Doubletree Hotel Tampa Airport

, Tampa, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Tampa

Doubletree Hotel Tampa Airport

3 star

Rooms: 489

4500 W. Cypress St. - Tampa - Florida - 33607 - United States | 813-879-4800
333 Traveller

Reviews - Doubletree Hotel Tampa Airport

Historical Traveller Reviews of Doubletree Hotel Tampa Airport

s prime

from dcj21
This hotel is worn out. the carpet and paint is showing age. The restaurant/bar is poor and not worth visiting. The internet access cost $10 a nigh and barely works. I recommend avoiding this hotel.

Good news is that I saw signs promising a makeover. No dates were given.
Management Response from hcl7
Thank You for your comments. We are currently in the process of a multi-million dollar renovation to update our property. These updates will give our property a beautiful new look!

Nice place but noisy

from London154
The hotel was very nice with comfortable beds. The staff was all friendly and efficient and the airport van was very useful. The big downside was that the pool area was very noisy until late at night. A lot of rooms overlook the pool so I imagine it was not just my room being affected. The $4. bottle of water in the room is just silly.
Management Response from hcl7
We take pride in making sure our employees are friendly and knowledgable. We did have a large group in that weekend which may have made it a bit louder than normal. We do apoligize and will look at events like this in the future so we do not inconvenience any of our guests. We want all of our guests to have an enjopyable stay with us.
Thank you

The worst!

from 9travelers
Let me start out by saying, DON'T STAY HERE! I was traveling on business and the week I was in Tampa most hotels were booked. So that is how I got stuck with this hotel.
When my co-worker and I pulled into the parking lot, we both were afraid of how bad the hotel was due to the outside looking so bad. When we walked into the lobby we were both happy about how great the lobby looked.

We were given a warm cookie at check-in and the check in team seemed very nice. Well as we got on the elevator to go upstairs I must say we were shocked by the filth of the hotel and the state the hotel was in. I got off on the 2nd floor and my co-worker went on to 3. The halls on the 2nd floor were dingy and dirty. The walls were peeling, paint laying on the floor. Stains on the carpet of god knows what. I got to my room and my key did not work. Now I want to add I have a bad back so I had to go all the way back down stairs to get my key to work with my suitcase and laptop. I got back to the 2nd floor and the key worked BUT... I was in the room of a man who was in the shower. They gave me someone elses room!!!! I ran out out of there so embaressed and back downstairs I go with all my suitcases.

I get down there and explain the issue and the girl behind the desk has the nerve to roll her eyes at me. I then ask for a Supv and I am told the Supervisor is the person who gave me the wrong room and key in the first place. The Supervisor apologizes and offers me breakfast. I decline it, and tell her that I no longer feel safe at this hotel as they could give me key to someone like they did to me. At no time does the front desk offer to go with me to the room the third time I go...I then go to the actual room on the 4th floor that is mine. There is no closet, just a pole to hang my clothes on. The room is sad looking, the paint peeling, just old and falling apart. And my company paid $299.00 a night fo this room!!

The next day I am doing laundy on the 5th floor, one washer was broke (of course). As I was waiting for my laundry to finish. During the hour I sat there, one lady came up with all her luggage and her key did not work, she had to go back down stairs. Then 4-5 members of an airline came to the floor and 2 pilots unlocked their doors and someone was in their room already. So I went downstairs to see who was on front desk duty and to no surprise at all, it was the same crew that was on the night I checked in. They need training. I also want to add that on Wednesday nite I attempted to get room service and was told it would be 2 hours!! Cancled that! I also had the do not disturb not on my door and room service still knocked and attempted to come in. I want to add that the night I checked in, the supervisor did come to my room at 900pm to apologize again and gave me an apple, an orange and 2 small bottles of Fiji water. Too litle too late.

I would never stay here again.
Management Response from hcl7
Thank you for your comments. We have recently undergone a change in managament of the property and are in the process of making numerous changes to the property including many renovations which have already been done and many more to come. We believe here that our guests are number one and we're here to make sure that happens.

Dumpster!

from NYCtraveller6
This place has nothing to do with the Hilton family hotels. IT IS A DUMP!!! I booked through priceline and got my money back as soon as I saw my room. I walked in , the lobby was noisy. Very, very, rowdy guests. When I went to my room the hallways stunk of must and fecal matter. The room was dirty and from the balcony I could see people in the pool popping each others blackheads for each other on their backs. Goes to show you what type of people it attracts!!! We left and went to a nicer hotel in St. Petersburg. Do not go to this place!
Management Response from hcl7
Thank you for your comments. We are currently making many changes to the property to improve upon our hotel and make guest stays as they should be, the most enjoyable experience. We are now under new management and look forward to a great new renovation and serving our guests.

