Paramount Hotel

, New York City, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around New York City

Paramount Hotel

, New York City
4 star

Rooms: 608

235 West 46th Street - New York City - New York - 10036 - United States Hotel Website | | 212-764-5500
1981 Traveller

Reviews - Paramount Hotel

8/10
Great hotel!
Submitted by: Katie in 08/05/08
  • Age Group: 31 - 40
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
We found it to be perfect. We had a lovely room with 2 double beds (so plenty of room for all of our stuff), the locations was brilliant and the staff were very helpful. We also found the quality of the hotel was excellent. It was very nicely decorated throughout and had a geat concierge service (I loved having people opening the door and hailing cabs for me!). There was some paint flaking in the bathroom and there was work being done on the front of the hotel so we didn't have a view but hardly spent any time in the room anyway.
All in all, we loved it and would definitley stay again!
1/10
Nigthmare at Paramount hotel
Submitted by: Juanan in 27/04/08
  • Age Group: 31 - 40
  • From: Spain
  • Traveller type: Honeymooners
We stayed in this hotel in marc 2008, the room they gave us was tiny, was impossible to open the suitcases inside the room, that was bare patch, and the bathroom are so, so old, almost twenty years without improvements, they don't have windows...Also we've been in public restrooms cleaner than our room...
At the recepcion told us they will be chargin 50$ per day for any damage we could make.... and fridge of the room was closed and out of order..
The gereral impresion of the hotel is so dark, and they have music at hihg volume, maybe they suppose that make them more cool...
We were stolen inside the room(1300$), and they tried to avoid to call the police, I had to call them from my room (911), when the police came, the manager tried to avoid take responsibility for security of the room, of caouse, they charge us every call (1,25$ each), even to the police...
Leaving the hotel they charge us 2$ per suitcase, just to take care of them for a few hours... I truly recommend you not to go to this hotel, you are warned....
2/10
Great location, pathetic service
Submitted by: Adam in 25/02/08
  • Age Group: 18 - 25
  • From: Australia
  • Traveller type: Gay
The location and decor might be great, but the staff are in dire need of training. They continuously provided lacklustre service, which included overcharging us at check-in (which we later realised and claimed the difference back). The concierge never greeted us upon entering, and their concierge for entertainment and tours rudely responded to our inquiries without helping us one bit. It's a shame that this tainted our stay, as it is important to have a welcome refuge from the overstimulation of New York City at the end of the day.
The money the hotel spent on the lobby's decor should be have been directed elsewhere - we've stayed at hotels in the USA for three times less the price and had the best and friendliest service around, much larger rooms with more services (e.g. room service, kettles, free internet).
In addition, on our first day we were greeted in the morning with banging on our room door at 10am, met by 2 of their staff to check if we were in our room so it could be cleaned. The next day the maid walked in while we were sleeping. Not fun!
1/10
This is Not a Four Star Hotel
Submitted by: Bonnie in 20/12/07
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
Rooms far too small. Beds are extremely uncomfortable and a very short distance from the floor. Bathrooms are like what you would expect in an institution. Hallways dark and dingy. How they get away with a Four Star rating, is beyond me.
1/10
THE WORST HOTEL IN NYC!!
Submitted by: Jamie in 02/08/07
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Business Traveller
This ultimately was the worst hotel I have stayed at in NYC. The hotel room is tiny and the bathroom was filthy. The staff is extremely rude and even double charged my account, which took 2 months to fix since no one returned any of my calls. Choose otherwise, for the price they charge you can definately find a better hotel like the Hilton in Times Square (Fabulous Hotel). P.S. The paramount hotel and rooms look nothing like they advertise on their websites!! What a complete joke of a hotel!
1/10
Warning, stay sway at all costs!
Submitted by: JDS in 07/08/07
  • Age Group:
  • From:
  • Traveller type: Luxury Traveller
The hotel has just changed hands and they closed there restaurants and canceled there room service as well as removed the mini bars. That's right can you believe that they expect to continue charging insane rates to stay in a closet size room and you can't even get a can of soda or even ice sent up to the rooms. Stay away at all costs you've been warned!
4/10
Far too small for comfort
Submitted by: Elizabeth in 13/01/06
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: Ireland
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
Rooms are far too small for comfort. Fantastic location but not a friendly service!
2/10
Dangerously small rooms
Submitted by: Colin Porter in 18/10/05
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Special Interest/Event
My Wife and I returned on 15th October having spent 7 nights at the Paramount. we selected this Hotel due to the location and 4 star rating, the location is good but I do not think it deserves a 4 star rating, the bedroom was dangerously small, has to be seen to be beleived, the width of the standard double bed was not much smaller than the width of the room, we had to walk sideways when attempting to walk at the side of the bed by the window. For some reason the lighting is dimmed throughout the hotel, I suspect it is to hide the decor. I would recommend this Hotel to someone I did'nt like.
8/10
Cool and Compact
Submitted by: Andy Wright in 29/06/05
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Mature Couple
The Paramount Hotel is a cool Hotel, the service is great, entrance wonderful, fantastic stairs, colourful lifts, friendly bar and a great cafe at the entrance for breakfast and snacks. It's well situated for Broadway and a good base for New York. The rooms are creatively decorated (early Stark), great bedheads as classic pictures - but VERY small (actually this was OK - ish)Bigger rooms and it would have been a least a 9.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Paramount Hotel

