Aphrodites Themed Lodge Hotel

, Windermere, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Windermere

Aphrodites Themed Lodge Hotel

, Windermere
4 star

Rooms: 13

Longtail Hill - Windermere - England - LA23 3JD - United Kingdom Hotel Website | 44 01539445052
382 Traveller

Reviews - Aphrodites Themed Lodge Hotel

1/10
rip off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted by: craig in 05/10/09
  • Age Group: 31 - 40
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Mature Couple
We are a professional couple who travel frequently and have stayed in hotels across the world.The quality of this hotel was dubious for the price,stayed in a lot nicer in the Lakes for less.Be careful not to leave you credit card details!

9/10
Fun & different
Submitted by: Rebecca in 21/12/08
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
Just spent 1 night at Aphrodites Lodge for our wedding anniversary, it was quite a last minute booking so ended up in Robin Hoods Den which wouldn't have been our first choice but we absolutly loved it!! Very different, not tacky like I thought it might be. Wonderful bath & very comfy bed. Found the staff friendly & everything was tidy & clean. Would recommend!!
1/10
Don't ever stay
Submitted by: Sarah in 14/01/09
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Honeymooners
We have stayed in many hotels for both business and pleasure and can honestly say this is the worst hotel we have ever had the displeasure of staying in. The hotel is NOT a luxury hotel and is most certainly NOT worth £90.00 (or more) a night plus the additional £5.00 for breakfast.
1/10
The Worst Hotel Ever!!!!
Submitted by: Kelly in 04/04/08
  • Age Group: 18 - 25
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
I am absolutly disgusted with this hotel!
I am 24 years of age and suddenly lost my father the 2 weeks before I was supposed to be going to this hotel. On the Tuesday (the day after my dad died) I got my partner to call the hotel and explain what had happened and if they could possibly change the dates as we still really wanted to go. The Receptionist had no clue what happened in this situation and said she would get someone to call us back.... this never happened so my partner called back 3 days later and spoke to a lady who said they had put the room back up for sale but if they could not sell it there was no chance I was getting my £280 back!!!
My partner rang back the day after my dad's funeral and asked if they had been successful in selling the room, the answer was of course no and funny enough it was the only one not to sell!!! My partner asked if they could at least show some compassion but they had none of it!
He even suggested that they take maybe half of the money and refund the rest....but NO!
I never knew somebody could be so cruel!!!!!!
2/10
Do not go to this hotel!!!!
Submitted by: jason in 15/02/08
  • Age Group: 31 - 40
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
we were so looking forward to this stay at the Laked ...unfortuanlety we were horrified! We were greeted by a very shabbily dressed receptionist that had no customer service what so ever. We were then shown to our Egytian room...which was just a cheap and shabby decor...and was built with very flimsy walls so you could hear everything going on downstairs and upstairs. The room felt unclean and cheap! I have stayed in nicer b&bs for less money!
We had problems with the couple staying upstairs with the noise and asked the receptionist to handle this. The noise carried on until 12.30am by which this time we threatened to call the police ourselves as the HOTEL were doing nothing about it! We asked them to move us into another room or their sister hotel. Or to move the noisy guests. We felt like we were in Ibiza not the Lakes. The hotel were prepared to do nothing and we were stuck in this horrible situation!
The next day we left immediately and I am going to contact the hotel AA standards about this hotel! There was no management/ customer services and just a shabby room!
9/10
Unusual, fun and relaxing!
Submitted by: Samantha in 14/11/07
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
We have been to this hotel 3 times now, and we absolutely love it! It is fun, different, the breakfast is always excellent and I sincerely look forward to the next 3 times!
5/10
Poor Decor
Submitted by: Linda Wilson in 25/05/06
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Mature Couple
We stayed in Egyptian Suite and Bedouin Suite. We found the decor poor quality and not luxuirious. The Bedouin Suite was noisy as it is at the front, and the hot tub smelt like stale water and didn't want to use it. It was not value for money and was not luxury of the highest quality as stated on the brochure. Towels were small and thin and pillows were hard. I would not recommend it. 2 other couples we spoke to when we were there said the same. Overpriced.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Aphrodites Themed Lodge Hotel

overpriced, not luxurious at all, poor decor

from MardonChesterfield
Aphrodites Lodge is described as thie highest quality themed suites and the cost is quite a lot.
We expected luxury for the mobey, but got no where near.
Hard pillows, small thin towels , no shower gel, thin cord type carpets and cheap looking fabrics.
The room with the hot tub was pricey, and te hot tub was places in a tiny outdoor area, and it smelt fusty.
This room was alos noisy as it was on the front.
The choice of breakfast was basic.
There was no water in the outdoor pool for us to use even if we had wanted to.
Very poor quality and not value for money at all.
We complained and asked for some money back, but the owners didn,t want to know.
Management Response from WilHow
In respect to your comments, the vast majority of clients believe the equality of the suites to be of a high standard. The pillows are new and high quality fabrics and carpets are all good quality and nearly new. The hot tub area has only a slight chlorine smell, the suite is at the rear of the lodge near the private drive which I could never describe as noisy, where in the Lake District can you get a suite with a luxury bathroom with large spa bath and an outdoor hot tub for less money? Sorry we can not please all the clients all the time.

