The Park Royal Hotel

, Warrington, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Warrington

The Park Royal Hotel

, Warrington
4 star

Rooms: 5

Stretton Road - Warrington - England - WA4 4NS - United Kingdom Hotel Website | | 44 01925730706
313 Traveller

Reviews - The Park Royal Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of The Park Royal Hotel

Really rather poor

from pintpot
I got sent at short notice to a conference here and booked to stay the night before as well

Perhaps I should have been suspicious when there was plenty of room availability at 24 hrs notice. First impressions weren't that bad as I drove up, and the room was OK - standard business travellers' hotel stuff - but perhaps I should have paid more attention to the signs apologising for the lack of bar/restaurant facilities whilst they upgraded

I expected perhaps some hoardings but full facilities still in place, but I was very much mistaken - there is no bar at all and the "restaurant" was a temporary affair in a conference room - and felt like it

I didn't eat there in the evening as I wanted to watch the football - since they didn't have a bar, still less one with a TV, I had to nip down the road to the nearby Travel Inn, but I ate in the morning. Breakfast food was ropey and the service very fussy (look, I'll refill my coffee thanks, LEAVE it alone). Things didn't improve at the conference - the business of replenishing water and coffee pots was very amateur and debris was left strewn around for a long while

Lunch food was OK but all in all it was a poor experience and the lack of any attempt to replace bar facilities really isn't good enough. I should have stayed in the Travel Inn for twenty quid less - after all, they have clean comfortable rooms too and that's all this place offered
Management Response from ParkRoyal
I have taken all of you comments on board and during our £6million refurbishment we are trying our best to keep guest inconvenience to a minimum with the contractors on site working discreetly, usually behind screened off parts of the building, with all work taking place between 8.30am – 6.00pm Monday to Friday and when necessary some work may take place over a weekend.

Our priority is the comfort and enjoyment of our guests and it is most regrettable that we have failed in fulfilling your expectations during your stay.

Thank you for your comments and I hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the hotel in the future and assure you of our commitment to the quality of both service and standards.

Great facilities but too noisey

from djoSurrey_uk
We stayed in a family suite - I think they used the expression junior suite. Starting with the good points:

The hotels facilities, swimming pool etc are fantastic and are well worth a visit
The proximity of the hotel to local attractions like Chester Zoo, Liverpool ...and my parents (though this is probably not the reason for you to stay) make it an ideal choice
We had a deal where dinner on the first night was free for my wife and I and breakfast was included for us and the kids. The service and staff were both friendly and approachable

Now for the bad point...

Given that the hotel looks relatively new the creaky floorboards in our room and more specifically the ones in the rooms below and above were horrendous.

At one point in the night my wife woke up and believed that there were other people in our room.

Believe me this is not the case of either us being very light sleepers ( I can sleep on crowded trains/airport terminals etc) nor was the noise due to nuptials - It was simply caused by people walking across the room!! I am not for any instant complaining about the people above or below us as we possibly made as much noise as them by simply walking across the floor.

I would suggest the hotel staff equip themselves with hammer and nails and sort out the problem for an otherwise good hotel.

Appalling and dangerous electrics.

from A TripAdvisor Member
Stayed here for one night for a wedding. Every electrical appliance in our room was displaying an out of date safety certificate by at least 3 months and one of the bedside lamps was flashing on and off when we tried to use it. Management was unable to provide us with electrical equipment that was certified safe.

I would not stay here again. In my opinion the place is an accident waiting to happen.
Management Response from ParkRoyal
In response to the comments made, firstly I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete the review of our hotel.

I was obviously most concerned to read that you found our appliances were showing out of date safety stickers. I have fully investigated these comments and can confirm that all appliances within the hotel are fully tested to the legal requirements and display the relevant stickers to state this.

Anytime a guest raises a health and safety issue it is my top priority to ensure corrective action is taken immediately and I can assure you that at not point would we provide dangerous equipment to our guests.

