Ambassadors Hotel

, London, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around London

Ambassadors Hotel

, London
3 star

Rooms: 140

16 Collingham Road - London - England - SW5 0LX - United Kingdom Hotel Website | | + 44 (0) 207 373 1075
531 Traveller

Reviews - Ambassadors Hotel

Helpful, friendly Staff, hotel average
Submitted by: shay in 31/03/09
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: Ireland
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
My wife and I, plus our teenage son stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. We arrived a bit early in the morning, due to our flight, but the hotel had a room where we could store our bags/cases until official checking in time. When it came to checking in, the price the hotel indicated we had to pay was almost double that which we booked over the internet. Luckily I had a printout of the internet booking so the matter was resolved quickly, no fuss. We had 2 rooms. My son took the sinlge room, of course. But it was like a sauna, with no means to turn off the heat. Our room was warm too, also with no way to turn the heat down. But at least we could open a window. The furniture in the rooms was rather basic and sparse. But we managed. There was no quilt on our bed, just a blanket and a sheet. The blanket was 'fluffy' so, even to brush off it in passing one was left with fluff on ones clothes. Very irritating. The first night we were warm, the 2nd night we were chilly. But we asked for and got another blanket, which helped. Because of the mixup when we arrived, we were given continental breakfast each morning on the house, which was nice. Overall, I would say, the staff were helpful and worked hard; the hotel left a bit to be desired. I cannot say I will stay in the hotel again as I may not pass that way again. But I wouldn't say 'no' to it. Just be aware of the good and not so good.
Ambassador Hotel
Submitted by: Sarah in 04/02/07
  • Age Group: 18 - 25
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
I stayed at this hotel at the weekend with my partner for our one year anniversary. We are both from Surrey and our first date was an evening in London so we thought that a weekend in London would be great. We searched high and low for a luxury hotel at a reasonable price. We had a budget of £100 each for the weekend. We chose this hotel as it sounded close to everything. When we arrived the hotel and it looked lovely from the outside and even better inside. It is smaller inside then it looks though. Then room was very nice. sweet and simple with everything that you need. We planned to go for a meal but was unsure where and the receptionist was more than happy to point us in the right direction. We went to the steak house in Leicester square and then went to the hard rock casino where we won £200!!! we cashed that in and then left! basically a free weekend! we also jumped on one of the bikes home which cost us £15 and was great fun! on sunday we got up early and got breakfast - it took a while, and there wasnt much on the plate - youd expect more for £112! but the waiters were very polite about it. we then went to oxford street shopping which again was great. We got the underground from Euston which is just around the corner. Overall a good stay at the hotel. Would highly recommend it.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Ambassadors Hotel

We cancelled our reservation after seeing the room

from A TripAdvisor Member
My wife and I booked for a 9-12 Apr 2005 stay at this hotel thru hotels. We arrived in the early morning of 9 Apr 2005, hoping that we will be accommodated, despite the very early check-in. Of course, we expected that we will be charged extra for the early check-in, but never thought that we will be asked to pay an arm and a leg for it!

My wife's first impression was not quite great due to a fact that what greeted us at the front door we girls smoking and blocking the door, whom my wife thought are hookers!

During the negotation with the front-desk personnel, who was a tad haugthy, he told us that we have no choice but to take his price because, he thought, we have no where else to stay, especially at that time. He also told us that the room he will give us that early morning may or may not be the same room that we will get for the entire stay. Regardless, he told us, we will have to check-out later that day and will have to check back in to "officially" start our stay based on our booked dates. What a hussle! Nonetheless, my wife and I decided to see the room first since it was getting very late. He gave us a room key and was very surprised to learn that it was one of their few basement rooms. We have never been to a hotel with basement rooms before! After briefly seeing the state of that room, my wife vehemently told me that we leave at once. So, we decided to wake-up my wife's friend who lives in London to stay there for the night. Afterwards, we arranged a stay in another friend's house for the rest of our brief stay in London.

We called hotels the next morning to cancel our reservation and file our reasons for cancelling. Yet, hotels deemed it necessary, as policy, to still charge us with a 1 night stay. Since we abosulutely did not want to be there, we had to sacrifice and lose money to hotels for a hotel that is so terrible, we walked out of there as soon as we got a taste of the impolite staff and the crappy basement hotel room that they have!


from A TripAdvisor Member
I stayed in the Ambassador Hotel from 01/02/05 - 03/02/05. I found the staff very friendly, the breakfast was tasty and my room was cosy. I did not find any nasty surprises and my room was kept very clean. Very good location and very close to Earls Court station. It is easy to get to places in London. Highly recommended.

Having read the previous reviews, I feel obligated to report

from A TripAdvisor Member
I booked the Ambassadors Hotel for 4 nights on laterooms for Nov. 13-16, 2004. After doing so, and right before departure, I stumbled across this website and arrived at the hotel with fear and trepidation. However, my fears were certainly unwarranted! I can only speak for room #608, but, though small, it was clean; everything worked; no bed bugs! No urine on toilet seats! The window opened and provided fresh air. It was more than adequately warm. The cold breakfast was included free with the room, and was so good we didn't want or need to eat anything till dinner. A hot breakfast was available, but we didn't feel the need to order it for only about $5 extra. My roomate said the coffee was the best she had ever had--anywhere! The personnel were nice and extremely accomodating. It was two blocks walk from Earls Court tube station; a bit more from Gloucester. Extremely convenient location. I will definitely stay there again!

