Radisson Edwardian Bloomsbury Street Hotel

, London, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around London

Radisson Edwardian Bloomsbury Street Hotel

, London
4 star

Rooms: 166

9 Bloomsbury Street - London - England - WC1B 3QD - United Kingdom Hotel Website | | (0)20 7636 5601
858 Traveller

Reviews - Radisson Edwardian Bloomsbury Street Hotel

1/10
Edwardian Living in 2008
Submitted by: Jonathan Juylan in 07/05/08
  • Age Group: 31 - 40
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Business Traveller
This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! Phone and TV didn't work, dirty glasses, mould round the shower. Tatty decor. Lift broke on day 2! Was moved to a second room which had dirty brown water coming out the taps and a shower stuck on boiling hot! Avoid this hotel until you see all the scaffold come down, and the building works cease!!
9/10
Reception review
Submitted by: Lindsay Gardiner in 28/04/05
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Special Interest/Event
We were really happy with the service provided by the Marlborough. They dealt very efficiently with our late booking - another venue let us down. On the day everything went very smoothly from their end; the staff dealt very efficiently with some last minute changes to the plan and with everything running late. I've had lots of good feedback on the food too.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Radisson Edwardian Bloomsbury Street Hotel

Extraordinary in every way

from KarateKid_9
As you walk in a young dynamic team of receptionists welcome you to this modern, "fen shuei feel" hotel in the heart of London´s West End, next door (and I mean across the street) from the British Museum. Rooms were spotless, the bathrooms lovely and with large rain-like shower head. Flat screen TV's and free in room WIFI. Check in and out were hastle-free. And the hotel is walking distance from Covent Garden, Chinatown, Leicester Square.....
Management Response from Esperanza916
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and our team was helpful. We are quite proud of our recently renovated rooms. I have passed your comments to my team to and value your feedback. If given such an opportunity we would me most grateful to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager

Great location, nice, large, well appointed room

from BlueSkiezzz
A perfect location for a weekend in town - walking distance to major shopping areas, West End (theaters), lots of restaurants, cafes and bars. Very friendly and welcoming staff.

The room I had was - for London standards - quite large, very well maintained (must have been completely refurbished only very recently) and nicely decorated. Bed was comfortable, noise level from outside negligible (make sure you get a room looking to the courtyard, otherwise you will look onto a fairly busy street). Bathroom was modern, freshly refurbished, had all amenities you would expect, and was perfectly clean.

Overall - I definitely would come back and can recommend the hotel without restrictions.
Management Response from Esperanza916
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and your room. We are quite proud of our recently renovated rooms. I have passed your comments to my team to and value your feedback. If given such an opportunity we would me most grateful to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager

Perfect for my first trip to London

from gregorChicago
Great location and value in a brand new hotel...I'll go back
Management Response from Esperanza916
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and our recently renovated hotel. I have passed your comments to my team to and value your feedback. If given such an opportunity we would me most grateful to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager

Glad it was only a short stay

from laurengucsb
I spent one night her in February for a quick work trip. I had a late dinner with clients and didn't arrive at the hotel until midnight, so luckily I literally just slept and took a shower the next morning and was gone by 8am. The check-in staff was very nice and although they ask you a lot of questions like phone number, address, email (didn't they get this when I made my reservation?), it was still efficient.

The location is very convenient to my office in Covent Garden and is also central to most of the West End sights. Usually for business I choose a 4-star hotel, but this was a last minute trip and since I was booking the day before, most places were expensive. I ended up taking the Secret Hotel on Last Minute for £105.

Based on how much all the other hotels were, I guess I was satisfied with the value and obviously I know how expensive London hotels are, but I still think £105 was a rip-off for the room I stayed in. I was put in a twin room, which I had actually never experienced anywhere before. It reminded me very much of an inside cabin on a cruise ship. Two twin beds, a chest of drawers that was also a desk that also had like 7 different switches on it for different lights, hair dryer etc. The TV was really basic. There was a closet right when you entered the room. The bathroom was extremely small and there is no way 2 people could have been in at the same time. The shower was on that has the folding door, barely enough room for you to raise your arms to wash your hair. It's not so much that I can't handle small spaces, but there was no room to put anything. It was just a sink, no shelf anywhere in the bathroom and no room to balance my toilettrie kit on the edge.

It was fine for a one night stay that literally just involved sleeping and a shower, but overall the quality was not very good at all. There were stains on the carpet and the blankets were thin and poor quality. They looked like they had been cleaned, but there were old stains that looked like they wouldn't come out on the white blanket cover.