Very nice hotel

from RojandPea
Having read the reviews of this hotel we were a little uncertain as to whether to stay here. How wrong we could have been. The hotel is in the process of a multi million pound refurbishment. On check in we asked for a nice room on a high floor and we were given a lovely refurbished executive room at no extra charge.

We found the staff to be most helpful. The leisure facilities were excellent, contrary to other reviews on this site. The leisure facilities compared favourably with many other hotels we have stayed in.

Our only possible criticism would be the breakfast but even this we would still rate as fair.

We found the bar a nice comfortable area and the prices were reasonable.

We would not hesitate to stay here again.

turned out ok

from 2daysaway
we stayed at the park royal hotel (formerley hanover international) in dec 2005 to visit our regular haunt of manchester. we have stayed at this hotel previously on three occaisions but this time we booked 2 weeks before on a cheaper wesite finding double room and breakfast for a fair price. when we arrived however it was 9pm and we discovered that our room was twin beds. on complaining to the duty manager we were immediately upgraded to a suite which was newly refurbished and the smell of new carpets was lovely! the leisure facilities however are earmarked for a £1million development and therefore where somewhat shabby with the jacuzi out of order and the sauna at the temperature of a luke warm bath. the breakfast was very average though and a bit of a dissapointment. check about leisure facilities first for definate

Average room from what I have seen

from honeymoonin
I stayed in 2 different rooms at this hotel early in August 2005. One had 2 twin beds (114). One had a Queen that would fold up into the wall (119).

First impressions were good. The hotel looks very nice. Friendly staff. It has a nice restuarant and very good bar food.

The beds were about average for the hotels I have stayed at in the UK. It seems that they are older and a not real firm. The pillows are very thin and not very comfy. The floor creaks when you walk accross it. Same thing for any room above you, so get used to the sound of it.

The showers seem to be above average. Strong water pressure, clean, plenty of supplies. The more pressure, then the more the shower curtain floats around and aginst you.

Overall I would say that it is a nice place to visit for the ambiance, however I would find a nicer bed with softer pillows if you want a great nites sleep.

Plus, at a rate above 90 a night, I would image another room for the price would be easy to find.
Management Response from ParkRoyal
In response to the comments made, firstly I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete the review of our hotel.

Following the hotels acquisition by Qhotels February 2005, we are delighted to announce that the first phase of the Park Royal Hotels £3.5 million refurbishment programme has been completed and we now have 138 luxurious bedrooms, therefore rectifying the issues this guest has highlighted regarding the bed and furnishings.

We are also delighted to announce that we have 4 new boardrooms that can cater for up to 12 people. The second phase is well on the way as work has started on the hotels restaurant, lounge and in the leisure club.

Pleasant place to stay with some minor imperfections

from Paul8billion1
Obviously popular with wedding guests, this was a pleasant place to stay and met expectations.

There was a minor hiccup with checkout - my card was declined. When I pointed out that they'd already taken an authorisation when I checked in, she used that and everything was fine. I am slightly peeved that that wasn't done anyway, as that should be standard procedure. So it's worth making sure you remind them then, otherwise you may find your available funds tied up for a few days.

It is worth asking for an extension on the checkout (it seems easy to get it extended to noon), if only to have some quieter time in the pool area (kids' times are restricted).

Pool area is particularly nice - very large pool, good spa bath, good sauna and good steam room. Lounging area is nice but the chair pads could do with replacing. Changing area large; take a £1 coin for the locker (returned).

As for the room itself, bedding and curtains were significantly more flowery than my taste but everything was comfortable and we had a good sleep, which after all is the main purpose of a hotel room.

Curtains were not attached to rail correctly, making it difficult (but not impossible) to pull them closed properly. Also, curtains were not black-out, which would have been better for my partner. Even with windows shut could plainly hear motorway nearby; when we have stayed at hotels nearer to motorways we have not been able to hear that.

