Rocpool Reserve Hotel

, Inverness, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Inverness

Rocpool Reserve Hotel

, Inverness

Rooms: 12

14 Culduthel Road - Inverness - Scotland - IV2 4AG - United Kingdom | (0 463)240089
213 Traveller

Reviews - Rocpool Reserve Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Rocpool Reserve Hotel

Best Hotel in Inverness

from Trav1964
If you are staying in Inverness, this is the place to stay. Really a nice experienve. Great staff that really makes an effort. The facility itself is very well done (I wouldn't have done the red, but let's not split hairs). The beds, perfect. The bathroom, almost perfect. Molton Brown products. There are a few clunky things from a design perspective in the room, but nothing major.

Nice bar and Chantel at the bar was really sweet and attentive. The food in the restaurant was great. We actually ate their a couple of times (something we don't normally do on vacation) as it was really worth it. Breakfast was a bit of a miss. The food was good, but the service was horrible. What a change from dinner in the same restaurant. We were there for 3 days and it was consistently bad. Oh, well. Don't miss Rendezvous, another restaurant they own. It is outstanding. Different atmosphere, but wonderful. Don't miss the goat cheese salad. Brilliant.

Make sure you pick your room carefully. We were in 6 and it was quiet and wonderful (back of the hotel). Our friends paid quite a bit more and were in 4, next to the bar (mentioned in another review). It was very noisy. After the bar closed, it was the staff in the alley. They had a really bad experience. They also paid for the highest level room, yet their were other rooms with private terraces and hot tubs. Their room was just slightly larger than ours and we booked the lowest level room. I don't think they got what they paid for. Our other friends stayed in 2. Their windows opened up to the roadway. They said it was a bit noisy, but they loved their room.

Don't miss sunset on the veranda with a glass of wine. Makes me say ahhh, just typing it.

Small but perfectly formed

from Ironsides
Truely a piece of glamour in the Highlands. My hubby and I lead busy lives, and like to treat ourselves to a night away from work and the kids - the last 4 trips have been to the Rocpool Reserve, need I say more!
The gorgeous rooms are stuffed with thoughtful little goodies, the restaurant surely serves some of the best food in the country, and the chic cocktail bar makes for a great start (and finish) to the evening.
Gaynor runs a tight ship here, aided by a troop of friendly and efficient staff - can't wait to get back, we now joke that it's our home from home!
I notice that one of the reviews suggests that it's not suitable for older couples - I wonder how old, old is. I think it's suitable for couples of any age.

Derek&Debs, Aberdeen

Fantastic night away

from none99
Like many had read lots off good reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel has been beautifully furnished and would not be out of place in central London. Looking forward to return trip and maybe seeing Rocpool in other cities.

Decadent Indeed

from Inverness-member
We had heard a great deal about this hotel and being a local couple decided to try it first hand. My first impressions were how friendly the staff were - from the receptionist who I spoke to whilst making the booking, to the warm and friendly reception and check in we received through to the bar and restaurant staff who were all very knowledgeable whether it be helping us decide what to eat (all dishes sounded wonderful) in Reserve restaurant to suggesting a cocktail.
We had booked as a romantic weekend away and to make it extrea special my partner had arranged with the hotel to have one of their "pamapering packages" (strawberries and champagne) in the room on arrival and a massage the next day - bliss! Our room was one of the Decadent split level rooms and what decadence indeed. On the Friday evening we ate early from the bar menu and had some wonderful cocktails before borrowing a DVD from reception and making use of our bath, Molton Brown toiletries, bath robes and slippers. The Saturday evening was spent sipping wine on the balcony overlooking Inverness and eating in the romantic restaurant. Our family had arranged for chanpagne to be put on our table and the restaurant staff even presented it with a lovely note from them. We then planned to go into town but couldn't tear ourselves away from R bar. It has such a relaxing ambiance, the bar staff really know their stuff and they couldn't have been more attentive.
I really can't fault this hotel and I am not one who is easily pleased! It truly is unique and modern and quite different for Inverness. I will definitely be returning whether it be for a drink or a meal and hopefully another weekend's stay.

ve ever stayed in

from munnia
I can't stop raving about this hotel. The staff were very professional and yet very friendly and the 'hip' room was well equipped with a large bathroom with a separate shower and bath and lots of Molton Brown samples. After a very comfortable sleep we enjoyed a delicious breakfast from the buffet. Unfortunately, on our second night, we were woken up by the night porter who phoned our room by mistake. We went to breakfast feeling very cross about this but as soon as the manager spotted us he apologised profusely and offered us a complimentary cooked breakfast.

