Tashkonak Istanbul Hotel

, Istanbul, Turkey
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Istanbul

  • Hotel Spina Istanbul 19 Utangac Sok, Istanbul, Turkey 8.0/10 - 176 reviews Hotel Class 1 stars 21 Rooms
  • Hotel Uyan Istanbul 25 Sultanahmet Utangaç Sokak, Istanbul, Turkey 9.0/10 - 440 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 27 Rooms
  • Hotel Sokullu Pasa 5 Kucuk Ayasofya Mah, Istanbul, Turkey 9.0/10 - 95 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 37 Rooms
  • Ada Hotel Istanbul 30 Sehit Mehmetpasa Yokusu, Istanbul, Turkey 10/10 - 405 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 15 Rooms
  • Hotel Saba 8 Sehit Mehmet Pasa, Istanbul, Turkey 8.0/10 - 163 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 27 Rooms
  • The Byzantium Hotel 29 Akbiyik cad., Istanbul, Turkey 8.0/10 - 302 reviews 32 Rooms
  • Hotel Ibrahim Pasa 5 Terzihane Adliye Yani, Istanbul, Turkey 9.0/10 - 191 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 19 Rooms
  • Zeugma Hotel 35 Cankurtaran Mah.Akbýyýk Cad., Istanbul, Turkey 8.9/10 - 109 reviews 10 Rooms
  • Armada Hotel Ahirkapi Sok. No:24, Istanbul, Turkey 9.0/10 - 561 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 110 Rooms
  • Hotel Gul Sultan 9 Sultanahmet Akbiyik Cad, Istanbul, Turkey 8.0/10 - 29 reviews 8 Rooms
  • Ferhat Hotel Binbirdirek Mah. Terzihane Sok.No:9, Istanbul, Turkey 8.0/10 - 296 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 64 Rooms
  • Diva's Hotel 33 Klodfarer Cad, Istanbul, Turkey 8.0/10 - 185 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 26 Rooms
  • Valide Sultan Konagi Hotel Cankurtaran Mah, Istanbul, Turkey 8.1/10 - 113 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 17 Rooms
  • Stone Hotel Istanbul 34 Binbirdirek mah., Istanbul, Turkey 9.0/10 - 166 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 30 Rooms
  • Hotel Mina Piyerloti Caddesi, Dostluk Yurdu Sokak, Istanbul, Turkey 8.0/10 - 329 reviews 48 Rooms

Tashkonak Istanbul Hotel

3 star

Rooms: 32

2 kucuk ayasofya cad. tomurcuk sk. - Istanbul - 34400 - Turkey Hotel Website | | 902125182882
811 Traveller

Reviews - Tashkonak Istanbul Hotel

8/10
Great value for money and great staff
Submitted by: Hans in 12/03/06
  • Age Group: 41 - 50
  • From: Netherlands
  • Traveller type: Relaxation Seeker
Hotel is bed and breakfast only, (enough good price/quality restaurants in neighbourhood) breakfast on top floor overlooking the bosporus and the nearby mosque. Great view. Good continental breakfast (cold) until 10h30. Fine room, very clean and perfect bed. Quiet neighbourhood, no traffic, good and safe. Close to kumkapi, with lots of restaurants (expensive and tourist traps but nice with music and belly dancers if you like this) Perhaps not suitable for families with very young children as there is no swimming pool and recreation for children. For anyone else interessed in Istanbul and the monuments a great place to stay. Very helpfull staff, good knowledge of the english language. Great value for money. Close to everything, grand bazaar, aya sofia, blue mosque, topkapi palace, ferry etc. Very good tourist hotel.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Tashkonak Istanbul Hotel

A great hotel within a beautiful city

from Continent_Jumper
Rooms and facilities
Considering the really good deal we got from booking online through eBookers.com, the hotel was a dream.

The Tashkonak is classed as a boutique hotel, which, in Turkey means plenty of original features and a personal feel to each room, a welcome change from the usual choice of chain hotels on offer.

Our room was on the lower ground, quite small but with enough room for a double bed, small cupboard, safe, TV, fridge (bit on the large side and the buzzing at night was irritating) and clean bathroom. The room also had access to a shared patio with the next door room, which was a nice feature.

The TV in the room had more than 40 channels, most of them Turkish but with some English channels.

Location
We, like most Brits in Istanbul travelled by easyJet to Sabiha Gokçem airport, which is quite far from central Istanbul as it is on the Asian side. When we arrived we took the Havas airport bus (go straight outside the airport terminal and the bus should be waiting there), which costs 9.5 YTL (£3) each and goes to Taksim and takes around an hour, where we took a taxi to the hotel for 15 YTL (£5) and took around 30 minutes.

We took some YTL currency with us and some GBP as we were unsure of what currency the locals used. We found that YTL is the most commonly used currency and the exchange rates do not differ much at all from UK rates so you can either take cash or withdraw from the many ATMs in the city.

The weather when we went (mid Feb) was a little chilly with rain (take warm clothes!) this didn’t spoil our stay.

We got around the city using the excellent Metro (tram) service, it costs 1.5 YTL (50p) per journey no matter how far you go and you can easily get to most of the top sites. Sultanhamet square is a ten minute walk away and from there you can take the Metro.

Istanbul is such a safe city, not once did we feel threatened when walking at night or in the crowded shopping areas. The locals are friendly and will always help you if you get lost.

Guests
As the hotel is quite small, rooms are close to each other, one night we did get woken by a loud TV next door and slamming doors but it was fine other than that.

Food
The hotel only offers breakfast, which was of the continental variety and perfectly acceptable. The best part was the view of the Marmara Sea with the ships going in and out.

We lived off kebabs while we were there and they're nothing like the poor imitations you get here and so cheap aswell! Living costs work out at about a third of the price of UK.

Staff
The day manager, Sava? in particular was very helpful. He spoke English perfectly and provided some sound advice.

Although the Tashkonak is just around the corner (literally) from the Dersaadat Hotel, the top rated hotel in Istanbul on this website and we know why! We went in just to have a nose around but the guy on the front desk could not have been more helpful, bringing out maps and tour books of Istanbul and showing us where to go. He also showed us around the hotel (which in terms of size and décor didn’t really differ much from the Tashonak) but the roof top terrace offers a better view of the Blue Mosque. This may be typical of these boutique hotels, the difference in price is according to the levels of service.

Istanbul is a truly magical city with so much to see and do, I’d recommend it to anyone. We only stayed for five days, which is enough to see the main sites but we would like to have stayed longer. Here are the top things to see and do while you’re there:

1.Topkapi Palace: the sheer opulence and grandeur of this place is something to behold and for Muslims, the best bit is the room full of sacred relics of the Prophet Muhammed (saw).
2.Sultanhamet (Blue) Mosque: absolutely awe-inspiring architecture.
3. Aya Sofya (Hagia Sophia) museum: once a mosque now a museum, beautiful architecture.
3.Dolmabahce Palace: again, pure indulgence, the Sultans were in a league of their own.
4.Grand Bazaar: the covered market, which is absolutely huge – you can find anything and everything here but make sure you haggle!
5.Istanbul Modern: art museum with some brilliant Turkish art and it’s free entry on Thursdays.
6.Smoke a nargileh (water pipe) in Tophane district (right next to Istanbul Modern).
7.Eat fried mackerel sandwich on the banks of the Bosphorus.
8.Take a ferry to the Asian side: costs 1.5 YTL from Be?ikta? and you get to see another side of Istanbul minus the tourists.

Blissful

from Ibraar
7 of us stayed at this wonderful Tashkonak hotel, 4 adults and 3 kids.
The Hotel is a 19th Century Ottoman building, and is quite pretty!

