Listel Vancouver Hotel

, Vancouver, Canada
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Vancouver

Listel Vancouver Hotel

4 star

Rooms: 129

1300 Robson Street - Vancouver - British Columbia - V6E 1C5 - Canada Hotel Website | | 604.684.8461
467 Traveller

Reviews - Listel Vancouver Hotel

A great stay!
Submitted by: Sheila Abrahams in 02/06/05
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: United States
  • Traveller type: Weekend Breaker
The Listel Vancouver is a special find! Listel has a fantastic location within easy reach of shops and restaurants and not too far away from Stanley Park and other activities. The staff are extremely helpful with tips on dining etc. Valet parking is easy and convenient. The "Deserving Thyme" skin products in the bathroom are too die for especially the body lotion. This hotel is definitely on the list for a return visit.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Listel Vancouver Hotel

Nothing to rant and rave about.

from JavaHeaven
Unfortunatley the negatives outweigh the positives.


Long strands of hair on drying off towels, almost everyday of housekeeping changing the towels.
Hair in the ice bucket, and very dirty ice bucket.
Nasty stain on the sheets
Red splatter on the inner part of the duvet cover, the part where you would have touching the shoulder while you sleep
A long strand of hair on the duvet cover, which did not match my hair color
Called valet 5 min prior to leaving, our car was NOT waiting for us. We had to wait 10 min until figuring out no one called for our car to valet. This happened 2 days in a row. This was my only complaint to the front desk. Strawberries were waiting for us when we arrived.

Beware of booking thru travel sites. If you booked a stanadard room, you get standard service, which is slim to none. We tried to park our car and were told it was valet ONLY. So we assumed we tip the valet for parking. Well little did we know we were getting jipped $19/day for parking. So we were charged dbl for parking.

Front Desk needs a little adjustment with the way they treat guests. We werent treated badly at all, we werent treated they way you are suppose to be treated staying at a facility paying that much money. No one offered to carry our bags to the car when we left. Instead we were slapped with a fat bill underneath the door prior to checkout, we woke up and that bill was the first things we saw. All they want is money, they will not go the extra mile to make sure you feel welcomed.

I felt as if I were staying at a Motel6. If I had to rate this hotel it would not be above 2/3 stars. I see nothing to rant or rave about. Unfortunatley Hotwire picks the hotel you stay at after you pay, I will book directly with a hotel next time. I would refer going to the Fairmont Waterfront or Renassiance. I stayed at renassiance years ago and it was superb. Paid $400 for the room, but well worth it. Sometimes depending on the hotels you book with good deals does not mean you will get what you pay for. Not at this hotel atleast.

This whole time I did not complain once, only about the car. I decided to save my review for tripadvisor.
Management Response from A TripAdvisor Member
Of all guest complaints that face hotel managers certainly the toughest to answer for are those where cleanliness and/or service are called to task. I am surprised to hear of the housekeeping deficiencies listed in this comment - this is not our norm, I'm also very surprised to hear that our staff would treat anyone poorly - no matter the room that they've booked or the price that they've paid. Generally speaking we have a young and energetic staff, they do their best to provide exceptional service, and when they do fall short they make every effort to "make things right" IE apologizing and sending a basket of Strawberries" to the room of a guest who's let them know of a problem. With regards to pricing - yes, like most downtown hotels we do charge for parking, with regards to providing a guests bill under their door the night before their departure - yes we do, this service is called "Express Check-out" and is a courtesy provided at most hotels. I would like to state that the Listel Vancouver is a clean hotel with very good service provided at a very affordable price; however, like any hotel, or other business, problems and mistakes do happen from time to time - most if not all can easily be rectified with a simple phone call to the front desk or a conversation with the Manager on Duty - probably a better way to handle the problem and resolve the issue before a vacation or a business trip is spoiled.

