Lugano Dante Center Hotel

, Lugano, Switzerland
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Lugano

Lugano Dante Center Hotel

4 star

Rooms: 83

5 Piazza Cioccaro - Lugano - 6900 - Switzerland Hotel Website | | 41 (0)91 9105700
772 Traveller

Reviews - Lugano Dante Center Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of Lugano Dante Center Hotel

Rich in Amenities

from atllocal
I love this hotel so much, I am composing this review from the hotel itself. The amenities and location make this hotel as standout. The rooms are comfortable and accommodating ( we have a 2 twin bed basic room). As others have wrote, free beverages in the room, all day availability of coffee, tea, water and snacks in the lobby and the most amazing breakfast buffet I have seen that is ├Čnclusive` Lugano, overall, is a beautiful town... you can explore it with the Lugano Dante Swiss Q Hotel as your base. Enjoy!

What a lovely hotel!

from djp2
What a lovely hotel this is. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The location is perfect right next to the funicular from the station in the heart of the town centre.

The rooms are all well appointed and spotlessly clean, with a free minibar as well (Soft Drinks).

The breakfast has to be seen to be believed, who would have thought of chocolate at breakfast.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone needing good ,friendly accomodation in Lugano.

Perfect hotel in Lugano

from mgoldin
I can't recommend the Lugano Dante highly enough. This is a perfect hotel in a wonderful location. Rooms and reception areas are impeccable and the owners clearly have paid tremendous attention to detail. We stayed here at the start of a 2 week trip around the Italian Lakes and Sicily and were spoiled for the rest of the trip.

And the breakfasts! About the most lavish we have seen anywhere.

Stay here - it is worth every penny.

Great Hotel - pity about the parking

from British_expat
The service was very good, the rooms were a reasonable size and clean. The breakfast was too good to be true, so much choice, which spolit us for the rest of the holiday as we were constantly referring back to it.

The disappointing downside was the fact that access by car to the hotel was difficult to find. