Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

, Chester, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Chester

Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

, Chester
3 star

Rooms: 15

St Johns Street - Chester - England - CH1 1NL - United Kingdom | 44 01244323186
264 Traveller

Reviews - Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

Great location shame about everything else!

from Jrasher
I picked this hotel because of its central location; for the guest on foot, perhaps travelling down by train this is ideal. I however travelled by car! The hotel is on a one way street and you have to travel way around the city to access the front of the hotel - there is no car park so you have to put your car in the NCP car park around the corner - there is a discount from the hotel - but they forgot to give me the right ticket so I had to pay £9.60! Also the distance to the hotel carrying your bag to the car park is problematic. The rooms need a good wipe and dust, the bedding had holes in it, the shower curtain was covered in mould. I was glad I was only staying two nights. You can hear Chester's finest in the early hours of the morning singing as they leave the bars under your bedroom window. I ate out in the evening (the hotel has a restaurant but no one ate in it when we were there) but the one good thing is that breakfast was good. Give this one a miss!
Management Response from KHalewood
The hotel was refurbished between November 2006 and March 2007. £3 million was spent to bring the hotel back to its former glory and the hotel now operates as a 4* hotel facility. Please give us another chance if you have not stayed since the refurbishment. Thank you.

One night more than enough..

from BiffaB
Pleased my stay was only for one night - the hotel has a very tired and run down appearance, particularly in the corridor area and the (somewhat scary) ancient lifts. Room cleanliness was OK and of a decent size, but all the furnishings were worn and very little in the way of comfort, including the bed itself.
My bathroom window did not even have any curtain or blind, therefore, the upper floor of the shops opposite would have been able to view me showering, if they had been open!!
My room overlooked the road and though there was no traffic issues heard noise at various points from late night revellers outside (even though it was only a Tuesday night)
Bar area small and unwelcoming, particularly as smoking allowed- much better going to a nearby pub.
One positive, the breakfast room was pleasant and the food/ service both good.
For £78 a room, you can find a lot better value elsewhere, though you cannot argue with its central location.
Management Response from KHalewood
The hotel was refurbished between November 2006 and March 2007. £3 million was spent to bring the hotel back to its former glory, and the hotel now operates as a 4* hotel facility. Please give us another chance if you have not stayed since the refurbishment. Thank you.

Location, Location, Location

from radclife
situated right in the heart of chester, so saved money on any cab fares. Room was £60 per night which I thought, given other reviews was very reasonable. Room was generally clean but tired and worn. No atmosphere what so ever...in the evening it was like a morgue, no ambient music in the lobby or bar area (which looked like 1970's working mans club)...night porter helpful although somewhat of a tease!! Asked if they had any sandwiches available he said they did but as we were hadn't a credit card reservation he couldn't give us any, as they didn't take cash.....Breakfast was fine...altho I'd make a good guess and suggest that it's microwaved.
Macdonalds group pull your finger out. this could be a wonderful hotel.......if you can't be bothered with it sell it on to someone who could turn this into a real gem!
Management Response from KHalewood
The hotel was refurbished between November 2006 and March 2007. £3 million was spent to bring the hotel back to its former glory, and the hotel now operates as a 4* hotel facility. Please give us another chance if you have not stayed since the refurbishment. Thank you.

Nothing here is Blossoming !

from Smudger_by_the_Sea
I'll keep this short....

Tired
Shabby
Dirty
Not fragrant
Below average service
No car park (park at the NCP and have fun walking through the shopping centre with your luggage)

Chester benefits from a lot of tourists, and this hotel has clearly decided it has a captive audience and can't be bothered to maintain standards.
Management Response from KHalewood
The hotel was refurbished between November 2006 and March 2007. £3 million was spent to bring the hotel back to its former glory, and the hotel now operates as a 4* hotel facility. Please give us another chance if you have not stayed since the refurbishment. Thank you.

no excuse for dirt - avoid!!

from TL29
What a dump! Rooms were full of cobwebs, the toilet was dirty. Despite the fact that it was included in the price, we decided that if the rest of the hotel was that dirty, then the breakfast was best avoided!!

On arrival the one member of staff on reception was very helpful and capable, in fact she was the best thing about our stay. However the girl on the night / morning shift was sullen and downright rude.

The final straw was that despite the fact that we were staying at the hotel, we were not allowed to use the hotel bar and pay cash because we didnt have credit cards.

Totally antiquated and not cheap either! AVOID!!
Management Response from KHalewood
The hotel was refurbished between November 2006 and March 2007. £3 million was spent to bring the hotel back to its former glory, and the hotel now operates as a 4* hotel facility. Please give us another chance if you have not stayed since the refurbishment. Thank you.

