Travelodge SFO Airport South Hotel

, Millbrae, United States
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Millbrae

Travelodge SFO Airport South Hotel

, Millbrae
2 star
110 S El Camino Real - Millbrae - California - 94030 - United States Hotel Website | 650 697 7373
276 Traveller

Reviews - Travelodge SFO Airport South Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Travelodge SFO Airport South Hotel

A gr8 budget hotel

from A TripAdvisor Member
I searched the net for a nice cosy budget hotel & for once i did not regret my decision. This place is gr8 for the convenience of the BART just hopping distance away, the ever smiling & efficient staff and one of the most helpful & warm front office people i have met in a long time. The facilities offered in the room incl breakfast options are gr8 for the price. I would love to come back if i am around SF.

Really good motel.

from Lykes_2_travel
Very nice motel with pillow top beds, wireless internet, frig and microwave in the deluxe room, friendly staff, new bedding and very clean rooms. Safe area near to BART and Caltrain. Highly recommended.

ok for night stop

from navstu
Stayed on the night of the 28th March in between flights, arrived 2200 and left 0730 next morning. Clean basic room freindly staff and adequate breakfast buffet. Not to sure could have survived more than one night though but it served its purpose. The shuttle bus appeared to be every 30minutes and we must have just missed one as we waited nearly 30minutes in the cold at the airport whilst other hotels coaches appeared much more regular.

Great Place

from A TripAdvisor Member
I stayed for 6 nights as I was on standby on my way back to Australia. The staff were great, really supportive as I was back and fourth to the airport every day.
The room was comfortable. They gave me a great rate every night and I really loved the area. Locally there is a great wholefoods kind of supermarket and easy access to the station. I'll be back in April 06 and TravelLodge will be my choice again.

Love the new pillow-top beds and staff

from A TripAdvisor Member
I have to say these are some of the friendliest and helpful front desk personnel that I have experienced. After a long day of traveling this is just what I needed. A friendly face and a comfortable bed!

I was tired, cranky and hungry. David had me checked in quickly, pointed me to a nice restaurant and I was ready for a good nights sleep. The new bed was very comfortable (better then the one I have at home).

The next morning I was enjoying my cappuccino and observing the morning front desk agent, Cynthia. She knew many guests by name and made a point to send them off with good wishes.

I highly recommed this Travelodge.

Excellent choice for budget airport hotel.

from salmoncake
We stayed here one night before catching a really early flight out of San Francisco International airport. It is a 5 minute walk from Millbrae Bart station so is really convenient to get to from downtown.

The rooms are of a high standard with cable (inc. hbo), iron, ironing board, hair dryer. They are also exceptionally clean. Guests have access to microwave and fridge in the lobby.

There is a free 24 hour shuttle to the airport, which is really close by.

I would highly recommend this hotel for the night before an early flight.

It is in a motel style though, so can get noisy. You can hear the shower/tv in the next room but it's not that bad.

Good Value for Money

from trave
Excellent location specially for those who do not plan to drive. The Bart-Caltran station is just behind the property. Easily a 5 minute walk. Shuttle available to and from SFO airport. Rooms are okay. Breakfast selection not bad. Internet connection available but certain rooms 311/310 had problems of intermittent signals due to their location. Just move your laptop to the bed (instead of doing it on the table) and you should get a good and signal. If you do not bring a laptop, internet is available in the lobby for a fee. For a hotel near the airport, I didnt hear any plane landing or taking off.

The bed was a nightmare!

from usafan
We had to stay one night at the Travelodge because all other hotels were sold out. We got the last room that was available and it was at the top floor. It was a smoking room and so the walls and ceiling had a thick yellow cover. When have they painted the room lastly? The room in all would by acceptable for a budget hotel but the price was 109 USD, which was too expensive for what you got. Not the quality made the price but the location at the san francisco airport. The bed was terrible. One more night in this bed I hadn`t survived. It was a nighmare. I felt the frame in my back all the night and i didn't get a wink of sleep. We left the hotel after one night althought we booked for three and went to the Holiday Inn Express, where we paid the same price but got the right quality for that.

