Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel

, Honolulu, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Honolulu

Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel

, Honolulu
3 star

Rooms: 120

415 Nahua Street - Honolulu - Hawaii - 96815 - United States | 808 922 1616
361 Traveller

Reviews - Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel

Great value
Submitted by: David in 02/05/05
  • Age Group: 60 +
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Pleasure Seeker
Just what I was looking for. My only problem was that I reserved for only one night and was unable to extend my stay because the hotel was full. The friendly staff was able to find me a place in a nearby sister hotel that was even a better value even if it was slightly higher priced. If and when I go back to Honolulu, I would gladly stay there again. The Waikiki location is great, too.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel

Luxury for a great price.

from Kalena-Kai
I would absolutely return there! Although the hotel was overbooked we were given a 3 bedroom suite which was just beautiful. The carpet was brand new, the amenities were clean and the whole suite was "SWEET"! There was one problem though, the parking. There was at least 10 stalls, which was all taken. Then the parking we had paid for in the hotel next door was taken. $20.00 a day. So since those were taken on our second day there we had to park 3 blocks away for $18.00.That's the city for you! Other than that everything was great! The rooms are beautiful, lets just leave it at that!

ll be back

from BigIslandBuilt
A hotel room must meet my three criteria: 1) The room has to be clean, 2) it has to have a spacious bathroom, and 3) it has to have a comfortable bed. This hotel definitely met my standards especially for the price. I also thought the staff were nice espeically the security guard, Ceasar. He was friendly and so helpful in looking for a parking space for my husband. I will definitely be back and I will recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

If you're on a budget, this is the hotel for you.

We loved our one week stay at the Waikiki Pearl!

from AFischer72
I had read the past reviews about the noise level and was glad to find out that we were on the 8th floor. Once I got there I understood why people complain about noise ... Waikiki is "UP" until about 4am. If you're concerned about noise and bars ... don't stay in Waikiki. Even though we were on the 8th floor, we could hear the street noise below but it wasn't that bad. Our city view was awesome. I could see a little piece of ocean between the bigger hotels. Housekeeping was top-notch. I requested a hair-dryer from the front desk and I got it right away (and was allowed to keep it the entire week). The renovations to the hotel were wonderful and we were delighted to find out that we would be there for the "blessing" of the hotel. The hotel is not located right on the beach but the walking did us good because there is great food everywhere and we ate ... a lot. Also, the hotel left us a coupon for a free Mai-Tai at the hotel bar ... small and kind of dive-y (which we love) with lots of regulars (very interesting crowd). The Mai Tais were awesome (and cheap) and happy hour lasted until 8pm. I only have one negative comment and that was that we only got one coffee pouch on the first day ... there was a Starbucks almost right next door ... but sometimes you need a cup before you can even face the baritsa. In the end, everyone at the hotel was very helpful and we were sad to go. Definitely will be staying at the Pearl again. Mahalo!

Good Budget Hotel

from Bellacityofangels
Me and my teenage daughter stayed at the Aqua Waikiki Pearl from Aug 12-18, 2009. We stayed in a simple standard room, that had 1 queen bed and 1 standard bed, Plasma television, air conditioned, microwave, safe, refrigerator, closet space. I can't complain the room was clean. The Honolulu newspaper was delivered to our door daily, we received good customer service and housekeeping service. Our towels were changed daily and rooms cleaned daily. The hotel in in the center/heart of Waikiki across the street from the International Market place and within walking distance to the beach 1 block, close to many restaurants and bus lines. Overall the hotel was very good, I can say the negative comments made about the cleanliness did not happen to us. I do recall walking by the housekeeping cart and saw the trash bag and gross towels that were collected from the room next door (bigger suite). Of course a bunch of college kids were staying in the room and just did not care. It is what you make of it. I had a great time and I would recommend the hotel to friends or family on a budget.

Do not stay here!!!

from mmart971
First of all let me say I am not a complainer...nor have I ever written a review before. We read the reviews prior to our stay and thought because the hotel was recently renovated that it could not be that bad for a 4 night stay. How wrong we were with our assumption. We could put up with the street noise (bars are open to 4:00 am), $20 per day to park our car, and the suppose to be 2 bedroom that was acually a 1 bedroom and the other so called bedroom was separated from the livingroom by a curtain. What pushed us over the edge was the cockroaches in the kitchen and in the beds!...please DO NOT STAY HERE, save you and your family the aggravation.
Management Response from WaikikiTides
Aloha mmart971,

Although your review does not speak highly of our hotel, we thank you for your review. Being recently renovated, we are very concerned about pests and critters. From the day of your report, your room was treated by our professional pest control vendor. And as a precautionary measure we are having your room treated for the second time this week.

I am glad that you did not find the nightlife and the $20 daily parking (that is common in all Waikiki) too disturbing. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our second type of two-bedroom. We have another type of two-bedroom and I am wondering if you brought your disappointment to the attention of Guest Services who may have been able to move you.

Thank you for allowing us to compensate you for not meeting your expectation upon your departure. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Koolina with your family.


Kalei Lyman
Hotel Manager
Aqua Waikiki Pearl

ll be staying here again

from PETAL333
By no means is this place a 4 star hotel, but we wanted a clean, affordable place to stay during our stay on Oahu and the Waikiki Pearl/Tides was exactly that! The 'City view' was a joke, but it was nice that the hotel is located walking distance to shops and places to eat (Puka Dog & Keoni's!) The staff was really helpful and very nice.
Only gripe was that even though we were on the 5th floor the music (and the drunks) from the pub - Legends- could be heard until well past 2 am! Get a room on a higher floor or further away from the pub side.
We had such a good experience that we plan on staying here when we return for another visit to Oahu.

