Tarrytown House Estate Hotel

, Tarrytown, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Tarrytown

Tarrytown House Estate Hotel

49 E Sunnyside Ln - Tarrytown - New York - 10591 - United States Hotel Website | | 1-800-553-8118
334 Traveller

Reviews - Tarrytown House Estate Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Tarrytown House Estate Hotel

What a Weekend!

from NavyJoe
My girlfriend went on the web and booked a romance package.

At first I thought we were ripped off until we arrived.

This place is like something out of Hollywood, being in the Navy I have travelled to over 80 countries but this place is awesome.

Bellhops and front desk staff were real pro's and upgraded us to a suite at no charge. This place has mansions, gardens, etc.

The guest room was very upscale with granite and marble bathrooms and real nice bed with a pillow top mattress.

The grounds are awesome and the fall foliage was beautiful. The rates include breakfast but it is no "Embassy" type. You go to the large Castle Liek Mansion sit at beuatiful tables and have servers take care of everything.

Food was great. The place does not have a restaurant and has many large affairs going on but the area has literally dozens of great places to choose from.

Be prepared to walk alot as the estate has over 30 acres of gardens and paths.

Only thing I didn't like was my girlfriend seeing all the weddings has put the pressure on me. Ha ha, seriosuly though this place is awesome, pay the extra few bucks and live like a movie star.

be cautious

from nycworldtraveler
While we did not have our wedding here - we did reserve a block for our guests. It was simply not a good experience. It was near impossible to get someone to call or email you back. While we had made an agreement with management ahead of time that we would pay for all rooms (rather than guests) they STILL charged both my father and the guests themselves. While the mansion is nice - the other rooms are generic and in buildings from the 60's. Management has changed several times which has lead to some of the problems. We stayed again for our anniversary and once again had problems with contacting the right people for reservations and making the right arrangements.

One theory is that this hotel is really designed for big events - conferences and weddings actually hosted there. Perhaps having your wedding there is better - but based on my experience - I would urge anyone to ask for many many references. They ruined our experience and that was only with a few hotel rooms - I can't imagine what it would be like if they had ruined our actual wedding.

Loved It!

from Shopgirl27
Great spot especially for a summer weekend getaway! Beautiful estate, huge property, great for private affairs. Rooms are adequate, buffet brunch is lovely. . . highly recommend!

a fair review

from ms521
Seeing all the bad reviews I thought I'd try to write a more fair review. I know all reviews are subjective but I thought I would try to balance some things out.

1) Yes, there are stairs. Yes the place is set up strangely and you have to go up and down and all around to get to the ice machine. And there is only a vending machine. But I wouldn't consider this "bad."

2) Yes, they are still doing construction, even at the late date of Sept 30th, but it wasn't so bad. We were 3 rooms away from constuction and didn't hear it.

3) Yes, they cater to many weddings, private events and business conferences and pairs or singles are lower on the list.

4) Yes it can be really loud with hooting and hollering with drunk people from the weddings. But I find that many hotels are not really sound proofed.


1) The place is not "a dump." It is a 3.5 star hotel just like it says. The beds were comfortable, the shower was big and nice. I think people are exaggerating the state of the rooms.

2) There was free internet and free breakfast (very nice). Also, the little bowling alley in the pub is great fun.

3) The overall value was EXCELLENT. I paid exactly $204 dollars for the room. This is a very inexpensive price considering everything you get.

4) No one should be put off by the bad reviews or scared to go here. There are many things here that are worth checking out once and can make for a nice little getaway, especially if you can get a room for around $200!

Beautiful setting for total discomfort

from LisaDolan
I thought this hotel would be just what the doctor ordered after a 5-day big family get-together I'd hosted in the Catskills: A nice relaxing one-night stay before heading back home to Europe. Arrival was impressive. Breathtaking gardens. In reception everyone was attentive. Problems started on way to our two rooms. My 10-yr. old daughter insisted on helping carry our large suitcase. Due to lack of elevator we had to go down three sets of stairs. On the first set the handle snapped off the suitcase for which I carried it the rest of the way to our room and all the way back home.

Little did I know that the beautifully-sculpted bushes I'd admired on the outside of our wing were planted about a foot away from our window. I had the distinct impression of entering not a room, but a cave. There was absolutely no natural light or air within.

My daughters got hungry shortly after arrival. There is no bar, pub, restaurant or even room service of any kind until 5 p.m. "We have a nice vending machine" I was told. Yes, the Doritos and chocolate cookies were delectable.

While watching a movie in our room the fire alarm in our hallway went off. Loud bells, flashing strobe lights and a security chief banging doors let us know the alarm was not mistaken. "Everyone evacuate the building...immediately!!" My daughters were terrified. After about a 20-minute bare foot wait outside we were allowed to return to our rooms. The cause? Some workers down the hall hadn't hung plastic at the room entrance and the dust set off the alarm. Thanks.

The best was still yet to come. Our suffocating room needed airconditioning, but at 12:30 I was awoken by the ailing machine's very irregular moans. Preferring the heat to the noise, I turned it off. Completely off, but it wouldn't die. I checked to make sure it was turned off at least three times over a period of three hours (until 3:45, to be exact) and though it was most definitely turned off it still kept rattling, choking, sighing, spitting out, and then rattling again. I can't remember a longer night.

