Hawthorne Hotel

, Salem, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Salem

Hawthorne Hotel

, Salem
3 star

Rooms: 89

On The Common - Salem - Massachusetts - 1970 - United States Hotel Website | | 978-744-4080
411 Traveller

Reviews - Hawthorne Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Hawthorne Hotel

Great Historic Hotel

from A TripAdvisor Member
Stayed for 2 nights on April 16th to the 18th 2005 and had a very pleasant visit. No complaints at all. The staff is accomodating and the pub and restaurant are comfortable with good food. The location is great. Didn't see any ghosts though....

one of the best hotels

from A TripAdvisor Member
this was by far one of the best hotels i have ever stayed at. I travel for business 30 weeks a year and stay at many hotels. From the check in staff, to the housekeeper who cleaned my room, everyone was great. I can't wait to come back in october and see what halloween is really all aout

always a positive experience

from A TripAdvisor Member
I have stayed at the Hawthorne for the last 10 years during halloween for 3-4 days. It is a historic hotel, the lobby is charming, the staff are welcoming. For me, it is the only place to stay in Salem, it has such tremendous charm. Sometimes the water alternated in temperature, the lights dimmed on occasion, it just added to the charm of an old hotel. I have also dined there on numerous occasions during the year, I have never been disappointed. It is not a spa, it is a historic hotel with some quirks, but with tremendous charm. The halloween ball is something I look forward to all year, it is that much fun. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. Also, it is so centrally located, it is within walking distance to every attraction in Salem. I love this hotel!


from NewJerseyArt
My wife and I stayed at the Hawthorne from Sunday, February 20 to Wednesday, February 23. We had a wonderful time. I can only speak for us and can only comment on our room, 514.

The room was very large with two queen beds - see photo. If you want to complain about room size, stay at a 4 or 5 star hotel in London. Don't complain about the size of these rooms.

The bathroom was not large but was more than adequate - see photo. If you want to complain about bathroom size, stay at White's Hotel in Wexford Town, C. Wexford, Ireland.

The hot water was always hot although in the evening it took a few minutes to get to the 5th floor. In the morning the hot water was right there and there was plenty of it. The pressure was not as great as it is at home but so what. If you want to complain about hot water and water pressure, stay at the Metropole (4th floor) in Cork City, C. Cork.

The TV was standard 19' with tons of channels.

It is true that there is no heat in the bathroom. The heat for the room is forced air ductwork. Believe me, there was plenty of it. There is a thermostat for the room which you could set to whatever you wished. All you need to do to get heat in the bathroom is to leave the door slightly ajar when not in use. While we were there, it snowed every day and we were still warm when we used the bathroom.

We had a room overlooking Hawthorne Blvd (?) and there was never any noise problem.

The lobby is beautiful.

The staff is very pleasant, whether the bellman, the front desk, the restaurant personnel or the maids. We had room service twice and it was right on time and delicious. There is a complimentary newspaper every morning. There is even wireless internet access if you have a laptop. You can also use the pool for free at the YMCA a few blocks away. The entire hotel is one big library. You can take a book from anywhere and if you are not finished reading it by the time you leave, you can take it with you and mail it back.

We have stayed in hotels all across the US and in Spain, Ireland, England, Portugal, Italy, Bermuda, Canada and Mexico. This hotel ranks in the top five we have every stayed in.

Please feel free to email me for more information.

A fair review

from A TripAdvisor Member
I recently stayed at the Hawthorne AFTER having read all the reviews on this website and I booked it anyway. I did take the advice and asked for a room over the Commons which provided a nice view. And I got a corner room so there were 3 windows. There was plenty of parking (of course this was in January). The lobby was nice and clean. The food in the restaurant was good. I even ordered room service in the morning and that was fine.

From the other descriptions on this site, I expected the room to be awful. It was not. It was very nice. There was too much furniture in there to move around, but it was all well chosen and in good shape. The bed was somewhat new, so I figured they must have just remodelled the place (or at least the 3rd floor).

The bathroom was cold because it has a big window in the shower. It could use a small space heater in there but it wasn't unbearable. The biggest disappointment was the pedestal sink and the medicine cabinet. The sink is too small (think airplane sink) and the cabinet sticks out over the sink so there is no room to bend over and wash your face. It was awkward.

Having said that, the hotel is a hotspot for weddings and other receptions. The other guests were loud and I could hear the noise of the ballroom in my room. I don't recall it keeping me up, so I guess it didn't.

I don't know as I would stay there again because I thought it was a little pricey. As a historic hotel, it is certainly lovely and the staff was pleasant.

What a dump!!!

from chloelue930
This is an old, old hotel that is desperately in need of a MAJOR and total renovation! We stayed at the Hawthorne for one night over Thanksgiving and had a horrible experience. The room was dingy, dirty, dark, and had NO HEAT. In fact, there was no heating unit at all in the bathroom. The bed was old, the sheets were tattered, and the furniture was worn. The bed was very, very uncomfortable, and the mattress did not even have a mattress pad on it!! GROSS!
The bathroom had peeling walls, cheap mini blinds that were falling off the drafty, old window, and a towel bar that fell off the wall when we hung our hand towel. Did I mention that there was NO HEAT?!?!?! And in the morning, there was no hot water for a shower. None. The hotel said that's just part of staying in an old hotel. Everyone showers in the morning and they run out of hot water!!! They also told us that none of the bathrooms have heat...that's just the way old hotels were built!!
On top of these issues, there was a noise problem. You can hear the music from the ballroom as if the band is playing in your room. You also hear people in the lobby. The band played until after mid night while we were there which made sleep impossible.
When we complained to the front desk, they never even offered an apology. As we listed off the problems with the room, they told us we should fill out a survery card so that management would know of the issues. We had just spent 10 minutes explaining all of the issues with the room to the front desk, and they should have told management themselves about the dank, dirty room!
There are far better places to stay in Salem. This hotel should invest te money to renovate every aspect of every guest room or close its doors.

we cant wait to go back

from A TripAdvisor Member
we just got back from salem ( 10/10/04) and had the most wonderful experience. We checked into the Hawhorne Hotel on 10/03/04 and stayed for 3 nights. The check in staff could not have been more pleasant. We loved our room which overlooked the common. The entire place was immaculate. We had a romantic dinner in Nathaniel's and were treated to a bottle of champagne ( on the house) becuse it was our anniversary. I can not wait to go back next year. ( be sure to ask for a room that overlooks the common-

Would not stay here again

from dbiz
My husband and I stayed at the Hawthorne Hotel October 1-2. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and creaked at the slightest movement. There was black mold growing in the shower,and used room service trays from neighboring sat in the hallways for hours without being bussed.

Totally Disgusting

from Lucky69
My husband and I stayed at the Hawthorne for one night and actually ran out the following morning. We were not able to get one moment of sleep because there was so much noise and activity from the bar patrons and some undersirables hanging out on the lobby floors. The room we had contained more roaches than the worse city slum. The bed creaked and by morning had caved in. Naturally we complained and were just ignored. This is one place I would tell everybody to avoid.
Management Response from A TripAdvisor Member
Sadly, we were never made aware of the alleged issues from the guests who recently stayed here. Every employee of the Hawthorne Hotel is trained to respond quickly and appropriately to any and all guest issues.

The staff at the Hawthorne Hotel conduct routine inspections of every guest room on a daily basis. The Hawthorne Hotel subcontracts with a pest control service to conduct monthly inspections of the entire property.

Proudly, the Hawthorne Hotel is a place with regular guests, many of which include:
Government officials, visiting dignitaries, and seasoned travelers.

Check your reservation - many times!

from ddmorin
When friends booked their wedding reception at the Hawthorne we were glad to book a room - almost one year ago. We looked forward to staying in this historic establishment that we'd seen many times (living nearby), but never been in. The bridal party confirmed our reservation. I confirmed my reservation the day we were to arrive.

They informed us that our reservation was for the wrong night.
And they're booked solid for the night, so we're out of luck.

I'm to believe that in all those calls to verify, stating "we're with the wedding" every time, that no one apparently ever said "Hey, you know, the entire wedding party is booked for saturday night except you, you're on sunday, isn't that weird?" Possible? Sure. Likely? Not so much. Somebody calls you to verify a reservation on Saturday I'm thinking that you respond with "Yes, I have your reservation FOR TOMORROW." My favorite part was after stating that I had verified the reservation that day, the woman at the desk showed me her computer and said "If you'd done that, I would have a note here." So I'm a liar now?

They get one bonus point for telling us an inn nearby that they knew had rooms. Credit where it's due.

The sad part is that we did indeed attend a wedding reception at the Hawthorne. I would have liked to use this space to review how they throw a big event, but now I don't want to. I wanted to see a guest room, not just the ball room.

Top Local Tips for Salem

Check hotel website for deals Check the direct hotel websites for deals. Expedia and Travelocity dont show the good deals you can get through the websites.

Take the Ferry Take the Salem Ferry from Boston, Quick and more fun than driving.

Put on your Walkin' Shoes Lots of walking and lots of things to do and see. Best time to go is in October especially Halloween.


Other names for Hawthorne Hotel

  • hawthorne hotel salem
  • Address: On The Common - Salem - Massachusetts - 1970 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 411 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Hawthorne Hotel