Best Western Stratford Inn Hotel

, Del Mar, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Del Mar

Best Western Stratford Inn Hotel

, Del Mar
2 star

Rooms: 93

710 Camino Del Mar - Del Mar - California - 92014 - United States Hotel Website | 8587551501
146 Traveller

Reviews - Best Western Stratford Inn Hotel

Quiet, Clean, Pleasant
Submitted by: Robert in 05/10/05
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Mature Couple
Title says it all. If you can get the room for the budget price it's a great deal given it's location in Del Mar--close to lots of interesting places along the San Diego County coast. We used to live in the area and were there for 1 night due to an event nearby. It worked well for us. Aloha

Historical Traveller Reviews of Best Western Stratford Inn Hotel

Look Elsewhere

from A TripAdvisor Member
Be prepared for just the basics if you stay at the Stratford Inn.

The good:
Breakfast is served in the Paddock room and a good variety of items is offered.
The bed was comfortable.
The hotel is in walking distance to the restaurants and shops.

The bad:
The hotel clerk lacked any knowledge of the area and couldn't offer a suggestion for a restaurant. The room was very basic with one queen bed, a tiny sink and a very small bathroom with a shower (no tub). The shower tile had some mildew and the bathroom fan made terrible noise after some use. Supplies were lacking! We were only provided two bath towels in our room, paper cups (no glasses) and two pillows total. No other extra supplies were in the room. There is no HBO, movies, etc. and the decor needs revamping and the room had a musty smell as well.

The bottom line:
Next to the Stratford Inn is the Clarion Del Mar Inn. Try finding a room there instead. It is a quaint hotel and the cost is just a few dollars more. We had previously stayed there and had a pleasant experience with a nice room overlooking a garden. My husband mixed up the hotel names and inadvertantly booked at the Stratford! I don't recommend it unless you can't find any other accomodations.
Management Response from strat1
Sorry you found our hotel lacking and yes it use to be pretty basic lacking in supplies and a knowledgeable staff. Things have changed drastically since then, especially this year. We have gone through a major overhaul and our rooms are fantastic, the small bathrooms have been enlarged and much more. We are adding a full health spa, set to open this summer 2010 and will be adding a restaurant and lounge in 2011.

A Reasonable Experience

from LVDan
Let me first state that I will stay there again. Also, I would drive an extra 15 minutes to stay at this hotel if I were on business in San Diego. Being on the coast was worth it!

I enjoyed my stay while on business in San Diego. It is very close to the beach and good restaurants are about a mile away (I walked without a problem, but most will want to drive).

The room was clean with a few features and the price was reasonable ($116 with tax). My room did not have a view of the beach. I felt safe in this neighborhood and even slept with the window open to smell the fresh ocean air. There are rooms that have decks that see the ocean but not the beach.

Room 314 had an open floor plan, one double bed, a desk and chair, comfortable chair with ottoman, one small counter with a sink and mirror, a coffee maker, hair drier, alarm clock, television, and a combination toilet/shower room. The toilet paper was quite soft. The shower can be used as a shallow bath tube for small children.

The complimentary continental breakfast had below average coffee in styrofoam cups, fresh fruit, bagels without cream cheese, pastries, juice, and cereal (but the milk kept running out and was hard to get refilled). A toaster and microwave were present.

The hotel is a block off the coast, but an easy 2 minute, slightly downhill hike on a low traffic road gets you to a cliff overlooking the beach and some bench seats to enjoy the view. A slight traversing of the rain gutter, cross over the railroad tracks, traverse a slightly steeper slope and you are on the beach.

If you have children, you will need to drive to Del Mar to go to a park with beach.

I will use this hotel again for business and/or vacation for the rate I paid.
Management Response from strat1
Thank you for your review and glad you had a reasonable experience. Please come back and check out our new renovations, I am sure your next experience will be even a better experience.

