The Avonmouth Hotel

, Christchurch, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Christchurch

  • Ocean View Hotel East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, England 6.5/10 - 33 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 52 Rooms
  • The White Buck Inn Hotel Bisterne Close, Ringwood, England 8.0/10 - 62 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 7 Rooms
  • Cliffeside Hotel East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, England 7.0/10 - 215 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 61 Rooms
  • Bay View Court Hotel 35 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, England 6.0/10 - 21 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 64 Rooms
  • East Cliff Cottage Hotel 57 Grove Road, Bournemouth, England 8.0/10 - 101 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 10 Rooms
  • Mayfair Hotel 27 Bath Road, Bournemouth, England 7.0/10 - 43 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 40 Rooms
  • Marsham Court Hotel Russell Cotes Road, Bournemouth, England 9.0/10 - 133 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 87 Rooms
  • Tower House Hotel West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth, England 8.0/10 - 52 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 50 Rooms
  • The Hermitage Hotel Exeter Road, Bournemouth, England 9.0/10 - 391 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 75 Rooms
  • Whitehall Hotel Exeter Park Road, Bournemouth, England 7.8/10 - 34 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 46 Rooms
  • Arlington Hotel Exeter Park Road, Bournemouth, England 8.1/10 - 30 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 28 Rooms
  • Norfolk Royale Classic Hotel Richmond Hill, Bournemouth, England 8.0/10 - 278 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 95 Rooms
  • The Trouville Hotel Priory Road, Bournemouth, England 7.0/10 - 101 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 77 Rooms
  • Bourne Hall Hotel 14 Priory Road, Bournemouth, England 5.0/10 - 83 reviews 50 Rooms
  • Bonnington Hotel 44 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth, England 8.0/10 - 136 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 20 Rooms

The Avonmouth Hotel

, Christchurch
3 star

Rooms: 40

95 Mudeford - Christchurch - England - BH23 3NT - United Kingdom Hotel Website | | 44 01202483434
356 Traveller

Reviews - The Avonmouth Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of The Avonmouth Hotel

This is a boutique wannabe...but it misses the mark. Lots of quirks.

from SoCalTraveler102938
The rooms are quite small, but that is not uncommon for the UK. Lighting in the rooms is abysmal. No air conditioning, and while it was quite cool outside my room was very, very warm even though the radiator was turned off. The only way to be comfortable was to open the window, but there was a walkway directly in front of the window which meant that anyone could just crawl right in. There was no possibility of closing the window at night without baking, so I left it open and tied the inside shutters together with a bathrobe tie. Ridiculous. Hot breakfast is not served until after any normal business person leaves for work, so you better be happy with cereal. Also, be prepared to have to get your door key reprogrammed every day...mine never worked for more than one day. I checked out at 6:30 a.m. and was told that I could not get a receipt printed until 7:15. What is up with that? The one redeeming feature of this hotel is that it is right next to Rhodes South, which is a fantastic restaurant.

t book your wedding there

from missanougie
basically, the hotel is lovely. there is nothing not to like.
but the staff are happy to completley ruin your wedding plans.
Management Response from andythetraveller
I am sorry I am unable to find you on our Wedding calendar. So i do not understand your complaint.

We have a large number of weddings at our hotel and proud of the reputation we hold as a premier wedding venue. I am sorry that you felt you had to write this review rather than talk to me direct. If you had the opportunity to call me at the hotel I would be please to listen to your review as it was a little vage.

t wait to go back

from Lisa-m
My husband booked the gold deluxe room for 2 nights for my birthday and it was lovely. We were lucky enough to have fantastic weather and enjoyed the large terrace adjacent to the room. The room was great with free wifi and an ipod docking station. The staff even left me chocolates and a card for my birthday which was a nice surprise. We ate at the new Rhodes South restaurant which was brilliant... cannot wait to go back again. The bar was great although my husband raised an eyebrow when I started ordering champagne :-). The hotel is in a lovely position with Mudeford Quay just a short stroll away. I had a couple of treatments at the spa which were good value and very relaxing. I would highly recommend this hotel although I cannot comment on the standard rooms.

Excellent Stay

from LondonDesa
My boyfriend and I just returned from a vist to this hotel. We opted for the Spa package, that can be found on the hotel website which included the room (which we upgraded to Gold), 1 spa treatment for each, dinner and breakfast. The room was very nice - great view, clean, plush and a bed that was extremely comfortable. The temp in the room was a bit hot in the night and would have been nice to have a sheet on the bed as the duvet was quite heavy. The dinner was above expectations (best meal in quite a while for both of us) and the staff were very accomodating. The spa was also great and not too busy. We enjoyed the hydrotherapy and swimming pool and just relaxing in the different rooms. We used the SPA treaments the next morning and were very satisfied with these. We would go back and think it was an excellent value.
Management Response from andythetraveller
Thank you for your kind comments, it is wonderful that you enjoyed the Spa and restaurant. We have teken note of the duvet / sheets for the room, we value the feedback and will see what we can do to reduce the climate of the room (it is difficult to predict the weather at the moment, snow - 15'c in one month). We are some fantastic new spa breaks available and we look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Andy

Lovely hotel

from jjwiff
Excellent hotel. Refurb is now finished. It's very plush and nicely done up. Amazing spa and good restaurant (although not as good as Rhodes next door!) Amazing view and scenery. Staff very friendly. Make sure you don't get a room next to the building site! (Although that looks like it's almost finished) Overalll recommended.

Beware of the hot rooms!

from zorrobear
We have just returned from an overnight stay. We first went to the hotel about 10 yrs ago, and have regularly returned. Yes, a refurbishment was long overdue, but what has been gained in some areas mean losses in others. As we had a last minute booking, could only secure a 'bronze' room. First impressions were great. Part of the new wing, with a super bed loaded with pillows, cushions, fluffy duvet, and a silky comforter. The bathroom was divine, great walk in shower, good smellies, but the lighting a bit too low.

