Empire Landmark Hotel

, Vancouver, Canada
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Vancouver

Empire Landmark Hotel

, Vancouver
2 star

Rooms: 377

1400 Robson Street - Vancouver - British Columbia - V6G 1B9 - Canada Hotel Website | 8667648347
355 Traveller

Reviews - Empire Landmark Hotel

Horrendous idiotic
Submitted by: June in 28/03/07
  • Age Group: 18 - 25
  • From: Canada
  • Traveller type: Special Interest/Event
Building falling apart, rude restaurant staff, rude staff in general (obviously not proper trained) sticks only mainly to Asian cuisine. Just terrible worst hotel I have ever seen.
Awful costomer service
Submitted by: Michiko in 16/08/06
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: Canada
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
Great location (right in the heart of downtown, close to Stanley Park and the beach), great view from balcony, large clean room, but front desk service was just AWFUL. I am well-traveled and stayed in many hotels so I have experienced some bad service but I have to say that this one was the worse for the price I have paid. It is clear that the employees do not enjoy working there. Too bad.
I'd never go back
Submitted by: Margaret in 18/08/06
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: Canada
  • Traveller type: Special Interest/Event
Water damaged walls and ceiling, community shampoo dispenser in the tub, scuffed and chipped toilet seat, shredded sheers in the windows, the list goes on, this place was simply a dump. Great location but without a complete make over, I'd never go back.
Great Location
Submitted by: Helen in 05/10/05
  • Age Group: 60 +
  • From: Canada
  • Traveller type: Retired
Good location, clean rooms and a reasonable price.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Empire Landmark Hotel

Loved it!

from A TripAdvisor Member
Stayed there in April. Clean rooms, awesome location...right near Stanley Park! We got our own balcony too. You can get the best prices on Sidestep.

our experience at the Empire Landmark

from A TripAdvisor Member
I booked the hotel then read the rather dismal reviews. When we arrived in Vancouver, I went to the registration (even though we were traveling to Victoria for the first night) and told the manager that we had read very negative reviews about the hotel, in particular, the rooms that were not renovated. He preregistered us in a fairly nice room, on the 30+ floor...the view was great, but there is only one person to register and one bellman totally overworked; we went to the revolving restaurant (and heard on the elevator how bad the food was) so we went for drinks...after waiting 20 minutes and never getting served, we left...the hostess said that they were understaffed. Everyone was nice, but there is no service at the hotel. Be prepared to take your bags to the room, wait a long time for registration, and don't plan to eat there--in fact, the manager said himself it is only a 2 star, and that there is no restaurant! The shop in the front of the hotel was closed...but the location is great...I guess knowing this in advance, you won't be surprised or disappointed.

Cheated in Vancouver, BC Landmark Hotel

from A TripAdvisor Member
I had reserved a room at the Empire Landmark Hotel in Vancouver, BC for one night (8/28/04) throught Pacific Gateway in November, 2003 and paid the room charge of $118.69 in advance as required.

I requested a confirmation of the reservation from the Hotel in Feb., 2004 and received an e-mail confirming the reservation was booked by Pacific Gateway and that I should present my prepaid voucher at checkin.

I called Pacific Gateway and they said they had paid the hotel. I e-mailed the hotel again in March, 2004 and received a March 31, 2004 e-mail reply from the Hotel room reservation clerk, Maria, that the room & tax for my room has been taken taken care of by Pacific Gateway.

When I tried to checkin at the hotel on August 28, 2004, I was told that Pacific Gateway had gone out of business and therefore I would have to pay another $118.69 if I wanted the room that the hotel said was paid for in their March 31, 2004 e-mail to me.

I talked to the Assistant Front Office Manager Ted Dichupa and he said if I wanted the room, I'd have to pay and then go after Pacific Gateway for a refund. Since my cruise to Alaska was leaving the next day, I paid the 2nd $118.69 for the room. I think the Hotel should refund my money and go after Paciific Gateway themselvves.
Management Response from A TripAdvisor Member

After reading your review & recent rexperience making your hotel arrangements to Vancouver, first I must convey my disappointment that you were caught in the middle of a failed business operation, namely The Pacific Gateway.

Unfortunately, as they were the planners of your hotel needs as well as collecting your money, we in turn had not received any funds for your stay. Unfortunately, that payment needed to be settled and I can only ask that you provide the particulars of that organization, (contact, address, tel #, etc), and we can try to assist.

Please understand that THEY in fact are the responsible party for the misappropriation of your funds and not the hotel - as we were never in receipt of your intital payment.

Thank you for your understanding and cooperation.

Dated but location location location

from Paul_PDX
Right on Robson, a few minutes walk to Stanley Park, Denman, or most of the west end. Easy parking in the busiest part of the city.

Sure it is dated (I have been coming here since it was the Sheraton Landmark) and some of the cheapest rooms are a bit run down. But the price is great if you book on-line at their site and the location and views can't be beat -- every room has a balcony.

Definitely you should pass on dinner at the Cloud-9 (rotating restaurant on the top floor) but stop by for drinks and the view in its lounge.

Think Again!

from A TripAdvisor Member
Spent two unfortunate nights here. Best part about it was the view across the city and only the view. Absolutely terrible sound insulation through the exterior fabric of the building - on the 23rd floor you could hear the traffic so much that you could be forgiven for thinking that the balcony door was wide open. You could even hear people speaking walking along Robson!
Rooms were drab, worn, dated and not the cleanest. Holes in the net curtains, duvets were too small for the beds .The plumbing was simply horrendous, at times a jack hammer on the wall would have been quieter. For the staff, the usual Canadian spirit of being courteous and friendly ended at the front door.

Best Views in Vancouver

from A TripAdvisor Member
We have just returned from a lovely trip to Vancouver and crusiing to Alaska. The Empire Landmark Hotel was a lovely place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful especially the young hall porter. We could not have had more wonderful views. Our room was on the 34th floor looking out over Stanley Park with views of both harbours. The Cloud 9 restaurant was a bit disappointing, not worth the visit, however to just have a drink up there is well worth it. The beds were very comfortable with excellent duvets. A laundry on the 22nd floor was a bonus, but the iron could do with being better. Overall, I would definately recommend this hotel.

Duvet and sheets, why

from A TripAdvisor Member
One woman complained that they did not give her a sheet with her duvet, OK think about it. Sheets don't go with duvets, they are like pillow cases already on there. You use sheets with blankets not duvets. The views are excellent. They have a balcony with every room and each way is a view. Their stairwell takes you right to the lobby. The people are nice. There are a bunch of great restaurants in the area.

Mildew smell in room and phone call rates are a scam

from A TripAdvisor Member
Do not stay at the Empire Landmark. I just returned from three night at the Empire Landmark - all the nice places in town were booked. The place is pretty much a dump. The room smelled like mildew and the carpet was badly stained. The room was also very very small, by North American standards and the decor looks like it has not been updated in 30-40 years. The hotel in 40-some stories and you have to wait a very long time for elevators.

Also, they rip you off on phone calls. I placed five calls to the US during my stay each for no more than a few minutes and my phone bill was $30.

The only good thing I can say about it is the locaiton is very central.

What is everyone talking about???

from A TripAdvisor Member
I came across these reviews after I had already booked by vacation there, but I decided to stay there anyway. I kept waiting for something to be wrong...but there wasn't. We stayed on the 25th floor and had the most beautiful view of the northwest mountains. There was a king-sized bed with proper bedding, the bathroom was totally remodelled and up-to-date. The staff was VERY pleasant...esp Sean who was at the front desk who went out of his way to accomodate us. I would definatley stay there again and would recommend it to anyone. Not only was it very clean, quiet and comfortable, but it was the best view and the best price (by far)! And as for some of the people who complained about room service....what are you doing eating in your room when there are 100's of restaurants/take-outs/international and North American cuisine just steps from your door...not to mention the farmer's market that had a huge variety of fresh fruit and baked goods for quick breakfasts. I'm sorry to hear other people had a bad stay...but to anyone looking to stay there in the future i HIGHLY reccomend it.

Horrible what a DUMP!

from A TripAdvisor Member
Horrible place, first they gave my husband & I a room with two twin beds....no more need be said about that Then we got a room with a king bed of course with a duvet that would fit a double bed and no sheets no ammenities no room service etc. etc. etc.

The only nice thing was the view. I will never stay here again!!!

Top Local Tips for Vancouver

Float plane or helicopter trip We did a day trip to Vancouver Island on a Float Plane. It was a great experience and then on the way home we caught a helicopter. Fantastic as made the trip only 30 mins each way and landed downtown. We also did a lot of shopping, especially at the outdoor shops which are a short drive from town. Lots of cheap snow boarding gear for those from down under.

Objective source for good food Vancouver has so many good food places it's tough to go wrong, but for a bit of objective food reviews, rather than the tourist advertisements, see eatmagazine.ca for restaurant reviews (reviews not exclusive to Vancouver, but cover Victoria, plus other places in BC). A lucky coincidence that our cheap hotel was only two blocks from a fantastic restaurant.

Earl's Rooftop Patio Restaurant. Great place to get a solid meal.


Other names for Empire Landmark Hotel

  • empire landmark vancouver
  • empire landmark hotel
  • Address: 1400 Robson Street - Vancouver - British Columbia - V6G 1B9 - Canada
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 355 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Empire Landmark Hotel