Just OK!

from FXRS1969
I stayed at this Hotel for (2) nights in February 2008. The hotel is located in an area with other hotels, restaurants and a mall. The hotel has a parking garage because there is never any parking spots out front.

Check-in was pretty easy and I was placed on the first floor near the pool area. The room was ok, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also ok. It appeared the room was renovated not too long ago.

I went to the hotel restaurant to get take-out food. On top of the high prices, I was charged 13% more to have take-out. I should have gotten room service for the same price. My Chicken Quesadilla and a drink was over 20.00.

I stayed at this hotel to attend meetings, but would have stayed somewhere else if given the opportunity like Embassy Suites.

Very disappointing

from slov72
I travel a lot for business and have never felt the need to write a review before. But this hotel was horrendous. When you walk in the lobby is in fairly good shape, but as soon as you turn the corner and walk down the hallway you will be dumbfounded on how dingy and dirty the hotel really is. The room I had was dark, dingy and dirty. The bathroom seemed to be the only part of the room that had been altered since the early 80s. But then when I entered the bathroom in the morning there was a cockroach running about the floor. I would never return to this hotel and for the money you can find much better accomadations.

Great stopover

from SallieP-UK
We arrived into Tampa late night, called the hotel and in five minutes the shuttle was with us. The rooms were clean, comfortable and reasonably spacious, and the staff really welcoming and helpful.

Only criticism is that the landings betrayed the hotel's 1980s origin, but presumably these are next on the refurbishment programme? They certainly wouldn't put us off staying there again. The public spaces in the lobby area were elegant, there was an outdoor pool area which we didnt have time to use, and breakfast was plentiful and freshly produced.

False alarms, clueless staff, gouged by the manager

from jetcaptain
Decided to leave because of false evacuation alarm and staff that was clueless about what was going on. Manager was argumentative and tried to triple charge me for two days beyond my stay. I'll never stay here again.

Dowdy Doubletree

from hmflyer
This is a below-average Doubletree.

In my room the carpet was worn, the air conditioner did not work and there was no luggage rack. Maintenance fixed the air conditioner but in the middle of the night it quit working again.

Other people in my party had similar experiences.

The good thing about this hotel is it is close to the airport, it just does not provide a good experience.

Doubletrees are like Wyndham, just not consistant. Some are really nice, some aren't.

I wouldn't willingly stay here again as there are so many other options in the area.

Nice place for a stay

from SanCapTravel
Booked my reservation on LastMinuteVacancies.com for only $80 per night. Going for a weekend for my brothers wedding. Saw mostly good reviews on TripAdvisor so I thought I would do it. Also had my family book 5 other rooms and everyone was very pleased. It's certainly not the best place in town, but far from the worst also. Make sure you get a newer room as they are renovating and some rooms are old and very much in need of the upgrade. Nice pool, fitness center, restaurant (a bit pricey). We used the free shuttle service to go out so we didn't have to worry about drinking and driving. Very good location as well. Would definately recommend for anyone coming to the area.

Top Local Tips for Tampa

Get to the beach IF you are in Tampa for pleasure or business take the time to drive out to St. Pete's beach. It is so worthit!

Build A Bear a fun get away! If you are traveling with children ages 3-13 in the Tampa Area a great diversion is a store called Build-A-Bear. It is a very well run store chain store that allows your child to adopt a stuffed animal or bear, dress it and make it their own. Our assistant Trina was wonderful. She got each child involved stuffing their own animal. For $25.00 each child in our group took home a furry friend with clothing that they absolutely loved. If you do this at the end of your trip, you will be a hero. They will probably remember this more than all the money you spent on a resort. We were staying at the Tampa Westshore DoubleTree and went to the International Mall close by for this great experience. The International Mall is only minutes from the Tampa International Airport. Great place to go for a flight delay. You can also check their website for a town you are traveling to.

Requests Request an early check in and bottom floor room at this location. These are the recently renovated rooms.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Doubletree Hotel Tampa Airport

  • tampa doubletree
  • doubletree tampa
  • Address: 4500 W. Cypress St. - Tampa - Florida - 33607 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
8.0/10

See All 333 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Doubletree Hotel Tampa Airport