Inn by the Lake Hotel

, Lake Tahoe, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Lake Tahoe

Inn by the Lake Hotel

, Lake Tahoe
3 star
3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd - Lake Tahoe - California - 96150 - United States Hotel Website | 530 542 0330
155 Traveller

Reviews - Inn by the Lake Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Inn by the Lake Hotel

Very enjoyable stay

from Marion
Stayed here for 2 nights. Loved Lake Tahoe. The scenery is stunning. The hotel was lovely, but one complaint was the air conditioning or the lack of it!! It was very hot when we were there but the air conditioning was non-exsistent. The only way we could get some cool air was to sleep with sliding balony doors open...noticed most other guests were doing this as well!! The corridorswere boiling. This was the only complaint with this hotel, other than that it was excellent. Lovely clean pool area, and my husband enjoyed the gym, said most of the equipment looked very new. It was also in a very nice location. Breakfast was very good. Any items which "ran out" were very quickly replaced. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Lake Tahoe.

Great Hotel

from Judy
Enjoyed staying at the Inn by the Lake. The hotel looked nice and was well taken care of. The rooms were comfortable and the grounds were very pretty. The view of the lake from the hotel was beautiful.

Love South Lake Tahoe but Inn by the Lake is only OK

from onshapiro
The staff at the hotel was very helpful but the inn is very outdated except for the gym room, pool and sauna that my husband really enjoyed. The continental breakfast was good too.

The rooms are really outdated and the bed was uncomfortable. The TV was old without any premium channels and no DVD/VCR player. The staff stated that they removed the DVD players because they have an agreement with in demand.

If the hotel updates the rooms, the hotel will be a nice place to stay but as it stands now, I will not be staying there again.

Easy to find, great location and staff...nice weekend away

from A TripAdvisor Member
My girlfriend and I were looking to get away and I looked for hotels, reviews, etc. Never having seen the hotel before except on the internet, I thought it looked great, except you never know until you actually get there. Turns out, we had good advice, and help, from the staff before arriving, and were very happy with the room once we got there.

I called the week before and asked all sorts of questions. The receptionist answered my questions about the number of people, noise (it was quiet), grocery stores, lake view, weather, etc. A few e-mails during the week and we were set. I had e-mailed some questions during the week, and the responses via e-mail from the hotel manager were prompt and courteous, so I thought the staff would be 'on the ball' during our stay. We were right.

We arrived late on Friday, and found the hotel immedietely, checked in, found parking and got to our room. It was clean, furnishings were comfortable and looked new, spacious, excellent. We had the 3rd floor spa suite, and it made for quite a weekend. We felt like we were at a condo rather than a hotel.

The hotel is staffed well. They are courteous, friendly and it shows in the results - a great hotel. We had a great time, and will go again. Thanks!

Enjoyed Our Stay

from baileyno6
We were looking for a smaller, quiet place that was nice in the So. Lake Tahoe area. We found it with the help of reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The Inn by the Lake was a pleasant stay with nice ameneties such as the heated pool, exercise room, the breakfast and hot apple cider as we left. We had a very nice stay while exploring the area.

Bed Bugs!

from renotrvlr
I stayed at the Inn by the Lake in February and was the victim of a bed bug infestation. When I woke up in the morning, I had several large bug bites on my torso and arm. This was the fourth time I had stayed in this hotel, which I previously found to be clean and comfortable, so I was really shocked. When I reported what happened, the front desk staff member expressed her sympathy but didn't seem concerned. She told me that the hotel had an infestation in the past and blamed it on guests from the UK, who bring the bugs to America in their suitcases. Then she charged me for the room! At the very least, I expected a discount on the room. I had stayed at this hotel several times (they even knew my name) and my employer was paying for the trip, so it's not like I was trying to swindle them out of a free night. After I posted a negative review on this web site, the manager called me to apologize and offered to refund the room charge, which I thought was gracious but too little too late. This morning I learned from the county health department that they received another complaint about bed bugs at this hotel and inspected some rooms, where they found "significant evidence of infestation." The county agent said they found bug carcasses, blood spots, and fecal spots. Disgusting! I strongly recommend that you stay away from this hotel!
Management Response from danmchael
The posting titled "bed bugs" is erroneous and had been removed by the guest previously. Following our standard procedure his guest room was inspected by our staff immediately after his departure. There were no signs of any kind of bug. Again following procedure, Ecolab our pest control company, thoroughly inspected the room that evening without finding a trace of bugs. We were remiss in not communicating these negative results to the guests promptly. I did speak with him after his initial Tripadvisor posting, which he subsequently removed. Coincidently, we did have a "real" bed bug sighting in March which was responded to promptly and professionally, by staff & Ecolab. This must be what the local health department referenced. We have had 2 cases in the past 16 years. Since bed bugs are typically carried with luggage into an establishment by guests we, like all lodging properties, have no way of stopping them at the door. However, our staff is fully trained and we are confident in our early detection system.
Daniel McHale
General Manager