TV took more figuring out than in other hotels. Had the standard 5 channels plus, Radio 1,2,4, Key 103, Sky Sports 1-3, Sky News and Nickelodeon. A selection of films and porn available at extra cost.

There are three phones, including one in the bathroom. The bath fills spectacularly quickly. Shower is surprisingly powerful. As is often the case, we could do with more towels.

Hotel suffered mild outbreak of illiteracy in notices about "satalite" channels and "personnel" items, but otherwise very professional particularly the Quintessential branded items.

Didn't eat anything from the hotel; rate didn't include breakfast.
There is a nice pub down the road.

Massive car park, lovely area.

On the whole, fairly average for the price band with the annoyances balancing out the nicer surprises.

PS - This is the same hotel as the "Park Royal International Hotel" also listed on TripAdvisor.

Overpriced and incompetent

from A TripAdvisor Member
My wife and I were scehduled to attend a Wedding at the Hanover Internations at Stretton, Warrington on 21.5.05. Due to the fact that the hotel was likely to get booked up early, we paid a deposit for the room in April. Subsequently on arrival, we were a little amazed to find that not only did the hotel claim that we were not registered, we had not paid a deposit or, the confirmation number we had received from the hotel "was not one of theirs". Eventually, the receptionist agreed to give us a room (next to the airconditioners - noisy, uncomfortable - pillows 0.5" thick with no others in the room, uncontrollable airconditioner. OK I maybe should have complained at the time but you expect better in room facilities from a 4star hotel don't you. On departure, the receptionist whilst accepting that they had now found our names on the system, still did not acknowledge that we had paid a deposit up front resulting in us having to pay for an unsatisfactoryand uncomfortable room twice. On return to home, I rang the hotel to confim that we had paid a deposit on 10/4/05 to a particular reference number and received a promise to "sort things out" that day. I requested a confirmatory phone call when things had been sorted - 12 hours later I still had not received the call so back I called. The night receptionist denied knowing anything about my earlier call and said the day receptionist had gone home (much to her credit however she agreed to "sort it out for me and get back to me when things were cleared up"). A couple of hours later, I received a call saying everything had been sorted and I would be credited that evening and the recipt forwarded to me on Monday morning. It is now Friday and lo and behold, No credit slip, and no credit. So in summary, dont go here for the weekend, they will loose your reservation, charge you double to fix their faux-pax, and charge you loads for any food you buy, £4:40 for a single vodka and coke - the beer and wines I believe are proportionally more expensive and 3 old ladies their told me that 2 pots of tea are £9:50. I do know that a round of sandwiches are £8:50.

Excellent hotel, quality service

from travelinpringles
We stayed here for a wedding on 1st May. This is an exquisite cheshire hotel, well worth the money. Rooms are clean and have most ameneties including power shower, bath etc. Decor slightly old english as with many British hotels. The staff are friendly and polite and generally very helpful, however the lift was out of service which was a mild nuisance. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It has a large free car park and is set in a lovely area of Cheshire.

Good hotel with great leisure facilities - but bar a rip off

from NinaS
I have stayed at this hotel twice now; the first time for a function which was great fun and the second time for a relaxing night away with my mum followed by a day in the spa. The rooms were very nice. The pool is a great size. The spa treatments available were fantastic. But why is it that hotels in this country insist on charging over the odds for drinks at the bar and bar meals??!! This was the only thing that took the edge off.

Top Local Tips for Warrington

Ask for information Do not be put off with unusual rural destinations, serendipity comes to mind. Always ask hotel staff to recommend their favourite local restaurant of local attraction.

Location Very convenient for motorway

eat local bring cash. go to the pubs for meals they are much cheaper. the roads are very dangerous at night. the nearest cash machine is at the pub, take money with you before hand, they do charge for withdrawls.


Other names for The Park Royal Hotel

  • park royal warrington
  • park royal hotel warrington
  • hotel park royal
  • Address: Stretton Road - Warrington - England - WA4 4NS - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 313 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near The Park Royal Hotel