The Canasta Hotel

, Blackpool, United Kingdom
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Blackpool

  • Pembroke Hotel 11 King Edward Avenue, Blackpool, England 10/10 - 116 reviews 10 Rooms
  • Kings Court Hotel 34 King Edward Avenu, Blackpool, England 10/10 - 108 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 10 Rooms
  • Langtrys Blackpool Hotel 36 King Edward Avenue, Blackpool, England 10/10 - 103 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 10 Rooms
  • King Edward Hotel 44 King Edward Avenue, Blackpool, England 8.9/10 - 93 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 10 Rooms
  • Westcliff Hotel 27 Alexandra Road, Blackpool, England 7.7/10 - 9 reviews 10 Rooms
  • Adelaide House Hotel 66-68 Adelaide Street, Blackpool, England 9.2/10 - 53 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 46 Rooms
  • Sunnymede Hotel 50 King Edward Avenue, Blackpool, England 8.0/10 - 10 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 9 Rooms
  • The Cliffs Hotel Blackpool Queens Promenade, Blackpool, England 8.0/10 - 389 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 7 Rooms
  • Astoria Hotel 118-120 Albert Road, Blackpool, England 9.0/10 - 98 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 26 Rooms
  • Chequers Plaza Hotel 24 Queens Promenade, Blackpool, England 6.0/10 - 153 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 48 Rooms
  • The Boltonia Hotel 124-126 Albert Road, Blackpool, England 5.9/10 - 26 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 20 Rooms
  • Oban House Hotel 63 Holmfield Road, Blackpool, England 9.1/10 - 10 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 12 Rooms
  • Fairway Hotel 34 36 Hull Road, Blackpool, England 9.0/10 - 109 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 19 Rooms
  • Atlantis Hotel 14 - 16 Hull Road, Blackpool, England 8.9/10 - 72 reviews 18 Rooms
  • Claire Michelle Hotel 62 Central Drive, Blackpool, England 8.8/10 - 26 reviews Hotel Class 1 stars 12 Rooms

The Canasta Hotel

, Blackpool
4 star

Rooms: 31

288 North Promenade - Blackpool - England - FY12EY - United Kingdom Hotel Website | | 01253 290501
126 Traveller

Reviews - The Canasta Hotel

Staff & Owners
Submitted by: mick in 25/03/09
  • Age Group: 18 - 25
  • From:
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
Owners kicked out a couple of friends at 10:30 at night due to him asking about a price not good full of the owners friend. They didn't time for there other guest's
Awful time
Submitted by: lawrence lightbown in 06/03/09
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
Ok to my failure i found and paid for the first hotel i come across which will not happen again.
I manage to spend 5 hours in this hotel before being removed with my 28 week pregant wife.
I was removed becuase i my friend arrived and paid for a family room which cost him 45 pound for the night which when i entered i saw it was the same room as mine which i paid 25 pound for and for that reason i was kicked out at 22.30 with no where to go with my pregant wife.
Futher more i asked to have the cars moved as i was blocked in and he simply said no whilst calling me a number of abusives names which i laughed off
In summery the attitude and manners of this man are awful the rooms are very small and have a dirty musty smell i advice if your under 30 dont expect to say all night as you will be removed without warning also the reviews above are friends of his and tina isd the barmaid there this guysa a joke and will have your eyes out i got 60 pound of my 120 for 5 hours
Damian snowy and the gang loved it
Submitted by: DAMIAN in 08/01/08
  • Age Group: 31 - 40
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Family Traveller
What a fantastic 4 nights we had here. We arrived to a pot of tea nad even had our cases carried up to our rooms and cars parked for us,they could not do enought to help us and after we performed on the karaoke the first night and got a lot of people up singing we had the next nights karaoke named after us.we even had an indian from nextdoor and they prepared us a table and gave us cutlery then cleaned up, we loved it and will never look for another hotel in blackpool this is the one for us every year.
Ask your wonderful host to sing "little old wine drinker" by dean martin he sings it class.
1 out of 1 reader found this review helpful
Lovely clean and friendly
Submitted by: Meg and Brian Ashby in 21/02/07
  • Age Group: 51 - 60
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Business Traveller
We were made very welcome, the room was very clean and comfortable (and I'm fussy) although the en-suite was a bit tight. Lots of extras like free papers and tea made for you on request. The in house entertainment completed the break. The owner even complimented my awful singing -beyond the call of duty I think. We will return thanks.
1 out of 1 reader found this review helpful
Great place to stay!!!
Submitted by: Tina in 14/06/06
  • Age Group: 18 - 25
  • From: United Kingdom
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
Very clean, very friendly, karaoke brilliant, breakfast was MASSIVE. We come lots to Blackpool and will always check here first now we found this gem!!

Historical Traveller Reviews of The Canasta Hotel

Stayed there last year, planning to book again this year!

from The_BFG
My wife and I stayed there last year at the time of the Tory conference. The rom was basic but comfortable (after all, we're only kipping there!) and the breakfast was fantastic. The staff seemed genuinely miffed when I couldn't manage seconds!
We're going to Blackpool again this summer and hoping that it will be equally as good!
Can't understand why some people have rated it badly, but I guess you can't please everyone.

very upset

from mairlys
didn't even get to stay here,i phoned to book a room for the end of july for 3 nights, booked it and waited for the email from them to confirm it,received nothing so decieded to call the hotel. When i spoke to a member of staff about the situation,they had no booking for me and could not find it anywhere,after a couple of min,came back and told me i had given them a different date which was for the end of august and i had given them the wrong email address,this was not true as i had someone with me when booking the first time round. Rudely told me that that there that was no room for the date i asked for and that if i could not make it for the august i would have to pay an ad min cost because i had made the mistake,i was gobsmacked at how this gentleman who rude to a potential customer and now i have a bill to pay for a room that is six weeks away from the date he give me,i am very upset and dissapointed as the website for this hotel is very good.
Management Response from CanastaHotel
There are a number of inaccuracies in your account of events.
Your mother called to make the booking...not you. I repeated the requested date to her : 29th AUGUST. She seemed confused so I repeated TUESDAY 29th August. She confirmed and the booking was made. We always confirm reservations by email - it's much easier and you get lots more info in the email rather than by standard letter. She gave me your email address and I repeated it back to her phonetically (ie Bravo, Echo etc etc). I remember taking my time with this because she seemed confused. It transpires that she gave me the wrong email address. It didn't "bounce" back so I assumed it was correct and that you received confirmation. It also transpires, in evidence from a separate letter you sent direct to me that there were LOTS of witnesses that your account is correct. My response to this is that perhaps there were a lot of people in the room whilst your mother was trying to make a booking and she got confused because you were all talking to her. I was careful to try and repeat the information she had given me. The admin charge of £25 is standard. You have suggested that we are going to charge you for the room - that is not correct and libelous. In the email I sent you privately where I outlined all the ACCURATE events in this booking I did finish by saying in this case I would make a complete refund of the deposit. For the small amount of cancellations we get we almost NEVER refund deposits (this is industry standard) but you were clearly upset and we don't like making folk upset - so I made decision to refund the full amount. I wish I had stuck to my guns now...never mind it has taught me a lesson.
I hope you get booked elsewhere - have a great trip to Blackpool!

A seaside delight

from A TripAdvisor Member
We stayed for a couple of nights at the Canasta, and it was a great place.

Right from check-in, when we were offered complimentary coffee, to check-out, everything was well above average.

The room had a wonderful sea view, and the sun shone for much of our stay, so it was a lovely sight first thing in the morning!

The breakfasts are amazing, but be warned - they are not for the faint hearted! I just about managed a full house and a pancake stack (I'm not proud - could hardly get up the stairs afterwards!), and the lady serving in the dining room was friendly at all times.

The location is great too - less than a mile from the North Pier, and good access to Blackpool Tower and the town centre. Plus the tram stops just outside, so trips to the Pleasure Beach in the summer would be easy too. There's parking out the front, and you get a free newspaper in the morning too, which was a nice touch.

My only criticism would be that our bathroom was on the small side, but I'm struggling to find anything else that wasn't great!

I would recommend a stay at the Canasta next time you're on the North West Coast.

V Special Hotel!!..........

from jennygirlxxx
Stayed for long weekend in October and despite booking late, and being given the only room available was pleasently surprised!
Felt was advised of all the information i needed by the hotel management (received v. comprehensive e-mail telling us EVERYTHING!) so not having allocated parking ect was not a problem, and the breakfasts were amazing! A lovely touch to have free papers delivered as well.
We had a room with no sea veiw, (like most hotels in blackpool it looks over the back streets) but the room was well presented with good sturdy furniture and was spacious, even the bed was comfortable-and i never like hotel beds. The bathroom could do with updating but were adequate just a little old fasioned and the rooms were well decorated and splotless.
The location is wicked! Just on the edge of the town center and the trams and busses stop at the pier which is 5 mins walk away. Great for early morning walks before breakfast!
If your thinking of booking go to the website where you can veiw all the rooms over the net (very handy). Was so impresed have booked to go back again next october! this time with sea veiw!!

Hokey Pokey

from Miss_teeq
I stayed here 7-10 October to to be perfectly honest, I won't be returning. The room was dark, n small with not enough room to swing a cat, the canopy from the 4 poster bed covered the light so it couldn't come through.
Ok so the staff were friendlyish, and they didn't have what I wanted for me breakfast one morning which was a bit bad seeing as it was on the menu, but the girl was lovely n couldn't apologise enough.
The stale smoke smell throughout put me off, the Saturday evening entertainment came on about 11pm (far too late) Karaoke was ok.
Overall it's not the best hotel in Blackpool, I've stayed in better, reading too many of the reviews on here sets a high opinion of a place but mine didn't match other peoples. I suppose its all to do with what your used to.