Worst Western

from A TripAdvisor Member
I have always been pleased with my experience using Travelocity to book hotels and airfares. But my mother and I are very unhappy with our experience with trying to cancel our reservation at the Del Mar Stratford Inn Best Western.
We were staying with a friend who has twins to help her care for them, but we booked a room at the Hotel because her sister was coming the last day, Sunday, March 12 to help out in our place.
On Saturday, however, her sister called and said she and her children were sick and weren't coming. My friend wanted to know if it was going to be okay if we could stay one more night to help her out. We were in the car and not near our computer so we called the Del Mar Stratford Inn directly to cancel our reservation. They said they didn't have our reservation number and told us that the hotel policy was 24 hours notice for cancellations.
When we got home that night we got our confirmation number from our Travelocity e-mail and the woman at Travelocity answering the cancellation line called the Del Mar Stratford Inn to ask them what their cancellation policy was. All of a sudden, the woman at the Inn said the hotel had a 48-hour cancellation policy. They said there were no exceptions and were extremely rude about it. We called the following day to see what the next person at the hotel would say their policy was, and the next person said it depends on what day the booking was for. It was all very confusing and seemed like they didn't have a policy at all.
Then when we told her about our experience, she said it was up to Travelocity to decide if we could cancel or not. When we called Travelocity, Travelocity said it was up to the Hotel. It just seems like we were initially misled about the Del Mar Stratford Inn's policy and then were treated extremely rudely when we told them about this.
I have never had such an unpleasant over-the-phone experience with any hotel.
Management Response from strat1
I am sorry you had such a hard time trying to cancel your reservation. I always recommend booking the hotel room directly with the hotel or hotels specific website that would help with less confusion on cancel policies. We do have a cancel policy that ranges from 24 to 72 hours prior to arrival depending on time of year and 99% of the time we do have to stick to the policy. It sounds like you were not able to enjoy staying at our hotel and hope next time you are in the area you do try us.

s Best Western

from Mommalu
This hotel is located very conveniently and walking distance to the ocean. The rooms are ordinary and bare bones; the lighting in particular is below average. There was no full length mirror, and the decor is boring. However, the rates in January 2006 for a Saturday night were competitive, but they go way up when the weather improves or there is something going on in Del Mar. They charge a very steep $50. surcharge on top of their rate for use of the few rooms that they allocate for pet owners. I find that exorbitant.
Management Response from strat1
Thank you for your review, yes we do have a pet fee since we have to basically de-pet the room after check out to protect the next guest that stays in the room that may be allergic to animals. We have just gone through a complete room renovation this year 2010 and have taken the hotel to a completely different level, hope you come back to see what we have done.

s/b worstwestern

from A TripAdvisor Member
Had high expectations coming from Portland... They should kick this motel out of bestwestern and make it the worstwestern, the staff was rude, never got my sink fixed, loud noises during my stay, very old towels, on and on and on, it's one of the worst bestwesterns i've ever stayed at.
Management Response from strat1
Sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay but have to let you know, we have gone through a complete renovation with all new upgrades throughout the hotel including adding a full service health spa opening this summer of 2010. I am sure if you came back you would truly enjoy your stay.


from A TripAdvisor Member
My family and I stayed here in May of 2004
What a mistake
This place is very run down
The bed was not only uncomfortable
It was too large to fit in the room
Which enabled you to close the bedroom door for privacy
Room service is horrible
The rooms smell so bad
That it could keep some folks from falling to sleep
No Kidding!
this place belongs in a land-fill

Yours very truly
Paul Wingo
Management Response from strat1
Sorry you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel. We have cam along ways since 2004, complete room renovation this year 2010 along with adding a health spa, business center and state of the art exercise room. Please come back and experience the new Stratford Inn.