I feel like I can handle a less than superior hotel if necessary, but I will not be booking this hotel again in the future when I travel to my London office. I saw some much nicer hotels that were available for £30 more and I would definitely book one of those in the future.
Management Response from Esperanza916
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments describing the issues whilst your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and our reception team. I am sorry to hear that the room was not to your cleanliness standards. I have passed your comments to our Head of Housekeeping to ensure this does not happen again. With regards to the size of room we would have been most grateful to arrange to move you rooms. If given such an opportunity we would like to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager

Great Location,Great Staff

from Annapetra
I stayed 13 nights at this hotel with a theatre tour group. Our room was newly furnished with comfy twin beds,tv,two desks,one for each of us,a fridge,iron and ironing board. It was quiet,elegant,convenient. There is an ATM across the street,two free computers in the lobby for the use of guests, a lavish breakfast buffet, daily newspapers,speedy elevators,and a cheerful,responsive staff. Our room was cleaned while we ate breakfast.The housekeeping staff took care of every request at once.(I needed a rubber floor mat in the shower)
The maid cleared out the mini-fridge contents so we could keep our own fruit and beverages in it during our stay.
This hotel is within walking distance of the British Museum,Covent Garden, plus many ethnic restaurants and even a Sainsbury's supermarket.
Management Response from Esperanza916
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and our team was helpful. I have passed your comments to my team to and value your feedback. If given such an opportunity we would me most grateful to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager

Good location and comfortable stay

from SLG29
Excellent location, just a short walk to Convent Garden, British Museum and theatres.
I arrived during the morning to drop my bag but was offered to check-in as there was a room available. The (standard) room was small but perfectly adequate for one, with a comfortable double bed. It was tastefully furnished and the bathroom was stylish and spotlessly clean.
I do have three small points that I only mention because the hotel is newly refurbished and these should have been considered at the design phase. There are only 2 small lifts. I think this is inadequate for a hotel of this size and sometimes you had to wait. The door latches made it impossible to close the door quietly and you could hear doors closing down the corridor. Finally there was no proper bedside light in my room. A switch by the bed just turned on an overhead spotlight - not very restful!
I didn't try the bar or restaurant, but Wagamama is just across the street which was useful for a quick post-theatre meal.
On balance I would stay here again, and the weekend rate is good value.
Management Response from Esperanza916
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments describing the issues whilst your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and our newly renovated rooms. We appreciate your feedback with regards to the lifts, latches on the doors, and the bedside lamps. I have passed your comments to our projects team. If given such an opportunity we would me most grateful to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager

Good hotel! Thanks!

from Joonas
Great location. Nice and helpful people. Beautiful interiors. Good food. What more do you want!!!
Management Response from Esperanza916
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and our team was helpful. I have passed your comments to my team to and value your feedback. If given such an opportunity we would me most grateful to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager

Sparkling new

from hammyryder79
I stayed here for 2 nights on business. Location is superb, walking distance from Tottenham Court Road, Oxford Street, 5 mins in a taxi from Euston. This hotel is brand spanking new, I think I was the first person to stay in my room it felt that new (1015). Very comfortable bed (although after the first night I asked for non-feather pillows which didnt arrive, I couldnt be bothered to ask a second time). Previous review said it wasnt a power shower - maybe not but my shower was a huge rain head and very powerful anyway. Restaurant was excellent, extremely friendly and helpful waiting staff which is unusual for this type of hotel, food was very good quality and value for money. My only complaint is that I ordered room service breakfast on the first morning for 7.45. By 8am it hadnt arrived so I called room service to be told it was on it's way. It arrived 15 minutes later by which time I had to leave! The waiter was apologetic and said they were extremely busy that morning but I would rather have been told at 8am that it was 15 minutes away so I could have got breakfast on the go! Maybe it is just teething problems as it is so new. I didnt make the same mistake the second morning though and to be fair, the buffet breakfast was very good.
Management Response from Esperanza916
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments describing the issues whilst your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location of the hotel and our newly renovated rooms and showers. I am sorry to hear that your room service breakfast did not arrive on time. However, I am happy to hear that the restaurant staff was able to rectify it in a timely manner. I have passed your comments to my team to ensure that this never happens again. If given such an opportunity we would me most grateful to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front Office Manager

Loved it

from englandlollipop
We were fourteen ladies who had booked the hotel for a weekend in London. First impression was wow and was then greeted by very attentive staff who couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are beautifully decorated with plenty of space and comfortable, also a great location five minute to Covent Garden, from there on you can walk to most tourist spots.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and once again the staff were very helpful and service first class. I have and will recommend this hotel to family and friends