The hotel is perfectly located, just behind the Grand Sultan Ahmet Mosque, and a short walk to all the major attractions and eateries.
The breakfast room offers panoramic views of the Golden Horn, the Bosphorus and the Sea of Marmara. The adjoining terrace gardens offer views of the Galata bridge, the Topkapi palace and the aya Safya.
I'd recommend this hotel to singles, couples AND to those with children!

There were other pretty gardens located near the ground floor which would be cool and pleasant in the hot summer!

The staff were welcoming and friendly, especially Ismail at reception and Khalid, the young lad usually to be found with the other pleasant chap in the breakfast diner area.

The reception area was beautifully furnished and comfortable and chilled out - we enjoyed getting into the hotel in the evenings and chilling on the sofas, watching TV and chatting to the staff and other visitors.

Our two rooms, which were unfortunately on opposite wings were nonetheless nice and clean and nicely furnished - the large family room (306) was fantastic, and the balcony looked across the Sea of Marmara and was awe inspiring! (see photos)

Directly below was a 16th century mosque built by Mimar Sinan himself and a small 16th Century islamic cemetary which gave the whole place an 'Arabia Nights' vibe - Fatima and Taz seemed to think the balcony was a beautiful place which seemed to offer a feeling of tranquility and inner peace, they also seemed to think it was haunted by 'good jinns'! :)

The staff were cool with us coming up and down and visiting each others rooms!

There were scores of channels on the TV and there was internet access at reception - which I didn't use (nothing like getting away from internet and everything else).

The muezzin call to prayer was evident in the early morning, but wasn't loud as you find in other countries - in fact it sounded quite beautiful!

the location was perfect, slap bang next to all the major sites, safe and secure in its location day or night, right beside a general store and the Arasta Bazaar which is a great place to get presents from!

Breakfast was good - cold meats, bread, pastries, boiled eggs and cereal. - except that the Tea wasn't all that, and in my opinion should be offered as Tea Bags. there was also no option for toast so I suppose a small improvement needed there.

If I was to be really fussy there were a couple of complaints;

the Heating in room 202 stopped working and we had to use the AC as a heater which I hated doing - but the staff were helpful!

The hot water seemed to have ran out in the shower and i was forced to shower in cold water - this only happened once in the mid morning so it was possibly down to overload as a load of French tourists arrived who swamped the breakfast room and I presume they all used the showers at once.

The hair dryer wasn't working in room 202.

There was no Tea or coffee facilities in rooms - even though there was a decent mini fridge with a selection of drinks.

there were no problems with room 306!

All in all a fantastic experience, nothing like staying in such a perfect location, in a classic Ottoman hotel, with friendly staff, clean environs, and beautiful views.

We're planning another trip and we'd rather stay here than in any other larger and soulless hotel - if you wish for a more true Istanbulu experience, i can't think of anywhere else!

Great Place

from OhioBill
We stayed five nights at the Tashkonak Hotel and loved every minute of it . the staff was very courteous and well informed . the hotel itself was clean and our room was probally the best cared for room we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in a lot of hotel rooms. They had a enjoyable breakfast buffet which suited our needs nicely . Also they had free computer access in the lobby but in a private corner which made checking email a breeze. All in all this hotel was a highlight of trip to istanbul

special place

from sightseer7
We arrived at night so the big surprise in the morning was not only the great breakfast on the terrace but an incredible view. This hotel is also within walking distance to the blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, the palace, Grand Bazaar, spice market and the tram. It is very clean and comfortable. There is a friendly staff and it's not too expensive. The only criticism is that I don't care for instant coffee.

