Fort Marcy Suites Hotel

, Santa Fe, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Santa Fe

Fort Marcy Suites Hotel

, Santa Fe
3 star

Rooms: 100

320 Artist Road - Santa Fe - New Mexico - 87501 - United States Hotel Website | | 505 988 2800
277 Traveller

Reviews - Fort Marcy Suites Hotel

Check Your Card
Submitted by: Greene/Rogers in 09/03/05
  • Age Group: 31 - 40
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Other
They billed our entire stay on our credit card 4 days before we even arrived. Also, the room was not clean. I have dust and mold allergies. My the third night, I was miserable! We had to call twice for firewood and there were no matches or anything to light the fireplace with. I would not stay here again.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Fort Marcy Suites Hotel

Our unit was lovely, but...

from texasmiss
We just completed a multi-night stay over Easter weekend. Many of the reviews on Trip Advisor talk about how the unit actually rented didn't always match the unit pictures seen online. How we solved this: we rented through a Santa Fe-based property management company (Kokopelli); the unit shown online WAS the unit we rented. It was a 2 story 2br 2 1/2 townhouse. It was very nicely furnished with southwestern furnishings, a flatscreen tv, and full kitchen appliances/utensils.

One not so good thing: the pool and spa were "out of order" for 2 of the 4 days we were there.

The location is great - 4 blocks to the plaza, but still very quiet. Parking is plentiful.

The grounds need work: It looks like a grounds maintenance person needs to walk through picking up scattered bits of trash.


from tr00per1
Stayed here just prior to Thanksgiving 2007 with another family. Had heard great things about it but we were unimpressed. It's outdated, somewhat overpriced, and the staff is not very friendly or helpful.

When we arrived, our condo was freezing cold (in the low 50's) and they had the gall to charge us for firewood.

The fire alarm went off one evening and when we called the front desk, we got voicemail! Had to wait outside until the alarm went off, which turned out to be another guest who forgot to open the flue on his fireplace.

We were also told when we booked it that we would have a condo with a great view but that turned out to not be the case. The staff made halfhearted attempts to remedy the situation but really they just made us feel guilty for being disappointed.

Just overall very disappointing. Will not stay there again and would not recommend it.


from skibumNewYork97
I stayed at Fort Marcy Suites in January. My boyfriend and I took a short ski vacation from NY. The room was comfortable, we loved the ambience of the kiva fireplace, the indoor swimming pool and the convenience of the free shuttle service.
Also, the price was great compared to other higher priced options in downtown Santa Fe.

We lucked ou!!!!

from ladauphine
After reading about the "hit and miss" possibilities at this place, we approached with trepidation. We were a late arrival-- just before 10 pm-- so we were thinking the best units would be gone. We were wrong. We had a one bedroom unit, number 12.
It was spectacular-- top luxury category. The owners had thought of everything. There was custom tile work everywhere, including a walk in shower and double wash basins. Bedroom was very roomy and had a view over toward the mountains.
We loved the breakfast (cereals, or make your own waffle), coffee, juice, etc.-- and it's complimentary-- free.
We run a B&B in New Orleans, and rent out properties in Paris and Nice-- so we know what to look for.
The staff was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful-- Jessica was incredibly nice-- even wrapping a Christmas present that I had delivered by Fed Ex. for me.
We did find out that others there weren't as lucky as we were-- one unit had construction debris still in it, another guy got a two-level unit and his wife was in a wheel chair, another arrived late and had his 3 bedroom unit given away, as they were overbooked, another told me their furniture was shabby, another had no heat in the unit (or very insufficient heat), and it was 25 degrees outside. The day I left I heard the staff say in the morning that they had 3 overbookings to deal with that night.
So, not everyone was as lucky as we were. Still, those that criticize the breakfast and the heated pool and jacuzzi facilities are way off.
And I also heard the staff telling someone that you book the room, NOT the amount of people-- so, lots of people there pack in 4 adults and 3 kids into a 2 bedroom unit-- quite a bargain.
They take the matress off the sofa bed and put it on the floor for the kids. It's great for families and extended families-- an extreme bargain in those cases. And you can make coffee and cook all sorts of delights-- we cooked a duck in the oven on Christmas day, with baked sweet potatoes, and zucchini.

We really enjoyed our visit there and felt very lucky to have such a wonderful unit. I told them how super a time we had.
They also own another place in Santa Fe and other properties in San Diego and around the U.S.
All of the condos are individually owned, so you can never be certain just what you're getting.

Do not recommend

from hb1024
Horrible. First - we were promised(over the phone) a room with a great view - given a room number, location and everything. Got to the property (after driving 6 hours with three children under 4) and were told that rooms are never guaranteed - ever. So they put us in another room. The room was 50 degrees upon check-in and they still charged us over $10 for firewood. The condition of the room was awful. Furnishings were about 20 years outdated. The beds were incredibly small & uncomfortable. The grounds were messy - lots of trash. Many, many bricks in the walkways were loose or just missing - very dangerous. After sharing our disappointment we were told that we could move into another, nicer unit in the morning. Great. So we move into the new unit the next day. Much nicer - we were pleased and thought we were going to be able to enjoy the rest of our vacation. The next morning our phone rings at 8:30 - it's the front desk - they tell us that we are going to have to move units because the owners of the unit we were in had arrived. They could have another unit by noon but we needed to be out as soon as possible. At this point - we had had enough and we simply refused. We were not going to move all of our baggage and 3 children on our last day. The owners of the unit were gracious and allowed us to stay. Remember I said the owners - not the office staff. There is so much to do & see & eat in Santa Fe don't waste your time & money haggling with the staff at the property you choose. Stay clear of Fort Marcy, their sub-par accomodations and lazy, unhelpful staff.
Management Response from howey99
Some of the benefits of staying in a Condo-Hotel are that you get big roomy units. They come fully equiped with ktichens, living rooms, fire places, etc... All of our units are decorated individually which brings a fun south-western design that our return guest's love because every room they stay in is different.