s love den!

from no1redz1
Me and my husband stayed in the Cleopatra Suite at Aphrodites Lodge for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The location is good (10 mins walk to town) and the grounds nicely tended. The suite was huge with a sunken spa tub in the room and its own private terrace with an outdoor hot tub, which we throughly enjoyed a few times (i think this really made it). If you look too closely you can see the decor is done at a budget (cracks, chips etc) but you can forgive them that. The service was good enough, once when we couldnt get the hot tub working it only took a quick call for someone to come and take a look. Breakfast in the conservatory was good, lots of hot things + cereal/fruit etc. Bowness as a town is lovely, great restaurants, every meal we had was fantastic. Tip - definitely hire a small boat to sail around the lake, its a great experience no matter what the weather. Overall nicely romantic, perfect for couples and very unique. I have recomended it to friends.

No heating and hot water!!!!!

from A TripAdvisor Member
We booked the wild west room for a night away with a difference, we booked and paid in advance (now i know why!) £198 for one night dinner bed & breakfast.The room was okay but nothing fab but we soon realised we had no hot water or heating (which resulted in the sauna not working), the manager came & could not fix it so we were told we could use the staff shower room and would be given a fan heater!! After asking to change rooms we were told they were booked solid which was a lie as we later over heard a staff conversation whilst having a meal at their sister hotel, 21 the Lakes. We were offered a fan heater during the meal but I explained that we were meeting up with friends for drinks so suprisingly did not want to carry it around with us all night so that was the end of the heater as the member of staff was unwilling to take it to our room!! The meal was ok but there was no atmosphere in the dining room and no background music etc.In the morning we went down to sort out compensation but we were told they had already re-credited our card with £30. We hadn't agreed to that and it definitely wasn't enough! I asked to speak with the manager but was told to put in writing which I subsequently did but have not yet received a reply (2 months and counting!) It was very dissapointing for the money as they were not in the least bit concerned about customer satisfaction i.e. they didn't appear to be bothered that we had no hot water or heating in a decent hotel. We have been to alot nicer places for this price! I cant believe they get away with it - please avoid!!
Management Response from WilHow
We are sorry about the problem with the boiler not working on a temporary basis due to to a gas pressure shortage, some what circumstances beyond our control. In all honesty we had no spare rooms to transfer you to, at 21 The Lakes or at Aphrodites Lodge. You would be welcome to return at a discounted rate.

Loved everything!

from SJ
We've stayed at this hotel many times over the last 3 years and stayed in most of the rooms -some of them 2 or 3 times - and always found it to be wonderful. The rooms are spacious and clean and the themes make it even more interesting.

The staff are very helpful. They're not on site all day (this is a hotel for those who value your privacy), but if you have a problem, as we have had once or twice, a quick phone call to the main hotel (from the free phone in reception) and your problem is sorted out very quickly and efficiently.

On this occasion we stayed in the Flinstones Suite which was as lovely as the last time we stayed in there, but this time there was the added bonus of a private Hot Tub - very luxurious.

We would recomend Aphrodites to anyone - but not too many as to make it harder for us to book in when we go again - which we definitly will!

Great getaway for couples!

from A TripAdvisor Member
We went expecting an upmarket B+B experience rather than a hotel, and were not disappointed. Some of the reviews listed surprise me, as our visit was great.

When you walk into the lodge, the entrance does look a little tatty, but inside the room was completely different. We stayed in the Jungle room, which was actually a suite with living room (sofa, sauna, woodburning stove, small tv, tea and coffee facilities), down stairs to a small bedroom (huge super king size bed, huge tv hidden in cupboard, DVD/CD player, fridge, lots of cupboard space) and bathroom (huge spa bath, power shower, 2 sinks). We made the most of the spa bath, but never ran out of hot water. The sauna took about 30 mins to warm up but was great. The fridge was big enough for several bottles of wine and a bit of food too. The walls are covered in wood and bamboo, with a fur theme throughout - if you weren't expecting it, it may seem odd, but we thought it was a great gimmick well done!