view? Just look over the parking lot and busy street first....

from rnstudychris
Advertised as "botique inn, with a view of the lake" some sorts reigned true EXCEPT...for almost 200 dollars a night your view is there, but you must look across a parking lot and the busy highway to see the lake. There was not much to this place for the expensive price per night. All the plugs would not hold the iron or the blow dryer, everything would just fall out of them...and the bathrooms were old and outdated as well. Not worth the money is the bottom line....

We had a wonderful stay

from A TripAdvisor Member
My husband and I stayed at the Inn by The Lake for a few days as part of our vacation in September. We were surprised by the large size of the room. The room was quite clean and featured ammenities such as a microwave and refrigerator. We felt the location was central to most locations we wanted to visit and were grateful that it it wasn't right in the center of the casino district. We enjoyed a bike ride, and while yes, the bikes have seen better days, they still made the outing enjoyable.

The staff was wonderful from the minute I made the reservation until the minute we checked out. We couldn't have asked for a better stay.

Great deal for the price

from tivolo
Enjoyed staying two nights at the Inn by the Lake in October (which is a truly wonderful time to visit Tahoe). They happen to be advertising a 25% off special on their web site, so our single queen room was only $81 per night, although we had to explicitly ask for the discount on the phone.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. They asked what we planned to do during our stay, and when we mentioned hiking, they gave us a hiking book for the area to use during our stay.

The room itself was nothing special, but nice enough. Worth noting is free wireless internet access. The pillows weren't very comfortable, but that's a standard problem for hotels. The room was also very hot, but opening the window fixed that. I didn't bother to try the A/C because it was cold outside.

The hot tub was fantastic, especially after a long day of hiking. Terry cloth robes are included in your room, which is a nice touch.

The continental breakfast was good, though I must admit that my expectations for hotel breakfasts is pretty low. They had oatmeal, cereal, fruit, baked goods, and hard boiled eggs. Starbucks coffee, orange juice, milk, and water.


from A TripAdvisor Member
After much study and review, we decided to book a room here, on our annual 10 day road trip around the US. On the positive, we found the staff very accomodating and friendly, the view from our third floor room lovely, the grounds well kept and lovely with flowers, and nice touches of the micro and mini fridge. However on the negative side we found the room furnishings to be uncomfortable, outdated and "spartan". For the amount of $$$ spent on the room ($200/ngt), we expected more. Our air conditioner was noisy and minimally working (extreme heat in July 05), the traffic noise on highway annoying, and the bath fan sounded like the bathroom would take flight any minute!! We realize the individuality of the resort, and appreciate the location, but we didn't feel the value and the amenities outweighed the character. We will try a different resort next time.

Top Local Tips for Lake Tahoe

Blue Water Bistro The food is excellent and it is right on the water with amazing Lake Tahoe sunsets right before your eyes!

nightlife in tahoe there are the casinos and clubs that you can go with friends and/or spouse to have some fun.

Ask for a room high up Request a room on the third or second floor and double check to make sure your room you're requesting is a room with a "Lake Veiw". We made the mistake one time of not checking and got placed on the back of the building and had to ask to be moved. They were very friendly about it but it was an upgrade fee cause the other rooms are a different type of room.


Other names for Inn by the Lake Hotel

  • hotel by the lake
  • by the lake tahoe
  • Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd - Lake Tahoe - California - 96150 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 155 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Inn by the Lake Hotel