Travelodge Redding Hotel

, Redding, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Redding

Travelodge Redding Hotel

4 star

Rooms: 41

540 North Market Street - Redding - California - 96003 - United States Hotel Website | | (530) 243-5291
328 Traveller

Reviews - Travelodge Redding Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Travelodge Redding Hotel

excellent motel

from fromdelmar
I am giving this a "5" rating because it is an excellent motel. However, I don't want to imply that it is a 5 star hotel. It is a very standard motel, but very well run. It does not look impressive and it really isn't. Just very clean with excellent staff. Other comments below will give you the details such as the free small cooked breakfast next door etc. An added bonus is that the hotel has a few rooms that are pet friendly and these rooms are just as nice as the rooms where pets are not permitted. If you plan to bring a pet, call them in advance to reserve a pet friendly room.
Management Response from RTL
Thanks for the kind words regarding the pet rooms. We treet your pet like any other family member, the $8.00 per pet fee is a lower than many places. Notifing the hotel in advance is a great piece of info. for all to use with any hotel

Great Motel

from Traveler1442
My wife and I were looking for a night's stay on our way from Danville, California to our home in Vancouver, Washington. We have the current AAA guide and found this Travelodge to be well described, and not too expensive, so we sought it out and went there. The folks in the office were friendly and very helpful. We needed a grocery store and a restaurant, and they provided us with directions to both. Not only that, they informed us that the Italian restaurant down the street gave a discount for Travelodge visitors! And the food was excellent and not too expensive, either. The Travelodge discount was 10 %.
We can highly recommend this Travelodge. We did not have time to try out the pool, but it looked clean!
Bo Schultz-Andersen

Worth the Value!

from uwchou
*Coupon Check-in: On our way to Bay Area, we decided to stay in Redding overnight because it was becoming dark. We didn't make any reservation and just walked in to ask whether The Travelodge Redding honered the coupon we found from the hotel coupon book, which people could get in many Danny's or Sharis. The manager, Stephen, just took a look at the coupon and said Yes very quickly. We were very glad he honered the coupon. So, no painless check-in.

*Parking: We had 1 car and 1 U-haul. Due to the U-haul size, we couldn't park it in the regular parking space. Stephen sloved this problem for us--he kindly let our U-hual be parked near the entrance and occupy half of the driveway, without additionaly charge. By doing so, we got our problem sloved without blocking other cars.

*Room: The layout of this one is just like any other Motel, so people shouldn't expect too much. However, the room is clean and comes with pretty new full-size freezer and microwave. Although a little bit small, the bathroom is clean too. The internet is free. It seems most people staying here are couple or family, so this place is safe and not noisy.

*Free Breakfast: The breakfast place is just next to the Travelodge. The hot breakfast is totally free and tastes good! If people want a larger portion, they could order a meal and get some bucks off as Travelodge customers.

*This place also has swimming pool and Spa, but we didn't have time to use this time. In all, staff here are very nice and very helpful! The place is good in terms of the money you pay!

Nice enough place, good value

from MsMaryMc
Nothing extraordinary, just a good, clean, quiet place to stay at a good price. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. We had a disabled-accessible room which had a huge roll-in shower, and the pool even has a lift for wheelchair users. The a/c got the temperature down to the meatlocker level my husband prefers, in spite of it being 103 degrees outside! Breakfast was pretty basic and a little greasy, but the price was right. The location is convenient to Lake Redding Park and the river trail. We would gladly stay there again.
Management Response from RTL
Our free sit-down breakfast is a a diner next door called the Miner's Cafe' - it is like a mom & pop Denny's. We want to offer our guest something more than the typical stale bagel and warm glass of juice many offer.

s why

from MirandaPen
I read the reviews here and chose to stay at the Travelodge this time around on my trip to Redding in early August. I made the mistake of not booking online. The best internet rate was $77, when I arrived they charged me the walk in rate of $100, darn it.
The lobby and pool area looked very clean and well cared for. The staff was very nice. This motel looked very popular and was filled with cars by evening. Looked to be alot of contractors and families with very nice mini vans staying here.
Our room was very open and spacious. There was a bit of an odor like trying to cover up cigarrette smoke smell(non smoking room). The decor was just Ok. There was a kitchenette which would come in handy if we were staying longer.
As part of the stay, Travelodge offers free breakfast with a limited menu at the campy Miner's resteraunt next door. If you wanted more menu options they offer $3.50 off any breakfast selection. We liked the food and our kids liked the interesting mural of the nature and miner.
Previouse we had stayed at the Holiday inn and really enjoyed our room in the business wing the hotel was very central in location. The Traveloge was away from the mall area and kind of out of the way.
Management Response from RTL
With every buisness, not everyone repects others. This guest mentioned the hint of smoke smell. All our rooms are NON-SMOKING, however occassionaly a guest will smoke in a room.
From this review we reviewed our process for those who have smoked in any room. We raised the cost for not adhering to this policy - Now the fee is $250.00.
Guest are informed at reservation time, check-in and thier receipt and posting in the room informs all of the policy. Neddless to say, you will find our rooms free of even the hint of smoking. (Guest can and do smioke outside their rooms. Even with this we have placed units throughout the facility to allow for smoking and limit smoke around guests doors.

Very Pleased With This Hotel

from A TripAdvisor Member
We were extremely pleased with this hotel. The rate was reasonable and the staff was helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and looked new. An added bonus was free wireless.

The front desk recommended “La Gondola” Italian restaurant within walking distance from the hotel. The food was quite good. It’s not gourmet or fancy, but was reasonable and very satisfying (10% off if you’re staying at the hotel). The hotel gave us a coupon for breakfast at the Miner’s restaurant next door. The coupon was for a free breakfast (from a choice of several items) or, if you prefer, a set amount off the restaurant's regular menu. The breakfast was very good. We were looking for a deli and the hotel desk recommended Raley’s Supermarket, 201 Lake Blvd. We stopped on the way out and got a sandwich and drink for the ride home..

