Abigails Hotel

, Victoria, Canada
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Victoria

Abigails Hotel

, Victoria
5 star

Rooms: 23

906 McClure Street - Victoria - British Columbia - V8V 3E7 - Canada Hotel Website | | 250 388 5363
281 Traveller

Reviews - Abigails Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Abigails Hotel

Such a pleasure

from ApricotJane
We have the pleasure of writing this from Abigail's very own guest internet connection, and can only heartily endorse all of the lovely comments that previous guests have left.

The place is simply charming; the staff friendly and attentive, and the breakfasts are (for we British, anyway) imaginative and quite scrumptious!

We came for 2 days, and were lucky enough to be able to squeeze in an extra day; Abigail's, and Victoria itself, has that effect on you - your time here is never enough and we are leaving with great regret.


from A TripAdvisor Member
Our family (2 adults, two teens) stayed at Abigails through Christmas and New Years. It is pricey, but definitely worth the stay. Everybody had a wonderful experience there.
The rooms were absolutely terrific. Period style but solid, well-built furnishings. One of our rooms had a fireplace which was great. Bathrooms were fantastic - especially the generous "rain showers". Every little detail taken care of. Felt like staying in a 19th century wealthy person's mansion! Wireless Internet was available (only in the main building) at no extra charge which is a great feature.
The resident's lounge was a favourite meeting spot with totally modern wide-screen HDTV and sound system.
The staff were excellent. Any problems were dealt with promptly and with great flexibility. The owner, Ellen Cmolik, was on site frequently and personally made sure everything was operating as it should. We found ourselves impressed with the service much more than we expected to be.
The breakfast was very creative and very well prepared. Fresh croissants every morning! For us "meat-and-potatos" types, the kitchen was very willing to deviate from the prepared menu and just give us some bacon & eggs. My only suggestion: An English-style breakfast MUST have Marmalade - not just jam.
No question we would go back and unhesitatingly recommend it to anyone who wants to be treated royally.

A Memorable Experience

from go4bal
Abigail's Hotel was a memorable experience. We were visiting from St. Louis, Missouri for a two night stay at Abigail's November 10 - 12. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood a short walk from the Victoria Historic District. We stayed in a country room, which was of nice size on the 3rd floor with an above ground tub with a direct overhead shower. My wife liked the Aveda bath products that were provided in the bathroom. There is no elevators in the facility, which to me, added to the charm of the facility.

The staff at the hotel were one of the most helpful that I have ever seen in a hotel or bed and breakfast. They were eager to help with directions and reservations at local restaurants and often directions to attractions. Caitlin, one of the evening innkeepers, made our stay wonderful as she made sure that any of our needs were met.

The breakfast was gourmet and filling. There is a cook making each individual breakfast meal to order. The breakfast room is not large enough to accommodate all guests at one time - we had to wait about 10 minutes to sit down on our second morning.

It was nice sitting in the downstairs common room sipping hot apple cider, eating the evening snacks and talking to other guests.

I would recommend this hotel / bed and breakfast to other couples visiting the Victoria area.

A Very Pleasant Experience

from RonSonomaCounty
We stayed at Abagail's for four nights and had a very nice time. The staff was very helpful, with excellent recommendations for restaurants. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We will go back again whenever we visit Victoria.

t beat Abigails!

from longmore
We were recommended this B&B by fellow holiday makers. The choices offered to us when we first arrived at the hotel were amazing; would you like one fireplace or two, do you want a freestanding bath or victorian power shower, one bed or 2, king, queen or a double?!!! We saw a few rooms all of which were of an exceptional standard, perfectly clean carpets and bed linen. All rooms are tastefully decorated with fresh flowers, candles, and cookies left each morning. There is a diary in each room, where previous people have logged their experiences, which was a really nice touch. The B&B is in a really good location in Victoria, within a short walking distance to downtown. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious, with a number of choices to select from each day. The reception staff were the most helpful people I have met, they went out of their way to ensure that we knew where we were going, and told us all about the local amenities, best places to eat etc. I would highly recommend this exceptionally comfortable hotel.