In the morning, feeling absolutely sick, we went to breakfast. Though the food looked magnificent (and beautifully presented) I was unable to touch a thing. My daughters felt slightly sick, too, and though my mother had slept a good night she immediately felt sick during breakfast due to the sub-zero temperature in the restaurant. It was so freezing cold in there I rushed back to our rooms for sweaters. To no avail for my mother. She left there sneezing and sniffling. She we bring bikinis in winter?

We all felt so hellish that none of us wanted to visit any of the mansions we'd come to see. And my flight back home? One of the worst. I don't think I've ever started a trip so weak.

My advice for this hotel? It would make a wonderful stop for snapping some picturesque shots. Lots of greenery, pretty statues and even little bunnies hopping about. As for spending the night? Go down the road to the Doubletree. It's simple in decore but reliable in the basics!
Management Response from THECC
We were distressed to read this posting particularly since we did not have any complaints matching the problems listed.

Our team will review reservation records to determine a Seville, Spain address and hopefully get a contact name/address.

If the author of the article reads this please respond back to my email listed so I may personally intervene and hopefully leave you with a better feeling than you currently have.

Incredible People

from A TripAdvisor Member
My wife and I were visiting our daughter who lives nearbye. Although we are both up in years the estate and its' people were beautiful.

No matter who we asked everyone was there to help us. Lots of walking around though, there are over 20 acres of grounds and lawns.

New rooms are incredible and the food was very good.

I can't wait to return.


from A TripAdvisor Member
My wife and I were looking for a quick get-away and found a room last weekend. Although the weather was terrible the guest rooms, lobby and mansions are very impressive. When we checked in the desk agent was very pleasant and informed us about a capret installation occuring but we did not see it. The complimentary breakfast buffet was not a typical continental, we sat in a large dining room over looking the gardens and we were served by professional well trained people.

We will be back in July and hopefully can use the large outdoor pool which looked beatiful but was closed due to weather.

Corporate frat house

from A TripAdvisor Member
Traveled with husband and 4 year old son. Driving up the driveway we spotted a raccoon and three deer, nibbling in the gardens. The initial view is impressive. However, look a bit closely and it's clear that there is extensive renovation going on. Paper stuck to the doors indicated room numbers, workmen shuffled through the halls at 8 am leaving paint, and bits of construction material in hallway where guests were staying. The room, though spacious and quite comfortable, had dust from construction on door locks and knobs. The tap water tasted HORRENDOUS. However, bathroom was clean and water pressure very good. Guests included group tours, families and, unfortunately, corporate fellows (and ladies) who hooted and howled until 3 am, up and down hallways and around grounds to and from the on site pub. Not expected as the "estate" is surrounded by woods and peaceful grounds. A total bummer as we were staying here to get AWAY from the city. Sounded like a frat house.

The hotel should offer discounted rates during this time of construction. No dining on site during weekends.

Breakfast, however, is served and it was very good - lots of variety and fresh fruits - and a lovely view over grounds.

Some pluses, but best used for corporate retreats, weddings, and reunions. We would not stay here again.


from A TripAdvisor Member
Very impressed by the beauty as we drove up the hill. The staff greeted us warmly. A little disappointed that we had to walk down 2 flights of stairs to the third floor. As senior citizens it's not always easy..........but our luggage was taken to the room for us so it eased the pain. The room was lovely.....spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast on day l was very nice but set up in a small room and we had to walk down a flight of stairs for a table, very awkward.....staff was moving tables outside, opening and closing the door near our table constantly..very annoying on a cold march Morning. Apparently, they were setting up for a wedding but I think it would have been nice if they waited for breakfast to be finished. If I didn't make a reservation for my brother and his wife for that night I would have checked out.. Day 2 was a lot better.........The breakfast buffet was set up in a large central room, there were tables on the same level the staff was very attentive and we were made to feel like important guests. Now we could appreciate the beautiful vista's of the Hudson from the hillside and could overlook the painful constant climbing of steps. The Sleepy hollow bar was very charming, though the drinks pricy....(Kept us sober)I guess that's why we were the only ones there. My last comment would be about the parking........except for check in nothing is close to the rooms and a hike uphill. Would love to stay again but due to handicapp could not consider.

Under some construction but still better than the other area hotels

from KevinOleary
There is definitely a lot of work going on at the Tarrytown estate, but the hotel is in an ideal location for travelers looking to stay outside of New York but not too far away. The service was great, the pub is really nice with 2 pool tables, a one lane bowling alley and a big screen TV. A couple of Plasma's would look nice in this room, but I think that is in the plans or at least I hope. The food (free breakfast) was a real breakfast, not just coffee and bagels. The price was also lower than other area hotels with a lower star rating. I think the Tarrytown is a great deal right now, I'm sure they will increase their pricing once the rennovations are finished. But I would go back there in a second.

Top Local Tips for Tarrytown

Getting to Tarrytown Don't use Mapquest, they send you to wrong street.Call or go to hotel website

Upgrades Be nice to check in desk help.I asked for an upgrade and without even having tocheck with a manager she said, let's see and gave me a room which costs $100 more free.

The Pub Ask front desk about drink coupons. They give them out


Other names for Tarrytown House Estate Hotel

  • tarrytown house hotel
  • tarrytown house
  • tarrytown hotel estate
  • tarrytown dolce house
  • dolce tarrytown house
  • dolce tarrytown
  • Address: 49 E Sunnyside Ln - Tarrytown - New York - 10591 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 334 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Tarrytown House Estate Hotel