Ben Wyvis Hotel

, Strathpeffer, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Strathpeffer

Ben Wyvis Hotel

, Strathpeffer
3 star

Rooms: 104

Strathpeffer - Strathpeffer - Scotland - IV14 9DN - United Kingdom Hotel Website | | (0 997)421323
198 Traveller

Reviews - Ben Wyvis Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Ben Wyvis Hotel

Wonderful place for our wedding!

from ksneddon1
We had our wedding here in December 2007 and had the most wonderful time! We do not live in the area, and therefore practically all 100 of our guests were staying in the hotel for at least 2 nights as well. All of our guests were really well looked after, and they provided a buffet (for a small charge) for all our guests on the Friday night as they had another function on and therefore we couldn't use the dining room. This was fabulous, and there was plenty of food and lots of variety. The functions staff were amazing, and really helped make our day special. Our room was lovely and big, but then it was the bridal suite. It was actually a bit lacking in furniture for the size of it! The other rooms I saw were fine though - decent furniture, nice bathroom, but not heaps of space. Some of the rooms were a bit hot as well from what I hear, but the guests just opened the windows. We stayed a total of 4 nights and will definitely be returning. The food at our wedding was delicious, and the breakfasts were fabulous!
Management Response from DavidCollings
Thank you for your comments regarding your Wedding at the Ben Wyvis Hotel.
I have passed on your comments to my staff.
My team had such a great time looking after yourselves and your families.

Once again thank you for giving us feedback from your day

Regards

Manager
Management Response from DavidCollings
Thank you for your comments regarding your Wedding at the Ben Wyvis Hotel
I have passed on your comments to my staff
My team had such a great time looking after yourselves and your families
Once again thank you for giving us feedback from your day

Regards

Manager

Great Hotel - Fab Experience

from MADRASBAGGER
Stayed at the Ben Wyvis as a base for a bit hill-walking. The hotel is old fashioned but in a quaint way and spotless. Room was "snug" but perfectly adequate. Breakfast excellent as was food in restaurant. Best part though were staff - very friendly and efficient. I'd highly recommend this hotel (and Strathpeffer) for a get away week-end.
Management Response from DavidCollings
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Ben Wyvis Hotel
I have passed on your comments to my team
The surrounding area is great for hill walking and was happy to read you enjoyed it
We look forward to welcoming you back again to Strathpeffer

Regards

Manager

In need of some TLC

from rush2112
We stayed in the Ben Wyvis Hotel with a group of around 70 couples for a dance weekend at the Strathpeffer Spa Pavillion.

Some of the rooms were very spacious, but ours on the 3rd floor was very small. I had to climb over the bed to get to the wardrobe if my wife was sitting at the dressing table and there were some rooms smaller than ours. Whilst the room was small the decor was okay and furniture was functional. A bit more attention could have been taken by the cleaning staff though as the rectangular shelf under the tv had a half moon shaped cleaned surface, which pointed to the fact that it was cleaned pretty half-heartedly. We also found a pair of socks in one of the drawers when we were putting our clothes away and the teapot had leftover tea left inside. The radiators seemed to be switched off sometime before midnight and there is no other source of heating in the room, so I don't know what you'd do if it was a freezing night as our room was single glazed.

Although these details are small in their own right it does point to the fact that the attention to detail was a bit lacking.

Apart from these minor issues; the bathroom was clean and stocked with decent shampoo etc.

Other people in our group weren't quite so happy with their rooms though. My parents were on the ground floor and the room had an overpowering musty and damp smell, which was a complaint from several couples in our group. The staff told my parents that the radiator had been leaking and they agreed to shampoo the carpet. Although this helped to mask the smell, their room was like a sauna afterwards as they put fan heaters in to dry the carpet! My parents said their bed was freezing on the first night and they assumed the room hadn't been occupied for quite some time, which suggests that the management knew there was a problem in the room, but as the hotel was fully booked they had to use it.

Other people had problems with leaking sinks, which were 'cured' by a coating of silicon sealer on the outside of the leak (needless to say it continued leaking, which may have been a source of any musty smells in the room below! No matter how hard they tried, another person couldn't get their shower to switch off after they had a shower.

Several of the corridors had a damp musty smell and we noted that carpets at some of the emergency exits had been soaked with rain coming under the doors. We saw one member of staff cleaning the carpets in the corridor with a vacuum cleaner that had seen better days. The vacuum bag smelt as if it hadn't been emptied for ages, which probably didn't help the musty smell.

These problems could no doubt be overcome with a bit more attention to detail regarding maintenance and repairs along with a complete replacement of the offending carpets.

