The Westin Columbus Hotel

, Columbus, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Columbus

The Westin Columbus Hotel

4 star

Rooms: 196

310 South High Street - Columbus - Ohio - 43215 - United States Hotel Website | 614 228 3800
181 Traveller

Reviews - The Westin Columbus Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of The Westin Columbus Hotel

Perfectly Fine

from beatricepugzilla
Read all the negative reviews and almost booked another hotel -luckily I did not. The room was on the smaller side compared to some but more than enough for one business person. It was just like any other WESTIN in any other City except that it is was really cheap - this is the most inexpensive WESTIN I have ever seen.
Management Response from hotelemp
Thank you for giving us a chance after seeing some not-so-good reviews. We hope the renovation and change in focus made an impression on you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

LOVED it!!

from gogofamily
Wow. We stayed here as a little escape from our kids and it was great. The service was superb. The rooms are a little cozy, but if you’ve ever stayed in a historic hotel, I think that is part of the charm! I know they had bigger rooms and suites, but we booked last minute and got a great deal. The front desk was kind and helpful and they were working on the lobby while we were there. A 5th generation plaster artisan was doing the most amazing plasterwork. And the restoration (this was built in the 1800s and is on the Historic Registry) looks like it is going to be spectacular. There is a historic theater attached as well and we want to come back to experience some of the music they offer there... the front desk told us the theater has the best acoustics possible. The restaurant was fantastic too, and had great service as well. We were a little nervous because of some older, negative reviews here, but the place looked so lovely & the price was great, so we tried it out. SO GLAD we did! I mentioned that on checking in and the staff told us they have new management and ownership, so maybe that’s the difference. (The old manager didn’t take good care?) Our room had just been remodeled and it was really gorgeous.
I can’t say enough good things about this hotel -- Great service. & price. A really good value! Just a couple of blocks away is German Village. We had a lovely time wandering cobblestone streets, shopping in the 32-room bookstore and having lunch at a wonderful deli – Katzinger’s. Hundreds of sandwiches that are HUGE and yummy. There were some great shops and galleries in German Village as well. Helen Winnamore’s and Catarina Ltd. were worth the visit. And stop at Pistacia Vera for the most amazing pastry. They are like artists. We'll be back.
Management Response from hotelemp
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! Seeing the plaster artisan at work was quite a spectacle, wasn't it? Did you know that he is actually the great-grandson of the artisan that did the original plaster work for our hotel back in 1896? It's true! Come back soon and see the finished product, I'm sure you'll love it!

we were pleased

from salukicolt
My wife and I stayed here for the NCAA first round March Madness and enjoyed our stay and I've been intending to write a positive review. We liked the historic building and thought the renovations were fine. Our room warm and comfortable. The price was right. We loved the lighting and atmosphere in the lobby and the bar. Most of all the locals throughout the downtown were very hospitable. I am sorry to hear the negative reviews. I agree that the age and some warts show through the renovations. Hopefully we will visit Columbus again and will stay here.

Avoid at all Costs

from Wedgewood
This hotel does a disservice to the otherwise good reputation of the Westin chain. I cannot even begin to list all of the things that went wrong during a week long stay at this hotel, but how about this one example -- I woke up to find that someone had thrown / sprayed some disgusting, sticky substance on the outside of my room's door, including the outside door handle. I let the front desk know about it at 6:00 a.m. on my way out that morning, asking that they have someone clean it before I returned that evening. When I got back around 5:00 p.m., my door, including the handle, was still covered. I went to the front desk, and was told that they would clean it later that evening. The place was noisy, the service was terrible, and the rooms not particularly appealing. This is not your typical Westin.
Management Response from hotelemp
We apologize for the poor experience you had at our hotel. While we cannot undo what happened, we would like to assure you that if you choose us once more, you will not be disappointed! We are currently wrapping up a nearly $10 million renovation of the hotel, including a complete gutting of the guest rooms. The quality of our guest rooms has completely turned around, and are now among the most comfortable in the city.

We would also like to mention that many members of the management staff have recently joined the team, replacing former managers who may have not had the correct focus in guest satisfaction. We believe that it is our number one goal to make sure your stay is a pleasant one, and that you leave the hotel feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. If there is a problem, we realize that getting it fixed is the first priority, while ensuring your relaxing stay is uninterrupted.

We urge you to give us another chance to have you as our guest. We appreciate your opinion, and hope that we can change it the next time around.

