restaurantsfrom A TripAdvisor Member
A Birthday Escape at the Inn at Essexfrom A TripAdvisor Member
Nothing to write home aboutfrom A TripAdvisor Member
THE WORST!!!!from A TripAdvisor Member
I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. The snowball effect of different situations certainly did not represent our property's quality in a manner in which we are typically know. Certainly you should expect to have your room cleaned in a reasonable time frame, exceptional food and service from the restaurants and a professional staff to assist you.
None of the above met your expectations and for that I do apologize. Where Tripadvisor can be a wonderful tool that affords potential visitors a "snapshot" of a property, it can also leave a property vulnerable to a poor reviw without ample detail oulining the "poor" experience. I am certain that we did not meet your expectations, but would love the opportunity to learn more of what you experienced so that we can correct any operational shortcomings, as they might exist.
As the Burlington's only AAA Four Diamond Resort Hotel - excellent customer service is at the core of our mission. I feel it is unfortunate that we did not have the opportunity to speak personally, and am certain that a future visit would better represent the true experience that our guests consistently enjoy.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I do hope that you are able to see this response and I welcome you to call myself or Jim Glanville, General Manager, to discuss your stay further.
Director of Hotel Operations
Perfect for Christmas Shopping Getawayfrom PeruTravlers
The hotel was quaint. Every room is different, there's a fireplace in every room, and the food was unreal and an unbelievable bargain for the quality (the Inn is associated with the Culinary Institute). For example, a sit-down lunch in the formal dinning room with desert costs us $25. The dinner, with the $25 voucher was under $100. While you're there you have got to get a massage. Whomever the hotel outsourced to was amazing. It was the first time I'd ever been so relaxed I fell asleep. My wife did too. The morning pastries were the best I'd ever had. It was obvious that alot of effort was put into each and every one.
The shortcoming of this hotel is that we were offered a $25 voucher for the massage, which ran around $200 for the 2 of us, but the hotel then hit us with a $25 transportation fee for the therapist. The money was insignificant, but I was PO'ed on principal. My complaint was dismissed as an oversight by the inexperienced reservations specialist who booked the room for us. Whatever the excuse, I found the Inn's failure to issue a refund for such a marginal amount of money to be rediculous. For this reason we won't be visiting again.
Not withstanding this absurd incident, the hotel would have been an excellent experience.
The point that you make regarding the $25 service fee is well taken. While this fee is outlined on our confirmation letters and defined in the disclaimer through Travelzoo, we apparently need to do a better job of informing our guests of all fees up front...which we will look to improve in the future.
Thanks again, and we hope to see you in the future.
The Inn at Essex
Much-hyped but very disappointingfrom A TripAdvisor Member
The desk and restaurant staff were unhelpful, even to the point of making the stay harder. This is particularly bad, since the Inn is the home of the New England Culinary Institute. Those expecting good food at a price designed to account for the fact that the chefs and servers are training will be surprised to find below average food served rudely in a dull atmosphere at upscale restaurant prices.
The website wildly misrepresents the outdoor activities available "at" the hotel -- they are all 20 minutes away. The "hiking, skiing, and snow-shoe" trail behind the hotel is nothing of the kind -- it is a rutty path through a field and is full of barbed wire. We came with high hopes and were roundly disappointed.
In reading your review I understand that you were generally disappointed in the image that you feel we attempt to portray, our available services and our culinary offering.
While the vast majority of our guests appreciate our atmosphere and level of services, our goal is 100% guest satisfaction. I would certainly appreciate specifics regarding your stay as to correct any issues that might exist.
As for our snowshoe trails, until this week, a general lack of snow has certainly presented challenging conditions....but thanks to Mother Nature...the trails are currently in very good condition providing a wonderful introduction to the sport!
Finally, based upon your comments, I have reviewed our website with reference to activities available "at" the hotel, and am confident that all amenities are (and have been) accurately represented. We apologize if you were misled in any way.
Top Local Tips for Essex Junction
The Butler's The Butler's is really worth the money, I strongly recommend you eat there.
outlets The outlet "mall" is exactly the same as every other outlet mall; if you have a favorite one at home, skip this one.
Good food Eat at both the Gourmet Restaurant and the Tiny Thai
Other names for The Inn At Essex Hotel
- inn essex
- essex vermonts culinary junction
- essex vermonts culinary hotel
- bed breakfast essex
- Address: 70 Essex Way - Essex Junction - Vermont - 5452 - United States
- Loading Image...
- Loading Image...
- Loading Image...
- Loading Image...
Hotels Near The Inn At Essex Hotel
- Towneplace Suites By Marriott Hotel Williston, Vermont Distance: 5.8 km / 3.6 mi
- Days Inn Burlington Colchester Hotel Colchester, Vermont Distance: 7 km / 4.3 mi
- Ho Hum Motel Hotel South Burlington, Vermont Distance: 7.4 km / 4.6 mi
- Residence Inn Burlington (Vt) Hotel Williston, Vermont Distance: 7.6 km / 4.7 mi
- Hampton Inn And Conference Center Hotel Colchester, Vermont Distance: 7.8 km / 4.8 mi
- Quality Inn Hotel Colchester, Vermont Distance: 7.7 km / 4.8 mi
- Motel 6 Hotel Colchester, Vermont Distance: 7.9 km / 4.9 mi
- Doubletree Hotel Burlington South Burlington, Vermont Distance: 8.6 km / 5.3 mi
- Best Western Windjammer Inn And Conference Center Hotel South Burlington, Vermont Distance: 8.5 km / 5.3 mi
- Sheraton Burlington Hotel & Conference Center South Burlington, Vermont Distance: 9.1 km / 5.7 mi
- Green Mountain Suites Hotel South Burlington, Vermont Distance: 9.2 km / 5.7 mi
- Marriott Fairfield Inn Williston Hotel Williston, Vermont Distance: 7.1 km / 4.4 mi
- Bel Aire Motel Hotel Burlington, Vermont Distance: 11 km / 6.8 mi
- Hilton Burlington Hotel Burlington, Vermont Distance: 10.3 km / 6.4 mi
- Holiday Inn Express Hotel South Burlington, Vermont Distance: 13.3 km / 8.3 mi