At the end of our dance on the Saturday night, the first people who arrived back at the hotel had to negotiate the long driveway in complete darkness. When they got to reception they advised the reception staff that there would be over 100 people trying to find their way up the dark road and asked for the lights to be put on. They were reluctant to do so as they said that when they put the lights on for the driveway the floodlights that light the front of the hotel would come on and may disturb anyone sleeping in their rooms. Surely Health & Safety would have something to say about the driveway being in complete darkness. Simple solution in my eyes would be to have two circuits for the lights!

Whilst the above details give the impression of a hotel on the way down, the meals pulled my rating of the hotel back up the way as they were exceptionally good value for money. The only fault we could find with the evening meals was the fact that they served frozen veg, which is a pet hate of ours. I don't understand why a hotel serving very good quality food can't serve fresh vegetables to go with the rest of the meal.

Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice of cereals, fruit and cooked breakfast.

The dining room was a beautiful room that wouldn't have looked out of place in a 4 or 5 star hotel, it's just a pity the condition of some of the bedrooms and the corridors let the hotel down.
Management Response from DavidCollings
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Ben Wyvis Hotel. I have read your comments regarding your stay, regarding the smell in the lift we are aware of this and have since been able to put this right, the hotel is built over a stream and the water collects under the lift shaft and is then passed through a pump system which takes it back out of the hotel, we have since fitted a new pump which is now controlling this much better. I am sorry that this happened during your stay.
Thank you for your comments regarding our food at the hotel, I have passed on these comments to my team. I would also like to point out we use fresh vegetables and not frozen
I have taken the rest of your comments and have since used these in our staff training sessions; these comments will help us to make sure this does not occur again.

Once again thank you for taking your time to send us your review

Regards

Manager
Management Response from DavidCollings
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Ben Wyvis Hotel. I have read your comments regarding your stay, regarding the smell in the lift we are aware of this and have since been able to put this right, the hotel is built over a stream and the water collects under the lift shaft and is then passed through a pump system which takes it back out of the hotel, we have since fitted a new pump which is now controlling this much better. I am sorry that this happened during your stay.
Thank you for your comments regarding our food at the hotel, I have passed on these comments to my team. I would also like to point out we use fresh vegetables and not frozen
I have taken the rest of your comments and have since used these in our staff training sessions; these comments will help us to make sure this does not occur again.

Once again thank you for taking your time to send us your review

Regards

Manager

Room For Improvement !!

from InvernessLily
We did an Easybreak two day break ..we have done these breaks before in other hotels and had a great time .
On this occasion we felt a bit like second class visitors.
We were not told at any point that their was a wedding on one night and a private function on the other night .
Because of the functions we were restricted where we could go and dine .
The dining times were not as flexible as they should be .
The thing is we would have avoided the time we picked for our break if we had thought we were going to be so restricted.
Surely every guest is as equally as important .
We were given a room that had no lock on the bathroom ,had not seen a duster for a long time ,and had a leak on one radiator ..which had made the carpet wet and the room smell like damp ,we did report it but ,nobody did a thing .
We had thought of this hotel for a forthcoming family wedding ..but no way !

On a positive note the reception staff were nice and helpful as were the waiting staff ..they worked really hard to keep things running smoothly .
The food was okay ..not much more to say on that.
The manager was about every now and again ..but he didnt speak to us ..too busy i expect .
Management Response from DavidCollings
Thank you for taking the time to email a review about the Ben Wyvis Hotel. I have read your comments regarding your stay.
During the year we do have weddings and I am disappointed to hear that you feel you were not looked after, my apologies to you
I have taken the rest of your comments on board and have since used these in our staff training sessions, these comments will help us to make sure this does not occur again.

Once again thank you for taking your time to send us your review

Regards

Manager

We Loved This Hotel!

from EASYBREAKERS
Argyllshire Couple

We booked 1 (wish it had been more!) night in the holiday weekend last minute through EasyBreaks for the marvellous sum of £78, Dinner, Bed & Breakfast.

On arrival the charming girls in reception allocated us a room which was a bit pokey but spotlessly clean as is the whole hotel.I politely asked if they had a bigger room and to my surprise and delight was promptly, pleasantly handed the key to one of the biggest rooms in the hotel with panoramic views, king size bed and a widescreen tele! Luxury indeed! We go abroad a lot and this is the biggest , best room we have ever had! And we always go 4 star!

It didn't stop there. We were greeted and served by happy smiling staff in the impressive dining room (The windows are draped magnificently) And the food was excellent and varied.

Strathpeffer is a fascinating Victorian ,little town and the Ben Wyvis an excellent base to shop til you drop in Inverness!

