Best Western Four Seasons Hotel

, Traverse City, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Traverse City

Best Western Four Seasons Hotel

, Traverse City
2 star

Rooms: 74

305 Munson Avenue Us 31 - Traverse City - Michigan - 49684 - United States Hotel Website | 2319468424
166 Traveller

Reviews - Best Western Four Seasons Hotel

Submitted by: Mark in 05/10/05
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Adventurer
I like the location of this hotel because of its proximity to the old mission peninsula, and I like that it is dog-friendly! My wife and I like to travel with our dogs when possible.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Best Western Four Seasons Hotel

Good for the price

from A TripAdvisor Member
The hotel was good for the rate. Stayed in a jacuzzi suite and was nice - the stairs took some getting use to though. Room was kept clean - a little outdated furniture seems old - but could not hear people next door at all. Very quiet very private. If looking for a upper class hotel this is not for you. If looking for a clean room to sleep and maybe enjoy Jacuzzi suite for a good rate - this place isn't that bad.

Value for money hotel

from A TripAdvisor Member
Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July 2004 at time of Cherry Festival.
Reasonable situation on main thorough fair where all restaurants were in Traverse City.
Good room sizes with fridge and comfortable beds.
Good breakfast was had every morning.
All in all, a hotel at the upper end of motel class with good value for money

Great Staff-Free Upgrade-Loved the room!

from A TripAdvisor Member
We stayed in December and paid $49 for a standard room and got a free upgrade into a deluxe room. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, went out of their way to tell us about some of the cool things to see and do in Traverse City. We got to our room and was surprised to see all the new cherry furnishings, and the microwave & fridge was new too. Room was very clean and close to the pool and breakfast area.

The guy at the front desk told us that they had just refurnished all the deluxe rooms earlier this year and had torn down two of the buildings to make way for a new hotel they will be building. We read about some of the negative reviews of this hotel, and I guess if you're expecting a 4 star hotel, then you'll be disappointed and should have stayed at Grand Traverse Resort and paid their rates.

We found the staff to be very professional and friendly and I can understand there are always going to be people who will whine just to get their bill lowered, so my advice, whereever you stay, go check out the room, if there is a problem (we are all human and even a top notch housekeeper can forget something), let the front desk know immediately so they can fix the problem, don't wait until you check out and then expect them to lower the bill, because it's wrong to not give them a chance to fix it to make your stay enjoyable.

After our stay we got an email about their packages they offer during the "off season" and they sound like a lot of fun and will be taking advantage of those great deals. Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend staying in a deluxe room and if you had a diappointed stay before they redid their rooms, then go back and be pleasantly surprised.

Loved the Jacuzzi Suite

from A TripAdvisor Member
Very suprised to see all of the new stuff in the room. The Jacuzzi was really large and liked that it was NOT in the bathroom like other places. Very clean and the people at check-in were real nice and most helpful in directions. For an older hotel, everything sure looked new. Found a new home away from home when we visit TC. We also loved the huge pool.

Great place to stay

from A TripAdvisor Member
3 nights here with my family and everything was in good shape and clean. The only comment is the free cont. breakfast is lacking variety.

Liked the new rooms

from TravelerForYears
Room had new cherry furnature, and made the room look really rich. Loved the wet bar with microwave and fridge, both new too -- I wanted to take them home. Very helpful at the desk, been to TC several times and they showed us places that we never even knew about. You have to drive up the Penninsula and see the view from Center Road. Wow!

ve already started.

from oregone
Well, two of the four buildings in this motel complex have been demolished, and i believe the other two are slated for the same.
I got a room there on Priceline for $26, so i don't feel too bad about the whole thing, especially since i was just passing through. We were put in a room that was .26 miles from the continental breakfast, according to my Garmin etrex GPS. The 7-11 across Munson Avenue was only 180 feet from the room, so i opted for getting coffee there instead.
It's pretty obvious that they've stopped caring for the condition of this property. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom were stained with mold, there was a small pile of fingernail clippings on the nightstand, and the a/c sounded like an elephant giving birth.
I cannot stay here again.

Needs some updating!

from A TripAdvisor Member
When we checked in the girl was very friendly and asked if we would be willing to upgrade our room and try the hot tub. They had complaints it was not warm enough. Sure! We'd take the upgrade. I'd hate to see what the original room would have been like. Our room was definitely last updated in the 70s and the hot tub, sure enough was cold. We had to climb the scariest stairs I'd every seen to get to the hot tub which was on a loft. I will not be going there again. The place needs some renovations soon!
Management Response from A TripAdvisor Member
Deluxe rooms and deluxe rooms with spas have been updated with new furniture and appliances and all rooms have been recently repainted. Upkeep on rooms and property is always a priority for our management as we are in a very competitive market and we always strive to maintain value for our guests.

Very old

from A TripAdvisor Member
We have stayed at Best Westerns before and they have always been nice, this was something out of the 70's. I can't imagine Best wetern putting thier sign on this place. We were very disppointed and wanted to stay somewhere else but the nice hotels were all booked.

Not worth it

from trisher2751
We were completely disappointed with this hotel. It sure wasn't what we thought a Best Western should be. On check in we had to sign a form stating that we would stay the amount of nights we said we would or pay the balance. That should have given us reason to rethink our choice. The air conditioning did not work, though we kept it on high. The room itself was not very clean. I will say service was good because they came immediately to look at the air conditioning (but did not fix it). Although we received cheap priceline rates ($45) we would not stay here again. We felt bad for those paying full price ($104)

Top Local Tips for Traverse City

Beaches Be sure to spend a day at the local beaches in Traverse City and check out the band on the deck at the Holiday Inn.

Food, Food, Food For dining, Amical gets good reviews and always seems packed. Our meal was good, but we were trying to eat vegetarian, and I've had better. Stick with the other great stuff on the menu. We had a fun experience at the North Peak Brewpub, and grabbed an incredible sandwich to go from Trattoria Stella on our way out of town. Trattoria Stella is NOT on the downtown beaten path. It's on the south side of town near all the big box and chain stores and located in the new redevelopment project that was once an asylum. Get up there and check out the Left Foot Charlie Winery tasting room for some really great whites, and the Underground Cheesecake Factory before of after heading to Trattoria Stella, with its really COOL dining room and outstanding food!!!!!!!!! . . .

Cool Stores! Downtown Traverse City has many interresting shops that are great for the tourist to check out. Traverse City is a very nice progressive place with many things to see and experience.


Other names for Best Western Four Seasons Hotel

  • traverse city four seasons
  • traverse city best western
  • four seasons traverse city
  • best western traverse city
  • Address: 305 Munson Avenue Us 31 - Traverse City - Michigan - 49684 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 166 reviews

Review this Hotel

Hotels Near Best Western Four Seasons Hotel