The Paramount Hotel In NYC has a Fantastic Location for tourists. Brian the Doorman is excellent!

from Carlsoti
I would definately recommend the Paramount Hotel in New York City to any tourist that wants to spend their time seeing the city. This old building has been recently remodeled. I don't think it was a total overhaul, but I didn't expect a "Presidential Suite" for the rates we paid. The basic rooms are small and provide the essentials. HDTV, ipod dock/alarm clock, ironing board/iron, hot-air hair dryer, and a safe for valuables are the high points of the room we stayed in. Though I didn't utilize the following services, they also offer a fitness center, business center, bar/nightclub, etc. I find it difficult to complain about the size of the room, because we didn't spend much time inside. We were there to see NYC.

One of the great benefits(for tourists) of the Paramount Hotel in New York is how close it is to Times Square. It's literally only a few hundred feet from the center of the "Bowtie". Times Square is surrounded by many other great "districts", most of them are only a block or two apart, so it's a great place for tourists on foot.

In the opposite direction of times square, and about the same distance, is the center terminal for the Gray Line"hop-on-hop-off" double-decker tour-busses. These are another great asset to the tourist, as they will move you either uptown or downtown and allow you to see the whole city comfortably.

The real beauty of the Paramount is the staff, especially Brian, the Doorman.(New York's Friendly Doorman) While he was busy hailing cabs, loading luggage, etc, I briefly asked him about our ride to the airport. He clearly and effectively answered my question. The next day, without being prompted, he remebered me and which service I was using, and reminded me of that services policies, and also kept me updated as we waited! Though he was very busy, he was still very personable. I don't have a particularly memorable face, so the fact that he recalled all of the info from our initial conversation tells me he's a man who takes his job seriously and performs it very well.

We had one small issue with the TV in our room, and it was remedied immediately. All of the staff we encountered were great. Everyone seemed happy, and greeted us warmly.

While our stay was short, the location of the Paramount Hotel and the service provided by it's staff made for a very wonderful first impression of New york City.
Management Response from Team_Paramount
Dear Paramount guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive and informative response of your experience with us! I am very happy that you found the staff helpful and friendly, and that when your TV needed repair you found the service expeditious and efficient. Brian is a wonderful asset to our team, and I will be sure to pass along the good word. Have a safe and happy new year, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Disappointing for cost.

from BobBobBob300
If our intention was to stay in a somewhat older, quaint room with a Gramercy park feel, it would have been great. But, you expect old Gramercy Park prices for the Gramercy Park lack of amenities. Not the case here. Paid top dollar for a tiny room with mattresses remniscent of a college futon and a tiny bathroom. Didn't have blankets, the room thermostat was unreachable behind a fixture, and multiple calls to the front desk for a blanket went unanswered. So, we paid a lot of money to freeze in a tiny room.

I was also miffed when the bellhop yelled at me for bringing an open can of Dr. Pepper into the lobby and ordered me to throw it away. Apparently, in addition to paying a fortune for a tiny, freezing room, we also paid for a school marm. Fabulous. Won't be going back.

