Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport Hotel

, Baltimore, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Baltimore

Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport Hotel

4 star

Rooms: 280

1739 West Nursery Road - Baltimore - Maryland - 21090 - United States Hotel Website | 1-410-694-0808
156 Traveller

Reviews - Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport Hotel

The worst hotel experience of my life

from hpy2bme
When we arrived at the hotel, unloaded our luggage, getting ready to park the car, the hotel shuttle bus parked behind my car took off with the doors open nearly hitting me but side swiped my car. The driver had left the engine running with a passenger inside and the passenger took off with the bus. All the hotel employees repeatedly told me how sorry they were, but the top management ignored my phone calls and finally had their arrogant insurance provider call me to tell me that the damage to my car was not their fault and they were not going to repair it. On top of all that, we missed the show we were there to see while waiting for the police. The room was nice but had no ventilation. Taking the shuttle bus to get on the light rail was a big mistake. We called for them to pick us up after visiting the Inner Harbor and they told us to get off at a stop and the bus would be there shortly........we waited for 30 minutes as it got dark and cold, and again, they were sorry. I will never return to that hotel, and probably will not return to Baltimore.
Management Response from Steve09
I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience at the Hilton BWI last month. I can assure you that your experience was a very unusual one. I have never had a shuttle bus stolen from a hotel before and I am very sorry that your car was hit in the process. I am also sorry that you had to wait for the shuttle at the light rail; we are normally very good at picking up guest when they call however it did not help things that we were without one of our shuttles that evening. I know that the AGM has been speaking with you and has taken care of your room and tickets to the show for that night. The insurance thing is out of our hands, however if there is anything else I can do for you please let me know.

Thank you,

Steve Kaiser
General Manager

Terrible service for a Hilton

from TammiJ
While I agree with the other reviewers that the hotel itself is certainly nice, the service is absolutely horrible for a Hilton and I would not stay here again Anyone can produce a hotel with beautiful surroundings and a comfortable bed but it is the service that distinguishes one hotel from another and what creates repeat business - a lesson this hotel has obviously not learned. I was staying for a meeting in the hotel and combined it with a trip to DC.

The staff had only 2 people who were remotely friendly and warm. Upon arrival, we wanted to eat lunch in the hotel but the restautant could not accomodate its guests because of a meeting within the hotel. We were shuttled to a Ruby Tuesdays after rudely being told we could go to McDonalds. Given the location of the hotel - no other restaurants in walking distance, the hotel should be able to accomodate its guests even with meetings.

The hotel also does not have a concierge service and no one could advise us about getting to DC or about the surrounding area really. Given its proximity to DC, they should at least offer maps and someone should know enough about the area to assist the guests.

Next, the hotel coffee bar ran out of Starbucks coffee so was serving horrible second rate coffee at Starbucks prices. Next, I was running a workshop for my association in the afternoon. When I went into my conference room it was a mess. No one had freshened it from the previous meeting and the staff acted shocked that we would even ask to have it cleaned up for the new meeting.

That afternoon we asked for extra coffee in our room so we could have some then since the coffee bar was closed. There was no regular coffee in the entire hotel. How does that happen? Next, we decided to eat at Acqua that night. What a huge mistake!!! There were two weddings going on and that apparently overwhelmed the kitchen entirely. Service in the restaurant was abominable. Once seated, it took the waitress over 10 mis to even acknowledge us (there were less than 20 people in the restaurant at the time), she never even offered us bread - even though the other waiter had brought it to his tables- - our appetizers came out with our dinner - and the soup was lukewarm. Luckily we had ordered the fresh seafood platter that was served cold. Instead of several sauces as advertised on the menu, we got a bowl of mediocre cocktail sauce. The mussels were tasteless served in yellow water. It took us 30 mins to get the waitress's attention so that we could get crackers for our raw oysters. we had also ordered side vegetables that were exhorbitantly priced ($4-5 for a baked potato). The potato came out so cold the butter wouldn't melt. My potato gratin was crunchy from the undercooked potatos. We sent all back after waiting an eternity for the waitress. It came back only slightly warmer. Our $20 worth of veggies were basically inedible. The wine list was equally as bad. $10 grocery store wines were going for near $40. We spent $80 on a dinner for two that was not worth it.

The next day, the clocks turned back automatically even though it was not daylight savings times causing numerous guests to be late for flights.

We checked our luggage with the front desk and went to DC for the day. The hotel shuttle runs from the hotel to the train station and to the airport - the nicest thing about the hotel. In the interest of saving time on both our part and the driver's when we returned to the train station before heading to the airport, we called to ask the hotel if the driver would bring our luggage when he picked us up - really a small task that most hotels would easily accomodate - esp one on the level of a Hilton. I was flabbergasted as the person answering the phone was beyond rude, then proceeded to put the phone down and mock me to the other hotel staff. I though she would come back on the phone with an answer but she did not. When we returned to the hotel to pick up our luggage, i spoke to Yvonne at the front desk who I remembered as being one of the few nice individuals at the hotel. We talked about our experience and she graciously took off 5% of the bill right away.