I am surprised about the good reviews here for the travelodge. Perhaps there are differences in the rooms but we got seemingly the last room and this room was very bad and i wouldn't recommend it.
Management Response from travelodgesfairport
We take great pride in our Travelodge, as evidenced by our recent awards of Travelodge Property of the Year and Best Customer Experience, so I want to respond to this review. All guests can view any room before renting it. This guest was told that we only had 1 room left and that it was a smoking room. Unfortunately we still have a small number of smoking rooms as there are guests who still like to smoke in their rooms, however, all rooms are thoroughly cleaned and deoderized after each use. The guest made the choice to rent the room so it seems senseless to complain about having to accept a smoking room. Of course, if the guest had made an advance reservation we would have been glad to book them into a non-smoking room. The wallpaper in our rooms is a yellow-beige color. Painting cannot be done in rooms from May to October as the rooms are rented on a daily basis. Travelodge is not a budget hotel. Travelodge is mid to upper level economy lodging. Our rates do vary from $67.20 to $129 depending on time of reservation and availability of rooms. If the $109 rate was not within this guest's budget, then once again this guest should not have chosen to rent the room. We have not had any complaints about our quality Serta mattresses. However, in our constant desire to continue to provide an even better customer experience at our Travelodge, we will be installing Simmons Felicity Pillowtop beds in all rooms within the next 3 months. This guest states that they are surprised about the good reviews our Travelodge has received on Trip Advisor. Travelodge sends an email questionaire to all reservations booked through the Travelodge network. Our property scored the 3rd highest out of 425 Travelodges, averaging a score of 8.55 out of 10. We receive these good reviews for a reason; we strive for every one of our guests to have a pleasant experience at our property. It is important to us and that is why I wanted to respond to this review in such great length to insure that the readers of TripAdvisor understand our viewpoint also.

convenient to BART but obnoxious air conditioners

from A TripAdvisor Member
This hotel's big advantage is that it is convenient to the Millbrae BART station. Exit the station on the side that has the Caltrain tracks, walk out to El Camino Real (you'll see a big video rental store), take a left, cross Millbrae Ave, and the hotel will be 50 yards ahead. The Millbrae station is a 30 to 40 minute ride from downtown San Francisco, though you'll have to wait for a train that goes all the way to SFO and Millbrae.

Other advantages. The rooms are a good size and clean, the people are friendly, and the breakfast is fairly good.

Major disadvantage. The AC/heating units in each room are quite noisy, and the last night I was there someone, probably in the room next door to me, had theirs running all night. It generated an obnoxious pulsing noise that easily cut through walls.

Great for a Late Flight

from chisox05
I chose this hotel as a place to overnight after arriving from Honolulu near midnight. We didn't want to go into SF at that time of night. This hotel is a great place to overnight. Their airport shuttle service is available 24 hours a day. The shuttle services several of the airport hotels, but it stops at the Travelodge first so you get there quickly. The front desk clerk was attentive and pleasant.

The room was just average, but nice, clean and quiet. The free continental breakfast was just average too although the cappuccino machine was a nice touch. After breakfast and a quick check out we walked a short block over to the Millbrae BART station for our ride into SF.

Top Local Tips for Millbrae

In need of an airport hotel? If there are four of you, see if you can find a room for under $110 elsewhere. If there are 2 of you, look for a room under $89. If you can't find one and need to be close to the airport - this is an acceptable choice.

Traveling by Train This Millbrae location is perfect for those who want to travel on the Caltrain and Bart. It was very convenient, fast, and inexpensive. The station is in a very nice and safe area of town with not much traffic.

Ideal location for sightseeing in San Francisco The sightseeing tours arranged by the manager were absolutely the best tours we have ever taken. The tour guides were knowlegeable and we were picked up and dropped off at the Travelodge. Arrangements were made for us by Cynthia at Travelodge.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Travelodge SFO Airport South Hotel

  • travelodge millbrae
  • travelodge hotel millbrae
  • travel lodge millbrae
  • millbrae travelodge
  • millbrae travel lodge
  • Address: 110 S El Camino Real - Millbrae - California - 94030 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
8.0/10

See All 276 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Travelodge SFO Airport South Hotel