Ramada Inn Lake Shore Chicago Hotel

, Chicago, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Chicago

Ramada Inn Lake Shore Chicago Hotel

3 star

Rooms: 184

4900 South Lake Shore Drive - Chicago - Illinois - 60615 - United States Hotel Website | 773 288 5800
155 Traveller

Reviews - Ramada Inn Lake Shore Chicago Hotel

Not bad at all
Submitted by: Rachel in 27/07/07
  • Age Group: 18 - 25
  • From: Canada
  • Traveller type: Pleasure Seeker
I'm from Canada, and me and my mom went to Chicago just for 2 days. I booked this hotel b/c of its great rate and it said that it was only 10 min. away from downtown which was true (on car though)and I liked the idea of a shuttle service but it doesn't run on Sundays and it only runs at very specific times 3 times per day. Overall, it's an ok hotel. I'd most likely go there again. It's really not that bad. It's not glamorous, but is liveable. There's a bus station 2 blocks away and to get downtown you take the Jackson 6. The only thing about this hotel (if you are racist) that might affect you is its area. Majority are African American. So.. I'm just trying to be honest and helpful. I felt that it was very safe though :) Ps- I thought the staff was very nice and so helpful! They answered so many questions about which buses to take, and locations of different places.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Ramada Inn Lake Shore Chicago Hotel

Two Motels

from PFDJ
This is a motel in the old fasioned sense where you can park for free and easily get to your car. There are two buildigs to stay in. One is 4 stories high with an elevator and one is across a 50 foot wide parking lot and is a two story long rectangular building. It is much nicer to stay in the main building with easy access to the desk and vending machines and free web access. You tend to get a little isolated in the other building.
It is great if you have business in Hyde Park and are trying to conserve costs. The main building has been renovated and was very comfortable. I liked being able to just go out and get in my car and go rather than have to wait for it to be retrieved from a lot.
I have the feeling that since I stayed after it was renovated it was a much nicer experience than those who stayed before the renovation.

Never again

from Amalficoast10
Because we pre-paid our hotel for a week in Chicago, we could not get out of it. It was very depressing to come home to each night. The outside parking garage attached to the hotel was a nighmare. Old mattresses were lined up against the wall, the floor was filthy, the ceiling was peeling and the lobby was dismal. The corridors were ugly and not clean. However, the only good thing was that our room was not bad. It had been redone and once we were in our room I tried to forget the rest of the hotel. Since they provided a shuttle to main attractions in Chicago we decided to stay there. On the fourth day, the shuttle driver was sick and just didn't show and no one at the front desk bothered to inform the 15 patrons that were waiting to take the morning shuttle into town. I loved Chicago and would definitely return but never stay at this Ramada Inn.
Management Response from DirofSales
Thanks for telling us about your expierence at our hotel. Since you were here we finished replacing all the furniture in the hotel. That was why we had everything stacked up in the garage. We had to find an agency that wanted our used furniture. Many people who needed furniture and couldn't afford it now have at least something. Just after we removed everything from the garage we began repairing the ceiling and its looking fantastic. I was glad to hear your room was good. Our exterior is scheduled to be done this next spring. Our shuttle service is complimentary and not guaranteed as all our litature explains.Our owners have been doing renovations as they can afford them and we have made great strides. Were still a great value hotel compared to downtown prices and most people do enjoy thier stay. Thanks again and I hope you check us out as we complete more renovations.

Not Worth $118 a night

from cruiser777
I stayed at this hotel with a co-worker over a weekend in Chicago while we attended a continuing eduation course...I picked this hotel ONLY for the free parking. That was the only plus....like so many reviewers have said before me. Our room (518) smelled of mildew, the TV remote did not work, and the room itself was much too small for all of the furniture "stuffed" into it. The ONLY ice machine is on the 3rd floor of the main building...and there are 3 buildings of this hotel separated by parking lots. We had to walk outside our building across the parking lot and up the elevator in the main building for ice. There is no fitness room on site, and I'm a fitness enthusiast. The guy at the front desk gave me directions to the Bally fitness club "ONLY 2 BLOCKS AWAY" and assured me I could walk there easily and safely. Hah!! The reality was the club was almost exactly a mile's walk away, and along a highway with no sidewalks....and not exactly a safe neighborhood for a young white female to be travieling solo. This place is no better than your cheapest motel 6. WAY OVERPRICED.....a definite rip off.
Management Response from DirofSales
Thanks for telling us about your experience. The "500" building where you stayed was just renovated this year completly so you comment caught us off guard. The room you were in has been shampooed, the bedspreads replaced and the hallway carpeting also shampooed. Yes our remotes did need to be replaced. People kept taking the backs off and we would lose them. So we just received in several hundred replacements for your clicking pleasure. Yes Chicago blocks are a little big and the Bally's Fitness Club is a bit of a hike. We do have taxi's always there and between scheduled shuttle runs we have been known to take guests there. The neighborhood is safe there and the club is very popular. We hope to have our excercise room up next year as we do our lobby renovations! Thanks again.