Altough it is great to have individually decorated rooms, this means that some of our Condo's that we manage will have different bedding configurations. So, we do not guarantee bed types. What we do guarantee is how many the Condo will sleep. Now each Condo has at least a queen size bed and if there are multiple bedrooms, there could be twin beds, queens, kings, etc... If you call us, we will put a request in our system to do everything that we can do, to accomodate our valued guest's. We tell our guest's this same information.

Unfortuntely for this guest we did not have her specific bedding configuration that she requested and was very upset. We did try to move her into other units but there were no options. She came back demanding that we move her into a different unit, which we did.
Once moved into the different unit which she liked so much, our new employee did not realize that the owner was on arrival for the next morning. We asked the owner if we could put them in a different unit, which they agreed to. This made the situation a lot better. I apolgize that she was incovenienced by the confusion and she was happy with the resolved solutions.

If you have any quesions please feel free to call me and ask. My direct line is 505-216-1924.

Lousy staff and policies, life is too short to stay here!

from OregonRyan
The accommodations were great, but the staff was unhelpful and unreachable. I tried to reach a manager for three days, but s/he was never available. Also, got the fun surprise of getting hit with a $10 per day extra charge ON TOP of my Orbitz bill. This was for "housekeeping," which was ironic when they then told me that they don't clean the condos if I didn't stay for three days or longer. Huh?! So, I pay a daily hidden fee of $10, which you don't hear about until it is too late to cancel, and they aren't even going to clean when I'm paying for it?! Exactly! When I then complained at length, the front desk called the manager and complained about me in Spanish, thinking I couldn't understand them. There are so many awesome places to stay in Santa Fe, why stay somewhere with this poor service and hidden fees?
Management Response from howey99
I would like to apologize to this guest. I have sent him an email and will work any inconvenience's caused by us out with him to ensure that he is happy.

I would also like to explain a couple of things that were misconstrued by our staff and this guest.

First off, we do have a hospitality fee that is charged to each guest. This is clearly posted on the orbitz website. This does not cover housekeeping fees. This is for parking, internet, and our continental breakfast. We should have communicated this to this guest when he checked-in and failed to do so.

The great thing about our establishment is that we provide fully equiped condominium's, compared to a regular hotel room. We provide extra towels and sundries in each room. This is why do not provide a daily clean. If you were to ask us for extra towels, linens, sundries, etc... we would quickly run them up to your room.

If you have any questions about this property please feel free to call me directly at 505-216-1924 and ask for Mike.

Great Experience with Staff

from kitteCa
The staff was very helpful. The view was great. A lot of stairs for older people was the only drawback. The shuttle service was reliable and the condo was nice and clean.

Great Place

from texas32
Texas September 12,2007

Our stay was the best we experienced wonderful service, I was quit hesitant to book the reservation, But I will never regret it my stay was wonderful.... I travel to Santa Fe 5 times a year, I will return to Fort Marcy Suites... The service was incredible!

Not Bad At All!!!

from murraycoco
We were really worried after reading several reviews. When we checked in to the hotel we received a warm welcome with good info on the surrounding events that were in town. My wife and I loved this because we were here for the first time. The guy from the front desk was helpful and the shuttle drivers were great. The room was very comfortable and we were glad that we stayed with Fort Marcy. It is close to town and we enjoyed the friendly service. We will be back.

T DO IT !!!!

from TravlinFoo
Arrived late, and it was dark. First, the sign telling you where the checkin office is did not have a light on it. Once checked in, what a zoo trying to find your room. Most do NOT have a parking lot, you park on the street, then try and wheel you bags down steps and brick.

First room or "condo" was THE DIRTIEST, SMELLIEST I've ever checked into. Went to the front desk, and the guy at the counter was very kind and upgraded us from a BRONZE to a SILVER room. We thanked him, and went off to try to find this SILVER room. 20 minutes later once we walked in, it was larger, looked cleaner, but, was even smellier and mustier than the last room. Walked into the dining room, and found HUGE COCKROACHES on the floor. They were not very shy either.

As I was walkin out of my second room back to the front desk to turn my key in and decline staying at this place, I looked at the sign on the back of the inside door. It stated the full rate for this room. $459 per night!

We had looked at pics online, and the pictures looked beautiful.
when we showed these to the guy at the front desk, he had no clue where the pictured room was. Oh if I had only looked for reviews instead of the pictures. I'm not the only one here that was shocked.

We ended up staying 15 minutes north of Santa Fe at the Homewood Suites on Exit 177. Perfect stay there, new, clean and cheap in comparison!

The desk guy and management were both responsive to our complaints, but do youself a favor and don't consider Fort Marcy.

Top Local Tips for Santa Fe

Some galleries aren't open on Sundays We were a bit disappointed because we wanted to see a couple galleries on Sunday but they were closed, and it was a holiday weekend! So be prepared that some of the galleries may not be open the whole weekend, if you are there for a quick getaway.

travel Get a city map

great restaurants Try Chow's, Bistro 315, El Farrol, Ginger, Cliff Cloud Bakery-- too many to name. Then, walk thru the galleries on Canyon Road. Take the ski lift up to the top.


Other names for Fort Marcy Suites Hotel

  • fort marcy santa fe
  • fort marcy hotel
  • Address: 320 Artist Road - Santa Fe - New Mexico - 87501 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 277 reviews

"Check Your Card" - Greene/Rogers

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Fort Marcy Suites Hotel