The Hotel at Times Square New York City

, New York City, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around New York City

  • New York Marriott Marquis Hotel 1535 Broadway, New York City, New York 8.0/10 - 2251 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 1946 Rooms
  • The Roosevelt Hotel 45 East 45th Street, New York City, New York 7.0/10 - 3150 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 1014 Rooms
  • Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan Hotel 1605 Broadway, New York City, New York 8.0/10 - 2011 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 770 Rooms
  • The Michelangelo Hotel 152 West 51st Street, New York City, New York 9.0/10 - 1075 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 180 Rooms
  • Edison Hotel 228 West 47th Street, New York City, New York 7.0/10 - 2756 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 900 Rooms
  • The New York Palace Hotel 455 Madison Avenue at 50th Street, New York City, New York 9.0/10 - 1899 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars 806 Rooms
  • Flatotel International Hotel 135 West 52nd Street, New York City, New York 7.0/10 - 627 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 258 Rooms
  • Bryant Park Hotel 40 West 40th Street, New York City, New York 9.0/10 - 999 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 129 Rooms
  • Sheraton Manhattan Hotel 790 7th Avenue, New York City, New York 7.0/10 - 926 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 650 Rooms
  • Omni Berkshire Place Hotel 21 East 52nd Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, New York 9.0/10 - 849 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 396 Rooms
  • The Time Hotel 224 West 49th Street, New York City, New York 7.0/10 - 785 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 193 Rooms
  • Paramount Hotel 235 West 46th Street, New York City, New York 8.0/10 - 1981 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 608 Rooms
  • Best Western President Hotel 234 West 48th Street, New York City, New York 7.0/10 - 808 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 400 Rooms
  • Hilton Hotel 1335 Avenue Of The Americas, New York City, New York 8.0/10 - 2536 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 2000 Rooms
  • The Library Hotel 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, New York 9.0/10 - 1370 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 60 Rooms

The Hotel at Times Square New York City

3 star

Rooms: 206

59 West 46th Street - New York City - New York - 10036 - United States Hotel Website | 212 719 2300
745 Traveller

Reviews - The Hotel at Times Square New York City

Submitted by: Angela in 17/08/07
  • Age Group: 31 - 40
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
Let me say that I have travelled globally and have never seen a RUDER front desk staff in my travels. The hotel was nice and in a great location. The rooms were clean. The breakfasts were nice. I had a problem from the get go upon check-in. I arrived and was the only person standing there waiting to check in. There were several clerks but they were conversing with each other. I finally, after 10 mins or so, asked to check in. I was told that in addition to my stay I had to pay a $300 charge for incidentals. When I asked what it was for he told me, it was for the TV and the phones. I told his that those two items weren't necessary. He told me fine, I will turn off the phones and the TV.. I told his that was fine. We just needed the rooms to sleep. I called down later and asked for a rollaway bed. The lady told us that the charge would be $20 for our stay. When we got down stairs, she was gone and we were charged $25 PER DAY. I told him what the lady had told us and he said I was wrong. No other explanation offered or given. We called down to ask for additional towels and was told I needed to pay more money for additional towels. I flagged down one of the cleaning ladies and she told us that she would leave additional towels and to NOT tell the front desk. Upon check out, I was told I had to give them my credit card to pay for my room AGAIN! I paid $900 upon check in. they said I did not pay for it yet. I had to bring out my receipt that they gave me showing that it was paid in full. Then was told I had to re-pay the roll away too. I had to prove that with the other receipt. I then asked for a taxi to go from the hotel to the port authority. I was told to just walk it. I said no, we have luggage and can't carry it all. He said then go out and flag your own cab down. I told him that generally it is a hotel service. We waited for the concierge to come back from lunch. She said the same thing. Fist, walk it,
Then flag it down yourself. When we told the let us see a yellow pages so we can call a cab company, she said she wasn't allowed!!! So she called someone to take us. It was either her brother or someone else she knew. He arrived in a suburban. Didn't help load luggage. He wasn't a cab company, just someone she knew. She charged us $55 for an 8-block ride. We had no choice to pay it since we weren't given a telephone book. She also said she didn't know the numbers for the cab company. Even though your hotel is in a GREAT location, I could NEVER stay there again. I would be sure to inform people NOT to stay at that hotel. I felt since my party was all female that we were treated poorly. I believe if we had brought our husbands, this would never have happened.
I loved my stay
Submitted by: Robert in 18/07/06
  • Age Group:
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
Very comfortable. the staff was very friendly and very very helpful! I will always stay here every time I visit New York in fact my wife and I are planning to come back this November.
Great location!
Submitted by: Joanne Pratt in 02/07/05
  • Age Group: 60 +
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Business Traveller
This is the perfect location for seeing New York by foot, metro or taxi. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable, breakfast is good and you can't beat the price. Sleep here and save your dollars for shows and restaurants!
Comfortless, price level and attitude of the servants
Submitted by: Yi Chen in 27/06/05
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
Small space, too expensive, and the servants aren't too friendly. Probably won't make the same choice in the future.
Hotel For Everyone
Submitted by: Ashley in 20/05/05
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: Australia
  • Traveller type: Business Traveller
I would recommend Super8 Times Square to any level of traveller. Well priced, comfortable and local to where and what we wanted to do in NYC. Free Wireless Internet throughout the hotel also which is still not available in most Hotels.