All budget rooms in London are small. If you can manage small quarters, you could not go wrong if you could get the rate we got: 4 nights for 209 GBP. The price was that low because the 4th night was free. What's to complain about? Though obviously some people have had bad experiences, I think the hotel more than deserves my feed-back. I could not have been more satisfied!

Rotten Hotel

from A TripAdvisor Member
Rotten Hotel. Would rate as a one star.
On arrival

Dried urine all over toilet seat
Only cold tap working in sink
Pubic hair in my bed (gross)
No undersheets
Stained mattress
Chipboard furniture, very scabby
No curtains, just venetian blinds
Horrible condensation problem
One office chair in triple room
3 beds squashed together
and yes.........I was bitten by something too!!!

Breakfast was fine, staff pleasant, couldn't wait to get out of there.

s not so bad!

from LHathaway
I read the reviews here after I'd booked the hotel on another site so I was a little worried about what I'd find at the hotel. I'm pleased to say that I was surprised by the quality of the hotel. It's not the most luxurious hotel in the world but it's clean and comfortable and in an excellent location (close to tube station, bars and restaurants but in a leafy street with no traffic noise).
The breakfast was adequate - mostly cereals and toast but as it was included in our room rate I did not mind. If I had paid the £5 extra however I'd have expected better. The rooms were a little worn and scruffy and our blinds did not work.
If you want somewhere cheap to crash after a hard day enjoying all London has to offer then I would have no hesitation in recommending the Ambassadors. I'd definitely stay there again. If you are looking for luxury then you might need to pay a bit more and go elsewhere!

Not good!

from A TripAdvisor Member
When walking into the room for the first time there was an awful smell of damp and this was noticable on the walls. Had to keep window open to try and get rid of the smell. Paint flaking off the walls, especially in the bathroom and the room badly needed redecorating. Apart from the awful room the staff were friendly and the breakfast was fine.

Stay out of the basement rooms!

from A TripAdvisor Member
My husband and I were given a basement room and we kept the window open during the night because the weather was warm and the rooms are not air conditioned. On the second night, someone climbed in through the window and stole 250 British pounds and a credit card while we slept. The police responded to our call promptly and professionally, but the response from the hotel was appalling. Apart from allowing us to move to a room on an upper floor, the hotel staff and manager seemed unconcerned with the theft and our welfare. Perhaps this is a common occurrence at the Ambassadors hotel?

Our new room did not have a phone, so we had to place calls at a pay phone in the lobby and go to the reception desk to report any problems.

We feel fortunate that we were unharmed and that the thief did not get our passports or wallets, but we will definitely not stay in this hotel again.

Did these people stay at the same place I did?!

from Stef_NYC
Feel badly for the other critics here, but I thought the hotel was totally fine for the price! My room (a double) was clean, albeit very small. No curtains either to really block the light (just blinds), but certainly no insects to speak of. Safe didn't work in the room either and yes, the hotel room card took a few times to work. Thought the staff were pretty friendly too? Decent breakfast. I've travelled extensively too so I know what I'm talking about. It was ok!

More Bed Bugs

from A TripAdvisor Member
Like another of your contributors we also experienced the bed bugs in Ambassadors Hotel. Waking up on the first morning we noticed that we had been bitten and then found bed bugs crawling on the bed. Left two samples with the Receptionist and got moved to another room. Noticed one live bed bug clinging to clothing later when we were out and about. After returning home the following week I found another live one in my suitcase. Research revealed that these were "Cimex Lectularius." Not a pleasant experience!

One of worsed hotels Iv ever stayed at

from JeffreyMelbourne
we booked though a traifinders in Australia on octomber 03 for a booking in 04, we requested a double room and got a twin, then on entering the room this is what we found.......

Mould on the bathroom roof
Bare light globe in bathroom
Two empty light fittings in bedroom
No sink plug
No bath plug
Hair on shower fitting
Cracked unstable shower head
Bathroom floor not clean
Very heavy, constant dripping coming from the bath tap (we had to put a towel under the tap to allow us to sleep)
Bedroom floor not vacumed (very dirty)

The single beds were very very uncomfortable and very small

We had two plastic glasses in the bathroom on arrival, when one split (after two days) I asked for a replacement and was told I could not have one, but I could take a coffee cup from the breakfast room if I liked,

I have emailed the hotel and the owners with my complaints and have not to date recieved reply.

Top Local Tips for London

Travel cards If you are traveling with a family, don't waste a second in getting the Train / Coach family travel passes. For travel within London, the Oyster seemed to beat all other travel cards. And Children under 11 travel free on the tube when accompanied by an adult. When traveling inter-city, National Express Family card pays you back pretty quickly. On the trains, the Family card does the same.

underground use a 1 day travelcard on the u'ground

Ambassadors Hotel Stay away from the Ambassadors hotel in Collingham St. There are much better hotels in London.


Other names for Ambassadors Hotel

  • ambassadors hotel london
  • Address: 16 Collingham Road - London - England - SW5 0LX - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 531 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Ambassadors Hotel