Hotel Reserve

, New York City, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around New York City

Hotel Reserve

, New York City

Rooms: 113

51 Nassau Street - New York City - New York - 10038 - United States Hotel Website | 212-227-3007
255 Traveller

Reviews - Hotel Reserve

2/10
Wouldn't stay again
Submitted by: Chris in 19/02/09
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Mature Couple
I had dinner in the city on Valentines day and decided to book a room at the hotel reserve. (Not that great). The rooms are nice but a little snug and lets just say the walls are a bit thin. I could hear the people above me having a "good time" and people talking in the hallway. The staff nice but amature.

I booked a month ahead of time, a specific room with a balcony that was larger and was given another room (probably because those rooms were at least twice the amount on Valentines day). They were booked solid so I couldn't change the reservation. A friend of mine asked me to book a room for her also and they didn't have the reservation in the system (shaking my head)

They have charged my card a total of 6 times already and can only see 3 transactions. I had to end up faxing them a copy of my bank statement and was told was told that they would need 24 hours to explain why I was charged the different charges that there system does not have record of.

I told them to call me when they received the fax and after 15 minutes of waiting called back to find out the manager wrote my number down wrong. (yuck).

The aftermath sucks more because I had to fairly descent V-day.

The worst thing about this entire event was that one of my reasons for staying there was to see if I would recommend my 400 million dollar corporation to continue with the efforts of obtaining an account with this hotel. They blew it! I was the one that contacted my travel department to start the process of opening an account with the reserve and sadly I had to contact them and tell them that I judged this book by it's cover and not by it's content

Historical Traveller Reviews of Hotel Reserve

Good Location....Clean....Staff Helpful....Easy access to mass transport

from Georgetown_travelers
Pros:
-Subway is one block away - 15 minute ride to uptown museums
-Lots of restaurants surround the hotel within 5 minute walk: Sushi, Lebanese, pizza, Irish, Steak, Chipotle, McDonalds, Udon, etc.
-Every store you would need within 5 minute walk: Liquor, Drug Store, Clothing, Groceries, etc.
-Great location in the heart of NYC downtown.
-Staff is very helpful and accommodating.
-Beds are very comfortable.
-Plenty of hot water at peak times.
-Rooms are clean.

Cons
-Rooms are small
-No night life in the area
-Bar/Restaurant downstairs is expensive. $14.00 for a mixed drink. - Advise: go to the liquor store on Maiden instead.

Bottom Line: This is a great hotel if you plan on exploring NYC. The staff is really good at making your stay pleasant. They help you make informed decisions. Do not stay here if you expect a luxury hotel with lots of amenities.

Great Hotel, Great Service

from meno69
Had a wonderful stay at Hotel Reserve. Front Desk was a pleasure to deal with and was quite helpful with questions about how to get around. The rooms were quite new and well presented. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever found, and it was king size. Nothing negative to really speak of apart from the gym which only consisted of a few treadmills and no weights.

Excellent hotel, good location!

from Luciledub
Stayed there for 6 nights. It was my first time in NYC and I was afraid the hotel would be far from all the main areas for tourists, but it is actually a great location with several subway lines less than 5 minutes away. We were able to go anywhere very quickly.
The room was modern and clean, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom very well equiped! Didn't watch much TV but the big flat screen is probably great for lonely business travelers. The access to broadband for free was useful to plan our trip too.
Not much to say about the staff, they were polite and helpful.
I recommend this hotel, this is really great value for the price (less than 700$ for 6 nights)!!!

Nothing Special

from searcher040
Was recommended to stay at hotel because office directly accross street so I booked but then checked Expedia and got a lower rate then my negotiated corporate account so I booked that one. Very tiny lobby you walk in and you feel so cramped. I did there were three other people checking in at the time I arrived. It seemed like it took forever to check in and it appeared as the person who was checking me in was all over the place sorry to have to point this out but he did not seem like he knew what was going looking at the computer like there were sometechnical problems. What I thought was unproffessional was there appeared to be reservations on the counter for other people. Standing there a while I noticed names and personnel information about other guests. I hope they read this and make sure that does not happen again.
Room I was in was 2002 nice room nothing fancy. The bed was comfortable but I have to say do something about those clocks and the lamps in the room. Staff overall were nice and accommodating. I was in for a few days so the other problem for me was no restaurant. If you are an out of towner and you stay in a hotel you kind of expect a restaurant. No coffee or nothing. The area is not like mid town manhattan so late night eats is a no go. There was a diner the desk kept reccomended ok but I was like do you know anything else in the area? I am 6ft 3 and the reason I mention this is because the fitness center is a joke. I tried using the equipment and hit my head on the ceiling. It appears they just stuck a health club in the space because they had to there appears to be no thought.
Stayed here because company had a negotiated account but honestly if had tvo do it again there are other hotels I would try them out before staying again.

