Best Western Coconut Waikiki - an Aqua Boutique hotel Hotel

, Honolulu, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Honolulu

Best Western Coconut Waikiki - an Aqua Boutique hotel Hotel

, Honolulu
3 star

Rooms: 80

450 Lewers Street - Honolulu - Hawaii - 96815 - United States | 808 923 8828
1006 Traveller

Reviews - Best Western Coconut Waikiki - an Aqua Boutique hotel Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Best Western Coconut Waikiki - an Aqua Boutique hotel Hotel

Refreshing and Friendly

from CaliTravelinFan
My family recently spent 12 days at the Aqua Coconut Waikiki while in Oahu for a major soccer tournament. I cannot say enough about how friendly and accommodating the staff is. Kalani, Joe, Jay, Crystal, Leeane, Larissa, Mike and everyone else provided us maps and directions, recommendations, towels for the beach, early breakfast for the team, and enjoyable conversation. The hotel has been recently updated with fresh colors and a welcoming environment. I used the exercise room which was clean and bright. We sat on the patio and enjoyed the evening hours with friends. The beds were comfortable and we all slept well. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and shopping areas. We would definitely return to the Aqua Coconut again.

Feedback - Experience at Aqua Coconut Waikiki

from DarKelAuckland
Great service from the front desk staff, our room was exceptionally clean, the breakfast was really substantial, the follow up from staff upon our arrrival was really professional. I would stay here again. Many thanks.

Aqua Coconut: the right choice for our family

from dmmmama5
We recently stayed a week at the Aqua Coconut. It had just reopened after its renovation which is almost complete. We had two rooms since we were traveling with two adults and 4 teenagers. The staff went out of their way to make sure that we had adjoining rooms and had enough supplies for all of us. Everything was cheerful and newly painted. The bedding was above average in comfort and freshness. One of our rooms was overlooking the canal and the mountain view was very relaxing. Since we were on the 9th floor we slept with our balcony door open instead of using the air conditioning and woke up to the sunrise and gentle breeze. Some people might be bothered by the traffic noise from the street below but it was worth it to me to have the glass door open. The refrigerator and microwave really helped for quick lunches and left overs from restaurants. The continental breakfast provided was enough to get us going in the morning and also kept our costs down. Parking was valet only but they were very fast and willing to accommodate our schedule. It was great being right in the heart of Waikiki, being able to walk a few blocks to the main strip and to the beach. It wasn't a luxury resort right on the beach but it was above average in comfort and location for the price. The best part was the staff. They were always helpful and friendly and because it is a small setting they actually got to know us. I would gladly return.

Good value budget hotel

from brisbaneblue
Stayed here from 6/11 until 6/17.Good value for money , breakfast was adequate but got a little boring after the first three days.Room was small but very clean , housekeeping were very good as were all the staff especially Crystal on reception who helped us with lots of local knowledge.Not too far from the beach , about a 8-10 minute walk.A big plus for me was the free internet in the lobby , never had to wait long to use it.The pool area is a little spartan and could do with some sun loungers and tables.In summary if you are looking for a decent hotel at a reasonable price , look no futher.

Aqua Coconut, pretty nice I should think...

from derdonkderd
We had a great time at the Aqua Coconut.
The only downside was the A/C to our room was a bit lacking, but that is the only complaint I have. The staff was amazingly friendly, personable, and very helpful.

The location is convenient, only a couple blocks from the main drag of Waikiki, so it is easy to enjoy the night life, and not worry about driving or paying a high cab fare.

The rate was very reasonable... I would recomend it to anyone looking to have fun in town, or anyone really. It is a bit far from teh beach, but I am not so much a fan of the beach there in any case.

Aqua Coconut is Great for Teams and Indivuals

from Soccerfamily88
We have just returned from a week at the Aqua Coconut after a 11 stay as part of a group taking part in a week long soccer trip. The hotel staff, facility and location were ideal for us and the soccer team. The hotel was newly renovated and was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff took every opportunity to make our staff pleasant and help the team. For example breakfast was setup at 5:30 am and team dinners and videos were held in the lobby. The teams agenda was given to the front desk and they prepared themselves for the coming and going. The staff all seemed to be empowered to help with the trip. Additionally small things like towels at the front desk were available and the gym equipment was all well setup. The hotel is well situated and only a few minutes walk to the beach and restaurant. Over the past 5 years this is the best hotel we have stayed at as a team. I highly recommend the Aqua Coconut to traveling teams and individuals.

What a relief to find such a great little hotel!

from dleaolson
As a seasoned traveler - travelled for six years three days a week - I have seen my fair share of hotels and I have very strong opinions about what constitutes an acceptable hotel. As I had never been to Hawaii, I was relying on trip advisor comments along with my budget restraints!. I was intrigued when I saw that the Coconut Waikiki was reopening after an extensive renovation on June 6 as I always check a hotel for its last renovation date. I was pleased to find not only a well cared for facility, but one that was visually pleasing, as I really like a modern decor. (I so often see hotels that look like they were put together with my grandmother's cast offs.) The art nouveau feel played into the whole Waikiki vibe, and if you are looking for a great buy and if you don't need an ocean view...the price and value can't be beat. I would definitely stay here again... I spent the first five days at a well known and very expensive hotel on the North Shore and loved that experience...but the Coconut was a perfect fit for what we were looking for in a downtown hotel. If you don't pick this least stop by for a look - you will book it on your next trip! I just relooked at the pictures that they had posted on this site and though they are good they really don't do the rooms justice. They don't show the granite countertop in the kitchenettes as well as the stainless steel sinks, microwaves and refrigerators; the bathrooms - small but clean - all white; the very chic lobby and nice fitness facility. Loved they entire experience!