Great Hotel

from A TripAdvisor Member
Stayed at this hotel from 17th Oct for four nights with my husband,the staff were very friendly and helpful,our car was in need of some attention and they helped sort out a garage no problem. We also moved rooms as the one we wanted was only available from the day after we arrived but we did nothing to move the staff moved everything for us very helpfull. The breakfast was great only problem we never managed to eat a full one as there was too much no need for anyone to go hungry.
We have stayed in many hotels in Blackpool large and small this was the best we have stayed in and we will be going back.

Awful-never go back there

from A TripAdvisor Member
Stayed at the Canasta recently, appaling service and the rudest, most unhelpful staff I have ever met. Hotel of the year my foot! Our room(which we paid extra for on account of it having a four poster bed) was poky and scruffy and overlooked a grubby ally.The bathroom was tiny-literally a closet turned into a bathroom.There was no space to park our car and we had to leave it in a street 5 minutes away from the hotel. It was the staff who really ruined it for us. When we checked in the manager didnt even bother to show us to our room and when we asked to be alerted when a space for the car became free they refused saying they were too busy! Also, the whole building smells of stale cigarette smoke, not very nice at all. Breakfast was average and half our order never came but we just wanted to het out of there! Would never go back there and would not reccomend it to anyone.

lifeless during the week

from A TripAdvisor Member
we visited the on the second occasion in june it was worse than the first the room was small and the shower room left a lot to be desired there is nothing at all going on in this place during the week and in the evening it is deserted the so boasted about breakfast was awfull it took 15 mins and three requests just to get some toast the table still had crumbs on from the day before and one of the side plates were dirty as in not been removed after use they were also selling 400ml cans of bitter as they no longer have it on draught but were charging the price of a pint. It seems as though they are only interested in the weekend custom their own web site has a view comments section but they are vetted and most are from weekend visitors.We will not be returning there

best people to stay with

from spiffysky
Well we come from Australia and we have never been treated as good as the husband son and wife team that looked after us at the Canasta Hotel..
They were very helpful after we had booked at the hotel rossi and was treated like dirt there so decided to find another place to stay..
We got the room for cheap but it had a see view and it was the family room..
We got in trouble once when we walked in with a bottle of milk under our arm and the owner asked what have you got that for and i said for my son and she said why didn't you ask for some we would have gave it to you..
Breakfast was great fast service anything you wanted plus alot more.
I recommend this to anyone who wants to go to blackpool to stay even with children they are great..

I read in someones review about a huge key for after hours the only huge key was a door key and a key tag that could fit in any pocket so don't know what the person was on, you can come and go as you please and i would defiantely stay again in a heart bet..
The owners are great and the workers are great..

rather sleep on beach

from A TripAdvisor Member
at first sight hotel looks v.good,especially on internet..all the blah blah blah about hotel of the year etc..i should have gone off my first instincts which was when i was on phone trying to book a room..the phone call was a tad bit hostile especially as it was a first impressions.
i actually told the man to sit down and have a stiff drink,because he sounded so stressed.....oh why why didnt i go off my gut reaction..
Giving them benefit of the doubt. i headed off to blackpool.
from outside, the hotel looked quite good..then i went inside...............
definately wasnt what i expected..very old and tired decor,if the weather was better i would have turned straight around and looked for better.(which would not have been hard)
quirky staff did not seem happy to see me,,believe me feeling was mutual...
the tired bed and dicky tv i could live with but the strange colour choice of room was way beyond my palette.
on our way out asked if we could leave key till our return.was given an abrupt NO so's that we could return at anytime during night and let ourselves in.(given that i had small children with me i doubt it)
So had to carry a ridicuosly large key ring around with me
bar prices pretty good.. lager and can of coke £2.60 (i had my own j.d.
) karaoke was ok i suppose,,same quirky staff gave me the eye when i came in,,i didnt feel welcome again,,very poor seating..we ended up in dining room with no view of karaoke or fun
breakfast was good,, plenty on offer and good quality food + free newspaper
i would love to see the finalists of hotel of the year 2004,, god knows what the standards are judged by.. its a disgrace if this hotel won
room cramped and sickening colours
staff not bothered
friendliness nil
decor v. dated
didnt even get a goodbye
good breakfast could not make up for let downs


Top Local Tips for Blackpool

General Blackpool has some great shopping and attractions that can be enjoyed during the day, mostly around the Town Centre and the indoor markets are best at South Shore behind the promenade. You can have a pleasant night out too but beware of the 'stags and hens' from early evening especially on a Saturday! Try 'Henry's Bistro' for nice food and friendly service, located several doors up from 'Walkabout' Australian Bar on Queens Square near to the North Pier.

GOT KIDS If you have children and you like to get out and about its much cheaper to have a family tripper .You can buy them on any tram or bus in blackpool [One ticket covers both buses and trams .They cost 14 which sounds alo but 1 journey Blackpool can be expensive

Pleasure Beach Wristbands If you're planning a trip to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, then make sure you buy your wristband online as you save money off them. Just make sure you do it more than 12 hours in advance of arriving lol

Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 126 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near The Canasta Hotel