Excellent stay for the price

from JulesLeftfield
A buddy and I stayed at the Hotel Reserve for five nights. The hotel itself is unassuming with a tiny lobby located between a Starbucks and an imported tie shop on Nassau (directly across the street from the NY Federal Reserve, hence the name). The hallways are narrow making it next to impossible for two guests with luggage to cross one another. The room, though small, was new, clean and perfect for our needs (clothes storage & rest). We booked a double with fulls and found the linens to be extremely clean and the mattresses quite comfortable. The bathroom wash clean with new fixtures. My roommate complained about the shallow drainage design of the shower being such that overflow on to the floor was unavoidable. I didn't have a problem with such spillage however (I guess it just depends on what you're used to at home). The 32" LG mounted on the wall took up little space and was nice for our limited viewing (late night ESPN highlights & morning news). The internet access was excellent and made communicating with friends; setting up reservations; and mapping out routes from their centralized location on my laptop a breeze.

The cleaning staff were polite, patient and performed excellent services.
The front desk staff were young, hip and professional. Extra special thanks to Curtis for really looking out for us. Also, kudos to the young man (sorry, I forgot your name) who arranged for an additional room when our flight arrived early.

Areas for improvement include service and transportation. On several occasions when presented with inquiries, especially about transportation (taxis, car services, etc), the responses from staff members fell quite flat! Its okay to not know something, but unforgivable to not be diligent about finding out! Also, given the type of travelers more than likely to utilize a hotel like Reserve they will definitely need to improve their efforts in facilitating adequate transportation for their guests. At the tail end of a wonderful trip when asked about transportation back to JFK the response was invariably, "Just go out to Broadway and catch a cab". Which doesn't sound too harsh, but is also neither insightful nor helpful. Combine that with the fact that, given the time of our flight, none of the staff felt it necessary to explain the uniquely NY concept of "shift change"; needless to say we missed our flight! Additionally, the "fitness center" was comprised of one lifecycle and two treadmills. With all of the walking one does in NY their fitness senter could do without two of the cardio machines in substitute for some sort of multifunction nautilus apparatus.

Overall I have to give the Hotel Reserve NYC 4.5 out of 5 stars, 90%, A- ...at its current price!!!! After booking our trip on Hotel.com I compared the average price if we had booked directly from http://www.hotelreservenyc.com/ and was surprised at what the going rate for this place will be after its soft opening. Even after improvements to service, and the opening of the restaurant I would have to give serious thought to booking again, as much as I loved the place, for an additional $50+ dollars per night.

For the time being, we had a great time and I definitely recommend Hotel Reserve NYC.

Hotel rips people off

from missmadams
After reading reviews of how people were double and triple charged, I decided to cancel my stay at this hotel. I cancelled more than 48 hours in advance, through the same website I booked the room (their website). Kept my Cancellation # just in case! Sure enough, they charged me for my non-existant stay. When I called to get it credited back, then mockingly asked if I had a cancellation number, which I did. Then I got the run around about the manager having to do it and he was unavailable and would call back. It has been over a week now, and I still have not recieved a refund to my account. I do not trust these people at all.
Management Response from HotelReserveManager
Dear “missmadams”,

We would first like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Through these reviews online and through our in-room Guest Satisfaction Survey we are making strides to provide our guests with the highest of quality service.

We would like to thoroughly apologize for this inconvenience you encountered regarding you being charged for your first night even with you cancelling in the allotted time period. Although you did cancel on our website it never hit our system. We understand your concern and upon calling us we immediately refunded your credit card for the total charged. If you did not see the refund on your card right away it may be because many banks have a five to ten business day holding period before refunds post back to the account.

We assure you though – this issue has been fully resolved.

Again, we do apologize and hope you choose to stay with us in the future when visiting our city!

If there is anything else we may assist you with, it would be our pleasure.

Best Regards,
Hotel Reserve NYC

The Staff was friendly and Helpful

from rikki7777
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Reserve. The staff was extremely accomodating. As someone who is directionally challenged, I had to call twice for directions and the hotel clerk was wonderful and gave me detailed instructions for reaching the hotel.We had forgotten toothpaste and they gladly provided us with some. The rooms were small but spotless and contained all the amenities necessary. It was centrally located and made it a short taxi ride to the evening concert we attended as well as area restaurants. The beds were very comfortable.
Each room had a new flat screen television set.
Best of all was the value for your money. In these hard economic times, finding such a value on a room in NYC is unheard of.
Best of all, when one of the members of our party was called home suddenly at 1 AM and was not able to stay, they gladly refunded our money. If I was spending an extended stay, I would want a roomier room, since there were four of us, but for a weekend trip, it was perfect. A parking garage was around the corner with discounted rates for Hotel Guests.

t stay again

from bozsun1210
A resident of NY since I was having dinner in the city on Valentines day I decided to book a room at the hotel reserve. (Not that great). The rooms are nice but a little snug and lets just say the walls are a bit thin. I could hear the people above me having a "good time" and people talking in the hallway. The staff nice but amateur.