Historical Traveller Reviews of The Hotel at Times Square New York City

Great Location and VALUE!!

from Travelin-GalPepin
Wow! I just had to leave a review for this little gem. I am a seasoned traveler, and have stayed at some of the best. But for this quick Fashion Week trip, I needed to stay within a budget, so booked here. My gal pal and I could not have been happier. The location is key, we walked to the tents at Bryant Park, the Rock, Bobby Flay's restaurant (Bar Americain, good but not great), and the Gershwin Theater (the last two in the rain!) and really felt we were central to all of our 'venues'.
The room is clean, looks just like the photos. Comfy bed, and plenty of towels (a pet peeve of mine is skimpy towels~these were not and there were 4 bath towels each day). NICE LG flat screen, good AC, coffee maker a plus, in-room safe easy to use.
The staff let us in at NOON, and since we were early, we got a room on the 4th floor as we had heard about the slow elevators. In reality, there were only a couple of times we were impatient for the lifts, mostly it was fine.
I recommend watching the website and look for falling rates. I did, and the hotel honored the everlowering rates each time I called. I saved $70 per night by this method.
We skipped the breakfast buffet, and instead went to Pret - A-Manger, a Brit cafe around the corner on 6th. GREAT FOOD and COFFEE! Bring lunch back to your room and save a bundle.

In short, I'll be back. I'd rather spend my money on sightseeing and shopping then a fancy hotel. My sis stayed this same week at a pricier ($500 a night) place, and it was not much of a bigger room and the plumbing was awful!!

Give the place a try. I think you will be satisfied. It was a total gamble for me, but paid off!!


from Jeannemaria
We would like to inform the management of the hotel on how friendly Patricia
She was very welcoming and cleaned our room 804 superbly.
In this age of busy lives, a smiling face in the service industry goes a
long way. I am sure that Patricia has touched the lives of many travellers
and I would like to acknowledge that she made a difference to our stay at
your hotel.
Jeanne Waas

Great Manhattan hotel

from Lilly_flower_girl
We stayed here with our 2 young children and my mother-in-law. This hotel is excellently located just off Times Square. There is a basic but adequate complimentary breakfast. The room was extremely spacious with two comfortable beds.

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. From our experience, I would say that it represents very good value.

Could be better but not that bad

from logella
Good location
Decent price
Reasonable rate
Friendly staff

No towel racks in bathroom
Breakfast is a joke
TV's automatically tune to pay-per-view adult content previews

Some of mentioned cabbies not being able to find the hotel but we never let that deter us in Manhattan. In fact, I'm not sure we've ever taken a cab directly to our hotel. Part of Manhattan is walking. We just got within a few blocks and walk. Much more fun.

The breakfast buffet is a complete joke. After the first morning we gave up and never went back. There are only a few tables for a busy hotel. Not worth the trouble.

The most irritating thing was that whenever we returned to the room and switched the TV on it was automatically tuned to the pay-per-view channel. Not unusual for a hotel. What bothered me was that every single time the previews being shown were for the adult content. I had to make sure to change the channel quickly as it's not appropriate kids to see that kind of stuff. Especially irritating considering that they bill themselves as a family hotel.

I guess the key question is will be come back? Maybe. Depending on what other deals we can find we would consider staying here again.
Management Response from applecorehotelsstaff
Dear logella-

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel!

We are very surprised to hear that your TV was automatically turning to the pay-per-view channel as our system is not set up to do so. When you turn on your TV, to access the pay-per-view channel, the system asks for your permission 4 times before you can access the channel, making sure you are aware of the cost.

We have a substantive continental breakfast that is free to all our guests, an amenity found in few other hotels in New York. On occasion, that results in a large number of guests coming in to the breakfast room at the same time as seems to have been the case during your stay. Nevertheless, we are expanding the breakfast room to accommodate more people and expect to begin that process early next year.

We try our very best to make sure that our guests are comfortable during their stay and are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied.

Please accept our apologies again and we hope that if you choose to stay with us again in the future your experience will be a happy one too.

