Clarion Hotel Riverwalk

, San Antonio, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around San Antonio

Clarion Hotel Riverwalk

, San Antonio
3 star

Rooms: 324

110 Lexington Avenue - San Antonio - Texas - 78205 - United States | 2102239461
308 Traveller

Reviews - Clarion Hotel Riverwalk

Very accommodating
Submitted by: Jonny Anderson in 27/05/05
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
We had a very nice visit in San Antonio. The staff at the Clarion were very accommodating. I have recommended your hotel to other staff members in our College. Keep up the good work.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Clarion Hotel Riverwalk


from tvjt
I booked by my stay thru the actual hotel. They were friendly and nice. I had heard they were under renovations. But they put me on a side of the hotel that was completed and we barely noticed. My 6 year old and I went exploring the hotel while my husband rested and we found it very interesting. The atrium with the animals, two toucans, two iquana and a turtle are so neat. My son loved them. We also enjoyed the artwork. My son wanted to swim in the very big and clean pool, but it was not the time of year. My husband did take advantage of their enormous work out area. He was pleased. Most places have a few machines, here they had over 20. Nice! We enjoyed breakfast the next day and had room service the night before. All was good. I would stay again.

Many nicer hotels for this price, stay at those instead

from WorldTraveler000
This hotel looks nice from the outside and the lobby, but the rooms and hallways are in bad shape. There have been a lot of cosmetic remodeling done to this hotel and the layout has a lot of character, but there still some major problems that need to be addressed. The hotel is supposed to be all non-smoking, but the room I was given had a strong smell of cigarette smoke. So I requested to be moved to another room, and the staff was very nice and moved me. I was given a new room on the 2nd floor near the pool area. The hallways had many dead and live crickets all over the place and had a strong mildew smell. The room itself was very small and the bathroom was so small that the toilet had to be placed diagonally to fit. There air condition vent was covered in black mold and the entire room smelled of mildew. The coffee maker, wireless internet, and one of the phones in the room didn't work. The room looked remodeled and had nice furniture and carpet, but the mold, crickets, and all of the things that didn't work in the room made my stay very uncomfortable. I had pre-payed for a 3 night stay but decided to leave 2 nights early and move to another hotel. The staff didn't even bother to ask why I was leaving early or if everything was OK with my room. This hotel is definitely not a 3 star hotel.

Roaches checked in but didnt check out, however I did.

from edecker1969
I booked a 4 day stay in San Antonio at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano. I got into the first room and the linen looked nice but carpet a little dirty. As I opened the window curtain a cockroach fell on my shoulder. I was willing to ignore one cockroach, until later when I saw many cockroaches coming in and out of the closet area. Management was notified and they moved me to a different room. That was ok, until I saw cockroaches along the floor, then on top of that, the toilet stopped working. i am no plumber, so I don't know what was going on, but all of a sudden, the pipes started rumbling loud enough to wake me up. Then there was no water pressure when I flushed. I was moved to the third room due to the toilet issue and the cockroaches were more plentiful than in the first room. I went back to 2nd room to get a item and saw maintainance man in there "fumigating" and their idea of fumigating the room was spraying some bug spray. Low to no hot water for shower, and this was not at peak shower times. Parking area has pot holes and part of security wall surrounding the lot is gone, so car was at risk. Resturant in hotel was late to open, by almost an hour. Hotel is at end of riverwalk, nowhere near the nice riverwalk area. It was a solid 40 minute walk to get to the shopping and resturant part of riverwalk. I have stayed at numerous hotels in Texas and this is the worst I have seen by far.

Great place to stay

from pstro5221
Clean, newly remodeled Hotel, comfotable beds, your choice of pillows. Approx. 8 blocks from the Alamo. The pool is on the 2nd floor with a big blow up screen for "Dive In" movies. We could watch the movies at night off of our balcony. Great band in the Tiki Bar which is just a corner off the lobby. Secured parking was $13.oo per day or you can park across the street for $5.00. The trolley to the Alamo will pick you up and drop you off at the Holiday Inn. Very friendly and helpful staff. I would highly recommend.

dissapointment At El Tropicano

from cfsnco
On Saturday 21 Jul 07 we went to the breakfast buffet at about 10:00 am and there was an at least a 20 minute wait. I noticed an open area near the dining area set up for dining and asked the hostess if they were going to open it to accommodate additional guests. The replied I received was “no” by the hostess. Upon being seated, I once again commented to the restaurant manager that it would be a good idea to open the additional dining area for additional guests. The dining manager replied that they were short staffed and that they were trying to contain the guest to the specific dining area. We were never greeted, attended to or served. Even for a buffet. To the extent of having to serve ourselves water and coffee.

Upon leaving breakfast, I approached a hotel manager and related the story. The manager seemed unconcerned by the wait time or lack of staff to attend a breakfast buffet.

Again, On Saturday evening (21 Jul 07) our party of four (6 total) went to diner and were seated promptly. However we waited at least 10 minutes before my mother (80 years old) asked the hostess passing by if we were going to be served water. The hostess stated that she would get a waiter. The waiter came out a few minutes later and stated that he had two other tables in front of us. There was one waiter, one hostess and one buss boy for the entire restaurant.