We went off to sleep OK, but 2 hrs later, woke up absolutely roasting, despite having the radiator on the lowest setting. There is no temperature control in the room.Off came the duvet, and in desperation we used the spare blanket in the cupboard. We could not open the window, as we overlooked the road & car park, which were quite noisy being a Saturday evening. We ended up with more bedding on the floor than on the bed!
I have written all this on the feedback card in the hotel. How do they think their guests will manage in the summer, I have asked them. It was about 2c the night we stayed there! The girl on reception said they have had quite a few comments about the rooms being too warm.

The outlook on the harbour has been decimated by the building of the Rhodes restaurant. The old family rooms, which also had splendid views, have been sold off & demolished . This is where new flats are being built next door. Presumably the money from this has funded the refurbishments. It is nice to see the new leisure facilities, etc, but it has come at a price, and in many ways the place has lost some of its' character.


from Wiltsgal
We stayed at the Christchurch Harbour hotel over New Year 2008/9. I booked it on Last the week before Christmas and it was excellent value, two nights B & B. It was clear the hotel had undergone a huge amount of refurbishment and I'm glad we had the chance to stay when it was just completed. The refurbished rooms are of a high standard, the spa/pool area was lovely and relaxing and staff were friendly and accomodating. We have even considered booking our wedding venue there although when I recommended them to a friend of mine who lives near Bournemouth and was looking for a wedding venue, she visited it and has booked her wedding. I've also recommended it to a few more people. The breakfast was lovely and the dinning room overlooks the harbour. Even though it was a cloudy day it was lovely and will be even more so on the summer months. Bar prices were reasonable also. We didn't eat dinner there but would have no hesitation in doing so. Will definately be using them again.

Wait until the builders have left

from jeandominey
First impressions are good, beautiful lounge, nicely decorated and furnished public areas, great mood lighting and very clean and new.

The leisure centre has a nice swimming pool, though it feels small when there are about six people swimming,great sauna and steam rooms,well equipped gym and lovely clean changing room facilities.My only concern is the very dim / low lighting which has obvious health and safety implications.

The main hotel is undergoing the latter stages of a full refurbishment which has clearly been in progress for some considerable time.

We were allocated a gold room in the new built wing and I have to say what a lovely room it was.Very comfortable bed, beautifully decorated, nicely furnished and a smart stylish bathroom. Shame about the small television but a minor detail.

Yes there were clearly a few teething problems here, but nothing drastic just that certain items did not work or were missing.
We were surprised at a lack of a fridge in a newly built room which can be a problem for guests on insulin and yes the pillows,despite having six on the bed were very thin.

My main issue is that when you pay good money to stay in a hotel you dont expect the builders to be all around you and above and below the room you have been allocated.

They started work at 7.30am and this is unfair on any guest.
Drills,nail guns and general shouting and slamming doors followed by the fire alarm going off is not acceptable and we were not happy and complained.

There is still a lot of work going on in public areas, a new lift being installed,hall carpets are covered in plastic, walls covered in wet plasterwork, etc etc etc.

Not forgetting that right next door a huge block of flats is in the very early days of construction in what looks like the former grounds of the hotel.
Currently in a shell like state I would anticipate about a year from completion.

We had dinner here on our first evening and at £32.75 per person for three small courses and £26 for an ordinary bottle of Beaujolais Nouveau we thought was overpriced.
Having said that is was cooked nicely and beautifully served in a nouvelle cuissine style.

We would not recommend the restaurant if you expect a large plate of food, very much fine dining but lacking content ( e.g. vegetables ) and whatever happened to table cloths and candles at dinner which one would expect at this price !!

Breakfast was very nice,all the usual choices and a very attentative waitress.Excellent.

Overall, we liked the hotel and we will return but probably not for at least a year when all the building works have been completed.( Including the block of flats next door) as we liked the location and the ambience of the hotel.

slowly getting there-will be worth it

from mlyn
I saw a special offer on a local website and contacted the hotel directly. The girl on Reservations explained that the older rooms were still not refurbished but were now fitted with quality bedding and linens etc. The new rooms were still having work done around them-but this would not interfere with our stay. The new room 214 was indeed very chic and luxurious with french windows (no balcony) opening on to a sea view. There was also a beautifully fitted bathroom. We did not eat in the hotel- there is a "Gary Rhodes" restaurant with a table d'hote meal of £32.95 for three coursesin the evening. All the staff were friendly and eager to please. There were a few minor hic-cups with late delivery of newspapers and a mix up with a room service supper delivery, but everything was put right immediately. If you have a chance to stay now in the new rooms, take your chance. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. When this hotel is fully renovated it will be a hot property,

t be fooled by the foyer!

from fruitytooty1
This place looks ok from the outside and the foyer/lounge area is impressive having undergone a recent refurbishment. Sadly, the moment you wlak up to the bedrooms it all changes. The room I had (15) was to the front looking out to the road. It is shabby to say the least, and not shabby chic! It looks like it hasn't been done up since the early 1980's. The bed had a really horrid thin mattress and everything was ready to be chucked in a skip. I asked to be moved to a better room but the are all the same, awaiting new rooms in December 2008. The images on the website are definately not a truerepresentation of reality. My food was raw when it arrived. The service was good though, plenty of staff who could not do more to help.

Other names for The Avonmouth Hotel

  • the christchurch harbour hotel
  • Address: 95 Mudeford - Christchurch - England - BH23 3NT - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 356 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near The Avonmouth Hotel