Clean, efficient and very well located.

from thx1138
We' ve been to Vancouver 4 times and have stayed at the Listel twice. What we like is the location, you can walk to the harbour in less than 10 minutes for float planes and boat cruises. Stanley park bike rentals are also 10 minutes away, with Stanley Park a minutes ride from the rental shop. Sunset beach and the Granville Island Ferry is only 10-15 minutes in the other direction, your already on Robson, and Gastown and Yale Town are also easily reachable on foot. For such a great location, the hotel seems cheap to me, however the basic rooms are exactly that, but they are always spotless and we have no complaints regarding service. Breakfast in O'Doul's is a lovely experience, with gentle music and a birds eye view of the early morning bustle of Robson, try the Yukon, it's enormous. We've always managed to get discounted rates at this hotel and found it exceptional value.

Listel - Convenient Downtown location

from A TripAdvisor Member
We were travelling to Vancouver, Victoria, Tofino and Saltspring Island to look for properties and all our accommodation was researched thoroughly beforehand by me, looking for some fab places to stay during our trip. In Vancouver we stayed at the Listel and then to the Granville Island Hotel. Then over to Victoria where we stayed at the Rosewood, up to Tofino staying at Longbeach Island Resort, down to Saltspring Island staying at Hastings House, then final 2 nights in the Aerie Resort in Malahat region. In each place we booked the best rooms we could, penthouse or equivalent.

We found the location very convenient for the downtown part of the city, Stanley Park and Coal Harbour. The lobby of the Listel is small but nice. We stayed in one of the Artist Suites which I think was about $400 a night. We stayed 4 nights. Our view was between two tower blocks into the harbour which was an okay view but we were very aware and sorry for people who may get a room at the back of the hotel which looks out to a back alley and garbage cans. As mentioned, the bathroom is a bit wee (small) with hardly any room for toiletries. We liked the room though. It had a desk, some nice artwork and was nicely furnished. Big thick curtains to shut out the light if required and I liked the couch beside the bed, by the window to sit and talk on. A good size desk to sprawl out your tourist bits and pieces and the lounge was spacious and comfortable. I feel for the price breakfast should be included but most hotels don't so I can accept this. There are plenty of places to go for a cheaper breakfast but we tried once and it was okay. Hotel staff were not the best and not the worst. I sensed some attitude but none was directed my way so it was okay.

Yes, we enjoyed the hotel and if we had views to the water we'd book again.


from paulus22
I hate to say it, but the Listel is WAY overrated on your site. For the amount of money I payed, I was severely disappointed. The room was no better than a two star hotel, even though the lobby was beautiful. I was charged 3-4 star prices for a BELOW AVERAGE room. I've stayed in nicer rooms for less.
Management Response from A TripAdvisor Member
The floor in question has been fully renovated since this comment was posted.

Great location but bad customer service....

from A TripAdvisor Member
Great Location! The room was okay, clean and nice, however, we were placed in a room close to the garbage can. When we arrive, I realize down below, located outside the window, there was a garage station and ask if we can be transfer to another room. The front desk’s excuse is that there are no more room. When we went online to just check it out, there was availability. The next morning, at 6:00 am, there are people dumping stuff in the garage making lots of noise. We complained again that morning and the unfriendly staff would look at us like "and what do you want us to do." Quite disappointing from a hotel that raves about the great customer service they provide to their customer. Would I recommend or stay at this hotel again? Not a fat chance.

