Grosvenor Hotel

, Torquay, United Kingdom
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Torquay

  • Torcroft Hotel 28-30 Croft Road, Torquay, England 8.0/10 - 70 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 15 Rooms
  • Grosvenor House Hotel Falkland Road, Torquay, England 8.0/10 - 24 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 10 Rooms
  • Westgate Hotel Falkland Road, Torquay, England 9.0/10 - 22 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 8 Rooms
  • Kelvin House Hotel 46 Bampfylde Road, Torquay, England 9.0/10 - 8 reviews 7 Rooms
  • Tor Dean Hotel 27 Bampfylde Road, Torquay, England 10/10 - 44 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 9 Rooms
  • Westwood Hotel 111 Abbey Road, Torquay, England 8.3/10 - 39 reviews Hotel Class 1 stars 26 Rooms
  • Daylesford Hotel 60 Bampfylde Road, Torquay, England 9.0/10 - 39 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 8 Rooms
  • Linden House Hotel 31 Bampfylde Road, Torquay, England 10/10 - 63 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 7 Rooms
  • Lindum Hotel 105 Abbey Road, Torquay, England 10/10 - 28 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 17 Rooms
  • Hotel Cimon 82 Abbey Road, Torquay, England 8.9/10 - 134 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 19 Rooms
  • Ellington Court Hotel St. Lukes Road South, Torquay, England 7.0/10 - 7 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 14 Rooms
  • Hillcroft Hotel Matlock Terrace, Torquay, England 10/10 - 48 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 7 Rooms
  • Sandpiper Hotel Rowdens Road, Torquay, England 10/10 - 49 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 10 Rooms
  • The Waters Edge Hotel Torbay Road, Torquay, England 7.0/10 - 134 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 47 Rooms
  • Mount Edgcombe Hotel 23 Avenue Road, Torquay, England 10/10 - 63 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 10 Rooms

Grosvenor Hotel

, Torquay
3 star

Rooms: 47

Belgrave Road - Torquay - England - TQ2 5HG - United Kingdom Hotel Website | | 44 01803294373
93 Traveller

Reviews - Grosvenor Hotel

Absolutely lovely friendly hotel
Submitted by: rachel in 30/11/08
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
My hubby and I decided to come here for our 7th wedding anniversary. We were greeted by very nice friendly staff. We got to our room which was at the very top if the hotel which wasn't great, but that was our fault for not asking to be lower down in the hotel. The room was very nice and comfy. The furnishings were wonderful and the beds were really comfy. The hotel itself was very nice, clean and well kept. The restaurant was lovely and the food was the best I have ever tasted, the portions just right and our big compliments to the chef rocco(think thats right) all the staff were lovely. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The bar was nice and the amenities there were wonderful. We are going back next yr and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is close to town and beach etc so is very good location. I thought when we booked that it was a bit expensive £190 for two nights with breakfast and evening meals, but I would pay the same again for the same weekend away as it was lovely.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Grosvenor Hotel

Fabulous location and staff

from lous_place
This lovely hotel provided a perfect base for exploring the beautiful English Riviera. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and all made our stay a very pleasurable one.
The room was well equipped, beautifully furnished and clean and the meals from the restuarant superb. Management answered our query about changing our dates with polite efficiency and were very approachable and helpful . I would definitelyl reccomend this wonderful hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful break in Torquay.

lovely staff , foodand location

from cainthree
family of three,south wales
stayed during easter week .having read some reviews we didnt know what to expect. when we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly lady who organized a porter to take our suitcases to our room[even though we were willing and able to do it ourselves!].when we arrived at our room there were only 2 cups and 2 sets of towels ,i requested more at reception and within 5 mins we received them.this was the type of service we encountered during our stay.THE food was lovely plenty of choices. the staff were all very helpful offering suggestions of places to visit and the easiest way to get there.the hotel grounds must be lovely in summer .the only drawback to this hotel was that our room needed lots of TLC.There was wallpaper that needed to stuck back down and the bath needed to be resealed.this didnt stop us enjoying ourselves or spoil our holiday but we felt that it was a shame that something that would that minutes to repair hadnt been done. how ever we will return as we enjoyed it so much and we want to see the lovely gardens in the summer

Our stay in the Grosvenor Hotel, Torquay.

from Disappointed46ok
The Grosvenor Hotel, Belgrave Road, Torquay

We had a three night stay in room 216 “an executive room” as advertised at extra cost. This was with the ATL conference. The room was tired. The cheap clock radio didn’t work properly and the furniture was old and tacky. The bathroom had old cracked tiles on the floor, mould on the wall tiles, poor painting and messy sealant around the bath. There was only one 13 amp socket available to use. There was no fridge in the room as there was in others. The bathroom courtesy basket held just one flannel, one shower soap sachet, two small soaps, two shower caps and one shampoo. These were not replaced after the first night, meaning that there were none for the rest of the stay. The public stairs up to the rooms were dirty and had not been vacuumed for some time, nor had the carpet in our room. In fact we didn’t observe any carpet cleaning being done at all in the three days we stayed there.

The general manager Gemma Balham, was very unhelpful to the point of extreme rudeness. We reported a faulty bath tap because you could not get hot water out of it. It had seized up completely, so the bath tap and shower if you wanted hot water, weren’t going to work. The hot/cold indicator from the top of the hot water tap was missing, so it had been a problem in the past one would think. Two of the staff looked at this and both agreed it was a plumber’s problem and would be looked at the next day. This is 5.30 on the first night now. As we had paid extra to have this “executive room” it seemed unreasonable that we were offered another room on the other side of the hotel which was much smaller but with no refund. After complaining that we should not be downgraded but upgraded as it was no fault of ours, she called me various names and it would seem that it was my fault. Finally, calling me aggressive, perhaps because I said I would talk to my credit card company and how would she feel about that, she said “if it is your intention then perhaps I should ask you to leave now”. We refused this of course at this late hour. We had paid prior to seeing the room. Even though she refunded us £15, this Gemma Balham seems to have no idea of how to treat people. I could and would quote exactly what she did say if required, but I think you would be shocked! By now it was six o’clock at night! Is this any way to treat guests that are paying over £100 a night for a room?

Clearly in her book the customer is never right! The other members of staff were very nice and helpful, but refused to comment on their manager. Perhaps we could understand that. However, they would not give us an address we could write to, other than the hotel management and what good would that be? Surely there must be owners and directors who would not like this form of bad publicity given by their very young general manager. We felt this was a case of closing ranks. This large hotel was not 3-star in quality as it had no guest mentality. We have photographs of the faults we found to back up these statements should they be required. We think you would be quite appalled by these. For a three-star AA hotel the only thing is that it had an indoor swimming pool and a ballroom that gave it this grading. Is that what AA star-rating gives to this standard of hotel and are they not interested in the quality of the rooms or public areas? We have decided therefore to send this to the AA and wait to see what response we will get. As guests of this hotel we will never go to there again and would not recommend it to anyone on a three-star basis. We would list the Grosvenor Hotel in Torquay as a large hotel that should have no more than one star, being run as it is by such a rude young general manager who has no idea of how to treat customers. She may have qualifications, ie Gemma Balham MIH as shown on her business card, but does this allow for such poor treatment of the public? We think not.

