Ambassador East Hotel

, Chicago, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Chicago

Ambassador East Hotel

, Chicago
4 star

Rooms: 285

1301 North State Parkway - Chicago - Illinois - 60610 - United States 312 787 7200
175 Traveller

Reviews - Ambassador East Hotel

The Best Ambiance, Service and Staff!
Submitted by: Peggy in 17/11/06
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Adventurer
If you are looking for a hotel that has history and is in the middle of things, the Ambassador East is for you.
We used them as the host hotel for my daughter's recent wedding (she stayed in the Doris Day suite) and could not have been happier with the location, staff and the Pump Room.
Every staff member was so helpful and courteous. The experience is one I will not forget.
The rooms are spacious, the food was great, the staff is knowledgable-(eat dinner in the Pump Room-everything is to die for-we sampled almost everything with our party of 10) and I can not tell you how comfortable we all were. I felt at home for the week we stayed!
It is in a quiet neighbor with a children's playground nearby and very safe for walking to the lake or park! It is an easy walk to Rush Street for nightlife, shopping on Oak Street, a drugstore or even a market. It is only a short cab, bus or train ride to downtown. This is a quiet, quaint hotel whose renovations promise to be wonderful. I will definitely be back, even though my daughter has a room for me now. I think I will stay at the Ambassador East!
Small and a bit out of the way
Submitted by: Lana in 29/09/05
  • Age Group: 31 - 40
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
When I first entered the hotel I was surprised to see how small it was - very small and it is located on the edge of Rush Street so the area is pretty residential. It is quite a hike to some of the major attractions. The room was small but nice. The Pump Handle did have excellent entertainment. Not a lot of amenities - no vending, pool, excersie room.
Quiet and On Lovely Street
Submitted by: Rosemary in 02/05/05
  • Age Group: 60 +
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Retired
About a year ago I stayed at your hotel. I was pleased with the price of the room. When I first entered, I thought it was a little small at first, but adjusted quickly to it. I first noticed a small hole in the bedspread, but everything else was in nice shape. I know I was disappointed with something else, and I think it was either the lack of a hair dryer or an iron. I've slept since then, you know! The entertainment in the Pump Room was great. I also found the concierge to be very helpful! The location was super, as was the doorman who helped me get a taxi at various times. I especially loved the location and its proximity to Rush Street restaurants. All in all, it was a pleasant experience. I was disappointed not to see it on Orbitz or Expedia last fall when I returned to the city again for an overnight stay. I think updating the bedspreads might be nice and more welcoming.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Ambassador East Hotel

s prime

from cquickmi
We booked this hotel through Hotwire, fortunately for a single night stay. Though the hotel has an interesting history, it is 'over the hill'. . .ambience does not equate comfort. Our room was tiny but the bed was comfy. The bathroom needed renovation. Upon entering we noticed a distinct 'toilet' odor. We asked to be moved to another room but were told that our request could not be considered until late afternoon. .so, because our stay was to be short, we remained in the assigned room. I'm certain we will never book the Ambassador East again. Not rcommended!

Nice hotel, nice location, terrible service

from SolManATX
The first and most important requirement for a hotel is to be able to get a good night's rest. This hotel did not provide that and so you should avoid it.

The hotel was nice enough, if you like vintage hotels as I do. The location was very nice, easy walking distance to Old Town, Rush St., the Hancock Center and 3 blocks from the red line.

But they blew it our last night there. Somebody decided to have a drunken party in the room next to ours at 1:30 am. It took four phone calls to the front desk and 30 minutes to get the situation resolved. Their initial response was to call up to the party room and ask them to be quiet! Give me a break! Have they never been around drunk people before? This response from management was unacceptable and they offered no apology and no effort to right the issue.


from A TripAdvisor Member
Made reservations several months ago for two rooms with two double beds because we were attending a wedding at the Pump Room over Memorial Day weekend. Arrived to find that they didn't have the rooms we reserved. They had a single bed room and offered a roll-away bed.

Also paid $36.00 for valet parking only to discover later that the rear bumper had the paint scraped and also had white latex paint. It appears it the car was backed into a wall or fence.