Great location, excellent views from the terrace

from Turkistdelight
We stayed for four nights at this hotel and despite it being a little difficult to find, found the staff extrememly friendly and very helpful. The bedrooms were of a reasonable size, the bathroom was fully tiled and clean and the central heating good as it was November! The buffet breakfast is taken on the terrace on the top floor and the view over the sea is wonderful especially if the sun is rising. The breakfast itself is excellent and there is plenty of it and varied too. The only drawback, if there is one, is from the noise of the other guests returning ot their rooms late at night and slamming the doors! It is in an excellent location, just behind the Blue Mosque and very close to the trams in Sultanhamet and numerous restaurants/cafes/bars. Thoroughly recommend it. Good value for money.

Great Stay

from MrsB52403
We just returned from a 3 night stay at Tashkonak Hotel. The place is very nice and clean and situated on a quiet little street further back from the business of Istanbul. However, all of the major sights are within walking distance and there are many places and little grocery stores even closer by. The breakfast here was nice, but could have provided a bigger, diverse selection. The view for breakfast however made up for it as we looked out and saw the sea and islands and ships passing by. It was such an incredible view. Internet was available for free but there is only one. However, one morning while we were waiting for quite some time for computer use, the manager was nice enough to let us use his own personal laptop. The rooms were clean and provided air conditioning and a mini refrigerator (of course the items inside are for a small fee), and extra pillows and blanket were located in our small closet. Every day we were provided for free with maid service that was done very well. We were greatly satisfied with the hotel but the best part was the gracious staff. I don't think they could have been more friendly and helpful and just really wonderful people. They were always willing to do anything to help us. We had a great experience at Tashkonak Hotel, and if ever I visit Istanbul again, this is where I will stay.

Great staff, fantastic view

from travelnutter
We stayed here 6 nights and we extremely happy with our choice. Close to everything in Sultanahmet without being on the touristy strip. Breakfast was good and abundant (husband loved the yogurt and I loved the olives). Rooms were always clean and and quick to cool (quick & effective AC) for us after a day of exploring Istanbul.

Unlike the last post, we found the staff to be extremely friendly and responsive. We arrived at 3am (flight delays and cancellations) and a shuttle driver (free service) was waiting at the arrivals gate with our names on a sign and two staff members quickly checked us in and we were asleep within minutes of arriving.

Disappointing location

from Glenferrie
breakfast was quite good. However, when we left, the staff were very rude and tried to tell us that the deposit we had paid would not come off the the amount remaining we had to pay. There ensued much debate about the meaning of the word "deposit" and some extremely sexist comments to my girlfriend such as "Perhaps your boyfriend understands better lady".

Another group we met had also been promised return transfers to the airport but upon their departure were told they wopuld have to pay for it.

All in all very disappointing and we wouldn't recommend it due to the unfriendly satff and its location which is quite intimidating, patricularly for females.
Management Response from Tashkonak
This Review is entirely rubbish and lie. They are without honour and lier. now, I will prove that they are a lier :

This couple were booked reservation through webresint.com from 29th of july 2006 to 3th of Aug. 2006 ( 5 nights).When they booked , webresint.com charged 10% deposit upon Total price for 5 nights. But This Couple stayed just 2 nights instead of 5 nights. if they have stayed 5 nights, they had must to paid for 5 nights (Remain 90 %).
While They leave from our hotel ( 3 days before ). We wanted to charge (as rightful )2 days room price ( without deposit ) but they did not want to pay that amount. They pretended to pay already ( they paid just 10% for deposit). We have explain to them but they did not want to understand. We displayed all documents to them. But Useless !!! Then, they wanted to have minus all 10% deposit for 2 nights. It was unacceptance for us.
Our a room was free on last minute for 3 nights and Despite we know that they found another cheaper hotel than our hotel, we did not request any debt from them.

Everyone should know :
We did not insult to them. but they also insult to us and our hotel. Also they have disturbed our other guests.

Maybe, They did not enjoy our service, rooms, facilities, amenity. Surelly, Everyone write own opinion and review. Nobody can not say " unfrienly staff and its location which is quide intimidating, particularly for female"
Nobody can not insult to us, our hotel, our region and our country. Anyone have not a deserve like that.