We will probably be making the trip between the Bay Area and Portland several times in the next year and this will definitely be our preferred stop.

No problems here!

from bverbos
After reading the other reviews, I felt confident booking this Travelodge. And it was as great as they all said! The staff, including Steve, were very helpful upon check-in. Provided maps and info, including the fact that the main sights in Lassen Peak National Park were inaccessible due to snow on the road. We had read about the southern road being closed but still thought it was worth going up there. He convinced us not to bother, and sent us to Burney Falls State Park instead, which was fabulous. A wonderful waterfall, and views of Mt. Shasta along the highway were like a picture postcard. I would definitely stay here again.

Above and Beyond

from A TripAdvisor Member
Traveling with a group of teenagers is tough enough... nobody needs a lousy motel with inferior rooms. The Redding Travelodge was everything we needed... and more.

On previous visits to Redding with our annual group, we had stayed elsewhere. When the others became very proud of their rooms ($138+), we had to look at other options. Mr. Jones probably doesn't want me to tell you this, but with our 5 rooms, he went even better than the listed rate, and then fed us all breakfast on top of that. That sure helped since we had to feed the teenagers as well! The rooms were clean, modern and very fresh. It was 103 degrees so it took the kids about 3 minutes to hit the pool. This generated the only complaint... the pool was too warm! Teenagers!!!!

The motel was a hop, skip and a jump to area attractions .... movies, malls, restaurants, Turtle Bay and of course Dutch Bros.!

It's billed as the Best Kept Lodging Secret of Redding, but I have a feeling they won't be able to use that tag line for long. I was a little apprehensive going in... but very, very pleased with the experience.
Management Response from RTL
We have a solar heated pool. With temps like this guest mentioned we have adjusted the pool temp to be nice, cool and comfortable. Thanks for leting us know.

great service

from Wanderer51
On a trip from SF, CA to Ashland, OR to see the Oregon Shakespeare Festival, we pulled in at 10 PM and asked about vacancies. The front desk person was very friendly and offered to give us a large 2-bed room for the same price as a less expensive smaller single-bed room, and with the AAA discount. The room was spacious, clean, modern, and had a microwave, refrigerator, and wireless internet access that worked flawlessly with my laptop.

The next morning we had a free full breakfast at the adjacent Miner's Cafe courtesy the hotel, and lots of helpful advice from the front desk person (Keith) about local sightseeing attractions. He recommended the Shasta Caverns, the Shasta Dam tour, and Lassen Volcanic National Park. He even called the National Park to verify that the entire park road was snow-free and open for car traffic. We spent the day at Shasta Caverns & Shasta Dam, then came back to Redding to see the Sundial Bridge and have dinner at Olive Garden Restaurant. Although we had intended to stay only one night, we came back to the Redding Travelodge to ask if we could stay another night. Our room was already given to another party, so they gave us the biggest room in their hotel at the same price as the already discounted room they had given us the previous night.

Since we had such a nice experience at this Travelodge Hotel, the next morning I asked the manager if Ashland, OR also had a Travelodge. He told me that the closest one was in Medford, OR, but he couldn't recommend it because it was not as well maintained as others in the area. He recommended a nice B&B in Ashland that he and his wife had once utilized. My wife and I decided to just wait until we arrived in Ashland to inspect a couple of hotels in the AAA tourbook and then make our decision. Thanks to Keith's recommendation of the previous day, we had a very delightful time driving through Lassen Vocanic National Park, listening to a lecture by the park ranger on the Park's seismic history, and visiting the Loomis Museum. From there we had dinner at Applebee's in Red Bluff before driving up to Ashland for the night.

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay and visit to the sights around Redding thanks to the comfortable accommodations and friendly staff at the Redding Travelodge. We would definitely stay there again and will recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room was problematic, management was terrific

from A TripAdvisor Member
Stayed in room 124, one of only two rooms with a king bed. This room was intended for the disabled, so there was a wheelchair-accessible shower and no tub.

The room was comfortable and quiet. However, the entire bathroom flooded when I showered because the shower drain didn't work and the shower curtain didn't reach the floor. My husband had to obtain a bunch of towels and a mop from the front desk at 11:45 p.m. to clean up the mess.

The next morning, I took the assistant manager aside and quietly explained the problem and requested compensation. He apologized profusely and gave a partial refund without hesitation. When I mentioned that my hubby and I were headed to Lassen Nat'l Park, he wrote down the park phone number and recommended we call to check road conditions. It's a good thing we did, because some of the main roads were closed.

Kudos to Kevin Mullins, the assistant manager, for his excellent customer service! He turned an unhappy experience into a pleasant one.
Management Response from RTL
I'm sorry I didn't reply to this earlier, the room you stayed in is a great room but the orginal installation of the flooring by our contractor we later found out the grade/sloop wasn't to code and not to our standards.

This affected drainage and was something you should not have had to deal with.
I pleased to state that this situation has been fully addressed and a new tile floor and drain system has been installed.

Top Local Tips for Redding

Sacramento river walk If you have time, be sure to visit the park and bike/walking path along the Sacramento river. It's just lovely.

Bethel Church Conference Excellent

Lassen National Park and Area Waterfalls There is SO much to do and see if you like outdoor adventure and hiking within a 90 minute radius of Redding - too much to list!


Other names for Travelodge Redding Hotel

  • travelodge redding
  • travel lodge redding
  • redding travelodge
  • redding travel lodge
  • Address: 540 North Market Street - Redding - California - 96003 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 328 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Travelodge Redding Hotel