Hotel is old and dated. Doors and moldings are covered with many lawers of paint. Facet in the bath was the type you press to turn on. The water would remain running for over 50 seconds after being release.

Horrible service

from taffy2001
We had booked a block of rooms with this hotel for our wedding (15 rooms). However, they could not get a single thing correct. First, they gave us a cutoff date on when the rates wouldn't be guarenteed. A family member called a few days before this, but they would not grant the discounted rate. My husband called and they said that they supposed they would try and give them the discounted rate and it wasn't their fault because they were training new people. (How is this not their fault??). They gave us nothing to make up for this. Next, we were supposed to have a room to get ready in for the wedding. However none of the staff would help us carry up our stuff. There was no iron in the room as promised. There was nothing to hang our clothes on, so my wedding dress was laying on the floor. They were told we were ordering food from there, ordered sandwiches and were told that it would be at least 45 minutes. Once we finally ate, food was mediocre at best. When we were ready to leave, we, once again, could not find anyone to help us carry stuff down so my parents and older relatives and friends got stuck carrying bags and boxes of stuff down. They had promised strawberries and champagne in our suite, however (surprise surprise) they didn't show up! The rooms were ok, definitely NOT worth the price. Very disappointed in the service. Would strongly recommend staying AWAY from here!!

Bumped out of the Hotel.

from 2more
Booked to stay 2 nights 3/5/06 to 5/506 through Hotwire.
Arrived at the Hotel after a long Journey at 20.00 hours to be greeted with you do not have a room,we have over booked and we are transfering you to " The Gold Coast Hotel"
the Taxi driver said he had never heard of this Hotel but said he will take us to the address
on arrival it was the Days Inn a no star dump from a 4 star booked hotel,we returned to the Ambassador and told them that under no circumstances were we going to stay there,
they kept on telling us thst there was no other Hotels available due to a big conference in the City,we said that we would sleep in their lounge and advertise our plight,low and behold they suddenly found us a room in the IDIGO HOTEL around the corner,we left with doubts but on arrival at the Inigo it was a dream,staff were great,rooms fabulous the Ambassador gave us the option of staying the 2 nights there or return the next day for a up grade no way were we going to return,this ment checking out at 12.00. check in at 3.00 which would have ruined that complete day.
The Ambassador Hotel had sold off the empty rooms weeks earlier to Hotwire and then when a Big Conference came up decided to Bump the Hotwire guests (approx 56) to the Days Inn and cash in on the Rates to the the Delegates of Companys.
Hotwire have kindly refunded all my costs and we hope that they never use the Ambassador again.
The outcome is a very Greedy Ambassador Hotel with no regard to the people who had booked this Hotel in good faith
The good thing to come out of this is the INDIGO HOTEL was Fab.we would recommend this Hotel to ALL.

Regards Alan & Gwen Moran
88 Delph Park Ave.
Lancs L39 5DQ

s older, but......

from Eddiechuck
it definitely has character. We spent a week there, just last week. Couldn't have been happier. What with seeing the negative reviews, we were a bit worried. We paid $100/night on Priceline, and I figured we'd get the short end of the stick. Couldn't have been more wrong. From check in with Oumania, behind the counter, we were off to a great start. And talk to Mark, the security guy, if you're into sports. He can fill you in on your favorite and not so favorite players that come thru town. The doormen, too were all very friendly. And here we were Sox fans in the North of town. They all couldn't have been nicer. OK, so our room carpet was a bit worn, and one wall had a crack, and the tub had some paint peeling around the drain. But it wasn't dirty or moldy, like I've read here. The one BIG negative......didn't care for the room coffee. OH, it wasn't the coffee it was the water. Once we changed that to bottle water, it was great. Housekeeping took a worn bathrobe (yes, they have bathrobes)and didn't replace it. When my wife called, they were up within 10 min. The King bed was very comfortable, with a ton of pillows. It's close to the "L"...4 blocks. 2 blocks away are Lakeshore Dr. and bars and restaraunts on Division. A bit further north on Wells is Old Town which has a great atmosphere for an older neighborhood. Only had drinks at The Pump Room, and it too had a great atmosphere. We'd be back!

Lovely Old Hotel with a Nice Staff

from Artist2000
We reserved two rooms for three night at the Ambassador East in Chicago using Hotwire and got a terrific price of $101/room/night. I thought this was wonderful, for a Chicago "Gold Coast" hotel. Being Hotwire, I did not know the name of the hotel till after I paid my money. I was really concerned when I read some of these unfavorable Trip Advisor reviews. All I can say is we had a lovely visit. The hotel is old, but very charming and the staff is polite and helpful. The rooms were very large and had great beds and linens and bath products. The surrounding neighborhood is really lovely, so walking to shopping and restaurants was very pleasant. We even walked to the Art Institute, though that is a long way. They do charge alot for valet parking ($36/night) -- but so do all the hotels in big-city-downtown areas. Since we were traveling with teenagers, we did not dine at the Pump Room. There are great restaurants within easy walking distance of the Ambassador -- in all price ranges and styles. I highly recommmend this hotel, for people who appreciate old-world charm, and want to enjoy a lovely big-city neighborhood, with easy access to Magnificent Mile shopping.


from DCKathy
I loved the Ambassador! What a great hotel. It's really beautiful, and the room was absolutely striking, very classic and elegant. Everything was done really well: the staff treated me like a regular. This is a top-notch hotel, the best place I've stayed in a long time. My only complaint is that I wish it was on the Mile, but that's it.

Great Deal, Great Location, Great Staff

from A TripAdvisor Member
Our family of four got a deal through Priceline for the Ambassador East for three nights, 3/27-3/30, it sounded like a nice hotel but after some of the reviews I was a little worried. But it was great. All the staff was very professional and helpful, and didn't make us feel like second class citizens for the Priceline deal($ 90 a night.) I hadn't realized that Priceline didn't guarantee two beds, and so I was worried about that. But they not only gave us a room with two double beds, nonsmoking, as requested, they saw that our boys (12 and 16) were "pretty big" so they gave us an upgrade to a large room with two beds and a fold out sofa. The boys were delighted they didn't have to share a bed! And it was terrific to have the extra space as we weren't there for the nightlife and were usually back in the hotel, after a full day at the museums, by nightfall, so we had space to hang out. And yes, the bathroom was small, but the old-fashioned deep bathtubs are terrific for soaking after a hard day of sightseeing! It was in a nice neighborhood within easy walking distance, as everybody says, to the subway and to restaurants and that worked out great. Yes, the hotel is older, and the furniture a bit worn,and the TV reception wasn't great, but the beds were new, and very comfortable, and for a deal like that, you don't complain! We left a generous tip for the maid each day and the room was always made up promptly and we were "showered" with extra towels. And the best part? When we checked out -no surprise extra charges or fees for the upgrade or "extra people" - just exactly what we were told in the beginning. I've been to hotels where you think you "got a deal" only to get hit with surprise fees and charges when you check out. Not here! We were very happy with our stay and delighted they gave us the upgrade. Give it a try.

Ambassador East

from A TripAdvisor Member
We had a fantastic stay at the Ambassador East. We stayed March 11 to 16/06.

Within 1/2 hour walk of most attractions north of the river. 5 minute walk to Lake Michigan. 10 minutes to subway. Lots of great retaurants within 10 minutes.

Valet parking a little expensive (~ US$36 per day). Pump Room (in house restaurant) requires "dressing up" for dinner.

Top Local Tips for Chicago

trains to and from the airports We flew in from Midway, stayed at the Ambassador East, and flew out of O'Hare--trains took us within a few blocks of the hotel with easy transfers for $2 pp, while cabs would have run about $60-80 each way.

RA is better than you would think for a sushi chain Pretty good sushi for a pretty good price, good mojitos and close to the Ambassador East. Loud music plays incessantly so if you like conversation or don't like loud music, consider alternatives.

Signature Room on the 95th Whan you get to the elevator bank on the main floor of the John Hancock building, tell them you have a dinner reservation even if you don't and are just going for some drinks and the view. You'll end up waiting in line forever (like in an amusement park) if you don't.


Other names for Ambassador East Hotel

  • hotel ambassador east
  • ambassador east hotel chicago
  • ambassador east hotel
  • ambassador east chicago
  • Address: 1301 North State Parkway - Chicago - Illinois - 60610 - United States
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Ambassador East Hotel