Made our day--and night!!!!

from A TripAdvisor Member
We LOVED Abigail's....we drove from So. CA for a Pacific Northwest vacation...to include Victoria...Abigail's was the best night of the trip. Wes and Steve were amazing in making us feel comfortable. The room was so cute...and peaceful...we REALLY relaxed. The walk to town is fun...and moreso all day, knowing that you are walking BACK to Abigail's...quiet, serene, pretty--delicious breakfast from Jan...mmmmm....please select this for your stay in Victoria...we talked about it alllllll the way down the coast back to So. CA....Thank you all.

Still our favorite after three years of traveling

from A TripAdvisor Member
Even after three years, we've not spent a single night in another hotel without saying, "Well, it's no Abigail's." Our travel agent booked us at the Empress, but we changed our reservations to Abigail's -- and were so glad we did. We far and away preferred the personal service, the quiet elegance and the comfort of the Orchid Room to the big glitz at the Empress. We preferred the walk into town, giving us a chance to see the beautiful houses in Victoria. We still long for the pumpkin-orange-mocha waffles we had on the last day of our stay. It's true that the street is noisy, but we certainly didn't hear traffic inside our room. The king size down-pillow, down-comforter, down-matress top bed in our room was difficult to leave in the morning. The fireplace, the whirlpool tub, the hot tea waiting for us in the lobby when we came in from a long, chilly walk -- it was all a perfect experience for us. I did notice the older clientele (we are in our mid-thirties), but we didn't go to the hotel to make friends. We wanted peace and relaxation, and got more than we expected. The staff is certainly the best I've ever encountered. We stayed there shortly after Sept. 11 2001, and when I entered Canada was told that I would have a lot of difficulty returning without my birth certificate (I did not have a passport.) My mother Fed-Exed my birth certificate to me at Abigail's, but because it was the weekend, it didn't reach the hotel in time for my departure. Without my asking, one of the staff went to the Fed Ex main office -- on his OWN time, not on paid time -- to get that package for me. For that alone our loyalty to Abigail's is fierce. Thanks to everyone at Abigail's for a truly memorable stay.

Not so great

from A TripAdvisor Member
We just returned from Abigail's. After looking at the rooms and making the reservation online we had a certain expectation from the B&B. For one we were expecting to get what is advertised as positive points of the B&B, and what we paid and reserved for. Canopy bed, we didn't get it. Two person jetted tub, it’s a regular jetted tub as in many homes. Two people can not fit unless sitting on opposite sides. I think any regular tub you can do this. Vaulted ceiling-nope. The word 'suite' is a little stretched. It's a good size room but not a suite. 'Gourmet breakfast' consists of eggs, fruit and basket of pastries. During our many travels, this is called an American breakfast. Not gourmet. I much prefer the Snoqualimie Lodge for the breakfast. The room that we reserved as the 'Celebration room' which in fact has the canopy bed was not what we got. The front desk told us it is in fact a Celeration room. We only found out it wasn't when we spoke to the owner.The owner blamed it on the third party agent. (Trip advisor) and my husband mentioned that this is not the fault of the customer nor the third party. We purchase one thing on the web and received something very different. She didn't really seem to be too concerned about an unhappy customer. My husband spoke to her very nicely. To be honest I would have not. She passed on the blame to everything/everybody else instead of simply apologizing. In her favor, she did offer us a bottle of sparkling wine. In my opinion, the gesture was minimized by the lack of accepting responsibility. It seemed to be more of a tool to end the phone call. She definitely did not gain my loyalty. I will never return.
If you walk in with no expectations, this is an okay place. I will not go out of my way to get there. It is true that it looks as if it is geared towards the elderly. Most everyone was around seem to be our grandparents’ age. And we are in our mid-thirties! The price is too much for what it is. You can have a harbor view room and be right downtown instead of off to the side somewhere. The cul-de-sac location is advertised as being 'quiet'. It was not. Cars seems to use it for turn arounds. Next time I think we will stick to the Empress or try one of the new hotels. If you decide to go, make sure you call if you have reserved on line to get the room you paid for and alliviate any disappointments!
Management Response from Abigailhotel
I am sorry your expectations were not met when you stayed at my hotel. We all work very hard to please our guests and try to exceed guest’s expectations. The night you stayed at our facilities, the hotel was full and I did not have another room to move you to. I did however offer you and your husband, which you accepted at no cost to you, a celebration tray which includes a chilled bottle of a local winery’s sparkling wine and chocolate truffles.

