The Tutwiler A Wyndham Historic Hotel

, Birmingham, United States
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Birmingham

The Tutwiler A Wyndham Historic Hotel

, Birmingham
2021 Park Place North - Birmingham - Alabama - 35203 - United States Hotel Website | 205-322-2100
132 Traveller

Reviews - The Tutwiler A Wyndham Historic Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of The Tutwiler A Wyndham Historic Hotel

Friendly Service, but Historic Building Needs Some TLC

from CommGuy
I stayed at The Tutwiler from October 15-17, 2004. It is a HISTORIC Wyndham property, which brings some caveats with it.

But let me start with the positive. Everyone I encountered was friendly. I arrived around 12:30 (normal check-in isn't until 3 p.m.) and was informed my room wasn't quite ready. Was told it would be 30 minutes, so I waited in a front room off the lobby. After about 45 minutes, I checked back, and they checked again. The room was now ready. I had been assigned a corner suite on the top floor, which I believe was due to the fact that my original reservations had really been screwed up and required some last-minute arrangements during the week before my arrival.

Yes, the Tutwiler is historic. This is NOT a top-of-the-line luxury hotel. It's older. Not that it doesn't have modern-day amenities, but it's an older building. I could hear many room occupants as I passed through the halls. Housekeeping was very friendly. The floors have a distinct smell. It's not bad ... it's like an old library without books. It's just older-smelling.

My "suite" was two small rooms with an opening in between. Each room had a television. High-speed internet access was available (and free as a ByRequest member, which is also free). There was a sofa sleeper, two chairs and a round table. But there was no desk for working with the laptop, which was odd. The bedroom had a king-sized bed with ample pillows. There was no mini-bar or refrigerator. The bathroom was clean and nice, although I did notice some mildew growth at the air vent. Some areas of the room needed some touchup, including slight wallpaper peels and some stains on the draperies, which may have come during the recent passing of tropical storm Ivan.

The windows were actually beautiful, many with radius tops. The ceiling is high, and even though I think this is the top floor for guest rooms, there is one additional floor above. But again, these windows are old. Single-pane windows, with the framework needing some paint. The exterior facade of the building could be viewed up close from this vantage point. Although the ornate decor of the architecture is very pretty, it's somewhat dingy and some of the restoration is so discolored you can tell it is restoration.

The valet parking (again they are friendly) is $16 a day. Talk about a shocker! Now this is basically the front courtyard. There is no parking deck or parking lot. So there were always cars crunched in that space, and it takes a while for cars to be shuffled around so one can be pulled up from behind others. You can park on the street if you can find a spot, but that comes with it's own set of risks.

On property amenities are sparse to none. I did not eat in the restaurant or bar, and I believe I overheard the front desk clerk mention that the available pool for guests is actually at the YMCA.

There is a park across the street, and there is some limited shopping in the area. There is a Parisian in the Amsouth building about two blocks away and other mall-type shops. I did not see many restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

Would I stay there again? For the price of the room, the excessive cost of parking, and for what I enjoy (pool on property, etc.) ... probably not. But if you are a big fan of historic buildings, this may be your cup of tea.

stinks

from A TripAdvisor Member
The staff showed their Southern hospitality with a friendly smile. That was nice.

But, the hotel is in desperate need of attention. The rooms (we stayed in 2) have mildew growing in the bathroom grout and chalking. And there are leaks around the windows which are losing their window pane support and are flaking paint on a major scale. I would not be surprised if the panes start falling out very soon.

The rooms smelled like mildew and the mattress on the bed in one of the rooms sucked you into the middle. They told us that all the mattresses were recently replaced and done so at the same time. But, if that is so then why was the mattress in the first room just fine? Maybe an elephant had been jumping on the bed. In all fairness, what they said may have been true and so, the explaination maybe that one mattress had been abused. Anyhow, that was the reason for not replacing the mattress with one from another room. The reason for not providing a board to put under the mattress was never given. Too much of trouble I guess.