We also ate dinner there and the food was good (nothing special) but we couldn't complain about anything we had and again the service was great.

A Truely Wonderful Experience

from Room106
This is a truely wonderful hotel - I always stay there when in Inverness.

The design is spectacular thoughout and the private rooms are highly individual - think I have stayedin at least half now - and the staff are great - providing a discreet but highly personal service.

Better still, tthe management and the staff are committed to quality... where there is room for improvement they address it immediately... I stay in quality hotels around the world for approximately 100 nights a year - this IS one of the best hotel I have EVER stayed in.

The Wow Factor

from smid
Our recent short break in Inverness was made memorable by our stay at Rocpool Reserve. No one can fault this marvellous hotel in anyway - from the simply stunning decor to the ever efficient, friendly staff. The moment you enter the front door you feel the welcoming ambience of this special place. The accommodation was spectacular with every detail thought of to pamper and spoil the occupants beyond belief. The pleasure continued with wonderful food and wine in the elegant restaurant after indulging in Reserve's famous cocktails in the convivial lounge bar.

We could go on enthusing forever but the thing that impressed us most with Rocpool Reserve was being part of a wonderful experience for a little while before coming "back to earth" at the end of our stay.

A truly magical experience that both owners', management and staff have to be congratulated on making happen.

Definitely a place to be recommended.

Stunning

from sjsj
You just have to stay here - it is the most amazing hotel and I cant believe it is in Inverness ! This was my second visit - I just had to try it again to believe it. I had read a few food reviews and checked out the web site - the reviews said it was glam and the food was good - the whole experience blew away all of my expectations . The decor is stunning and the staff are lovely. The food was great and the service was just right.
I dont have an issue with the breakfast thing as others have had - there was a huge choice of continental breakfast options including cheese, meats, smoked salmon, pastries and actimel - my favourite morning drink!
Thank you rocpool reserve - I will definitely be back again.

Caution! Check room location

from bucketts
I booked a night at this luxury hotel as a treat for my wife. She had just finished work prior to having our second child and had always wanted to stay in a luxurious hotel room so it seemed ideal. Everything was as promised, the level of luxury was as you'd expect for £230 per room and the service was pretty good. This should have been a 5 * review but two things have let it down badly. First, the location of our romantic room was right next to the bar. This meant people were passing regularly and the light drone of bar music could be heard through the walls until closing. This was hardly the romantic setting we were hoping for and was really quite intrusive, preventing sleep until the bar closed. It certainly is not what you pay this kind of money for - we've had quieter nights in a travelodge! Secondly, a cooked breakfast was an extra £10 per head. Again, when you pay £230 for a room, this seems a bit miserly.
We did make the point at check out time and again in the online questionnaire we were asked to submit a few days later but apart from an apology (tempered by the comment "no-one else has complained about that before") by the receptionist, there has been no response from the hotel. Overall, very disappointing and at odds with the superb quality of everything else.

Pure Luxury in the Highlands

from Rocpool
We decided to spend the last two nights of our honeymoon in Rocpool Reserve and what a fantastic time we had!! Such a beautiful, light and modern entrance to a very classy hotel. The attention to detail and good service from Gaynor and her team was so professional, warm and friendly that we had a very relaxing time at Reserve.
The room that we stayed in was gorgeous - we had a balcony with great views over the River Ness; a huge bed with lovely linen and lots of pillows, and a warm and modern bathroom with a large double bath and lots of Molton Brown goodies to use! Such luxurious accommodation and such attention to detail, nothing was overlooked.
Breakfast was more than adequate, very fresh with plenty of choice in stunning surroundings. In the evening we decided to have a cocktail in the chic r bar before wandering into town where we had a beautiful meal in Rocpool Rendezvous. We hope to return to both 'Rocpool' venues one day soon!

Top Local Tips for Inverness

Great food and price No trip to Inverness is complete without a meal at the Mustard Seed. Regular changing of the menu, local fresh ingredients and a real friendly staff....and it's also very well priced.

not for the disabled stairs everywhere

Inverness punches well above it's weight in fine restaurants Inverness now has many good restaurants but also some excellent ones as well. As well as Rocpool Reserve try Rocpool Rendevous, or Abstact or Contrast at the Glenmorriston for some really wonderful dining. Never mind tartans and shortbread - come here to eat!

(hotels)loading

Other names for Rocpool Reserve Hotel

  • rocpool reserve inverness
  • rocpool reserve hotel inverness
  • Address: 14 Culduthel Road - Inverness - Scotland - IV2 4AG - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
9.0/10

See All 213 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Rocpool Reserve Hotel