Howard Johnson Fenway Hotel

, Boston, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Boston

Howard Johnson Fenway Hotel

, Boston
2 star

Rooms: 94

1271 Boylston Street - Boston - Massachusetts - 2215 - United States Hotel Website | 6172678300
230 Traveller

Reviews - Howard Johnson Fenway Hotel

1/10
Filthy Rip-Off
Submitted by: Greg Miller in 05/10/05
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Business Traveller
The hotel is a slum that I would be embarrassed to bring a hooker to (if I did such a thing). It was $170 and the room was dirty, dark, and stank like cigarettes. They were so unorganized that they had put my roommate who arrived shortly after I did in a separate room. Until we cell-phoned each other at the last minute before our affair, we did not know we were sitting in two different rooms. They didn't even have their act together to charge us $10. For parking upon checkout. Did I already say it was a hellhole stinking disgusting pit in a terrible area? This is a great example of were a few extra dollars would have gone a long way.
7/10
Convenient & Close
Submitted by: Duane in 03/11/05
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: Canada
  • Traveller type: Special Interest/Event
Four of us had 2 day trip to Boston to see Red Sox... I am disabled and it is close and easy to get to Fenway Park... we were well looked after...

Historical Traveller Reviews of Howard Johnson Fenway Hotel

ve Ever Stayed

from rob992
I travel frequently for work and usually spend several nights a week in hotels. That said, this was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.
My usual Boston hotels were full, so I selected this place despite my better judgment and despite the outrageous (for a HOJO) $250 nightly rate.
The room was dirty, the sheets and towels stained, the bathroom had used soap and shampoo left over from the previous guests, and hair on the floor.
Heater makes noise like a freight train. Not that you can sleep...the place is out of control. Walls are paper thin and it seems to be a hot afterparty spot for the Landsdowne Street bar scene.
And the most incredible thing is that nobody seems to care, especially not the gruff monkeys they staff at reception.
Overall, a miserable, worn, unsafe place. I will never stay there or at another Howard Johnson again.
Management Response from BoomerMan
We were horrified and extremely disappointed upon reading this very unfavorable review. Our housekeeping department takes great pride in the work that they do and it is seldom that we hear complaints of the quality of their work. We are sorry that you were disatisfied about your stay and hope that you would give us another opportunity to prove that we're better than what you should have received.

Location, location, location!

from marknthedark
Even in Boston for $180 plus taxes per night you might expect better than this, but I think I could easily throw a baseball into Fenway Park from outside of the hotel room. I was there to see the Red Sox, so the location could not have been better. I forgot binoculars, and after I was in the park, it took me about 3minutes to go back to the hotel to get them. But, the rooms are very dated and there is not anything fancy about them. The size of the room we had was fairly large though. The staff was not anxious to spend extra time helping us, but they did their job.

Not bad at all

from cprsailor
The Howard Johnson in Boston is literally across the alley from Fenway Park. Beds are so-so. The rooms are a little dated but definitely livable. The front desk staff is not the friendliest or most helpful but they were in no way rude or dis-repectful either. There is a little bit of a funky smell in the lobby but it is not over-powering or even highly noticeable. I would definitely stay here for a Sox game or if I was traveling on a budget.

ve Every Stayed At

from mulled01
Let me preface this by saying I am not a hotel snob at all, but this place is bad.

It stinks bad (musty, mildew) and you smell it the second you walk in to the lobby and the rooms are worse. The ceiling was full of water stains and the furnishings/bedding/bathroom are old/disgusting. The wireless internet works sporadically. And, despite having more than one floor, there is no elevator.

It is literally next door to Fenway, so the location is nice for that.

I had to stay here because I waited too long to book a hotel for my stay and this was all I could get - don't make the same mistake.
Management Response from BoomerMan
It is disappointing to be faced with a negative review, especially since we have received reviews from past customers who have been satisfied. We have addressed all of the issues that were mentioned in this review so that future guests won't encounter the same experience. It is true that we don't have an elevator (the hotel has two floors) but we always accommodate guests on the first floor when it is a problem for those who don't want to be on the second floor.

Not Bad!.

from Amishcowboy
Great Location, Friendly Staff, Not bad for the Price, if you are just planning to sleep there. I would stay here again.
Management Response from HJHotelManagement
Thank you so very much for your review. It makes all the hard work we've been doing worth while.

t so bad...Great location, great price...

from dawn3g
You get what you pay for...but in this case, that's not so bad. $99/night for a hotel within walking distance of many Boston attractions, and close to the subway besides?