When I spoke with your husband about your reservation I was trying to find out how your situation happened. Our policy is not to overbook. I was not trying to pass blame I was trying to find out what happened so we could put controls in place to prevent this from ever happening again. Your husband was describing one of our honeymoon suites to me and I didn’t understand how your reservation was not for a honeymoon suite. All your husband could tell me was that he booked online and the information was at his office. The honeymoon suites in question had been sold for several weeks and your husband had just made his reservation the day prior to your stay.

The menu for the morning of your stay was:

- Freshly baked Blueberry Bundt Cake
- Freshly baked Croissants
- Fresh Fruit Plate
- Banana Pastry Cream & Chocolate Ganache Crepes
- Wild Pacific Smoked Salmon Scrambled Eggs
- Rosemary Roasted Red Potatoes
- Black Forest Ham
- Freshly squeezed Juice, Coffee and Tea

I have two trained chefs that work at the hotel. They get up at 4 a.m. to be at work to start their baking at 5 a.m. They take offence to any comments about their breakfasts not being gourmet.

We have a suggestion card for every guest. If a guest makes any comment about our services we look at their suggestion and make changes if it would improve a guest’s stay at the hotel.

I apologize that you did not receive the room you were expecting. If you would like to contact me toll free at 1-800-561-6565 or you may call me directly at 250-361-1986. I would be happy to discuss what we can do to rectify this problem.

Ellen Cmolik


from A TripAdvisor Member
We spent 4 wonderful nights at Abegails. When we arrived the lady at the front desk gave us a mini tour of the place, took us to our room, offered to haul our bag which weighed 40lbs plus up three and a half flights of stairs and helped us with dinner reservations. Yes there was no elevator in the coach house. Be careful to ask about stairs when you set up a reservation.
No hand out for tips, as it is done if you choose, when you check out and wish to contribute to a group tip.
The room was super with the scent of the fresh flowers, the bathroom in marble with a tub for two was just perfect. Our king size poster bed with ceiling fan and vaulted ceiling over the bed was romantic and comfy.
The breakfast was different everyday and as good or better than Ritz Carlton or other big hotels and outdid any B&B we visited in the past. Gourmet, I would not know. Delicious yes! The breakfast room and outside patio for dining were charming. We ate with an English couple who mentioned they did not realize when they booked the room at Abegails that it would remind them of England. Such a compliment in lodging in Victoria. The grounds, rooms and common area were charming and immacullate.
The staff was always friendly and attentative to any needs. The front desk helped with questions, booking activities you name it. Abegails recieves no commissions for the bookings on trips.
Would we return yes.
Any odd things we would change. The tub for two with jacuzzi jets is extremely loud, plus the jets are on the side and not behind your neck or back. We enjoyed the tub without the jacuzzi on. The tub was just perfect.
Would we return yes. We just want to thank the staff and management for such a lovely stay.

five stars all the way!

from A TripAdvisor Member
First off lets start with how fantastic our honeymoon was at Abigails! The beautiful decor, huge jacuzzi tub and fresh flowers were only the beginning to making us feel like we were royalty! We enjoyed our breakfasts in the dining room where we were able to meet other travellers, as well as in our room. The fare was out of this world, and the chef out did herself. Being able to see the spotless kitchen made us feel at home. We have been to Abigails a few times now and have never had any problems. It is definitely heartbreaking to see someone write such a vengeful comment that clearly is outdated, and directed towards staff that most likely are no longer employed at the hotel. Hopefully travellers will enjoy themselves as much as we did!

Top Local Tips for Victoria

Great bargains! I love bargain-hunting and Dots on Fort Street has awesome deals. You'll need at least an hour to search through the colour-separated stock, but you will definitely find some great clothes at rock bottom prices. My last visit, I found a designer raincoat, regularly $250 reduced to $29.99.

Eating in Victori Barkley's is pretty good and consistent and lunch at the Empress is a great experience, although the tea is very pricey. Sitcky Wicket English Pub is good for drinks and greasy food. Best spot we have found there is The Blue Fox for breakfast/lunch - WOW!

Pescatores Seafood and Grill Be sure to try Pescatores Seafood and Grill while in Victoria. It is a short walk from Abigail's - as are several other amazing restaurants. Abigail's is in a residential area, but very near the city. Best of both worlds!


Other names for Abigails Hotel

  • abigails hotel victoria
  • Address: 906 McClure Street - Victoria - British Columbia - V8V 3E7 - Canada
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 281 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Abigails Hotel