Tired hotel

from lexI_t
This hotel is in an excellent location for Chester centre- it is handy for shops, bars and restaurants alike. However, the hotel itself was tired, with the look of one needing a renovation several years ago! I am surprised the Macdonald chain, (where I have previously had all good experiences), allowed thios hotel to reach this state of disrepair. The staff were very good, attentive at all times. Our room just about passed, as it was very clean although had peeling ceilings and window sills and completely lacked a fire plan. The main problem was the hotel itself, dull would be the best word in my opinion. The vegetarian breakfast my partner ordered was inconsistent- startng from the first morning as good, declined to appalling by the final morning. On expressing our opinions the staff were apologetic and obviously subjected ot many negative opinions, so much so we felt sorry for them having to take the criticism for the Macdonald chain's obvious disregard for this hotel!
Management Response from KHalewood
The hotel was refurbished between November 2006 and March 2007. £3 million was spent to bring the hotel back to its former glory, and the hotel now operates as a 4* hotel facility. Please give us another chance if you have not stayed since the refurbishment. Thank you.

Very poor

from suzyblew
THE GOOD:The hotel is situated in a great location in the centre of town. They also offer discounted parking at £6 per day which is very reasonable.

THE BAD: On arrival, a group of 3 people travelling together took the hotel over 10 minutes to check in. There was only one person on the reception and apparently no one to help. There was no offer of help with bags or to show where the rooms were. Corridors are very tired and in need of serious updating. Decoration in the rooms was just about acceptable although still persisted with the dubiously clean bedspreads, blanket and single sheet combo.

As our stay occurred during the UK heatwave, we experience quite a bit of discomfort. As an old hotel it doesn't have air con but to be fair they did provide a fan when asked. The hotel has old sash windows with full net curtains. Unofruntately they were covered in spots of bird poo which was pretty gross. It was also a bit noisy due to everyone having their windows open, but not too bad.

The cooked breakfast the next morning was again just about Ok, however the cold buffet was very poor. Toast was provided but no butter, no glasses etc but worst of all the furniture was so stained that the seat covers looked like someone had a fight with the brown sauce.

All in all the place just felt a bit grubby, but not so bad you wouldn't stay there. If the room rate were £50 a night, I would say they got away with it but for £100 it is completely unacceptable. Given the fact you can get a room at the 5 star Grovesnor from £140 go there and get twice the quality of food, service and accommodation
Management Response from KHalewood
The hotel was refurbished between November 2006 and March 2007. £3 million was spent to bring the hotel back to its former glory, and the hotel now operates as a 4* hotel facility. Please give us another chance if you have not stayed since the refurbishment. Thank you.

Old hotel thats needs to be updateed....good location though...

from rex_edmund
We stayed here for night last June and the place is rather old for me.. The beds are very uncomfortable and the place is just too old to be of service. At least the bathrooms are clean and usable. Stay elsewhere if you can.
Management Response from KHalewood
The hotel was refurbished between November 2006 and March 2007. £3 million was spent to bring the hotel back to its former glory, and the hotel now operates as a 4* hotel facility. Please give us another chance if you have not stayed since the refurbishment. Thank you.

Blossoms never bloomed

from MrSquonky
Our room was booked for 2 nights bed, breakfast and evening meal. Turns out they don't have a restaurant for meals in the evening.. despite the brochure we had AND the macdonalds web site saying that they do.
I was offered 2 nights in the Craxton Wood sister hotel outside of Chester but this defeated the object of being in the city, (we were going to the races and wanted to have a few drinks later, a walk in the city the following day etc..).
Where we offered an upgrade? No. Did we get our papers or a single complementary drink? No and neither were offered.
The rooms have no air-con, the entire hotel looks is in dire need of decoration, paint was peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom and towels were stained. Music from a function down below could be heard three floors up.
The TV had just the 5 terrestrial channels without even teletext - showing just how outdated this hotel is. The breakfast was nice but that's about it.
If we hadn't been going to the races the following day I reckon we would have just turned and come home.
Management Response from KHalewood
The hotel was refurbished between November 2006 and March 2007. £3 million was spent to bring the hotel back to its former glory, and the hotel now operates as a 4* hotel facility. Please give us another chance if you have not stayed since the refurbishment. Thank you.

Great location, but needs updating

from A TripAdvisor Member
We booked 5 rooms at the hotel for my hen do, we wanted something very central and were very happy with the location of the hotel. However it was not very good value for money. We paid £120 per room, no breakfast included, some of our rooms were tiny and some were very large yet they were all the same price????? The decor is very tired looking and needs updating, the rooms were clean though. The staff were very polite and helpful, one of the rooms we booked was supposed to be a triple but when we checked in it was a twin, where they would have out the extra bed I do not know, but when we queried it we were moved to a suite at no extra cost. (£150 for the triple)
I would recommend the hotel for its location but dont expect anything too grand, it is a basic hotel in need of a complete rennovation.
Management Response from KHalewood
The hotel was refurbished between November 2006 and March 2007. £3 million was spent to bring the hotel back to its former glory, and the hotel now operates as a 4* hotel facility. Please give us another chance if you have not stayed since the refurbishment. Thank you.

Top Local Tips for Chester

Great City Break Many historical attractions (well presented), excellent shopping (wife and wallet vouch for it), terrific pubs and restaurants

Historic Brilliant City with loads of history.

Savings Always ring hotel direct for better savings

(hotels)loading

Other names for Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

  • macdonald new blossoms chester
  • hotel macdonald new blossoms
  • Address: St Johns Street - Chester - England - CH1 1NL - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
7.0/10

See All 264 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel