The Eight Acres Hotel

, Elgin, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Elgin

The Eight Acres Hotel

, Elgin
3 star
Morriston Road - Elgin - Scotland - IV30 6UN - United Kingdom (0 343)543077
225 Traveller

Reviews - The Eight Acres Hotel

6/10
Fair - but have internet access (one)
Submitted by: martin in 09/05/06
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Business Traveller
A mixture - leisure club and a hotel.
Rooms (double) with a Television & Shower (fair). They have a internet room : Be careful if you using the internet they bill your room. You could be thinking it is free or someone else left some credit on the PC Internet. Unknowing I thought is was free and it was not!

Historical Traveller Reviews of The Eight Acres Hotel

Fantastic Staff

from A TripAdvisor Member
Inital reaction when we saw the room was that it was smaller than expected, nonetheless it was spotless and as it was only a short stay we were not too put out. The shower was billiant, the bbathroom was spotless and we hope that the management recognise the ability of their staff.

We were disappointed that there was no menu in the room despite the option of room service How are you supposed to know what you can order?

The food was delicious although the breakfast portions were rather meagre. The service in the restaurant was sometimes delayed.

It would be brilliant if you could take the staff from this hotel and take them to your next holiday destination because they were very friendly, happy people. All staff that we met were very helpful.

A big disappoint was the lack of complimentary toileteries....C'mon Crerar don't be so stingy, you give Scotland a bad name for being miserly.

Would we re-visit? .. Good question.
Management Response from gm_eightacres
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. We do indeed supply complimentary guest toiletries and the guest directory does include a room service menu. I am sorry if these were not available for you and will take that on board. I hope we have not deterred you from returning in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crerar Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club.

Michael Pickford, General Manager

sleepless nights

from Blootoonloon
Stay clear of the low numbered bedrooms 1 - 11 as these are directly over the function hall. When we were there their was a wedding on and the music was blaring out with the guests shouting and singing right under our window at midnight had to phone Reception to complain. Most annoying thing was that I requested a quiet room and got the most noisey room at the hotel.

Good points,,,food was good although at times not very hot. Room was also very good was a large bed. it wasn,t until we went into it that we noticed that it was two 3ft twins joined together
Management Response from gm_eightacres
Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed that you were disturbed by wedding guests during your stay and I will look into why you were allocated to that side of the hotel and apologise for the inconvenience. I do hope your experience has not deterred you from returning to the hotel and please contact me directly if you are choosing to stay in the area again and I will ensure you of our best attention.

Michael Pickford
General Manager

Needs some work.

from Sippowitz
We visited because we wanted to use the pool and gym. We found the pool to becold and dirty (too cold for infants and a thick gritty layer on the pool floor).

The changing facilities were inadequate - No baby changing facility in the mens changing room. Showers tired and rather dirty. Standing dirty water at the entrance to the pool. Whilst the gymnasium is adequately equipped many of the machines are rather dated and some are out of order.

On the whole - could be alot better.
Management Response from gm_eightacres
Thank you for your feedback. Why not come and try out our recently refurbished bedrooms, restaurant, function suites and bar. The Hotel was taken over in August 2007 and new owners Crerar Hotels are making a considerable investment in this great hotel, with more improvements planned for the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards

Mike

Michael Pickford
General Manager

Fantastic Food

from fitzpac
My husband and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club near Elgin.
Upon arrival the appearance of the hotel from the outside and the decor in the main body of the hotel looked a bit dated and shabby, whch worried us slightly, but we needn't have worried. We had booked a "Romantic Break" as advertised on the hotel website which included suite accomodation. The room was very pleasant and more than met our needs. The staff were very pleasant and helpful during our stay and the use of the leisure facilities were an added bonus. The highlight of the stay was undoubtedly the food. We were on a DB&B tariff and would definitely recommend it. For information, the hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre or a 2 minute drive. We would definitely use this hotel when staying in this area again.
Management Response from gm_eightacres
Thanks for your feedback! Why not come and see what has changed with our extensive refurbishment. Same great service and food, but now with more contemporary furnishings and atmosphere! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Mike