Ccs The Herald Express
The AA
Conference Torquay Booking Service
The Independent Hotels Association
Trip Advisor LLC
General Manager Grosvenor Hotel, Gemma Balham

Would stay here again no problem

from escourt
I was worried about booking having seen previous reviews so I phoned the hotel and was assured the car park was fine and although there had been a problem with a musty smell all was fine now. I booked two nights and on arrival was met by lovely smiling people at reception who couldn't do enough to welcome me. There was a problem with the room that could not be sorted so we were immediately moved to a better room with no fuss, they even offered to repack and move our belongings. The indoor pool is very nice and the spa pool hot enough to boil potatoes in, lovely on a wet afternoon. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff on reception and in the restaurant couldn't do enough to make us welcome. On the downside, the outside could do with a lick of paint and the rooms could do with a little updating (particularly the plumbing fixtures ). Some of the furniture was lovely, just right for the place, if you want modern go to a Travelodge. The silk flowers need putting in a skip, particularly by the indoor pool - they've died. Also some of the pictures need binning - but in no way did anything spoil my weekend. The hotel is in a great location with parking (we never had a problem), a very nice indoor and outdoor pool with staff that are a credit to the place I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again - I can live with a bit of peeling paint.

A Shipwreck On Land

from jules1459
My husband said this hotel was like a shipwreck on the land.

The first thing you notice as you drive up to the hotel is its shabby look, it is overgrown with ivy & in dire need of a make over

The car park is very small an if like us you are sent around the rear of the building, be very carefull when you leave the entrance is on a main road & you can't see the oncoming traffic.

The rear of the hotel is like a builing site, wood, rubble & cig buts all over.

The inside is drab & smells musky. the rooms although clean were like stepping back in time, the widows in our room rattled as buses went by.

Most of the staff are friendly & the food was passable (although my husband sent his back on the second night)

If your looking for a nice plesant stay in Torquay then give this one a miss.

Nothing to write home about.!

from Bladeus
I stayed at the Grosvenor for one night only at the end of June '07.
It was a business trip and the accomodation was booked by my company via a travel agent.
On arrival my initial impression was that the hotel buildings looked tired an in need of painting.

At reception the staff were very friendly and chatty, and my colleague and I were directed to our rooms located on the left side of the building. As I approached my room there was an unpleasant damp / musty smell which was there for the duration of my stay. My room was a single with ensuite bathroom. I cannot fault the cleanliness of the room, and the linen was nice and crisp - however again the room was in need of modernisation. (I see from the Management repsonse to one feedback stated that a number of rooms had been renovated, they obviously hadn't got around to this one) It was very twee, and my grandmother probably would have thought it was lovely)

The room was close to the road, and keeping the window open was impossible because of the traffic noise.

The bathroom was of a decent size and clean, but again in need of a refurbishment - bath taps were almost impossible to turn off completely.

The location of the Hotel is good as it is only a 5 minute walk to the beach and a 15 -20 minute walk to the harbour.

Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of it, and very tasty, again the staff were very pleasant.

Overall, it's a pleasant hotel but in need of updating, If it hadn't been booked for me via a travel agent I'm sorry to say that I wouldn't have chosen it from its external appearance, the Website photographs make it look somewhat better than it is in the flesh.

re having a laugh !!

from julesd40
i stayed here for one night with my family in June 2007. We arrived and i was quite disappointed with the exterior of the building as it looked quite shabby and nothing like the picture ! Having advertised as having a large free car park we found we had to park out on the street until we were directed around the back which was stretching the fact that this was also a car park as we had to squeeze up against a hedge next to workmans tools and old scaffolding planks.This area was a bit of an eyesore. Entering the hotel i was struck by a strange unpleaseant smell which carried on to the room they had for us. It was so bad i asked to be moved which was done promptly and without a fuss. Staff were very pleaseant and helpful. The rest of the hotel was adequate but not the standard i was expecting for a " luxurious 3 star hotel "...their words. Breakfast was ok and fresh food was cooked for us when w arrived for the meal. Spoilt our night away and wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!!
Management Response from GrosvenorHotel
Dear Julesd40

Here at the Grosvenor we take feedback from our guests very seriously & I was disappointed that after contacting you through tripadvisor, you have chosen not to contact us to discuss your stay to enable us to further improve the hotel.