The building itself is old and tired, confusing to get around, but you'll learn your way...the furnishings look dated...but hey, people don't stay there for the ambiance. The room was clean, and the amenities were very nice.

Wireless internet access is free, but you have to register for it at the front desk to get a login and password. There's a Chinese restaurant on site, but we didn't try it out. There is an outdoor pool that looked ok. Parking was $20/day...but we asked if we could leave the car there long past checkout on our last day there, and they had no problem with it. It's in a city...parking's not cheap.

You are so close here to so many things...Fenway Park is right next door, downtown Boston via Boylston street is a short walk. Be sure to check out the Prudential Center Skywalk and the Mapparium...both just a short walk from the hotel. There's shopping and restaurants galore within just a couple minute's walk...and with the T so close, you are close to everything, too!!!

All in all, I'd go back...

Good for the price

from matsMontreal
good hotel for the price, not too far from downton.25 minutes walk.
next door to the fenway park. the room was clean and comfortable.
the lady at the front desk was a little rude but that's the only bug that i got from the stay. expect the room to be like a motel, nothing fancy, just the basics.
good hotel if you need a place to stay without paying high prices.
20 $ per day to park the car.

I am outraged this place is still open

from warwick51
When I arrived I was surprised at how run down the place was. The desk staff were as unfriendly and unhelpful as possible, and the wireless internet only worked sporadically. The first room I was in the toilet wouldn't work, so they showed me to a room where the door wouldn't open. The desk lady said that "there are problems with the doors and toilets sometimes". The third room was functional although dreary, and smelt of smoke. As a female and alone, I did not feel safe in my room or especially when walking through the corridors. The restaurant food was terrible and overpriced. Oh yeah, did I mention I payed US$165 per night? I made a reservation for a third night while I was there, and was informed that the rate would be US$95 per night. However, when I went to pay the bill I was charged US$165 per night, plus state tax, plus city tax, plus convention center tax. I am outraged that this hotel is still open.

Stay Away -Far Far Away From This Hotel

from cancercaregiver
This was my first time booking a hotel using Hotwire, and probably my last. I can't even begin to tell you how truly awful this hotel is, but I will try to make a few points. Please know that I would not have even given this establishment 1 star but there was not a "0" star to choose.

First, the hotel is not in the best section of the city. I arrived late at night and felt truly uneasy walking to my room in the "B" building because of the poor parking lot lighting.

The Room: The chain lock for the door was broken, so there was no other lock. As a woman traveling alone, this was disturbing. The A/C was broken and the room remained at 82 degrees for the whole night. The beds were hard as rocks and actually smelled of body odor. Ewww. The best part of the room was the bathroom. It was clean, well lit and functional.

I actually prepaid for this room for 3 nights and left after one, moving down to the Sheraton which was more money but definitely worth it. I am not kidding when I say it was beyond awful. Doors slamming all night long, parties in the halls/rooms, people shouting. I actually left the hotel at 2am to go hang out at Logan Airport until my sister's flight came in at 7am. You know it must be bad if you are going to an AIRPORT to feel safe.

I would personally NEVER stay here nor recommend it to anyone. Howard Johnson should be embarrassed to have this establishment under their brand name.

Oh, and parking in their unsafe lot was $20 extra a night.

Old and dated but no problems

from TrixieB
We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July while my son had his orientation at Northeastern U. Although the motel is pretty tired and dated, we generally had no problems with our stay here. The only unfortunate thing was that we could not reserve a non-smoking room (I knew this in advance; they were all booked) and the room really did smell of stale smoke. But the room was fine otherwise (although the beds were a little too firm for my taste) and the room was very clean. We did use the free wireless internet, and the cheap parking was a big plus. The pool had a lifeguard and looked very clean although we didn't go in. The location was easily walkable to the T at Kenmore and was also a nice walk to Northeastern across the Back Bay fens.
There were no Redsox games during our stay so that probably helped. Luckily for me, my children are not spoiled and had no complaints with dad or me for making them stay here ; ) .

Top Local Tips for Boston

Breakfast If you want a great breakfast at a very reasonable price, take a short walk to the Pour House. You will not regret it.

scenery Just here to see Boston as part of my trip

Stay at this hotel for Red Sox games You can park your care in the hotel lot

(hotels)loading

Other names for Howard Johnson Fenway Hotel

  • howard johnson boston
  • boston howard johnson
  • Address: 1271 Boylston Street - Boston - Massachusetts - 2215 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
6.0/10

See All 230 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Howard Johnson Fenway Hotel