Not up to par

from A TripAdvisor Member
I saw the reviews that this hotel was pretty nice for the money, so we took it, especially since we were able to get a prepaid, taxes included rate of $82/night on Frontier's website. Overall though our experience was not good. There were hardly any other people in the hotel, and yet even though we requested a room with a view, they did not accomodate.
No big deal (although I don't understand why hotels don't do this when they're not full), but on top of this, the bed and pillows were uncomfortable, the shower was only half size, the hot water surged in temperature, and probably worst of all the room and floor was damp, possibly due to a faulty air conditioning unit. I pulled up the edge of the carpet (it was peeling at the wall edge) and the subfloor was wet.
Papers we left in the room were damp! Otherwise, the upgraded decor, grounds, and parking were nice. I'm sure that had we complained when we realized this, they would have moved us, but we were only there for two nights so it would have been more hassle than it was worth for our quick trip. We won't take a chance staying here again.
Management Response from strat1
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Stratford back in 2004. We have gone through a complete renovation this year 2010 and our rooms are fantastic, everything in new. I have yet to have a complaint about the new rooms, please come back and try us again.

Some nice rooms, some not so nice rooms

from Arizonan
I've stayed at the Stratford on more than one occasion while visiting my sister, who lives next door. On one stay, we were lucky enough to have a room in the "new" part of the hotel. It was below ground level, so it didn't have much natural lighting, but the room was very large and clean. On another occasion, we were given a room in the "old" section of the hotel. This room was nowhere near as nice as the newer room. It had water stains on the walls, old musty carpeting, and was overall in disrepair. The location is very nice -- a block or so from the water and walking distance from downtown Del Mar (walk on the street along the back side of the hotel to avoid heavy traffic on Camino Del Mar). The breakfast is good, with a selection of dry cereal, fruit, breads, juice, etc. Just be certain you're getting a room in the "new" section when staying here.
Management Response from strat1
Thank you for being a return guest and sorry we had such a discrepancy in the rooms. We have gone through a complete renovation this year 2010 and every room is equally fantastic. I hope you have continued to stay with us since 2004 and hope have experienced one of the new rooms, if not please come back soon.

ve ever seen

from A TripAdvisor Member
I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and this particular Best Western was one of the cleanest I have ever experienced. Best Western's can be hit or miss, and this one is definitely a "hit." The rooms were large, but more importantly, sparkling clean. All of the bedding (including the comforter) was freshly laundered, the towels were fluffy, the carpeting was brand new, and the bathrooms were perfect with not even a missed water spot on the faucet. If you are a clean freak, you will be happy here.
Management Response from strat1
Thank you for the great comments and cleanliness is probably the most important thing in a hotel. I hope you come back and check out our new renovations, we are just wrapping up the rooms in June of 2010 and our new spa will open this summer.
Management Response from strat1
Thank you for the great comments and cleanliness is probably the most important thing in a hotel. I hope you come back and check out our new renovations, we are just wrapping up the rooms in June of 2010 and our new spa will open this summer.

Spacious suites but difficult to get around

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with suites and/or refrigerators, the Stratford Inn fits the budget, but I found it difficult to find my way around the many-terraced levels of the inn. The pool was nice but towels had to be requested at the front desk unless you were lucky enough to be there when the staff dropped some off. There's a guest laundry but all the dryers broke down when we needed them. The Inn also had a nice enough Continental Breakfast each morning, so we really didn't need to use the mini kitchen that came with our suite.
Management Response from strat1
Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed the room. We have new laundry equipment in our guest laundry area, installed March of 2010 plus we have completely renovated all our guest rooms. Hope to see you again soon.

Top Local Tips for Del Mar

Loved the Sushi place We loved the great little Sushi restaurant we found a couple of blocks from the hotel (across the street).

Loved the Sushi place We loved the great little Sushi restaurant we found a couple of blocks from the hotel (across the street).

The Beach is the reason! Two beautiful beaches--Torrey Pines beach to the south and Del Mar beach in the center of town--are the best reason to go to this otherwise bland rich community


Other names for Best Western Stratford Inn Hotel

  • del mar best western
  • best western stratford hotel
  • best western del mar
  • Address: 710 Camino Del Mar - Del Mar - California - 92014 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 146 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Best Western Stratford Inn Hotel