Service like this is unaccceptable no matter what hotel you stay at. I will certainly be contacting the hotel manager directly with our complaints.
Management Response from Steve09
Dear Tammy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. In addition to this past weekend being busy, we also had a large number of new associates working. I am sorry that we missed some critical customer service points during your visit. Please be assured that the details of you visit have been reviewed with out entire team, and we will make sure that we learn from them. Your detailed feedback is very important for a first year hotel, and allows us to learn from it.


Steve Kaiser
General Manager

Wonderful Hotel

from krchamp
My husband and I recently stayed in the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport. The location was great. Within minutes of all the acitives and functions in Baltimore but in a nice quite area. The beds were heavenly, the bathroom was great and that LCD television was tremendous. The rooms and entire hotel were immaculate. There was not one thing wrong with this hotel. The staff was very helpful and attentive. This is a GREAT hotel!! I would recommend the Hilton Baltimore to anyone and everyone.

Hilton with Budget Hotel Customer Service

from ChloesDad63
My wife and I stayed here last weekend, we got a great rate and were looking forward to staying after reading all the positive reviews.

It really takes a lot for me to complain but I felt we just did not have a pleasant stay.

I thought the hotel was very cold walking in. Everything was nice but there weren't a lot of people around and it was very uninviting, not a lot of warmth.

My biggest complaint was that the maid staff left our door propped open. We returned to our room after a day at the Inner Harbor to find the door open with nobody around. I called the front desk and was given the housekeeping manager who did apologize but it was not very sincere. I was told the Hotel manager was not in since it was Saturday and transferred to the front desk manager. After about 20 minutes on hold I was told bluntly that the maid would be reprimanded. My purpose was not to get anyone in trouble but rather let them know I did not feel very comfortable about returning to find the door open. I wasn't really looking for anything, which was good since I wasn't even offered a cup of coffee for my trouble. I understand that any business can have a problem, however, the mark of a good business is how they deal with it. I was left feeling that nobody really cared.

Other things I did not like:
The food in the high priced restaurant, also poor service
no bath tub in room, only shower
internet in busi center $7.95 for 15 minutes

What I liked:
no crowd
room was comfortable

I usually stay at the adjacent Marriott but thought I would try this hotel. My wife works for a travel agency that books stays here for people traveling through BWI so we got a good rate. I think next time we will go back to the Marriott.

Best hotel stay ever!

from mscoach
We used Priceline and felt that we got a GREAT deal on this room! I am extremely finicky about hotel rooms, but was impressed with this Hilton the moment we walked in. The staff was courteous and friendly - always greeting or chatting with us. The room was SUPREMELY clean ~ not a stray hair anywhere, and was beautifully designed and decorated. We used room service, which was both reasonable and delicious! Truly, I cannot say enough about this hotel. You will not be disappointed!
Management Response from Robert_Trammell
Dear Guest:

I am so glad to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! I will be certain to pass along your comments about the product and service to our staff - especially the housekeeping department. I encourage you to choose the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport for your future visits to the area and we will look forward to serving you again!

Outstanding Hotel. Much more than expected!

from Teacher213
I can not say enough about this hotel. It felt like we were the first occupants of the room. The room was immaculate, the bed was extremely comfortable, and room service was outstanding. What impressed me the most was the fact that we had to take an early flight out of BWI and their restaurant wasn't open quite yet. That did not stop a very nice waiter from helping us out and setting us up with a "Little Something" before we headed out. Amazing. You definitely DO NOT get that kind of treatment. What a surprise. Thank you.
Management Response from Robert_Trammell
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and service. I will be certain to relay your comments to our staff. I am glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. It is my true hope that your next visit to the Baltimore area will include a stay at the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport!

Great Experience at the New Hilton

from secret_seamstress
My husband and I, along with other parents, stayed at this new hotel while our son attended a camp at a nearby college. The decor of the hotel was modern, light and very attractive. The coffe bar in the large hotel lobby was very inviting each morning. Parents met in the hotel bar each evening for a fun time with the pleasant staff, flat screen tv's, and upscale atmosphere. The pool and exercise room were very nice. Rooms were large, comfortable and nicely decorated. Easy access to the highway. It would have been nice to have internet service included. We would recommend this hotel to others.
Management Response from Robert_Trammell
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking time to let us know of the great experience that you had with your family at the new Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport. I am glad that you enjoyed the many terrific aspects of our hotel, such as ThoroBreads, our coffee bar, the fantastic pool and fitness facility and the bar at acqua.

We truly hope that you will return again and stay with the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport.


from kathyh4
This is an excellent hotel, with the exception that as "free internet" was not included in the room price.

Room was comfy, clean and elegant. The HDTV was a real treat!

Only 2 problems: sound proofing isn't too good, and the shuttle is "iffy"- had to wait 45 minutes (and 2 phone calls) to be picked up at the train station.

Would highly recommend the hotel on the condition that you can get a good room rate- standard price is pretty high.
Management Response from Robert_Trammell
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind remarks! I am glad that you enjoyed the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport.

I appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your stay. I can assure you we will look into the concerns that you mentioned as well.