Home away from home

from HiloLady
We stayed in the one bedroom suite. We had a queen and double bed in the bedroom. The beds were new and quite good. It had it's own TV (an older remote model which was quite adequate to put us to sleep). The room had it's own air conditioner which could be operated by remote control (we turned it off at night). The living room area was quite spacious and had an LCD tv, which, although not large, met out tv watching needs quite well. There was a hide-a-bed/couch, a small table and four chairs and a desk in the large living room area. There was a nice balcony that looked out on other hotels in the distance. The kitchen had a two burner stove top, was fully equipped with dishes, pots and pans, utensils, and a full refrigerator. There were granite counter tops throughout. My husband felt the bathroom could use some hooks for hanging clothes. Everything is new and fresh with their recent renovation.

The best part, however, is the friendliness of the staff. Everyone greets you and strives to meet your needs in these hard economic times. Kalei, the manager, has done a wonderful job instilling a real sense of Aloha in his staff.

The parking is limited, but parking can be obtained in sister hotels. The bus service is great and it is possible to get around with a combination of walking and riding the bus. The stops are nearby.

We were on the top floor, so noise was not a problem.

BTW, it is a non-smoking hotel and that is strictly monitored. Great for all of us non-smokers.

We'll stay there again.

Unbelievable how horrible our stay was....DO NOT STAY HERE

from jeremygaebe
First of all we were in Hawaii for my buddies wedding, and we had booked a huge sweet with a couple extra rooms to accomodate all of us. When we showed up, we were politely asked to downgrade due to construction, which wasn't the end of the world but was annoying just the same. The rooms were nice, newly renovated and not bad at all. The service very quickly showed its colors. We were missing a luggage rack and called down to the front desk to ask for one. I didnt care much but my buddy insisted in one. After about an hour, we called back and the lady YELLED "it coming!!!!!!! as if we had called 17 times in 5 minutes. We called the first time at around 3 pm it didnt show till we were leaving to go out at nine. Our room was not cleaned in 4 whole days and getting clean towels was impossible unless you caught the cart in the hallway and took them. The staff was rude and hard to find. Sometimes there would be no one at the front desk for 30 min at a time. On one of our last nights a big guy at the front desk responded to us being a little upset that our group rate would go up if we wanted to stay 1 more night with "Just get the !@&? outta here and dont @!#?ing come back......I really could write 2 pages on more but i think i have made my point
Management Response from WaikikiTides
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. I apologize that you did not enjoy receiving 2 suites (4 beds/2 bathrooms) at the same price of one 2-bedroom (2 beds-sofabed/1 bathroom). We thought that with several bachelors in your party, more bedding and the extra bathroom would be more comfortable for you.
We do appreciate that you found our newly renovated rooms nice. Our housekeeping staff is proud of the new product and works hard at cleaning and replenishing towels daily, with an exception if a DO NOT DISTURB sign is on the door. We usually can get into the room if the DND sign is removed before 3:00pm.
I’m surprised that you found the staff rude and hard to find, as most of our reviews find our staff friendly and accessible. Nonetheless, we have shared your review with our staff to remind them to treat every guest with aloha.
I hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable, and congratulations to your buddy on his marriage.
Kalei Lyman
Hotel Manager

Wonderful! Extremely helpful!!!

from jazzebelle002
We had a wonderful time! Although the hotel was going through some renovating, the service was exceptional! Michael and Pricilla went out of their way to make my family comfortable! We came in a group of 10 with 2 young children and they went out of their way to accommodate such a large group!! I have absolutely no complaints!!!
Next time I come to Hawaii, I'm definitely staying here!!
Jasmine, Indianapolis, IN

I felt like they were old friends

from sonshinesmiles
The hotel is newly renuvated, neat, clean and idealy located across from the International Market, but the staff is what made the visit special. Everyone was kind, very polite and took intrest in my daily activies to ensure that I got the most out of my visit. I have traveled a lot, some fancey some not so fancey but this topped the list for genuine customer courtesy. If I am ever in the area again I will be sure to stay at the Waikiki Pearl again.

Top Local Tips for Honolulu

Plenty of transportation Do not rent a car unless you absolutly need one parking is horrible and expensive but there is pleant of busses and cheep tours buses to get you where you need to go.

Inexpensive food Ask the front desk staff about good deals on food in the area. They have great suggestions. Our first few days there, we relied on the "name-brand" eateries so there would be no surprises. These places tended to be significantly more expensive that on the mainland. There are many local places that have much cheaper food deals available. Don't be afraid to take a risk on the local joints!

Freebies for Australians Watch the glossy brochures back home when they offer trips to Hilo Hattie and Maui Divers etc as part of their 'package' You can visit these places when ever you feel like, just by hopping on free shuttles, which pick up all around Waikiki. Use "The Bus" as much as possible to get around - it's SO EASY, believe me and the drivers are NOT monsters. They realise that tourists do come to Hawaii, and might need to a bus driver a question. Mahalo (thanks)


Other names for Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel

  • honolulu prince hotel
  • honolulu prince
  • aston honolulu prince hotel
  • aston honolulu prince
  • aqua waikiki pearl hotel honolulu
  • aqua waikiki pearl honolulu
  • Address: 415 Nahua Street - Honolulu - Hawaii - 96815 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 361 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel