Balmer Lawn Hotel

, Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Brockenhurst

Balmer Lawn Hotel

, Brockenhurst
3 star

Rooms: 55

Lyndhurst Road - Brockenhurst - England - SO42 7ZB - United Kingdom Hotel Website | | 44 01590623116
311 Traveller

Reviews - Balmer Lawn Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Balmer Lawn Hotel

Pleasant country hotel in the New Forest

from Lee38
I stayed at this hotel whilst attending a course through work. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised - the hotel was actually very nice and I was very happy with my room - one of the refurbished four poster rooms.

The food in the restaurant was good and I enjoyed the breakfast. The decor in the dining room is a bit bizarre though - a bit of a hybrid between classic and modern.

There is a nice bar in the hotel with a fire you can sit round - be warned though drinks here are really expensive - almost £7 for a glass of wine!

There is a small pool and jacuzzi at the hotel but I didn't use these so can't comment on these.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes from Brockenhurst main street and right in the middle of the New Forest so an excellent location from which to enjoy the local countryside.

Great Hotel- shame about the room!

from A TripAdvisor Member
I was really looking forward to a nice quiet stay at this hotel. On first impressions, the location, style and ambience seemed perfect. I had booked a table at the hotel restauarant which was lovely. Im a fussy eater and dont often go for posh food but I managed to find something which suited my taste.
To round off a perfect evening, I retired to my room to relax. The room was comfortable and was decorated to a moderate standard. Some paint was peeling from the ceiling making it feel a little tatty but this did not bother me. What did bother me though was the loud music and sound of laughter bellowing up from the floor. Our room (No6) was directly over a function room. I called down on several occassions to ask what the din was and was told that it would soon stop. It did, about 1 hour and a half later at 2300. This was not how I planned my stay. It was like being stuck in a flat with noisy anti social neigbours. Not relaxing at all. I had booked a late check out but my stay had been ruined so much that I canceled this and left as soon as possible the next day.If you get room 6, be warned. I have emailed the hotel in relation to this but no reply has been received as yet.

Had a Fantastic Weekend Away

from N_J_Edwards
After reading the reviews of this hotel I was slightly apprehensive about staying at the hotel. We arrived on the Sat night to the music from a grand Piano-fantastic as we were looking for a romantic weekend away. The overall atmosphere/Decor of the hotel is slightly "old fashioned" but just enough to make it more regal and special than just another renovated old hotel.
Unfortunately we were put in one of the non-refurbished rooms and I was unimpressed. As the other reviews say- they are quite terrible. However after making my unhappiness known we were uprgraded to a refurbished family room that was fantastic. Large, nicely decorated and of high quality.
The swimming pool/jucuzzi/changing room area were nice and provided a relaxing end to the day.
The bar area is also very comfortable and cosy.
Dinner was what I was expecting from the price range- mid/high end quality and the wine was nice for only £15. Breakfast was also strong- full english/continental/ fruit juices etc etc- didnt go hungry.
Service was also very good. The polish(i think) waiters were fine and the English hotel staff were very helpful and highly professional and organised.
Great location if youre looking for a trip to the new forest + also a nice break for couples if you want a nice hotel with a pool, but also want to go for a walk in the forest. £67 per night for great room, great service, leisure facilities AND location. Couldnt beat it.


from bamboos
Arrived at a great looking hotel for a two night New Year's Eve stay. Entered the hotel, piano playing, a lovely atmosphere.

We had three double rooms booked, two of which on the third floor - rooms 42 & 43 - which were like going back into some timewarp. They were very dated. The bathroom - the tops were missing off the tops of taps so you didn't know whether they were hot or cold. The bath panel had all the paint pealing off. The shower head was leaking. The boarder of the wallpaper in the bedrooms was pealing off in several places and the room furniture looked liked something out of a second hand shop. There was also a hole in the wall, and when you opened the wardrobe, the door fell off. There was tack sticking out of the chair in the room, which could cause some damage. This was pointed out to the manager who said it would be changed, but whilst we were there it was never changed. Both rooms were of identical decor. They gave us a bottle of champagne for each room to compensate. If it was not for the fact that we had paid up front and it was New Year's Eve, we would have left the hotel at that moment. There were not any better rooms to offer us.

All the staff were of eastern block nationality, some spoke better English than others, but on the whole this was not a problem.

The gala dinner was very disappointing to say the least, and on New Year's Day for breakfast there was no bacon! And the hot food laid out buffet style was dry and not very appetising. We were not alone in our complaints, other guests received bottles of champagne and some even received flowers.

The management said that they were refurbishing the rooms however reading some of the reports on this site they appear to be doing this for the past 18 months. It's funny when you find something wrong, you keep looking and find more and more things that are not right. I could write a book about this, but I am awaiting a reply from the hotel before I comment further.

This was not a cheap two day break, it was very very expensive and not at all value for money. I was embarressed to have taken our friends there.


However, the hotel is in a great location.


from DuncanJohnson
We held our daughters naming ceremony at the hotel and all I can say it that I would not recommend the Balmer Lawn to anyone for a wedding, naming ceremony or conference. The food was poor and we had numerous complaints

Poor value for money

from A TripAdvisor Member
Stayed here for our anniversary weekend in July. The room was nice, with a great view, but very small, as was the bathroom. On the Friday night it was almost impossible to find a seat in the bar - there were two weddings and a big family party on the Saturday and the guests had taken over the hotel really, we felt rather in the way. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, very nice but pricey for what it was. The coffee at breakfast was so strong it was undrinkable, even adding extra water didn't help, it was simply horrible.
Overall, it was a pleasant hotel, and the position is fantastic, but we have stayed in far better hotels for the same price.

A big disappointment

from kat067
The reception area, public areas and grounds of this hotel are very nice, but when we got to our room, we were so disappointed. It looked as if it had recently been refurbished, but was like an old person's residential home, awful decor, dark and depressing. On a plus point it was very clean. The wardrobes and dressing table were shabby and the view from our window was - well shall I say what view! We appeared to be looking out onto a terraced area that was housing the air conditioning unit, so all we could see was the corner of the building, windows and decking. The room was extremely hot and in the morning all we could smell was cooking. The bathroom was clean, but the shower leaked out of the shower screen so we had to soak up the water with the towels. Another in our party had a single room, which I can only describe as disgusting - a single bed pushed against a wall, wallpaper hanging off, the pelmet hanging down - need I say more. On a good point the breakfast was superb. We did ask to change rooms, but were told the hotel was full. We did hear other guests saying that their rooms were very nice, so maybe we had just been unlucky. We did however enjoy our stay, but spent as little time as possible in our room.

Still disappointing

from A TripAdvisor Member
We read the management response on tripadvisor, saying that all rooms were scheduled to be refurbed by early 2005...well, this hasn't happened! Our room was tatty, with mouldy wallpaper hanging off the wall from what appears to have been a leak down an interior wall. We complained at the first chance, but were told that all other rooms had been booked. We had hoped for some gesture of goodwill, but the best we got was that the maids would spray extra air freshener around for us.

The decor was all very tired, though there were what appeared to be new tiles on the bathroom floor.

The door lock was broken and tricky to operate with a key entering the room; the toiletries shelf in the bathroom was in a silly position above the sink making using the sink awkward - it also sloped into the sink, which meant toiletries etc slid into the sink until we propped the shelf up with some paper.

The room smelt like an old people's home (my parent's used to own one!) until the second day - not sure if we got used to it, or if leaving the windows open all day helped, or if it was connected with the mouldy wallpaper.

On a plus side, there was evidence of the continuing refurb going on while we were there...would have been nice if it had been finished when the Balmer Lawn said it would though.

Bar service was okay, but we were overcharged on our bill when we came to check out - we pointed this out and it was corrected without a fuss. Having ordered a lager shandy on our first night, we decided not to use the bar again, however; the first shandy just tasted like lager...the second (on returning the first) was the same; on going to the bar myself for the third time lucky the bar managed rather curtly, it seemed to me, tipped half the pint away and swooshed a load of "lemonade" in and said "taste that" - well, it had a 3 inch head by this stage so I asked it they could just taste the lemonade for themselves...the barmaid did this, and said "oh, I'll need to change the lemonade". It had been dispending fizzy water at best. Wish they had just believed me in the first place! Ah well.

If you do stay at the hotel, go to Brookley's restaurant in the centre of Brockinghust - first rate service and excellent food!


from Jumbo27
Ref previous posts, we have just returned from this hotel and found that it has been refurbished to a very high standard. The room was in excellent condition with new bathroom and decorated to a high standard. The staff were great,very welcoming and exceptionally helpful.
The pool is lovely with new changing rooms and power showers.
We have just had a really great stay here and would recommend this hotel.

Brilliant Weekend

from A TripAdvisor Member
We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Balmer Lawn. Had some reservations going - nearly cancelled after reading some reviews but so glad we did not. We were very lucky as we had a hot sunny weekend and the first view of the hotel is lovely and the front terrace looked brilliant with tables set out for dinner. Inside has a gentleman's club feel and pianist was playing which was very welcoming. Staff were polite and helpful. Our room had a 4 poster overlooked the cricket pitch and had a lovely refurbished bathroom. Only gripe is that we think rooms a bit over priced for what they are but suppose that is due to location. The restaurant was first class with excellent service and the breakfast was one of the best we have every had in a hotel. The outdoor pool area is really lovely and relaxing and although we had intended to go for walks we finished up sitting by the pool all day. We will certainly go back.

Top Local Tips for Brockenhurst

Good Restaurants... Eat at blaireau's bistro next to Carey's Manor; and also try Il Palio 2 italian restaurant opposite the rail station.

GREAT LOCATION Lots of places to visit but relaxing environment

lemington and lyndhurst - nice villages the location of the New Forest isd a wonderful one to visit. Would recommend to anyone, just dont stay at ther same hotel as us


Other names for Balmer Lawn Hotel

  • balmer lawn hotel brockenhurst
  • balmer lawn brockenhurst
  • Address: Lyndhurst Road - Brockenhurst - England - SO42 7ZB - United Kingdom
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 311 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Balmer Lawn Hotel