A special thanks to Gary who was so helpful
Management Response from Esperanza916
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments describing your stay with us. We value such feedback as yours and thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have forwarded your good comments to my team and Gary. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front of House Manager

Luxurious but Hskeeping and FrontofHouse staff NEED customer service training

from lonbir
I stayed here over Xmas and New Year 2008 for 10 days. I am a Londoner and wanted somewhere central for the period so I could make all of my festive arrangments without travelling all over town for the period.
The Hotel still had scaffolding up outside so the room rate was reduced q. dramatically .This was indeed an unexpected bonus as it is in a great location ( the original booking was for a different Radisson hotel which is about to go into refurb. mode so the travel company I booked through did a transfer for me without being asked - though they didn't advise me of this until i called them the day before !!!! - long story........ ).
The room was very nice : comfortable bed + spotless furnishings ( the whole hotel has just had a 25 million pound refurb - and it's official opening date was 05/01/09 ) . The bathroom was v. luxurious , huge and spotlessly clean - beautiful marble + Axor fittings . The shower was really roomy and modern ( in a 'wet-room' style with an overhead faucet + a smaller seperate showerhead on the wall alongside : in effect 2 for 1) + there was seperate nice bath + double sink area .
The shower head was large and all the fittings obviously brand new but it was NOT a power shower. Customers from the USA will recognise that fact as soon as they turn it on. Nothing wrong with it - just not a power shower as advertised .
One drawback of this hotel : the housekeeping staff were INCREDIBLY NOISY !!!!!!!!! Each morning anytime between 6.30 - 8.30 you could hear them . Sometimes they were shouting to their colleagues . YES shouting to them along the corridors and on Xmas day when I had the DND light on they called me THREE times before noon asking when I would like my room cleaned . Obviously ignoring the DND light + the whole Xmas vibe . I had plans after 12 noon - not first thing in the morning on Xmas Day !!!!!
Front of House staff : really not good enough. My electronic room card key kept malfunctioning and I had to go down the front desk ( from the 6th floor) each day when I got back to the hotel over a 4 day period. Instead of just replacing the card - they just kept clean- swiping it and re-issuing to me. Also, whenever I went down to the concierge desk there was either one person dealing with a long queue of check-in customers or 5 staff chatting to each other aimlessly.
I presume this refurb was to attract new business or repeat returns. The rooms are great but all the staff need training.
Didn't use the bar or restaurant as both ridiculously expensive and extremely 'dark' furnishings. The lighting is way too subdued.
+ There are so many fantastic places to eat in the surrounding areas that 17 pounds for breakfast is just outrageous.
Apart from that it's a nice hotel.
Would recommend for a short stay or business but not for anything over 4 days .
Management Response from Esperanza916
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments describing the issues whilst your stay with us. We value such feedback as yours and thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your experienced disturbances during your stay with regards to our housekeeping and reception team. I am pleased to inform you that we have now taken all the scaffolding down at the hotel. I have forwarded your comments to our Head of Housekeeping and my reception team to ensure this does not happen again. If given such an opportunity we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Hope Johnston
Front of House Manager

Top Local Tips for London

Taxis and Buses Take one of the tourist buses that sightsee the city. They give 2-day passes, you can get on and off whenever you want somewhere you want to see. Then hop back on and go somewhere else. Very good value. It'll save you a lot of taxi fare money that way. The taxi drivers have to be some of the best in the world. Don't step out on the street until you look first because, trust me, no one stops for pedestrians in London!

London 11/2007 Visiting London is not a good value. Business or pleasure, their are many other cities with just as rich a history, that won't break the bank......examples... $15.00 for a pint of beer, $122.00 for a 15 mile taxi ride from Heathrow to the West Side....give me a break

Walk! Don't be afraid to walk around Central London. It's easy and nowhere is too far apart from anywhere else. The bus is your next best bet, and much cheaper than the Tube. Only use the underground as a last resort. If you get the Tube between Leicester Square and Covent Garden, or Charing Cross and Embankment (I've seen both) then you'll be paying £3 for a journey that's quicker to walk!

(hotels)loading

Other names for Radisson Edwardian Bloomsbury Street Hotel

  • radisson hotel london
  • Address: 9 Bloomsbury Street - London - England - WC1B 3QD - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
9.0/10

See All 858 reviews

"Edwardian Living in 2008" - Jonathan Juylan

"Reception review" - Lindsay Gardiner

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Radisson Edwardian Bloomsbury Street Hotel