Royal Albion Hotel

, Brighton, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Brighton

Royal Albion Hotel

, Brighton

Rooms: 186

35 Old Steine - Brighton - England - BN1 1NT - United Kingdom Hotel Website | | 44 01273329202
838 Traveller

Reviews - Royal Albion Hotel

I thought it was great
Submitted by: richard in 28/11/07
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Business Traveller
Friendly staff. Nice room. Excellent food. Great location. What more do you want?
Terrible experience
Submitted by: Brian in 21/11/06
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Mature Couple
At £115 for a night's stay, we suffered loud thumping music noise from an event until gone 2 in the morning, cracked bath which took an age to empty, no extractor fan, lopsided chandalier, broken drawers, noisy bearings on heating and a sky tv picture which consisted of pixel break-up. How the staff managed to stay cheerful in such a working experience defies apprehension!
Do not stop at the albion hotel brighton
Submitted by: Simon in 30/04/06
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
For £150.00 per night you get
a smell of mould and damp throughout
the smallest of rooms.
Graffiti on your wall.
Broken bath.
Poor service.
Ripped furniture.
Not worth £15.00 per night

Historical Traveller Reviews of Royal Albion Hotel

awful rooms

from dannynic
Awful time here...

The double beds were actually single beds pushed together, which would have been OK had the beds not been of different heights! One was badly bowed in the middle!

Of the rooms we booked, one was directly below the function suite with a very loud xmas party dancing on our ceiling until 1am. The other was next to a very loud ventilation unit that kept us awake all night.

Well, I had a good time!

from A TripAdvisor Member
I was pleasantly surprised by the Royal Albion, having got the room cheap on The staff were friendly and helpful throughout, from the reception to the bar, and I had a thoroughly pleasant time. The breakfast was a bit dried up and unappetizing, but I did arrive quite late for it. I too read reviews on this site having already bought my tickets, and was dreading it, but in the end it turned out rather well. Our room was warm and comfortable and the facilities were generally in good shape. I'd go again.

Typical overpriced Brighton hotel

from rmjunlimited
We went to the Albion hotel in mid-October whilst visiting my sister in Brighton. My parents were holidaying from Australia and stayed there too. They paid more than we did for a room, and had to change rooms twice before they got one that didn't have damp all over the walls.We had a nice room from the outset, and although the staff weren't rude, they weren't the most helpful on earth.The main problem we had was the parking They say to go to the Public Car PArk around the corner, but if you have never been to Brighton BEWARE! THERE IS NO PARKING IN THIS TOWN, EVER!! I have driven around for upwards of an hour on many occasions trying to find somewhere to park. We eventually had to park at my sisters house and get a taxi back to the hotel.!!The breakfast is a acomplete farce. The food wasn't great, no knoives and forks, then no plates, then no coffe, then coffee but no cups, then nowhere to sit....
need I go on?All in all, Brighton is a really expensive place to stay.
ALL the hotels are overpriced and understaffed and the parking is atrocious. If you go there knowing this, as we did, then you have to live with it, there is no point in complaining, although we did fill in the questionnaire but of course no response from the hotel.The Albion is in a great location, but it is uncared for and will not be tolerable for long. Good luck tro anyone that wants to stay in BRighton, I wish you well and pleasant parking!

More than pleased with the Albion.

from A TripAdvisor Member
We had the misfortune of reading your reviews, after we had booked the Royal Albion and needless to say we left for our midweek break feeling more than a little uneasy. Mouldy rooms, unhelpful staff, what were we letting ourselves in for? I have to say that we experienced none of the above. Far from it, without exception we found the staff to be polite and extremely helpful throughout our 3 day stay. We asked for additional towels for the bathroom, they arrived in minutes. We requested 3 more pillows, again the service was very good. My wife and I had a double bed and my 12 year old son a fold up bed, the furnishings and the room as a whole, were more than acceptable for a 3* hotel. And we had a great view over the park, at the rear of the hotel.
The hotel lounge and dining room both overlook the seafront and combined with an excellent continental/traditional breakfast, what more could you ask for?

The Royal Albion Hotel: Absolutely Awful

from itchyfee2008
The Royal Albion Hotel, what a joke. We turned up on a Friday evening to check in, only to wait an age while they located our booking.
Finally, we were handed the keys to "177" only to find that this room was actually in the "basement". Well let's just stay that we stayed in the room for about 10 minutes. The room stank of damp and there was a nasty rust colour stain all over the carpet from the bathroom to the bedroom, where there has obviously been a flood and the carpet was frayed, it was worse than a squat. We went to reception and asked to be moved. Well they gave us room "520", wow we thought, a room with a view and not the basement. Well, we had the samllest window in the world which faced a brick wall! The roof was covered in fag butts and beer bottles, nice! The wall had a hole in it and the carpet was again stained. We only stayed because it was too late to find somewhere else.
If you are used to roughing it then by all means stay here, but I hardly thought it was worth the £94.00 per night when you could stay in a hostel for £18.00 a night and probably have a nicer room!!!

Hotel from hell!!!!

from A TripAdvisor Member
This is definitely one of the worst hotels we have stayed, if not the worst! When I booked for 3 nights over the phone, the operator wasn't even courteous. However, I still decided to have a go. It would be my partner's 21st birthday and we were enticed by the advertisment...a 3 star with a jacuzzi, balcony overlooking Brighton pier. Wow! However, the moment we walked in, we were greeted by the smell of mouldy-water, airconditioning in the lobby not working. The front-desk, informing us that we don't have a balcony with a seaview room. I explained that I have paid for those extras, thus, I demand to have one. Then magic! The room I have reserved! When we walked inside the room, the aircondition was not working, the toilet wasn't flushing, and the JACUZZI??? It was just an ordinary tub with "bubbles on the side"...a glorified bath! The BALCONY??? Well, it was just a set of wood planks! You have to be brave to step on those, thinking it's going to collapse anytime. After what we have seen, we have decided to leave straight away. Staying in Royal Albion for like 15minutes, well, we were charged for a whole night.
Definitely a hotel from hell!!! Josh


from A TripAdvisor Member
After finally managing to book a room due to thier internet booking system, I stumbled across this site and read the reviews. I immediately thought of cancelling but thought I would give it a chance as it was in an ideal situation. The parking was non- existant (i had to park on thier pavement and was crashed into by a turning coach), the reception was packed with screaming kids and the reception staff were slow and unhelpfull. I didnt get a seaview that I had booked and instead got a window facing the air conditioning pipes (nice). The shower was a joke and didnt even have anough pressure to reach me. All in all, dont bother with this place and book early enough to get somewhere else.

No Problems

from tonyiow
Had a great weekend! The hotel was fine, checked in on a very busy Friday afternoon with ease. Room was of a good quality with lovely views over Brighton Pier. General cleanliness of the hotel was fine and all staff encountered more than willing to help. Checked out on Sunday morning and along with 4 friends made use of the bag check facility, both leaving and collecting the bags was quick and efficient. I booked this hotel through Expedia and got a very reasonable rate, especially considering the ideal location of this hotel. I'd definitely stay there again.Tony


from Monty_Harpenden
This place is awful!!!!!! Descriptions of the hotel claim that it has been refurbished in 2000 - well our room certainly had not been touched. The furniture was old and dated and some of it broken. I heard at least four other guests complaining about the condition of their rooms and demanding to move.

We left our luggage after we checked out with the hotel and came back to find it lying unattended in the public bar with everyone elses. The bar was full so anybody could have taken it. Not the way to treat guests!!!!!!

a very mixed bag

from BrianTravels
the rooms: I have stayed here on about 6 trips, and the rooms have varied from being really nice with a jacuzzi, to rooms on the outside facing noisy streets or indeed once above the dance hall which is noisy till 1am some nights. In general the rooms were clean and things worked, the hotel is very spread out and the various parts of the place have a very different feel and quality...The service could only be described as average, i recall one busy morning finding a frozen uncooked hash brown on my plate...the bar however is nice and the reception staff just about ok if the mood takes them or you can find them..Location: is great, the Lanes are around the corner, bars and clubs not too far a walk, the pier and beach are opposite...this hotel is a mixed bag of good things and bad- quirky but reasonably priced for uk and very average - the sad thing is that it could be a whole lot better with only a little bit more effort.. brian

Top Local Tips for Brighton

Agra Brasserie, Ship Street, Brighton Excellent food, very friendly staff and great value. We could do with this restaurant in West London! Also tried to book a table on the Saturday night at Piero's (Italian) but left it too late - so book early!

FIND A DIFFERENT HOTEL just dont stay here, its a dump thats all i can say theres nothing nice to add, sorry.

The city itself Brighton is a great city, love going for day trips and week holidays - once you find a good hotel


Other names for Royal Albion Hotel

  • royal albion hotel brighton
  • royal albion hotel
  • Address: 35 Old Steine - Brighton - England - BN1 1NT - United Kingdom
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Royal Albion Hotel