We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Very good hotel, but expensive

from Louis59
The Hilton Hotel at BWI Airport was a pleasant “oasis” on a night when I had to seek lodging when USAirways canceled my flight, yet again…

Yes, it was pricey. However, their shuttle van was there within 10 minutes of my calling the hotel; the front desk staff was professional and welcoming; the public areas are attractive; and my room was probably the nicest room I have experienced at a Hilton hotel in quite awhile. Flat panel TV, bottled water, clean in room coffee maker, and instead of a tub, a nicely designed glass shower stall with a piping hot and forceful shower. They do charge an extra $9.95 for daily Internet access, which seems unreasonable on top of the high room rate.

The restaurant, named “acqua,” was also good, although not over the top. The music from the adjacent lounge was blaring into the restaurant so the dining experience wasn't as relaxing as I would have hoped. But, the New York strip steak was prepared just as I ordered and the side dishes were perfect, and hot. Again, very pricey… but good.

There is no reason not to recommend this hotel; just hope that you are on expense account when staying there!
Management Response from Robert_Trammell
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the hotel through TripAdvisor. The Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport values the opportunity to hear from all of our guests. It is this valuable feedback that allows us the opportunity to constantly reevaluate the product and service that we offer to the traveling public.

Although you intended to be flying US Airways, I am very glad to hear that you found our hotel a nice respite during a hectic time! We are very proud of the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport and glad that we could be of service to you.

For your next visit, (planned I hope!) I encourage you to choose the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport. While we may not be the least expensive option, I know that our hotel remains very competitive with the other hotels in the market and we offer many amenities that others will not – such as flat panel HD TVs, 24 hour room service, in room mini-bars and of course service with a smile! The fabulous pool and 24 hour fitness facility are unique to the area as well. Until your next visit, I encourage you to search for our website online as well as our hotel blog to find out all of the exciting new information about our hotel.

convenient location made for a great stay

from SilverFlame
I stayed at this wonderful hotel for two days at the end of May after a whirlwind trip that included D.C. and Atlantic City, NJ. Arriving at the hotel around 7 p.m. on a Thursday evening, I easily found a parking place within 100' of the front entrance. Bell hops were available, but since I only had one bag, I didn't use their service.

The woman at the front desk was very professional and friendly. She had me checked in within minutes, and I was given a very nice room on the 4th floor.

I decided to try room service on the first night, and had the crab cakes and cheesecake. I was told the dinner would be served within 40 minutes, but it actually came in 20. The presentation was very nice and the waitress, Thelma, was very courteous. I thought the price was fairly reasonable for dinner (about $42 including tip and room service charge).

I really liked the room. It is a very masculine decor, done with stainless steel and black granite. The bed was the most comfortable bed I think I've ever slept upon, even better than my bed at home.

I did not swim in the pool, but it was absolutely immaculate, and there was a lifeguard on duty protecting the lone soul who was in there. The weight room appeared well apportioned with lots of different types of equipment. I did use the laundry room as I had been traveling for nearly a week, and the free laundry supplies the hotel provided were a welcome surprise.

Upon check-out, at 4 a.m. for a early bird flight, the hotel representative was very pleasant and highly professional. The level of customer service I received from this hotel was definitely some of the best customer service I've ever received from any business. The lady was very patient in providing me directions to the airport car rental return area, and she also printed a map for me that was very accurate.

There is a Bob Evans down the road from this hotel which I found convenient. It is also in an area very close to the airport.

Commenting on some of the other reviews on this hotel; Is this hotel a little bland? Maybe, but I prefer to call it "minimalist" in design. I think this hotel caters to a male dominated, business clientele, and is thusly designed to appeal to such.

So, a comfortable bed, an incredibly knowledgeable and friendly staff, and an incredibly cheap rate on Priceline.com made this one of my all-time favorite hotel stays. The hotel is close to MD-295, making it easy to get to the airport, downtown and the harbor area, and D.C. I would definitely stay here again.
Management Response from Robert_Trammell
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the hotel through TripAdvisor. The Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport values the opportunity to hear from all of our guests. It is this valuable feedback that allows us the opportunity to constantly reevaluate the product and service that we offer to the traveling public.

I am very glad to hear that you were pleased with the hotel product and services. We strive to be the best with each and every guest! We are very proud of the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport and glad that we could be of service to you at the end of what sounds like a busy week of traveling.

I hope that you choose the Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport for your next trip. Maybe on this trip you will find time to relax in the “absolutely immaculate” pool! Also, for your convenience, the hotel also offers 24 hour room service as an option for breakfast in the event you have an early flight again. In the meantime, I encourage you to search for our website online as well as our hotel blog to find out all of the exciting new information about our hotel.

Top Local Tips for Baltimore

For Fitness folks If you are really into fitness this place has about 20 different workout stations, plus free weights, medicine balls, etc.


Other names for Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport Hotel

  • linthicum heights hilton
  • hilton linthicum heights
  • hilton hotel linthicum
  • baltimore bwi airport hilton
  • Address: 1739 West Nursery Road - Baltimore - Maryland - 21090 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 156 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport Hotel