I booked a month ahead of time, a specific room with a balcony that was larger and was given another room (probably because those rooms were at least twice the amount on Valentines day). The explaination: "It was not available when I booked" which was a lie because I was specific with the request and was told they hotel was wide open for reservation.

They were booked solid so I couldn't change the reservation. A friend of mine asked me to book a room for her also and they didn't have the reservation in the system (shaking my head)

They charged my card a total of 6 times and could only see 3 transactions. I had to end up faxing them a copy of my bank statement and was told that they would need 24 hours to explain why I was charged the different charges that there system does not have record of.

I told them to call me when they received the fax and after 15 minutes of waiting called back to find out the manager wrote my number down wrong. (yuck).

The aftermath sucks more because I had to great V-day with the exception of the hotel and it's ruining my memory of the day.

I recommended that my company open an account with this hotel prior to my stay after doing a walk through. We're public and estimated 400 million corporation. I was embarrassed to tell them I misjudged the book by it's cover and not it's content.
Management Response from HotelReserveManager
Dear “bozsun1210”,

We would first like to thank you for taking the time to post your review. Through reviews online and through our in-room Guest Satisfaction Survey we strive to improve and provide our guests with the highest of quality service.

We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered throughout your stay. We do apologize for the slight billing issue that you encountered. Often at times we are unable to see pending authorizations in our system once a guest has checked out. Upon checkout these authorizations are automatically released and then your bank places them in a “floating transaction” category. Depending on the bank it takes anywhere between five and ten business days to delete the authorization from your account and reflect that amount in your available credit.

We do hope you choose to try us again. Now with the hotel being open for just about three months and out of our soft opening stage, we feel the “kinks” have been worked out and are ready to “wow” our guests.

We do thank you for your comments and if there is anything we can do to assist you further, it would be our pleasure.

Best Regards,
Hotel Reserve NYC

Good Stay

from NJ_Visitor
Stayed here for a one night stay. Hotel open for about a month in a converted office building. Desk service good and friendly. Did not seem to have many guests. Stayed on a top floor. Hallways very narrow, but room was a good size. Room decorated in Ikea-style furniture and comfortable. Although the hotel was open a month, the furniture was already showing signs of wear. Generally, a good stay in a very convenient location near the stock exchange and WTC site.

Great Hotel!

from REsfandari
Booked this great little hotel on Expedia for $129 and since my office was right around the corner I thought it deserved a shot.

Value for your money is unbelievable. I arrived and was checked in promptly and was offered dining suggestions. Staff was very attentive and looked organized considering the hotel just opened recently.

Room [2001] was a nice size and had a great 32" LCD TV and the bed was the best hotel bed I've ever slept on.

Loved the bathroom amenities - very upscale.

Cardio room was basic but modern and had an LCD TV in there as well.

I hear the restaurant is opening shortly. I got a little tour of it and it looks very nice.

I will definitely make this my new downtown hotel - sorry Millennium Hilton, I have a new home.

R.E.

Top Local Tips for New York City

Party Shuttle Christmas Lights Tour We went on a Christmas Lights Tour with the 'Party Shuttle' company with our 4 small children and were really dissapointed with the night. From the advertising it sounded like they made plenty of photo stops but in fact the shuttle only stopped 3 times. The first was to view the Empire State Building (and by the time my husband had jumped up to get the strollers of the bus for our two youngest children, the guide and the rest of the group had already gone without us. (Much to our annoyance as he knew we wanted to go and it would not have been much of a wait for him). Second stop was to view the city Skyline at night and the third stop was to view the Ground Zero site, where once again he raced off without us and we ended up losing him. (Lucky we were near our hotel so as it was the end of the tour anyway we gave up and went home!) The only Christmas lights we saw were as we drove down 5th Ave and then as we drove past the Rockerfeller Centre (If you blink you will miss it!).

Great Place to Snap Photos of 42nd St. and the Chrysler Building Here's a tip for all visiting photographers; the very best place to photograph or film 42nd Street and its distinguishing landmarks is from the Bridge over 42nd Street. Walk east along 42nd Street toward First Avenue. At the corner of Second Avenue you will see McFadden's Pub on the north side of the street. Just after you pause to notice the eye grabbing indoor garden at the Ford Foundation Building, continue walking until you come to a stone stairwell. Walk up the steps alongside a playground. At the top step you'll find you are in one of the two parks that face a cluster of Pre-War buildings known as Tudor City. Turn right, a few short steps brings you to the middle of the bridge. Above the traffic you can see all the way to New Jersey as 42nd Street winds like a bumpy hill to the Hudson River. Look up; See the soaring pinnacle of the Chrysler Building glistening against the sky? Wait, it gets better. Turn around to face the pallid green glass tower of the United Nations, with the East River meandering below, while the over 190 colorful flags of the member nations flap noisily in the wind. Return after dark for an even more spectacular view.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Hotel Reserve

  • reserve hotel new york city
  • Address: 51 Nassau Street - New York City - New York - 10038 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
8.0/10

See All 255 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Hotel Reserve