What we were basically told was that the waiter was busy and we would be served time permitting.

It is a shame that a relatively nice hotel doesn’t’ care enough to try to accommodate it’s guest in an already fully booked hotel and rather than try to extend and expand it’s buffet to a ballroom and keep business in house it would rather let it’s guest take their dining business elsewhere.

The management clearly have never heard of Six Sigma or are prepared to be flexible / innovative.

Over all a good choice

from KansasDancermom
We stayed at the El Tropicano to attend a dance competition held at the Municipal Auditorium near by.
The hotel was filled with dancers and their families, and the volume of people and the odd times that they need to be fed sometimes overwhelmed the Mango's restaurant.
The breakfast buffet food was good, service was hit and miss.
The coffee bar was handy, and the sandwiches and smoothies
were good.
The business center was handy to check e-mails and print boarding passes.
The rooms were adequate with some mechanical problems:
dripping tub, air conditioning unit that blew out lint, and the phone that wouldn't allow us to call another room directly.
There were times that the operator was not available to transfer the calls.
Didn't use the pool, but it looked clean and well kept.

The bellhops were wonderful!!! They were quick to recommend restaurants on the River walk, call a cab, help with luggage, explain the trolley routes and give directions. They were all friendly and are the hotel's best good will ambassadors.
The hotel is located within a 15 minute walk of the Alamo and the Riverwalk. The trolley stops right out front.

Wouldnt do it again

from Traveluvly
Very disappointed in the lack of professionalism of the staff and upper level management. This hotel has a lot of "growing up" to do and although the atmosphere invokes a good feeling, it is quickly shot down by the rude employees. I think courses in customer service should be provided to every employee in that hotel from the General Manager down.

Pluses outway minuses...

from Cliff_on_the_road
I stayed at the El Tropicano for a week while attending a conference. I was very impressed with the conference facilities and the hotel's support staff were excellent -- they were friendly, efficient, and responsive. My room was quite reasonably priced and it was clean and adequate (though nothing special). My only complaint was that there was a very slight sour smell in the room (perhaps a previous patron had spilled milk on the carpet) but fortunately there was a sliding glass door that allowed in plenty of fresh air. The simple balcony overlooking the pool was a nice touch.

I heard good things from my fellow conference attendees about the hotel's restaurants, but I either ate out or enjoyed the in-house conference food. The hotel is located at the north end of the Riverwalk, and it was a very pleasant (and safe) 20-minute stroll along the well lit Riverwalk to get to the heart of the RIverwalk district and tons of restaurants, shops, and bars. The Alamo is only a brisk 10 minute walk away from the hotel.

The hotel's workout facility is superb and if you need more equipment (including a lap pool and sauna) there is a modern YMCA right across the street. Hotel patrons can get a 24-hour pass to the YMCA for only $5.

Neat atmosphere...

from eyeamhiphopssole
Stayed at the hotel with my fiance service was wonderful! The food was great! Nice and silent area...there was a little bit of renovation going on but caused no inconvience to my stay! I reccomend the hotel to its fullest!
...Neat exotic animals and a great hotel theme...with a huge movie projector screen above the pool with an outside bar...
Check it out and enjoy!

Not That Bad

from TravelsMyMidleName
I stayed here b/c of an on-site conference. I must say that the walls are paper thin and I heard everything that went on in the adjacent room. Luckily I had a corner room (#502) which prevented double-annoyance. Bathooms are decent size with curved curtain rod for extra elbow room. Meeting rooms are spacious and continental breakfast-not so bad. The coffee bar is great, the Tiki bar average and Mango Restaurant below average. You are better off heading to the RiverWalk for a much better meal. The Riverwalk starts across the street or you can take the trolley in the front of the hotel. If you want to stay closer to downtown, you'll pay more - but the El Tropicano is not a bad choice in the long run.

Top Local Tips for San Antonio

Not really by the riverwalk The hotel says that it is by the riverwalk. This can be a little misleading. The river boats do not come down that far and there is nothing spectacular about that area. You have to walk a bit to get to where the action is. The tip here would be that if you are visiting a place for its, make sure that you ask them what is around the hotel and what are the hot spots and how far are they from the hotel.

Visit in the spring or fall Just returned. Weather was very pleasant although a little cool. Stay away from summer months. Beastly hot with high humidity. Difficult to enjoy the many outdoor activiites.

San Antonio Sights Many wonderful sights and the public transportation is great. The Riverwalk is very attractive and safe. We are happy that we had the opportunity to tour an exciting city, we hope to go back in the near future. Use the public transportation and you won't be disappointed !


Other names for Clarion Hotel Riverwalk

  • san antonio holiday inn
  • holiday inn san antonio
  • el tropicano riverwalk hotel
  • el tropicano riverwalk
  • Address: 110 Lexington Avenue - San Antonio - Texas - 78205 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 308 reviews

"Very accommodating" - Jonny Anderson

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Clarion Hotel Riverwalk