So So Stay at Coconut

from GingerGirlNY
This was a cute hotel in Waikiki, the room was clean and the staff was ok, but you can tell it's a refurbished hotel. It looks new but feels old. The driveway is also super small, so you have to whiz around the corner and up it quickly. But overall and ok stay for one day and one night as we did...

Desperately needs renovating

from OntarioJackson
We made this hotel a one night stop on our way from Toronto prior to a Hawaiian cruise out of Honolul, and a trip to Australia.

We had booked this hotel on suggestion from our travel agent, but were unable to book it at the end of our vacation 7 weeks later, so booked a sister hotel the Aqua Palms for that stay.

We checked in late in the evening after flights from Toronto and Vancouver ( read very exhausted travellers). The entrance was difficult to find, so our taxi let us off at a semi-hidden pathway and we hiked our luggage up the hill to the door.

The young girl on the desk was friendly but didn't have a lot of authority, so when we reached our "king" room and found it as 2 twins, there was apparently nothing she could do to change it as all the rooms were booked.

That wouldn't have been too bad except that the room wasn't clean, the wallpaper in the bathroom was hanging in strips, the sink and shelving were rusty and the tiles were broken and dirty.
The linens were threadbare and the kitchenette appeared about 30 years out of date.

We gingerly got into bed and slept OK.
We discovered in the morning the only good thing about the hotel was its good location and lovely views from our decrepit balcony.

Needless to say, we were thrilled that on our return to Honolulu 7 weekslater, the Aqua Coconut had no room for us, so we had to stay at the Aqua Palms which was wonderful and cheaper!!!
Management Response from coconutwaikikihotel
Aloha OntarioJackson,

Thank you for your feedback and I certainly agree that the condition of the former Aqua Coconut Plaza hotel was in need of renovations. Since your stay 6 months ago the Aqua Coconut Plaza Hotel underwent a major transformation and has been renamed as the Aqua Coconut Waikiki Hotel. I encourage you to visit our website to view pictures of the new hotel. The hotel recently re-opened its doors on June 1, 2008 after an extensive 3-month renovation which addresses the guest room issues you previously mentioned in your review. The rooms are completely new with either a king bed or two double beds with brand new linens. All the tiles were replaced with carpet and the bathrooms were completely overhauled and transformed to a bright sleek contemporary appearance. The kitchenette that you referred to as, “appeared about 30 years old” have been completely removed and replaced with new cabinets, granite top and stainless steel appliances.

If you have any questions regarding the Aqua Coconut Waikiki Hotel, please feel free to contact me at

Alvida Surpia
General Manager

Horrible Honeymoon!

from davidacuna07
After reading reviews about the Coconut Plaza hotel we became interested in staying there because of the inexpensive price of $80 a night. My wife and I were on a budget but now i regret not spending $20 more per night to stay right next to Waikiki Beach and not have to walk 2 miles to get the the beach every day. We arrived very tired in Honolulu that morning and had to stay in the lobby for some hours and not allowed to close our eyes! The front staff was very rude and drunk hotel guests kept going in and out of the hotel in groups. Not a good atmosphere there at all. The pictures on the reviews make it seem like a paradise but it really is not. The chairs are black dirty and the cushions smell, the ceilling full of mold, the tiles in the room make your feet dirty, very noisy, bad smell in the sheets and pillows. Over all do not stay at the Coconut Plaza Hotel located on Lewers street. It was a bad decision that we could have enjoyed more staying elsewhere. The reviews given then were from mostly eldery couples. The only good thing were the Blueberry muffins which made up for a big part of the horrible stay.
Management Response from coconutwaikikihotel
Aloha Davidacuna07,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Since your stay over a year ago, the hotel under went a major renovation. I welcome you to visit our website to view the new product. The Coconut Plaza has been renamed as the Coconut Waikiki Hotel which will re-open on June 1, 2008. The rooms are completely brand new and tiles that you mentioned have now been replaced with new carpet. The hotel is located on Lewers Street which is a mere 3 ½ blocks away from Waikiki Beach and 2 blocks from the new Beachwalk. There have been many improvements not just with the hotel but the within the vicinity.

Once again your feedback is appreciated. If you have any further questions regarding the new Aqua Coconut Waikiki Hotel, please feel free contact me at

Alvida Surpia
General Manager

Top Local Tips for Honolulu

Robert's Hawaii bus service & Submarine I paid for a pick-up service to take us from HNL airport to Waikiki and though it seemed expensive it turned out to be a pretty good deal because it was our first trip and we had no idea how far away Waikiki is from Honolulu. They met us with a real flower lei and drove us to our hotel. We were invited to a free breakfast the next morning were they gave us a little entertainment from the Polynesian Culture Center and an overview of what attractions could be purchased. We bought the Submarine ride and it was very fun. We could probably have booked it ourselves for the same price or less but we didn't have much time so getting the schedule and location from them made things easy and relaxed.

Don't miss The Bus! check out for information on the Oahu bus system. You can get all over Oahu inexpensively, buy an extended pass, etc. Just don't plan on bringing luggage on board - get a taxi. Otherwise, the buses go where you want to go, so why rent a car and spend a fortune, not to mention the horrendous traffic congestion in Honolulu.

Oahu Coupon Book Pick up this coupon book before you leave the hotel and thumb through often. There is a map of the area, and valuable coupons in there.


Other names for Best Western Coconut Waikiki - an Aqua Boutique hotel Hotel

  • best western honolulu
  • best western coconut waikiki
  • aqua coconut plaza
  • Address: 450 Lewers Street - Honolulu - Hawaii - 96815 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 1006 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Best Western Coconut Waikiki - an Aqua Boutique hotel Hotel