Thank you!
Apple Core Hotels

I wish I could be more positive

from GJOHNS13
We were booked for a 4 day Shop and Stay package which was listed at $109 per night on the WEB and was to include coupons for shopping, restaurants, bottled water etc. The price and offer were listed on my reservation in the special code box. When we arrived, we were told that the $109 offer was not available in August, although it clearly stated that it was available from May through December on the WEB. We were charged $259 instead. The package materials were given to us on Day 4 and weren't available even then, in the morning before we checked our bags and checked out of our room. We were given a bag at 4 p.m. when we came back for our luggage. The bag contained gingerale instead of water, coupons for a mall outside of New York City and no restaurant coupons. I left them on a table for anyone else to use. I fought for 3 days for a discount based on all of the things that had gone wrong during our stay.

Positives: Comfy bed in a fairly large for New York room, which was quiet. Coffee pot in room. Nice business center with 3 computers. When the repair people came for the TV and phone, they were professional. Good location for theatres and subway.

Negatives: It took 4 hours, 2 calls and a trip to the front desk to get extra pillows. Phone was broken for 2 days which negated the supposed perk of free calls. TV reception very poor -couldn't get Channels 2-7. 3rd evening had only lukewarm water, 4th morning , only cold. Former visitor's make-up brush was found on day 4, on side of bed, when we were checking that we hadn't left anything ourselves. Breakfast was a mob scene each morning with no tables. Clerks had great difficulty with keeping up with the turnover and replenishing food. Only green bananas were available. Concierge misdirected us to the Metropolitan Museum, which you would think would be a popular spot in NYC!
For the entire weekend, there were tools and tape left at the top of the stairs for anyone to trip over. Also, paper was left on the elevator floor for 2 days.

On a sheet listing the hotel services given to guests at check-in, guests were asked to leave positive reviews on-line. I'm sorry that I honestly can't.
Management Response from applecorehotelsstaff
Dear GJOHNS13-

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel!

Please note that, as per the package description on our website, there is absolutely no mention about a rate for this package. Besides, you received both a bottle of water and ginger ale in your bag as we thought it would be nice for you to receive both even though you were supposed to receive only water. Finally, as described on our website, the Shop and Stay package is a package for Woodbury Common Premium Outlets, which are located outside of New York City.

We try our very best to make sure that our guests are comfortable during their stay and are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with our front. Our staff is trained to continually improve the quality of the service and to be as helpful as possible. Besides, our housekeepers clean the rooms, the bathrooms and the breakfast room on a daily basis and pay close attention to cleanliness. It is very important to us to make sure the rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable for our guests, and we are very surprised to hear that there were tools and tape left at the top of the stairs for the entire weekend.

Your experience at our hotel does not seem typical of our guests, and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies again and we hope that if you choose to stay with us again in the future your experience will be a happy one too.

Thank you!
Apple Core Hotels

Great Location!!

from CanadianGalVancouver
This hotel was recommended to us by our neighbor. I would definitely recommend it. I had to laugh at the last review as we had the same problem finding the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised when we got there. Everyone was friendly, check in went smooth. As far as the room size it was definitely adequate. We stayed in Paris a couple of years ago and this room was twice the size. The rooms were very clean and always made up properly. The room where the continental breakfast was served was adequate and it was a mob scene but the price was right (included in cost of hotel). If you are looking for fine dining and a quiet place to have breakfast you have to pay the big bucks elsewhere. I also had to laugh at the 7am "wake up call" with the jackhammers next door. I guess that is the price to pay in an ever changing city. We also liked the fact that you could call on the telephone anywhere in the USA for no charge.
In my family's opinion, don't let the bad reviews scare you. Go and find out for yourself. After all it is a place for you to hang your hat at night. Enjoy the city. We sure did and will be back again.

Great NYC location

from vikeman
First of all, our cab driver could not find the hotel so we just got out at the curb in the block it was supposed to be in. The problem was when we made our reservation, it was a Super 8 franchise. The managers are currently negotiating for a new franchise. Currently there is a canvas sign over the marquee, naming it The Hotel at Times Square.
We picked this hotel due to great location--46th between 5th and 6th--and a couple positive reviews on this site after remodeling in the spring.
The staff is friendly (not always the case in NYC?) and the decor is nice after the remodeling. For NYC, we thought the value was great--$209/night with our AAA discount.

Two caveats--construction next door starts about 7 a.m.--may be hard to sleep in. Second--the continental breakfast is a consistent mob scene. The earlier you get down there, the better. Lots of foreign tourists due to the weak dollar.

Re: the TKTS booth for same day show tickets--it is only about three blocks away but it would have been nice if the concierge had mentioned they take cash only. the lines can be long, but they move quickly. We got good seats for the play we wanted (The 39 Steps was great) at half-price.