Michael Pickford
General Manager

You can trust the Eight Acres

from A TripAdvisor Member
We have stayed here three times now, on business (and all the other guests seemed to be on work rather than tourists). The building looks uninspiring but inside it is spacious, pleasant and comfortable. Once I got a suite which was wonderful! The staff are particularly welcoming and helpful. The food is good and reasonably priced. There are baby bunnies on the lawns as you have breakfast, what more could one ask? I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. Haven't tried the pool and leisure centre bit.
Management Response from gm_eightacres
Thanks for your feedback! Why not come and see our recent improvements with our extensive refurbishment programme covering bedrooms, function suites, restaurant and lounge in the first phase alone. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crerar Eight Acres Hotel.

Regards

Mike

Michael Pickford
General Manager

Great atmosphere

from LINZHighlands
Have stayed here twice recently and really enjoyed it. This time was a last minute impulse for a break without having to travel too far. Arrived in time for a swim before dinner, the pool is a lovely temperature and the jacuzzi and sauna excellent. Got a good rate for a small suite as a last minute deal and felt it was really worth the extra to have the sitting room and also a nicer bathroom with a bath, previous room we had only had a shower. Although the decor is dated the furnishings are of good quality and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. The food was very good both for dinner and breakfast and the service first class. The whole place has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere and we look forward to going again.

Loved it

from Ray83uk
Was amazing. Went up for my 1 year anniversery and had made some plans witht the staff to surprise my wife and they went TOTALLY out of the way to help and to make my stay one of the most amazing weekends i've ever had the pleasure of sharing with my wife.

Exceptional staff, amazing gardens and lots of rabbits. Fantastic

Super 2 night stay with kids.

from Babayaro
Just back from a 2 night stay at the Eight Acres. First impression as we drove up, was 'Oh dear', as its not the most attractive building, very seventies, but the surrounding gardens are lovely.
Warm welcome from the staff who offered to help with the bags and everything else that you need when travelling with a toddler and a baby! We were given one of the suites which was ideal as comprised of a lounge area and a separate bedroom. The meals at the hotel were good, the menu had a lot of tasty options many of which had been made with local produce. The staff were very helpful all stopping to chat to the kids and asking us if we required anything. All in all a pleasant stay even though decor is a bit tired.

my wedding

from A TripAdvisor Member
i would like to say what a brilliant place eight acre hotel is. I held my wedding there last year and it was so amasing. the hotel was great and the staff were totally brilliant. Being in the army alot of my mates came up from england and were taken aback by how beautifull and brilliant the whole event was and that was only possible throught the good service which we recieved from the hotel and its staff. Nedless to say alot of my mates will be going back up to stay there!!>

Would go back at the drop of a hat!

from tagger
I've just spent three nights in the Eight Acres with 31 of my over 50's group and found it most enjoyable, the food was excellent and beautifully presented The Staff were faultless and some were exceptional. No lift but lots of first floor rooms where we were all accommodated. The hotel is going to be rebuilt soon as it has a dated 70's facade and in need of a lift, however even as it is at the moment I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who is able to walk up stairs. I heard only a few negative comments.....1/ no real comfy lounge. and 2/some of the rooms were cold on arrival. This was soon fixed.

Top Local Tips for Elgin

Base Elgin is a great base for lots of towns and villages in that area. Forres, Findhorn, Nairn etc

Well Placed City Elgin is well placed for visiting a great deal of the north east of Scotland. Be prepared to get out and about to get the most out of your stay

Spey Bay and Lossiemouth Beach Spey Bay is only about 15 minutes down the road and if the dolphins are there is well worth going to see. It was a very windy day when we went but we still enjoyed it. Lossiemouth Beach is also a really nice afternoon out and only about 6 miles out of Elgin I believe. while the tides out the walk along the beach to the lighthouse is beautiful.

(hotels)loading

Other names for The Eight Acres Hotel

  • crerar eight acres hotel leisure
  • 8 acres hotel
  • Address: Morriston Road - Elgin - Scotland - IV30 6UN - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
7.0/10

See All 225 reviews

Review this Hotel
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near The Eight Acres Hotel