Great Location

from A TripAdvisor Member
We just completed a stay at the Listel based upon a recommendation from a friend. We paid $180/night (Can) plus $19/night for valet parking. I thought the parking was little steep, however, whenever we called for the car it was brought up very quickly, and it was nice to know that the car was in a secure area. The hotel is very nice, although as a number of the other reviews have stated, the bathrooms are on the small side, although we found them well appointed. We stayed on the Gallery floor, and the room was very attractive with two queen beds with down comforters. Local phone calls are free, and there was no problem connecting to the internet with our laptop. The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the surrounding restaurants and attractions. As luck would have it, our stay coincided with the Celebration of Light and the bellman was very helpful in directing us to a good viewing spot and a place to pick up sandwiches. The hotel delivers a morning paper to your door and provides you with a fresh brewed pot of coffee or tea, also delivered to your door (if requested). Our room didn’t have much of view (an apartment complex across an alley) but it was quiet. The location on Robson Street is fantastic. A few blocks walk to the harbor to catch the sky train, or the other direction to catch the little ferries over to Granville Island. From the sky train and ferries you just about get to anywhere you want to go downtown. And of course, the hotel is in the middle of all of the action on Robson itself. We had breakfast in the restaurant (O’Doul’s) and the food was very good. When converting the Canadian prices to US, it wasn’t that expensive, for breakfast anyway. The bar has jazz bands that play every night, I think. The night we went down to listen, they were very enjoyable. The drinks were a little on the expensive side. For a good local restaurant, I’d recommend Cardero’s, down on the water. We had a very nice dinner, with about a 15 minute wait for a table on a Friday night, and the view was beautiful. One final recommendation, if taking the ferry from Vancouver to Victoria, make reservations!

A good choice.

from A TripAdvisor Member
Good location. Staff fine and helpful. Rooms are small (stayed on Museum floor) but well appointed. For europeans not a surprise though bathroom a bit of a squeeze. Nevertheless, adequate for the 2 nights we stayed. Liked the jazz in the restaurant though the evening meal was average.

Very nice stay

from A TripAdvisor Member
My travelling companion and I stayed at the Listel Vancouver after 5 days on Vancouver Island, having stayed at the Empress in Victoria and a fantastic lodge in Tofino. Even after those great experiences, the Listel delivered a very nice at a very good price. I got an internet special at a very good rate for inner city hotels. As the other reviewers have said, the location is perfect. We could walk to almost everything we wanted to do, except the Museum of Anthropology which was worth the tangled drive across Vancouver.

We stayed on the museum floor and loved the room, tho not huge, it was certainly well appointed.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I didn't particularly care for O'doul's, the attached restaurant/bar, but it didn't much matter in a city with such great places to go.

We had only planned on staying two days but opted for a third day because we were enjoying the city and liked the hotel. I think it's a very good deal in the heart of Vancouver.

t stay in the cheaper rooms

from A TripAdvisor Member
I'll start off on a positive note and say that the hotel is in a great location and the lobby, although tiny, is nice. I stayed here for two nights in one of the standard rooms. I felt the room was overpriced for the budget hotel feel it gave me, complete with stains on the carpets and bathroom products in bulk quantity push button dispensers on the shower walls (which by the way did not appear to be Aveda as advertised, maybe those are for the non-standard rooms only). I would consider staying here again, but would pay the extra money to stay in a nicer room.

s best, but a good choice

from A TripAdvisor Member
Lovely, relatively small hotel with contemporary design. Great Robson street location. Restaurant/Bar is of only average quality, but the live jazz at night makes for a pleasant evening.

Top Local Tips for Vancouver

Skytrain nearby Skytrain allows you to travel across Vancouver quickly and effortlessly. The stations and the trains are fully accessible to those carrying luggage as well as to those with disabilities.

O'Doul's Definitely eat a dinner at O'Doul's - the food is amazing & the live jazz can't be beat. It was a perfect way to start off our romantic honeymoon!

Beluga Encounter at the Vancouver Aquarium If you get the chance and don't mind the $150/person pricetag, I would HIGHLY recommend doing the Beluga Encounter at the Aquarium - you get up close and personal with the whales, touching them, feeding them and getting them to do tricks for you!


Other names for Listel Vancouver Hotel

  • the listel hotel vancouver
  • Address: 1300 Robson Street - Vancouver - British Columbia - V6E 1C5 - Canada
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 467 reviews

"A great stay!" - Sheila Abrahams

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Listel Vancouver Hotel