What a gem of an hotel. We will return!
Management Response from DavidCollings
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
Your comments were really nice to read and I have passed them onto my team

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Strathpeffer

Once again thank you for taking your time to send us your review

Regards

Manager

relaxing weekend break

from MonifiethDundee
Experienced a lovely relaxing break in the Highlands at Strathpeffer. Hotel is very easy to find and Strathpeffer is a delight. Biggest strength of the hotel is in its staff - they couldn't have been more friendly and charming. Room was very nice and comfortable and hotel has nice garden to relax in. Breakfast and dinner were excellent with a wide variety of dishes. We were extremely fortunate in that the weather was excellent - lots of walks nearby and do not miss the Belgian chocolate shop! Hot chocolate really is "to die for!" Charming Victorian market was held during our visit and pipe band played in the vilage centre in the evening. This was our first visit to the Scottish Highlands and I would certainly recommend the Ben Wyvis as an excellent base.
Management Response from DavidCollings
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Ben Wyvis Hotel
I have passed on your kind words to my team
I was also happy to read you enjoyed the chocolate shop a must when visiting
We look forward to welcoming you back again to Strathpeffer

Regards

Manager

Average

from trip44
The experience started badly as they had forgotten to book the room for one of the nights we were there, also blaming a relation of mine who had booked it, later I saw the email confirming the booking. The room was small (even though a double) and the lift did not go to the floor it was on. The food on the first night was a little bit like 'School food'. They did not get the room cleaned until 5.30pm!
Don't get me wrong it was not all bad, the room was peaceful, the public areas were lovely with plenty of room to sit and relax and the staff were extremely friendly except one person at reception. I was there for a wedding which was run perfectly and the food they did for the reception was lovely. The breakfasts were fantastic. Overall; it is in a lovely spot but is definately in need of some updating, the main problem seems to be the large number of coach parties they cater for. While waiting at reception I heard a few Fawlty Tower moments for the tourist guides, I nearly gave it five stars for entertainment. I wouldn't say don't go, just don't expect too much. If you could get a good price it would be well worth a visit. Strathpeffer itself is a lovely place to relax.
Management Response from DavidCollings
Thank you for taking the time to email a review about the Ben Wyvis Hotel.
I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your first nights dinner and that your room was small, my apologies to you.
Thank you for your comments with regards to the wedding you attended, I am glad to hear you enjoyed yourself
I have taken the rest of your comments on board and will use these at our next managers meeting

Once again thank you for taking your time to send us your review

Regards

Manager

book with easy-breaks for much less

from bassia
This hotel is good value if you book through easy-breaks, about half the hotels advertised cost. This was our third stay, last time we booked 18 rooms for a birthday party. The windows were dusty and cobwebs galore. We paid extra for a better room ,however the hotel refunded half the cost after we complained about the grubby windows. The food is acceptable considering the cost. Well worth the extra for a big room looking over the gardens. Breakfast very good. No drunken neds here, just peace and quiet!
Management Response from DavidCollings
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I have read your comments and was disappointed to hear we let you down on housekeeping in your room, my apologies to you.
We do indeed use easy breaks and many other booking agents to help us fill the hotel throughout the year, guest are welcome to use any of these sites
Once again thank you for taking your time to send us your review

Regards

Manager

It was fair

from ausbabe44
We stayed in this hotel for one night. But unfortunately the night we were there there was also a wedding on so we had to walk outside right around the hotel to get to the other dining room in the dark which we thought wasnt a very good start. as there were no night lights lighting our way. Also the room was very small but was clean. Staff were quite friendly. The lift also only went to the 2nd floor and we were on the third floor so had to walk up a flight of stairs which I thought wasnt too good either. I dont think we would stay here again.

Friendly Highland Hospitality

from McMilnes
We stayed in April 2007 and had an enjoyable long weekend. Booked it through the hotels own website and got great DBB rate. Staff were friendly and efficient at all times. Hotel public areas have been refurbished to a high standard. The grounds outside were also very impressive. The rooms were clean and spacious (ours was), but they have been refurbished to a lower standard. The furniture was a bit tired. Hey, its a three start hotel and would say its a good quality three start hotel.

Top Local Tips for Strathpeffer

Old Fashioned Pub For a feel of a right "down to earth" pub - absolutely no frills whatsoever - visit the Public Bar of the Strathpeffer Hotel

Outdoor adventures Hire bikes from Square Wheels on the Square - very knowledgeable people who can point you int eh right direction for excellent mountain bike trails in the hills behind.

The Black Muir Forest Entrance For those looking for the Black Muir Forest Entrance....On your way out of the village towards Contin you will see a street name sign with something like 'route to Black Muir Forest' written on it......this will lead you into a cul-de-sac with no path through to the forest. Instead pass this sign and keep going along the main road to the next entrance. From here you will see the correct Forestry signs.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Ben Wyvis Hotel

  • hotel ben wyvis
  • ben wyvis strathpeffer
  • ben wyvis hotel
  • Address: Strathpeffer - Strathpeffer - Scotland - IV14 9DN - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
6.0/10

See All 198 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Ben Wyvis Hotel