So Dissapointing

from ger2007
I love New York and when for my birthday my wife biooked a long weekend in NY I was thrilled to get back to where I was born. The Paramount left us down though. Apart from the very friendly doorman who was great the staff particulary the reception staff were horrible and rude. The room was very small even by NY standards 3 nights was long enough to stay. The lobby area is indeed nice but lacks something. Our checkout experience was dreadful. Seems they had our names for another room and tried to charge us for two rooms! No apology when the mistake was discovered. Have to say for a similar price there are far superior hotels in NY. Give this a miss.
Management Response from Team_Paramount
Good morning Paramount guest,

Thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback of your stay. I am disappointed you did not find the staff cordial, particularly as that is typically the highlight of other posters' stays. I hope that you can provide us with an opportunity to change your opinion of the hotel by staying with us again. If you do, please take advantage of the multiple room sizes we offer, ranging from the standard double room you booked to a Deluxe King bedroom or one-bedroom executive suite.

Our stay in a noisy closet

from NoClosetQueen
We arrive shortly after 3:00. The room would not be ready for an hour. Hungry, went to Dean and Deluca in Hotel. Besides the complaining homeless seated there, it was cccold!
Later saw the room! Unbelievable! Truely I have had a bath in Las Vegas larger. No view. Felt like a closet. Then found that the ice machine was two doors down on the other side. No matter. We heard every bucket poured. After the 1st nite, housekeeping failed to clean the room. Result? No toilet paper. What a treat! The bill was delievered on the wrong day and staff demanded we provide written proof of their error. Finally, the coup de maitre, on Monday, all the 4th floor was empty save us and they began construction. All for only $280.00 a night and we got the privilige of paying to store luggage for slightly more than an hour. Don't hurt yourself. Stay somewhere else. Bob Never Again
Management Response from Team_Paramount
Good morning guest,

I am very disappointed to hear about your experience in residence. I have reviewed your feedback with the staff and we were previously unaware of the challenges you faced during your stay. I hope that you offer us the opportunity to change your opinion of our hotel by staying with us again. I can assure you that guest satisfaction is a top priority of ours. When booking a room, please take advantage of the multiple room sizes we offer. Your booking was for a standard full-size bed, however we also offer Superior Queen rooms, Deluxe King rooms, and rooms with 2 double beds. By all means, if during your stay you are not completely satisfied or comfortable please let the front desk know so that we may accommodate you accordingly.

The best location, great staff, impressive lobby, somewhat small rooms, a bit expensive

from trooper167
Great location, in the heart of Manhattan, half a block away from Times Square. Impressive lobby, with a magnificent stairway full of candles. The breakfast servise at the mezzanine restaurant was excellent. Very nice, polite and helpoful people! The room we were given at first, though, was a total disappointment. Incredibly small, the TV on the side (there was no place to seat or lie and watch!), the bed was by no means able to accommodate two people, although described as double in the reservation (it was no more than 10 cm bigger than a single one)! Our vacation was saved by Nathalie at the front desk that was not only very polite but also able to solve the problem by moving us to a much better room. Thank you Nathalie!
Management Response from Team_Paramount
Good morning,

Happy holidays from the Paramount! I am delighted to hear of your pleasant stay, and that Nathalie was able to provide you with a room larger than the one you booked at no additional charge to make you as comfortable as possible. Guest comfort is essential to us, and we are more than happy to do whatever we can to make the guest satisfied. Please have a safe trip back to Greece and visit us again soon!

in NYC.

from natalyadawn
The paramount hotel is a small yet cozy place. My husband and I have spent many nights there over the past three years. The hotel was underconstruction last year but is back and better now. We always enjoy the service that this hotel's staff provides, but Brian, the doorman, did an exceptional job of taking care of our needs this last visit with a smile every time. We just wanted to give him credit as "The Friendliest Doorman" in NYC.
Management Response from Team_Paramount
Holiday greetings!

It is truly wonderful to read that our guests enjoy their experience at the Paramount, particularly when they express satisfaction with our staff. Thank you for leaving feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. In the meantime, please have a safe and happy holiday season!

Very good located but not clean enough...

from socunpassarell
Location is incredible, right in the middle of it.

