Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel

, Leicester, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Leicester

Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel

Rooms: 188

129 St Nicholas Circle - Leicester - England - LE1 5LX - United Kingdom Hotel Website | 44 01162531161
186 Traveller

Reviews - Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel

Rather soulless, a bit tatty, bad location, you can do better for the price

from coopuk
I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Leicester (St.Nicholas Court) in the first week of June 2007, on business. I was referred by the agency that books hotels for my company. The cost of the room was £102 per night.

It has to be said that the hotel is an awkward position - right in the middle of a roundabout with 3 lanes of traffic - and trying to access it in rush hour was not pleasant. There were no signposts on joining the roundabout to indicate how to get to the hotel - the best way it to go to the inside lane and stay there, driving round until you eventually find the slip road off the roundabout to the hotel.

Once off the roundabout, you have to park in an NCP car park opposite the hotel. This isn't immediately obvious, and a sign indicating that as you drive in would have been very useful.

From the outside, the hotel is nothing to write about - just a rather drab 70's style tower block. The surrounding area is very drab and tired as well... not a promising start.

The reception is clean and spacious, and very welcoming. Staff were very friendly and efficient - checkin was quick and with no problems. When I needed directions to go into town, the staff on the desk were EXTREMELY helpful - I cannot fault them!

The room I had was on the 8th floor - an executive room with two double beds. Very spacious, and the beds and chairs were comfortable. However, there were a number of niggling things wrong with the room:

- tired, rather grubby carpets
- large ripped hole in the screen sheet at the window
- hairs from the previous occupant in the bathroom (!)
- table light not working
- incredibly old and noisy air conditioning, and I mean REALLY noisy - there is no way anyone could sleep with that going!
- telephone with half of the pads missing
- tired paintwork throughout the room
- very small television, considering it was supposedly an executive room
- old and obsolete fittings in the bathroom

The room did offer internet access (£15 for 24 hours), which was useful. I also went down to the pool; it is more of a family pool, not very deep, and more suitable for children than for swimming. There is a jacuzzi and sauna avilable, as well as a small gym.

It wasn't dreadful, but on the other hand it wasn't that good either. It wasn't the kind of place that made me think, "the next time I am in the srea, I will try and book in here". A combination of location plus the state of the room means I am unlikely to return.


- central to Leicester
- good pool for kids
- decent bar area


- poor room standard in my opinion
- not easy to get to via car


I think you can do better in the Leicester area for much the same price.
Management Response from DRGM
Thank you for taking the time to write the review of your stay at the hotel.
I was disappointed to read that our facilities did not meet our usual high standard and would ask that you contact me with the specific room number so that I can ensure we can take remedial action.

Shabby Inn

from linc82
Visiting from the US on a whirlwind tour of Europe. The property is very schizophrenic - located in the center of town, but not very accomodating to walkers coming back from town as it's hidden in shrubbery and surrounded by lanes of cars zipping by. The lobby and ground floor are tidy and modern, but the rest of the hotel is extremely dated.

I don't expect much in a hotel, but I do expect it to be clean, and my room was dingy. The bathroom had once been white, but now gray. The towels were torn and thin. I was excited about the hot pot in the room until I opened the lid and found it dirty inside with lime scale. The provided china was only relatively clean. There was a hair (not mine) on the pillow. Overall, the room was worn - I got the distinct sense that people had been there shortly before and left their mark. I don't consider myself picky, but for the price I certainly wouldn't stay here again.
Management Response from DRGM
Thank you for submitting your review.

I was disappointed to read your comments and apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

I will be contacting you directly to get further details and ensure we take action so that the cleanliness issue does not reoccur.


from JMAKCoAntrim
Stayed in this hotel for a 4 month period recently almost every week, subject to availability.
There are some reviews on this site regarding the food/ situation of hotel (on roundabout)/ size of gym and pool.
Admittedly I have stayed in hotels which provided better evening meals (breakfast was great), hotels where you dont get as much traffic noise and hotels which have better leisure facilities BUT............
let's be honest here - there are certainly not many 3* hotels in abundance within walking distance of the City Centre. I have stayed in three other hotels in Leicester and the Holiday Inn is the best of them all.
So all in all if you have to stay in Leicester I would certainly recommend this Hotel for the following reasons :
- the staff are excellent and extremely helpful
- the rooms are clean and comfortable
- the bar area has a bit of atmosphere about it
- it's location is great for access to the city centre
I have mentioned the staff and when I wanted anything NOTHING was ever too much trouble. The reception staff seem well organised as express check-outs were always correct/ newspapers always delivered each morning etc etc....
Also if you are going to stay for a sustained period of time sign up to the Priority Club membership - some good benefits.
A word of warning though if you have a car parked in the NCP - be extremely carefull not to leave anything on view as break-ins are a regular occurrence.
Management Response from DRGM
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is always refreshing to hear comments such as yours and please rest assured they will be communicated to the team.