The food in the restaurant [what we ate] was not enjoyable and there wasn't much to choose from on the menu. One evening at dinner we were sitting about 25 feet from the bar area and the smoke was pouring over into the area we were sitting in. When we re-sat ourselves on the other side of the room, the waiter informed us that we could not sit there because that area was closed for the night. We explained about the smoke but, he insisted that we move elsewhere. That elsewhere was too close to the smoke so we left.

One morning at breakfast they got our order wrong and then politely and apologetically replaced it with the one we ordered but it was missing the feta cheese and when we asked for the feta cheese the waitress returned with the feta but asked if what she had was feta cheese. Apparently, the kitchen didn't know what it was either even though it was an item that was suppose to be on our omelet.

We had been in 2 separate rooms because we moved from the first room after a couple of days because they could not clean up the mildew [which is a health hazard].

The second room was not as bad in the bathroom but it smelled like mildew and there we signs of it all around the room. We asked for another mattress or even a board under the mattress but none was ever provided and we were tired of all the hassles of asking one person after another so we just stayed in that second room for the duration of the stay. And tried to ignore the problems.

My husband talked to a manger when we were checking out and he took one night off of the days we were there. That was nice of him to graciously offer but, I felt that that was not fair compensation. But, we graciously excepted it.

I can hardly believe that the Wyndham is not taking better care of this property. It is obvious that it has been left to decay under the elements for at least a few years. It makes me wonder if Wyndham is getting ready to unburden it's self of this historic hotel.

Will I stay here again? NO, NO, NO! Not unless there is an extensive overhaul done to this hotel.

A little worn but a Charming hotel

from A TripAdvisor Member
Just returned from 3 nights in Birmingham at the Tutwiler and had an enjoyable experience. Our room (721) had a king bed and was impressively spacious with a full closet w/door. TV was a bit small but had over 30 cable channels, as opposed to 10 or so at many hotels now. The mattress in our room was the most comfortable of any hotel we have stayed in. My wife commented on that also. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant provided excellent food but was extremely pricey (cheapest dinner entre was $21) and the service was average at best. The Tutwiler is about a 5 minute walk to the Convention Center. Other than the Sheraton it is really the only hotel within walking distance from the Con. Center. The Tutwiler also has a courtesy shuttle to and from the airport.

Keep in mind that Wyndham has labeled the Tutwiler as an "Historic Hotel". This is not a new hotel in an old building. The Hallways are dimmer at night than a new hotel because the light fixtures are original. The trim, doorways, etc are a bit dinged because they have been around for years. The bathrooms are not what you would find at the renaissance. The hotel smells older, not bad, but older. There are places where the wallpaper is coming up. To me, this is all a part of an historic hotel. If those kind of things bother you, you need to stay at the Sheraton across the street from the Convention Center or the Radisson down by University hospital if you want to stay downtown.

Not the greatest honeymoon spot...

from A TripAdvisor Member
My wifeand I stayed at the tutwiler for four nights. i surely can not say that it was the worst stay that I've had, but, considering the ratings that its got I expected much more. The service was excellent, they were all kind and they were all friendly. The building its self; wonderful. the problem I had with it was the room itself. 1. The TV was small for the size of the room 2. The bed well used and uncomforble (we sank in the middle) 3. The sofa in the room was corderoy and that too sank on one side. 4.The carpet was so dirty that the filth was visible on the bottom of my feet. There is a 5. but just to spare you the pain I will not mention the beetles.(no not the group.)
Management Response from BGROOVER
The Tutwiler Hotel was purchased in 2007 and 9 million was spent to fully renovate it to be one of the most grand hotels in the city.

A new management team and new affiliation with Hampton were also completed.

We were rated the number one hotel in the city by readers of the birmingham News in 2007. In 2008 we were rated one of the top 4 hotels in the city by the Birmingham Business Journal.

Posts prior to 2007 may be outdated and inaccurate today.