The lodge is about 15 mins from Bowness, and we didn't walk because it was cold and dark, and without pavement in places. However, parking was generous and a taxi was only £2.50. Mobile phone reception in the lodge itself is patchy, but there is a payphone. There are many eating places to choose from - we recommend Stefan's Bistro and Golden City chinese (who deliver!).

Slightly overpriced for the money, but we felt the sauna and spa bath were special features that made it worthwhile and incredibly relaxing. The decor could be seen as tacky, but we thought it was a great laugh and really enjoyed it! Don't go if you are looking for exciting night life and staff on call. Do go if you want a few days hidden away to do nothing but relax.

Fab and not so Fab

from A TripAdvisor Member
Have just arrived back from spending 3 nights at the lodge with my partner, stayed for new year. We stayed in the Italian Suite- this was much smaller than expected. Spa Bath and Views were fine. Shower was cold 3 days running. Breakfast was good although only served from 8.30 - 9.30am which isnt great coz it means you cant lay in!!! The Lodge is a good walk from Bowness Centre - which may I add is a beautifull place and we will be returning to but will prob not stay at aphrodites. It was a lovely trip and I dont have anything bad to say other than, the Lodge was not quite what we had expected, Staff not very helpfull, rooms nice but much smaller than pictures seen, and for what we paid for the three nights it wasnt really worth the money, we have stayed in much nicer for less the price.
Management Response from WilHow
In respect to your comments, the shower was checked and found to be working even though it was a little stiff as it was new . We hope you may consider returning to Aphrodites Lodge in a larger room. Please check the new developments on the home page of the Aphrodites web site. We thank you for your positive comments and hope to improve on the negative ones.

Rooms a bit cheap and tacky

from dizzy_tinkerbell
My boyfriend and I stayed in the Egyptian room for 2 nights early March for our anniversary. The room definately wasn't furnished to the high quality I had expected - it gave the impression than all had been done for as little money as possible. That said, we had a great weekend, the novelty factor was good and the huge spa bath in the room was a nice touch (be careful how much bubble bath you use - it's not as romantic when you can't see each other because of the mountain of bubbles!).
Management Response from WilHow
All rooms are done to a high standard and a lot of thought goes into making the rooms as authentic as posible. As the rooms all have themes they do not suite everyone. Regarding the large aqua spa massage baths, bubble bath should not be used, one of the reasons being the one you mentioned.

worth a try!

from rainbow6
My partner and I spent 2 nights there in July after hearing good things about it from a few friends, and it was certainly different! We stayed in the victorian room which was lovely, with a free standing bath and four poster. It wasnt very practical though as there werent many surfaces to make a cup of tea or use as a bed side table. Having a fridge was handy though, and the outdoor hot tub was lovely, although it wasnt very private and a few people in the car park got a bit of an eyeful! Breakfast was very nice but I do agree with the other reviews in that the staff are hard to find and leave at 5. Because of this we didnt really feel very pamaered as you would in a normal hotel. The hotel is exactly what it is designed for...a getaway for couples looking for a bit of privacy. Enjoyed the experiece and glad i tried it, but dont know if id go again.

Not what I expected bad service and bad food

from A TripAdvisor Member
Waste of money.Food was awful and rooms are not as nice as on the photos.No staff if you have problems which we did.Would not stay there again there are much better hotels in the lakes with much better service.
Management Response from WilHow
Aphrodites Lodge is very popular with a large percentage of returning guests. Although reception closes at 5pm there is a direct telephone available to staff at 21 The Lakes who are able to deal with any queries or emergencies. Please check to web site for the new developments at Aphrodites Lodge.

Wilma!!!!

from A TripAdvisor Member
We spent a night in the Flintstonez Suite and found it to be a fun place to stay. The room had good range of facilities including spa bath, fridge, tv and the breakfast was perfect start to the day. Unfortunately our experience was marred by the 'honeymoon couple' or equivalent staying in the suite above. Despite notices requesting that the spa bath is not used after a certain time, we were woken at 2am with the noise of their antics which was followed by a soak in the spa! I would recommend a night at the lodge but request a top floor suite to make sure the only noise you hear is your own!

Top Local Tips for Windermere

a good drive try hardknott and wrynose passes they are fantastic and find a decent hotel not aphrodites lodge

Be prepared. Wear suitable clothing and comfortable shoes. The area is hilly and you have to walk about a mile into the village, but the scenery and the lake views are worth it. Don't forget your camera!

You either love it or hate it. If you want a peaceful, scenic, relaxing, away from it all holiday in the Lakes, then Bowness is definately not the place for you.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Aphrodites Themed Lodge Hotel

  • aphrodites lodge
  • Address: Longtail Hill - Windermere - England - LA23 3JD - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
6.9/10

See All 382 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Aphrodites Themed Lodge Hotel