Everyone not must to enjoy our hotel. Everyone have different appetite.
I know , Sometimes we do not content to some of guests. This is normal.
These measured reviews important for see and put in order to our fault and our defectiveness. But reviews says to TRUTH.

Sincerely,
Coskun Bilgili

Hotel Tashkonak

Good Location, Tired Decor

from A TripAdvisor Member
Having read previous reviews of this hotel, we booked a one night stay coming back from outside Istanbul on our way back to the States. This is a Turkish hotel, not an American one, so standards are a bit lower. Our family room consisted of two rooms joined by a common hallway with a shared bathroom- a good set up for 2 adults and 2 children. The layout was fine, but the airconditioner was only in one room which meant some privacy was lost as we had to keep all doors open to receive cold air in the other room. However, the airconditioner was surprisingly effective and cooled the rooms within 10 minutes. Having stayed at another Turkish hotel, with a similar set-up, I can only gather that this is standard. As well, only soap is provided so bring your own toiletries. The bath tub was a sitting tub (half the size of a standard tub, with very high sides and a hand-held shower. Both the common areas, rooms and bathrooms looked old and in need of a re-do. I looked at the hotel brochure and the photos looked nothing like the real thing. I can't conceive of which rooms they were photographing, but they must have been taken quite some time ago! This is a tourist class hotel with a great location, just down the hill from the Blue Mosque and for about USD200 you are paying for it! It seems the bargain days of Turkey are over and coupled with the weak U.S. dollar, these hotels seem to charge U.S. prices, having added no value. The upside is that it is in a quiet neighborhood, although the street looks a little down-market, and walking distance to Sultanahmet Sq. From there, you can catch a tram and for about USD1 one-way per person, you can ride to the Egyptian Bazaar (a.k.a. Spice Market) across the Galata Bridge and beyond to Beyoglu where good restaurants and the night clubs are. Beats taking a taxi as traffic can get gridlocked. I only wish I had thought to ask if there was a shuttle service, which according to the brochure there is, from the airport to the hotel. It could have saved about USD20 and time- our driver had to stop and ask two times, where the hotel was. Apparently, this is not uncommon either!

The best thing is the staff

from arkicon1
My wife and myself stayed at this hotel for 13 days and found it to be a very pleasent experience. At first we were bit apprehensive about our stay here because our previous stay was at a 3 star hotel in Dubai, where the standards are much higher. But as time passed we became real friends with the staf and they made us feel like family, which had a very comforting and warm effect on us. We then realized how impersonal the staff was in Dubai.
The air conditioning needs a little attention otherwise it is perfect in all aspects. The location couldn't be better as it is very central and nicely tucked away from the noise and the rush. Things here are basic but clean. My night teeth guard did go missing from my room which was a bit confusing as it wasn't of much value, maybe the plastic container looked expensive.
To sum it all this is a great place to stay if you are not too finicky and you'll not find a better set of people than the staff of this hotel. I will definitely stay here if I am in Istanbul again.

Top Local Tips for Istanbul

The Dolphin Restaurant Check it out , great food and service . Just off divan yolu street in sultanahmet

Watch your step Keep your eyes on the ground, with cobbled streets, uneven sidewalks with hidden hazards such as window wells extending out, sudden steps on slopes, holes in the pavement, missing paving stones, etc. If, like me, you stumble and need medical help I recommend the superb facilities and service of the German Hospital (Alman Hastanesi).

Taxis and room requests The rooms in the new part of the hotel next to the garden seem especially cool and nice. When arriving, be sure to have the hotel address handy for the taxi driver; it is a small hotel that will not be instantly familiar by name.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Tashkonak Istanbul Hotel

  • tashkonak hotel istanbul
  • Address: 2 kucuk ayasofya cad. tomurcuk sk. - Istanbul - 34400 - Turkey
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
9.0/10

See All 811 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Tashkonak Istanbul Hotel