If we returned, we would defintiely consider staying there again.

Good value, but beware of false advertising

from DougM1965
This is a tough review to write. The room we stayed in was a nice room for the price, considering you are in the Times Square area. We had two double beds and a bathroom.

The problem is that we booked our room through Super 8's website. And their website clearly stated that we would have a room with two double beds AND a sleeper sofa--which is important for a family of 6. When we checked in and went up to our room on the 10th floor, imagine our surprise to see only two beds and no sofa. When I went back to the front desk, I was rudely told that I was wrong about my reservation. They put me on the phone with the manager who explained that they have NEVER had rooms with two beds and a sleeper sofa.

We made due with the situation and two of our boys slept on the floor with extra blankets making up their "beds".

Given the false advertising on Super 8's website, and rudeness of the front desk, we won't be staying here again. If you have a family of 4 or less, it is a bargain for the location.

Our stay at the Hotel at Times Square New York

from CosmicRay
We stayed at this hotel in July 2008 for 10 nights. We arrived early, but there was no problem booking in and we were given our room straight away.

Our room was perfect with fresh towels and toiletries everyday. The bed was very comfortable and there was coffee/tea making facilities provided in the room. We had a complimentary self service breakfast and this included cereals, toast, cheese, doughnuts, fresh fruit, yoghurts, tea, coffee and orange juice. You could eat as much as you liked.

The breakfast room could have been bigger as it was always very busy. We always managed to be seated, but some guests took their breakfast to their room. The hotel was very central for getting about and we would certainly recommend it for staying in the Mid -Town area of New York.

Basic accommodation

from JAC22
This hotel has basic accomodation and if you get a good price it may be value for money in a very central location. However for the price I paid I expected more. The pictures on the website are deceptive it shows a light bright large room, whereas the room i had was dark and grim and small (needed the lights on in the day time to see), this wasn't helped by very dirty windows.

The room had been recently refurbished so the wallpaper etc was new however the bathroom was tiny and shabby.

The experience at the hotel (end July) was not helped by the noise, the noise from the street added to by the construction going on at the side of the hotel. Given that this is currently a large hole I would anticipate that the construction site (with the sound of lorries and diggers as early as 5am) will be there for some time to come. It appeared to me that the windows are not double glazed so even on a high floor you hear all the noise.

The lifts in the hotel are extremely slow and busy and not helped by congestion caused by the cleaners trolleys, but also on the day I was checking out one of the lifts was out of order so I had to wait for a lift for over 20 minutes as I could not have carried my suit case downstairs.

Do not be seduced by the 'free' breakfast, this is a basic low quality buffet in the basement and is a bit of a fight for space - I gave up after the first morning and preferred to pay for decent food in pleasant surroundings.

The reception staff on check in could not have been more helpful, however the lady who checked me out was extremely unpleasant she made various mistakes and seemed to be getting angry with me because of her mistakes - perhaps she was just having a bad day but I at least expected an apology at the end of the tortous exercise of checking out but non was forthcoming.

To sum up I would give this hotel a miss while the contstruction is going on, I would then only consider if you need a central location but are on a tight budget and get a very cheap deal and expect to be out of the hotel room for most of the time.

Top Local Tips for New York City

Theatre discounts without having to queue Visit the NYC Visitor Center at 810 7th Avenue and collect discount coupons ( 2 for the price of one ) for Broadway and off Broadway shows. No need to queue up at TKTS which allows you more time to explore this wonderful city.Ticket can be bought ahead of time and not just for performances on the day.If you don't see the coupons out on the desk ask one of the helpful people behind the counter.

Use metrocards and transfer to busses Buy metrocards in increments of at least $10 because you get an extra $2 value added to the card if you spend $10. Plan your route so that you make a short stop (small museum or shop you want to visit, or someplace that you only intend to spend an hour or so) then transfer for free from subway to bus or vice versa. If you are using the same metrocard for more than one person (as we were for three), only swipe it ONCE for the transfer. All the transfers will register at once.

TKTS Outlet We used the 1/2 price outlet, located in Times Square at the Marriott Hotel one evening. We stopped by around 5pm one evening and picked out a play (25th Putman County Spelling Bee) and payed $50.00 each for good seats. Amazingly easy and affordable.


Other names for The Hotel at Times Square New York City

  • super eight new york city
  • super 8 times square
  • super 8 new york city
  • super 8 new york
  • super 8 hotel times square
  • super 8 hotel new york
  • hotel at times square
  • at times square hotel
  • Address: 59 West 46th Street - New York City - New York - 10036 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 745 reviews

"NASTY and RUDE" - Angela

"I loved my stay" - Robert

"Great location!" - Joanne Pratt

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near The Hotel at Times Square New York City