The staff was extremely helpful, specially when it came to buy tickets for events, they were extremely agile and friendly.

The rooms were quite small, but you can manage. The bathroom was also small but dirty, so we had to ask the to clean it properly, which they did. Also, the tap was broken and we had to ask them to repair it.

The manager of the hotel emailed us after and apologised for the inconveniences, which I value as positive.

It's a US 3* hotel which is equivalent to a 2* in Europe, so as long as you don't expect much of a hotel it will be fine.
Management Response from Team_Paramount
Greetings Paramount guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am pleased to know that any time you came across a maintenance issue we were able to fix it for you. Here at the Paramount we are truly concerned for our guests' comfort and will do anything we can to make sure the guest is happy. Have a safe trip home to Spain and we hope you visit us again soon!

Location, location, location

from SAITAM
Advantages: LOCATION, comfort, cleanliness and air conditioning.
Disadvantages: price, small room and samall bathroom
Management Response from Team_Paramount
Good morning,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, from the cleanliness and comfort to the location. For you next stay, I would suggest booking a Superior queen sized bed or a Deluxe king bed, as they are larger than the standard double bed. Until then we wish you a safe and happy holiday season!

EXCELLENT LOCATION..EXCELLENT HOTEL

from dthwaytes
We stayed at the Paramount and as soon as we arrived we were made very welcome, Nathalie dealt with us on reception and she could not ave been more helpful, when we told her we were celebrating our silver wedding she upgraded our room immediately. The hotel was clean, rooms serviced every day, in an ideal location and all the staff were absolutely brilliant and so friendly . The information and assistance we received from the concierge was always helpful and they would do all they could to help. We had read about the rooms being small but ours was great.The only thing that took getting used to was the noise at night, (horns..sirens and wagons..but hey it is N Y C)
David / Maureen....Penrith..England
Management Response from Team_Paramount
Good morning and happy holidays!

It's wonderful to hear how well you were treated while you stayed with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback and congratulations on the big 25. We hope to see you when you celebrate your 26th! In the meantime, we wish you and your family a happy and safe holiday season.

Great Hotel, but you can get much better prices online

from eallatt
I've probably stayed at The Paramount hotel 20 times over the last 10 years. I go several times a year for business, and I have also brought my family of 5 on a couple of occasions.
I have nothing but positive things to say about this hotel. I would only warn people of 2 very minor things:
1) the rooms and bathrooms are a bit on the smallish side, but totally manageable. My husband is 6"2 and gripes a bit about the size of the bathrooms, but he still suggests we return to this hotel every time we go to NYC.
2) the rates listed on the hotel's website, and the rates you are given if you phone in-house reservations are much much more expensive than the rates you will find if you search around on-line. I just booked a 1 bedroom suite for a week for the 2009 Christmas holidays, and was initially given a rate of $457/night by the in-house reservation staff. My husband went on-line last night and found the exact same room for $299/night + breakfast. We actually called the hotel to ask why there was a difference, and they said there was no reason and we should definitely cancel our more expensive in-house reservation and proceed with the cheaper on-line one.
Management Response from Team_Paramount
Happy holidays Paramount guest,

We also enjoy welcoming back guests to our hotel, and it is wonderful that you find our services so accommodating that you keep returning! Thank you for the feedback, and it is true that there are often third party websites which sell rooms for a lower rate. We prefer communicating directly with the guest so that a more pleasurable experience is ensured, but whichever way allows us to keep seeing you return will make us happy! Have a safe trip home and see you in 2010!

Top Local Tips for New York City

The Subway Get used to using it. It makes NY small and easy to get around. Everyone uses it, and it felt safe.

3 Hour Circle Line Tour around Manhattan This is not to be missed! You'll see the whole island from the water and learn from the narration. Very interesting!

subway Use the subway, it is a bargain and very easy to use, much better than using a bus or taxi that gets stuck in the traffic.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Paramount Hotel

  • paramount new york city
  • paramount hotel nyc
  • paramount hotel new york city
  • paramount hotel new york
  • paramount hotel
  • new york city paramount
  • Address: 235 West 46th Street - New York City - New York - 10036 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
8.0/10

See All 1981 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Paramount Hotel