Needs renovating, but serviceable for short business stay

from lo_angle
In Chicago on business, I stayed here as it was closest to client. The hotel needs work, for sure, and if you're finicky about every detail you will find plenty here to turn you off--old, slow elevator, spots of peeling wallpaper, banged-up moldings, aged furnishings, electrical tape on the remote control. But the room was huge and everything worked, so for $89, it was serviceable for one night. The on-site restaurant was surprisingly good.

The staff was cheerful and helpful. The alarm clock was going off in the room next to mine and the beeping was clearly audible in my room. On my way to eat, I told the clerk at the desk. He rang the room but, obviously, the guests were out (or unconscious). When I came back through lobby 45 min later, the clerk told me he had gone up to the room and turned off the alarm.

A very good value

from HotSpringsNative
My visit to Hyde Park was July 16-18, 2005, & this hotel was the most convenient to my location. The staff was cheerful, the room was clean, the bed was excellent, the bathroom had good lighting, and the room was non-smoking as I had requested. My only issues were with a broken drapery cord (I had to close the draperies by hand), and the low height (about 4.5 ft.) of the shower head holder (it was mounted to accommodate a disabled / senior guest sitting on the provided bench). Both problems were minor. The room was very large - even with a king size bed - and included a small refrigerator, microwave oven, a round table, 2 chairs, coffee pot, and hair dryer.

The hotel is on Lakeshore Drive. Lake Michagan with its extensive lake-front park is just across the street - a great space for walking and getting outdoors! I will stay here again.

You get what you pay for

from A TripAdvisor Member
My sister's family and my family both stayed here in separate rooms. We were charged the same, but my sister got the room with the lakeview, refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom had recently been remodeled, so it was clean...thankfully! The best part of the hotel was the free parking and the friendly, helpful staff at the front desk. They were very knowledgable about the area. Also, the drive to the museums, navy pier and aquarium was short and easy. There weren't any extra pillows or towels. Bring your own. Remember that this is a 2-star hotel and that is what you will get. Nothing matches. Smelly hallways and rooms. Old air conditioner that couldn't keep up with the 100 degree heatwave that Chicago was having during our stay. Pool was dirty, as the water level was about a foot below the skimmer. I will not stay here again. Not recommended for families. Could be a very nice hotel with some extensive remodeling and updating.
Management Response from DirofSales
I was sorry to hear of your experience as it is not typical of the other 5000 guests that stayed with us the month when you were here. You mentioned the pool being dirty, since your stay the pool has been inspected by the city of Chicago and passed with flying colors so I cannot explain what happened while you were here as we have done nothing different. We have also just received new furniture for the entire hotel so everything does match now. Over 70% of our guest are families as they find our hotel a good value compared to the downtown hotels and they also save up to $25.00 a day on parking. They also like us because of our location.

Ramada Inn Lake Shore is a joke!!

from A TripAdvisor Member
This hotel or motel is not one to be considered by anyone who requires to be reasonbly accommodated. The rooms are small and lack any kind of atmosphere. Don't even think of staying here if it's cold outside. The Lake Michigan exposure means just that. You will find the rooms and the managment cold! It's run by the Patel family.

I stayed there one St. Valentine's Day. Worst mistake I could have made. I used my Diners Club card to secure the room explaining that I would be paying cash at check out. Not only did they take my cash they charged my credit card as well. I was given a receipt that didn't match my room so when I approached them about the mistake, they told me that I couldn't prove that I had given them any cash because the receipt was for another room number.

