Bath Street Inn Hotel

, Santa Barbara, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Santa Barbara

Bath Street Inn Hotel

, Santa Barbara
1720 Bath St - Santa Barbara - California - 93101 - United States Hotel Website | 805 682 9680
246 Traveller

Reviews - Bath Street Inn Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Bath Street Inn Hotel

Fun at Bath Street

from A TripAdvisor Member
Charming B & B, good location, easy access to State Street. The proprieters were very service conscious, the food outstanding. Although our accommodation (Balcony Room) was small, the room was well appointed and comfortable.

Real Warmth at the Bath Street Inn

from A TripAdvisor Member
The Bath Street Inn was more comfortable and relaxing than a warm bath. This wonderfully restored three story Victorian B&B was truly wonderful. From the moment we arrived we knew that we were in for a great weekend experience. Upon meeting the innkeeper we became very relaxed and comfortable even after the 3 1/2 hour drive from San Diego. There was plenty of off street parking. The Inn has a warm, comfortable feeling about it and the aromas coming from the kitchen were delightful. We stayed in the Tiffany Room. It was large, comfortable, nicely decorated, and very clean with a nice large bathroom. We "peeked" into several of the other rooms that had not received their guests yet and found all of them to be very much the same quality as our room, just not as large. The Inn is just blocks away from State Street where most of the shops and restaurants are located. We walked everywhere because the Inn was so nicely located. The Innkeeper has great recommendations and menus for many of the best resaurants in town. Not enough good, and nothing negative, can be said about the Bath Street Inn. We were planning our next stay at the Inn before we even left for home.

Felt like home...

from beachdwlr
We stayed over Labor Day weekend and after fighting traffic all the way up the coast from LA, were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We were welcomed with open arms and the delightfull smell of cinnamon pears baking in the oven. The room was charming, the food was delicious, and the staff was outstanding. We were given suggestions of where to go to avoid the overwhelming amount of tourists and they even made the dinner arrangements for us. I want to personally thank the Bath Street Inn staff and management for all their hard work to make our stay spectacular. Keep up the good work!

This place is a gem!!!

from A TripAdvisor Member
This place is a gem!! The breakfasts are alone worth the stay. Our favorite is the Eggs Florentine, although the Hawaiian French Toast is a close second. The location is wonderful--an easy fifteen minute walk brings you to the heart of the SB shopping and dining district on State St. The rooms are cozy and comfortable at the same time-and not many B&Bs can truthfully make that claim! And to save the best for last: the innkeepers and the staff are sensational! You come once and you are friends; twice and you are family. We will never stay anywhere else in SB!

Bob and Rose Marie from San Jose

Not worth the price

from Lanya
We stayed at the Bath Street Inn in part because of Tripadvisor's rave reviews, but were disappointed, especially given the nearly $200 per night rate. The outside of the house was charming, but our room was underwhelming, to say the least. The wall to wall carpeting was mildewed, a tiny toilet room had been tacked onto one corner of it, with the sink outside right in the room, and a huge jacuzzi (complete with large, half-used communal bottles of V05 shampoo and conditioner) was plopped near the doorway, which opened onto a driveway and neighboring apartment building. The one window (which didn't open) was covered with a broken shutters and looked out onto a busy street (even though this was the "Garden Room"). The bed was hard as a rock. Breakfast was fairly good, but sadly, served in a cramped dining room/living room (bedrooms had been carved out of the formerly grand space). The staff was earnest but overworked, and clearly unable to take much time with guests. I'll look elsewhere next time I stay in SB.
Management Response from BathStreetInn
We appreciate the opportunity to respond. Since it is our heartfelt desire that all of our guests be comfortable and happy, we were certainly sorry to hear that these guests did not have a good experience visiting with us. It is particularly unfortunate that they did not express their discomfort to us at the time because it has always been our policy to provide guests with alternatives which would have included releasing them from their reservation with a full refund and assisting them to find other accommodation more suited to their tastes.
The carpeting in the Garden room was not and is not mildewed. One of the many things we value about Kate, the innkeer on duty, is her attention to detail in completing room checks and to any issues that would impact guest comfort. With her keen sense of smell, she did not detect any mildew odor in the Garden room that day or since but she did suggest they might have smelled "wet carpet" from their comings and goings since we were in the midst of a record breaking sequence of storms. This also accounts for the window being swollen shut from the rain. Normally, it opens without difficulty. We were very surprised to hear that they found the bed to be hard - we purchase our beds from a gentleman who supplies the same unit to the Ritz Carlton, and we usually hear how comfortable the beds are. We are sure that we had informed the guests about the jacuzzi being in the bedroom area when they made their reservation. Finally, we regret that we had no opportunity to address their concerns while they were still with us (when Kate checked specifically with them, they reesponded positively). We really do care very much about guest satisfaction and would have been happy to do whatever we could to create a positive resolution.