Not that great

from stardust76
When i first got there they put me in a tiny room, so small that if you opened the fridge door or tried to sit at the desk you would hit the front of the bed. I got bumped up to a bigger room which was much better.
The area around the hotel is scary. If I was a women traveling alone I would think twice about going outside after dark. The hotel is surrounded by broken down parking lots , -very ghetto.
Furniture is old , and the bed was very lumpy.
Management Response from hotelemp
We appreciate your input regarding the room quality/size and your concerns about the area around the hotel. We would like to inform you that since our guest room renovations (completed just this month), those smaller "traditional" rooms seem much more spacious now. While we cannot change the size of the rooms due to our status on the National Registry of Historic Properties, we have worked hard to offer you the greatest use of the space given. Gone are the large armoirs and cumbersome furniture accessories; we have replaced the fixtures with new, modern conveniences, including wall-hung LCD TV's. We also have many larger rooms that may better suit your needs.

In regards to the area surrounding us, there are many improvements being made there as well. We work very hard to provide you a safe area to visit, and are now partnering with the city of Columbus in their "Capital Crossroads" project. The program is designed to improve the southern end of downtown, where we are located. Already, we have seen great advances. The "Hall of Justice" courthouse, being constructed just across the street from the hotel, will offer a park area for visitors' enjoyment; several restaurants, clubs, and condominiums are also being developed to further improve the image of the area.

We will continue to work on both issues you referenced, and hope that you will feel safe, comfortable, and relaxed while staying at our hotel. Thank you.

In need of TLC

from SPGryphon
As a Starwood member, I always make a point to book one of their properties if they are available. This was our first stay at the Westin Columbus and we were looking forward to the charm of this historical building.

The few staff members we ran into always greeted us with a smile and their service was standard as far as the Westin goes. The lobby and building itself were indeed graceful and we were really looking forward to our two room suite.

As we crossed the threshold of room 555 we were slightly disappointed that our historic room had at some point simply become old and shabby. Both rooms were very dark and lacked just about everything you come to expect from the Westin. There were multiple light bulbs burnt out and a few electric outlets that just didn't work. The ill fated minibar was unfortunately plugged into one of these outlets and the odor coming from inside led me to believe that something was definitely past its prime.

The bathroom, tiny as it might have been, was probably the nicest room in the suite.

We always look forward to the signature Heavenly Beds but we're again disappointed. That poor mattress was probably as old as the building itself. You were greeted by the box spring when you sat on the edge and once you were laying down, it took effort to roll out of the pit your found yourself in.

Strangely enough, this was the first Westin we stayed at that did not have a guest survey form in the room or delivered with your statement. I did alert the manager at the desk of the electrical problems and the odor in the minibar. His response was a small giggle and a "we'll check into that.".

Our final impression of the Westin Columbus was that of an aging beauty queen; graceful in appearance but in need of a little TLC. If your looking for a Starwood property in Columbus, your probably better off at the Sheraton north of town.
Management Response from hotelemp
We appreciate your review, and apologize for the terrible experience. You are fully correct that the room you stayed in had become worn and dated. Our hotel had been run by a management staff that was not committed to you, the guest. Recently, those hotel representatives have been replaced by people who are fully focused on creating a refreshing, renewing experience for each of our guests.

You can see from our newer guest reviews that the rooms have taken a complete turn-around since we renovated. The electrical outlets have all been checked and replaced when needed, and the lighting and decor have been much improved. Additionally, each and every Westin Heavely Bed in the hotel was replaced during renovation. Rest assured that you will have the best sleep you've had at a hotel here at the Westin Columbus.

Please visit us again so we may have a chance to wow you and offer a better impression of our hotel, and of the Westin brand. Should you have any needs before, during, or after your stay, please do not hesitate to call us directly and speak with the General Manager.

Visit here, but stay somewhere else

from Travel_Pro55
Because Westins are usually my first choice when visiting a new city, it is difficult for me to write this. However, the Westin Columbus is one of those hotels that one should see, but not where one should stay.

My wife and I booked a two-night stay in a two-room suite for Mother's Day weekend but left after the first night. Why? Much of it has to do with the nature of a restored historic hotel. As other reviews have pointed out, the rooms are much smaller than more modern building. But it's more than that.

The sitting room had a TV, sofa, and two chairs but no desk for writing or working. The small size of the bedroom was exacerbated by squeezing in a king-sized Heavenly® bed, armoire, and the retrofitted A/C unit, which was loud and awakened me several times during the night. The closet was miniscule, and the bathroom was very small, with only a single sink, toilet and standard-sized tub.

The bar/lounge was not up to Westin's usual standard, either. The house wines were forgettable and overpriced, the music was too loud, and the room understaffed.

On the positive side, the building IS beautiful and I'm always pleased to see historic structures preserved. I just won't be spending the night in them.
Management Response from hotelemp
Thank you for your review. We regret that your stay wasn't up to your usual standards, being a frequent Westin guest. The newly-renovated rooms will help offer many of the amenities you have come to expect from a Westin, and we are pleased to inform you that the heating/air units have all been replaced with new, efficient ones. A good night's sleep is easier than ever at the Westin Columbus. While we cannot change much about the room sizes, due to our historic status (of which we see you are aware) as the oldest-running hotel in the state of Ohio. However, our renovation has helped immensely to maximize the space available to us.

Additionally, our food outlets--Thurber's Bar and the new High Street Grill--have recently undergone a major transformation, including a complete revamping of the menu options available. There is a great variety of quality, unique drinks available in the bar. We hope you stay with us again and visit the bar and restaurant to see the improvements we've made! Thanks again, we hope to see you soon.

t stay

from pleasantbear
Since we got such a deal to stay here... I am not going to complain.. but just state the obvious or basics...

Historic building - the bed/bathrooms are very small. If you have more than 2 people in a room and you will not be able to move. Very tight with two people to start. Closet only truely has room for one persons clothes to hang up if you are there more than two days.

The hotel is Non-smoking. Their Breath slogan means that if they detected you or someone smoked in the room - you will be charged a $250 cleaning fee... so don't.

The Heavenly theme is a corporate slogan. What it means for this location is that your bed is a regular mattress that has a thin pillow top. The shower has a double showerhead. It is plastic and not impressive, nor does it provide much pressure. The bath towels are only average size and not 'large or fluffy'. Not what I would have expected. Not Motel 6 towels, but not 'Heavenly' either. No exhaust fan in bathroom, just a vent and the room steams up quickly. Walls are thin... if you are too loud in whatever activities you choose.. you can be heard. You can hear when the rooms on either side shower, use water or flush. Some rooms do have adjoining doors.

Do not move the bottled water left in the room on the AC unit or you will have a $3.50 fee show up on your bill.

There is a $20 a night additional parking fee if you have a car and use the lot next to the hotel (in-out privileges). There is a parking deck across the street which is half the cost, but no in-out privileges (first 3 hours is only a $1).

There is a mall on the other side of the parking deck. The flagship store is Macy's (smaller version due to space). 75% of the mall is vacant.

If you can get this place for $70 or less a night, good values for your $. Any more than that and you will be disappointed. Remember the taxes (avg $20) and parking ($20) are added fees.

German village is close and has great restaurants too.

Very Nice but old Historical Hotel. Service is Superior.

from MikeFromOhio
This hotel is very ornate and beautiful inside. It’s over 150 years old. The hotel staff experience was superior in every way. The staff was remarkably friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. They made me feel right at home.

The rooms are small so if a large room is a must have, you will probably be disappointed.

The hotel is located one mile from the historical German Village area of Columbus so there are ample night life and dining choices available.

I would definitely stay here again. Other hotels that offer a similar level of service are much more expensive and less personal. This is a great hotel if you are someone who appreciates architecture, historical landmarks and great service, close to a very cool part of Columbus.

Beautiful Historic Property

from quackmar
This is a lovely historic property hotel, which has been beautifully restored. For little more than the price of an interstate chain, we got a place with character, though that doesn't mean shabby. The room was a little small, but newly refurbushed, including the bathroom, and perfectly clean. Others' comments about the very small closet are true. If you need a lot of closet place, this is not for you. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The concierge was not on duty, but the desk manager helped us get last minute tickets to an OSU basketball game. Breakfast in the restaurant was beyond the hum-drum and very reasonably priced. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Top Local Tips for Columbus

What an arts city! Sample the breadth of the arts scene here. Neat little galleries, big museums and small. The Wexner has amazing contemporary art. You can buy original fine art in local galleries for a steal and the owners offer great guidance.

Clippers baseball Easy to get to Cooper stadium and easy to get back

The Eddie George Grille If you are looking for a casual place with great food than The Eddie George Grille on High Street is a great place to go and has a really great happy hour!


Other names for The Westin Columbus Hotel

  • westin columbus
  • columbus westin
  • Address: 310 South High Street - Columbus - Ohio - 43215 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 181 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near The Westin Columbus Hotel