Ramada's corporate offices didn't even acknowledge my letter of complaint. My advice is to steer clear of this one!!
Management Response from DirofSales
Your review of our hotel is quite different from the reviews we get from the 5000 guests that stay with us each month. Our rooms are on the average over 50 sq. ft. larger than the averave hotel room in Chicago and many of our rooms are over 100 sq.ft. larger. I wasn't aware that the Patel family is a negative thing? Our owners take pride in thier property and have spent millions upgrading this property. I don't know what personal vendetta you have against the Patel family but I assure you that this Patel family runs thier properties better than what you think. I would also hope that anyone that checks into a hotel would be intellegent enough to check thier receipt prior to leaving the front desk? After all, do not most of us in any store verify that we are being charged the correct amount. I'm sorry you had a bad experience but again it is not typical.

Not like the ad, but not a bad place to stay.

from A TripAdvisor Member
My husband and I arrived about midnight and got our room--air conditioned, king bed, non-smoking, first floor. After reading reviews, I was very apprehensive and almost cancelled our reservation. Glad I didn't as the room was large, clean, and what I requested. The staff was helpful, but we found out information on our own. Taking the hotel's free van into the city (Palmer House stop), we purchased a 3-day CTA pass for busses and the "El" at the gift store in the Cultural Center on Michigan Avenue. Each night we took bus #6 to Hyde Park from State Street and walked to our hotel. The suburb of Hyde Park was interesting and we ate at Mellow Yellow several times. We walked about 10 blocks to the Museum of Science and Industry and was very impressed. If you know how to get around with public transportation, the hotel is good. It's not fancy, but we had an average hotel room.

t do it for even $10.00 per night

from A TripAdvisor Member
Well, add this to the long list of compliments about this dump.
The room we got was "smoking" not non-smoking as we had reserved. The room smelled so strong of smoke that we did not sleep at all, and left at 7:15am the next morning. We were there to see our grandaughter in the National Cheerleading Program at the Navy Pier. This dump ruined our entire concept of Chicago. I contacted my Credit Card company and had them remove the charge from my account...... DON'T GO THERE, DON'T CALL THERE, AND DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT STAYING THERE.
Neither Hotels, Nor the management at the "DUMP" have returned my emails or responded to my written complaints...........
Management Response from DirofSales
I was sorry to hear of your experience here as it is not typical of the the over 5000 taht stayed with us that month. When people get the wrong room type such as non-smoking its usually because we have sold out of that inventory and smoking is all we have left. We still put your request in in case one opens up, but that doesn't always happen. You also refer to us in a derogative way but give us no specifics as to why? We did not force you to take the smoking room and there were other hotels available. I'm sorry about your experience and hopefully you can make your reservation earlier and we will be able to confirm your room type then.

Stay here only if you prefer to stay in a dump

from A TripAdvisor Member
DO NOT WASTE A PENNY OF YOUR MONEY BY STAYING AT THIS DUMP!! What a waste of a good location. This Ramada Inn is in horrible condition and the management have obviously 'let it go' to the point that it now needs to be completely bulldozed. They are NOW in construction (course it was not posted anywhere on their site nor was it posted at the hotel). They feel they can still charge customers FULL PRICE for truly slum conditions. Where to begin: Loose bathroom tiles, 1 inch grit on the bathtub/shower floor that I had to CLEAN out before using the tub/shower, wake-up call of the sound of demolition/jack hammer at 7 am with workers laughter and cursing when I banged on the wall back to them, and the door locking mechanism was BROKEN, yes BROKEN! The bedspreads had cigarette burns in them and huge holes and it was actually shredded! The carpeting was horribly stained. I have stayed at BETTER Super 8's and Motel 6's in my time than this dump. Don't waste your money!!!
Management Response from DirofSales
I was sorry to hear about your stay with us. Since that time we have remodeled the rooms you stayed in. We have improved the property greatly and on the average over 5000 people stay with us each month and have a great experience with the Ramada Lake Shore. We offer our hotel as a great value compared to the "downtown" hotels escpecially with free parking that can save you over $25.00 a day. We`appreciate your input and we hope you reconsider seeing the New and iImproved Ramada Lake Shore.

Top Local Tips for Chicago

chicago is very romatic have buses from the hotels to take there guest on night light tour because chicago is very romatic in the night rain /cold/ or summer the stars, the lights the happy faces , in the downtown area


Other names for Ramada Inn Lake Shore Chicago Hotel

  • ramada lake shore chicago
  • ramada lake shore
  • ramada inn lake shore
  • ramada chicago
  • chicago ramada
  • Address: 4900 South Lake Shore Drive - Chicago - Illinois - 60615 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 155 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Ramada Inn Lake Shore Chicago Hotel