Uninspiring Process

from CloudCottage
An indifferent stay in common with so many similar hotels. One could really be anywhere! Efficient but entirely unremarkable. It is a shame that this group doesn't provide Sky Sports in bedrooms as it is most uncomfortable for a lady traveller to have to watch it in the bar - the same goes for hsia.
Management Response from DRGM
Thank you for submitting a review on our hotel and providing feedback. We have regular reviews of our products and services and I will ensure your comments regarding Sky Sports are included.
High Speed Internet Access is provided in all guest rooms and both wired & wireless access is available in the public areas.

Does exactly what it says on the tin

from Phil01895
Friendly, efficient chain hotel, clean room and central location. Can't go wrong really!

Worth staying in

from NB1957
Comfortable and reasonably well located. The Leisure facilities were quite good as well. The only negative observation that I would make is that it is located on a traffic island and if you are on foot that is not so good, you take your life in your hands crossing the road to get to it.
Management Response from DRGM
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
We appreciate your comments regarding access to the hotel and can assure you that guest safety is our utmost concern. The city is undergoing constant regeneration and we will ensure that your comments are fed in to the process.

This place is a convenient, friendly, DUMP

from dde0apb
This place is convenient for Leicester city Centre. The staff are friendly and want to be helpful. That's the good bit.

The location is on a traffic island next to an NCP Car Park. This meant that when I wanted to open the window because the room smelt musty it was too noisy. The basin was stained brown. The food for breakfast was very very average. The internet connection was 15 quid, and when asked if I had had a good stay I told the nice receptionist that I thought it was a rip off she said they had no choice since that's what the supplier said that had to charge. Well change your supplier then.

I would much rather stay here than on a park bench. But I would much rather stay in most other hotels in this price range than the Holiday Inn Leicester. I paid the same for this as the City Inn in Birmingham, and the Radisson SAS in Liverpool. There is simply no comparison.
Management Response from DRGM
Thank you for your review and feedback. We were disappointed to read your comments and please rest assured we will review them internally to ensure that we take remedial action.

alright still

from lexman
The staff are very friendly and helpful and it the location is perfect if you want to view the city centre. The rooms are very clean.

Good Price, friendly staff

from MandyNW
Stayed here with friends as a girls reunion weekend two weeks ago. I was first to arrive at 1.30pm, the room wasn't ready yet but the nice girl at reception apologised for the delay and took me through to the bar ('New England' themed, not offensive to the eye or anything) and gave me a complimentary drink whilst I waited - nice touch. The exterior of the hotel is a little grim, and next to a NCP car park which provides a convenient cheap space for your car (£2.50 for 24 hours for hotel residents). However the hotel is fine inside, clean, all staff friendly, young, mainly east european people who were very helpful. My friends arrived and we went to our room - a double double, which we'd got for £120 for two nights - £15 a night each! The room had adequate space for four grown women, was clean, had a fairly quiet air-con unit. Mini-bar with reasonable prices, large clean bathroom. We had to phone down for more towels each day, but they were delivered within 10 minutes by a porter who didn't even hang around long enough to get a tip! We didn't eat in the restaurant or have breakfast, but we did have a few beers in the bar (some decent selections for a mainstream hotel chain) and had coffees and danish for four people one morning (just over £10 for the 4 of us, which is reasonable).Couldn't hear the traffic at night, despite the hotel being in the centre of a busy traffic island. Well located, only 5 mins walk into town, and easy to find if you're driving. Had no bother from rooms either side or noise in the corridors, despite the fact the hotel was packed due to a wedding reception.

All in all, a bargain. This place is ideal if you're on a budget, is of a good standard, with friendly staff etc. Would come again if I needed to visit Leics with friends. Wouldn't use it for a romantic break, as it isn't special enough for that, and if I were on business I'd want my company to stump up for something a bit swankier than this, but perfect for the weekend I was on.

Oh dear...

from noonie
I have nothing against older hotels but this place exudes a 1960's drabness that is hard to achieve unless you really try very hard. Most things are "tired", including the staff, and ICH hotels really need to consider demolishing and starting again. To be fair, nothing is terribly awful, but then nothing is terribly good. My room stank of smoke, despite being a non-smoking room and the bed had a large cavity in the middle that may now involve pilgrimages by dozens of children, perhaps now in their teenage years, celebrating their (less than immaculate) conception.

Top Local Tips for Leicester

Dull, dull, dull Leicester railway station is awful - soulless and dull. Get in and out of there PRONTO

Car Parking Book car parking with your room booking, save some cash over the NCP standard charge.

Twin Lakes If you have young children twin lakes is a real hit, Cheap and fantastic and even if the weather is bad there is still loads under cover.


Other names for Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel

  • leicester holiday inn
  • holiday inn leicester
  • Address: 129 St Nicholas Circle - Leicester - England - LE1 5LX - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 186 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Holiday Inn Leicester Hotel