We have 45 bedrooms & 50 car parking spaces, we have taken your comments on board & ‘spring cleaned’ the back part of the car park.

Unfortunately you were not happy with your first room, however I would like to point our that straight away we complimentary upgraded you to an executive family suite, with separate bedroom for the children, Jacuzzi bath & separate power shower with jets from the walls. This new room we transferred you into had only just been built & later on this year we are going to build a private terrace to accompany it.

The Grosvenor is constantly being refurbished, only today we have purchased furniture to refurbish ¼ of the bedrooms. The restaurants were refurbished this year, the health club the year previous & the Lounge the previous year. We choose to decorate the hotel in a style in keeping with the Victorian heritage & design, keeping many of the original features, covings, chandeliers etc. Glass & chrome we are not.

We were sorry to hear you were disappointed & if you should choose to return to the Grosvenor Hotel in the future, I will personally ensure your stay is extra special.

Kind regards,

Gemma Balaam
General Manager


from A TripAdvisor Member
We have just returned from spending 3 nights here and must say it was the best long weekend we have had in the UK. There were 7 people in our family group, ranging in ages from 5yrs to 72yrs, including two teenage boys. Our suitcases were taken to our rooms for us. The bed was huge, clean and very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom with shower even had complimentary shoe-shine/shower cap as well as the usual shower gel/shampoo and soap. The evening meals were imaginative with good choices (even had roast duck in orange sauce on the menu-my husband was delighted!) and cooked to perfection, the waiter, Freddie, made us all feel most welcome. In the mornings, a hearty breakfast was waiting for us, the most gorgeous scrambled eggs are not to be missed. We also had entertainment each evening which was enjoyed by everyone. The Grosvenor has an indoor swimming pool (4'6" deep throughout) and the nicest jacuzzi i have been in anywhere. There was also a snooker table for the boys. We booked through an online coach holiday company so all the travel arrangements/driving was done for us. The Grosvenor hotel was rated as 3 stars. In my opinion, it was better than any 4star i have stayed in, in the UK. 100% RECOMMENDED. Cost £79 per person, including children, for 3nts Bed, Breakfast and Evening meal, including all transport. Look for the special offers on your nearest coach holiday companys' website for a true break. PS> Torquay has good shopping and the Model Village is a short bus ride away in Babbacombe.

Disappointed after being reassured...........

from Ketton
I booked this hotel before checking Trip Advisor - there were conflicting reports, so I e-mailed the hotel and had a lovely, reassuring reply - even had an upgrade to an executive room! I promised the author of the e-mail that I would write a review.... I had hoped the "moaners" of previous reviews were just that......
The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and a good ensuite. The disappointment was with the catering. The evening meal was very basic. I have stayed in 3 star hotels before and generally know what to expect but the evening meal here was - well, put it like this - the second night we decided to walk back into the town and eat there, even though our hotel meal was paid for. There's a lively, excellent, themed restaurant called Hooks in Torquay, they serve great steaks and fabulous fish dishes. Sorry Gemma.

faulty towers is alive in torquay

from toulouselautrek
this hotel is a disaster even the staff said so. no hot water in the evening, one and half hours to serve children some chicken that tasted of cardboard, the food was disgusting we all requested discounts, it truly was horrendous. the staff in the restaurant were delightful and very helpful, we felt sorry for them even they were embarassed. come back john cleese all is forgiven. dont stay here.

Top Local Tips for Torquay

Getting around in Torquay. There are lovely shops in Torquay and plenty for the children to do, including teenagers. However, i would caution Wheel-chair users to choose your hotel location carefully, so you are near the harbour area which is wide, level and also close to cafe's, toilets and main stores, ie. Debenhams etc.


Other names for Grosvenor Hotel

  • torquay hotel grosvenor
  • torquay grosvenor hotel
  • grosvenor hotel torquay
  • Address: Belgrave Road - Torquay - England - TQ2 5HG - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 93 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Grosvenor Hotel