Holiday away from home

from A TripAdvisor Member
After getting snowed out of seeing our families back east, my boyfriend and I set out to the unfamiliar Bath Street Inn. We couldn't have made a better choice. The moment we made our reservation we felt as if we were invited to a family's home. We were offered everything from the friendly staff, the home cooked eggs florentine and chocolate cake that was given that extra touch of goodness, to the calm and restorative setting of the room. There were even orange trees outside of our doorway! Not only did they make our holiday special, we found our home away from home. We'll escape the city again to this now 'familiar' retreat sometime soon.

Wonderful stay at the Bath Inn , Santa Barbara, Calif

from A TripAdvisor Member
My wife and I had a most enjoyable stay at the Bath Inn. We were greeted by a very pleasant and cheerful staff member who gave us a tour of this cozy ,beautifully decorated Inn. The fire place in the sitting area was ablaze adding to the ambiance of the warm atmosphere . Our room was charming , decorated nicely but not overdone . The bed was very comfortable . We met some lovely people from Minnesota at the afternoon tea time and wine and cheese gathering . Our hostess advised us on a lovely restaurant to have dinner . Upon our return from dinner the sitting area had a table filled with delicious cookies and pastries as well as coffee and tea . The following morning we had a full breakfast with home made granola , yogurt and delicious pancakes with a yummy filling . We were very fortunate to find this hidden gem in Santa Barbara because we want to visit here often .

Felt at home

from A TripAdvisor Member
When my husband and I arrived in Santa Barbara we needed a place to stay for a week. We wanted to have a kitchen area so we didn't have to eat out all the time. We found this wonderful bed and breakfast which had the Country Suite and had a full kitchen in it, that was great. But the greatest thing was the wonderful reception we received from all the staff, their knowledge of the area and all their exceptional help. Not to mention their love of baking and providing us daily with delicious food - from the breakfasts every morning to the cookies, tea, wine and cheese. What a wonderful stay. Like I said in the title, we felt like we were home with our family.

Exceptional Inn.

from A TripAdvisor Member
Stayed here with my girlfriend for 1 night in Santa Barbara.

Pros: Very helpful and friendly hostess/staff, fantastic breakfast, very comfortable room.

Cons: The movements in the room above were quite noisy, even normal footsteps, not really walking distance from the heart of State Street but great if you have a car (only 5 mins drive).

Bath Street Inn - The Perfect Place to Stay

from A TripAdvisor Member
On a recent trip for pleasure, relaxation,site seeing, and shopping: a friend and I stayed at a Bed and Breakfast, called the Bath Street Inn. What a pleasure our stay was. The hostess/owner was delightful, insightful, and such a helpful guide to our stay in Santa Barbara. Actually all the staff were quite excellent, efficient and very friendly. The rooms were all decorated so beautifully and thoughtfully with great views, patios, and balconies. I stayed in two different rooms, as well as did a tour of many of the other rooms. It will be hard to select which room for my next visit.

There is also a common sitting/reading/media room with a wide array of videos to watch. There are also t.v.'s in the room - although I never personally felt the need to watch them. Some of the rooms were even accesssible for those with physical limitations ( I am a kitchen and bath designer so I notice these things). Our room had a fireplace and a Jacuzzi Tub - How relaxing!

I can't tell you how DELICIOUS the food was and how plentiful. In the morning you are served (waited on) with a delicious breakfast. The first day we were served a delicious omelet and the second day croissant french toast! Yummy! Also the meal includes fresh brewed coffee, tea, fresh juice, a delicious cereal(granola- muselix type) fresh fruit etc. all beautifully presented. Obviously you are full for quite a while after this great meal. Later in the day is Afternoon tea including absolutely beautiful presentation with simply delectable desserts. Then there is the Wine and Cheese Hour, which is a wonderful way to share stories with other travelers on great places to visit in Santa Barbara. Then there is always the midnight snack(more delicious home made treats) that are available all night for someone who has a late night sweet tooth with a choice of coffee, tea, etc..

The Inn is just a short walk from State Street - the hub of endless great shopping, theaters, historic sites, art museum. and outstanding array of restaurants that have some of the most innovative and awe inspiring presentations and tastes I have ever had.One thing that particulary struck me was how absolutely friendly all of the restaurant workers, sales people, taxi drivers, bus drivers(only 25 cents) and people in general were. They all were so helpful and seemed very glad to have you in there city. Believe me I have been to many tourists towns where tourists are treated like outsiders, or with indifference or plain rudeness.

I would highly recommend The Bath Street Inn for its beautifully decorative rooms, delicious and plentiful foods, convenient, relaxing atmosphere, and most of all for its perfect service - knowing how to be friendly, efficient, proffessional, and knowing how to "read" a guest perfectly to the type of service wanted - is truly a gift the Innkeeper and her staff has.

Top Local Tips for Santa Barbara

State Strreet Everything under the sun - but walk. Parking is minimal and from the Bath Street it is only a few blocks

The good restaurants always seem to be busy. Be sure to make reservations (or have your concierge make them), particularly for large groups.

Great Dinner on state Street Paluzzio's - Italian - HUGE portions

(hotels)loading
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
9.0/10

See All 246 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Bath Street Inn Hotel