Exquisite Hotel But We Believe The 4th Floor Is Haunted

from A TripAdvisor Member
We have greatly enjoyed our stay. The staff has been most friendly and helpfull. But we believe that we encountered paranormal activity on the 4th floor. To be specific it is room 422.

horrible service

from sp2001
I like historic hotels, and was looking forward to my stay here. I was meeting a co-worker also staying at the hotel, and when my flight was delayed I asked her to confirm my room and have them charge my credit card, so I'd have a bed when I arrived. However, when I got there at midnight, they had given my room away. They did get me a room in another hotel, for free - but it was hardly a luxury hotel. When I met my friend in the morning, she told me her night had been horrible - the room they gave her had a big piece of glass missing from the window, covered by tape, so she was freezing. Also her carpet was quite dirty.
We both moved to the Embassy with much better results!
Management Response from BGROOVER
The Tutwiler Hotel was purchased in 2007 and 9 million was spent to fully renovate it to be one of the most grand hotels in the city.

A new management team and new affiliation with Hampton were also completed.

We were rated the number one hotel in the city by readers of the birmingham News in 2007. In 2008 we were rated one of the top 4 hotels in the city by the Birmingham Business Journal.

Posts prior to 2007 may be outdated and inaccurate today.

Excellent Hotel

from A TripAdvisor Member
We stayed at the Tutwiler Dec. 26 and 27 and were very pleased with everything. I had read the reviews posted here after purchasing two nights and cringed due to my inability to cancel this prepaid order. We arrived with apprehension, but from the moment we saw the hotel our spirits started lifting. This is a grand old lady that still carries herself with grace and dignity. We parked on the street and it was free during the weekend. Upon entering the front doors, everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. The ladies at the front desk were cordial, friendly, and professional. We requested a nonsmoking room and were assigned a room on the fifth floor. Upon acceding in the fairly quick elevator, we walked down the grand, very wide hallway to our room. Upon entering the room, we were very pleased. The room was very large for a hotel and pleasantly furnished. The water in the bath was extremely hot all times. The bed was comfortable and king-size. We requested a crib for our baby and a nice one was promptly delivered by a friendly person. The room was fairly quiet all weekend and the temperature was well regulated via the thermostat. We did not walk around downtown due to most businesses being closed, and did not have any problems from anyone when we did venture outside to enter our vehicle. Very light traffic and not very many people around during the weekend. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience, and I will stay there again when we visit Birmingham. We should be back in April and look forward to another stay. Very highly recommended to everyone. May Jesus bless each of you with His love and grace, for it is renewed every day.

Best Deal in the City

from A TripAdvisor Member
This hotel is quaint and historic. I love that!! The staff is great!!
It is not at all like the other reviews..or not what I experienced. My husband and I loved it! I would stay there again and again!!

Great service, nice stay

from A TripAdvisor Member
We purchased the New Year's Eve package and couldn't have had a better night. The service at the Tutwiler was excellent. Everyone went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is admittedly old - that's what makes it historic - and it could use some fresh paint in places, but it is still very pretty. Dinner was amazing but I would recommend getting there early because they were a little short-staffed.
Overall, we had a beautiful night's stay and the package was a great deal!

Horrible

from A TripAdvisor Member
The place needs renovation, big time. They forgot my wake up call, forgot to give me towels, the wallpapaer is coming off, the bathroom was a mess, the bedspread looked 20 years old, you have to valet park and it takes forever, and on top of it all, they overcharged me an extra night and still have not corrected the charge (although they said they would). There is nothing in walking distance except a park frequented by bums.

Good luck! Not worth more than $35 a night.
(hotels)loading

Other names for The Tutwiler A Wyndham Historic Hotel

  • hampton inn birmingham
  • birmingham hampton inn
  • Address: 2021 Park Place North - Birmingham - Alabama - 35203 - United States
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
8.0/10

See All 132 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near The Tutwiler A Wyndham Historic Hotel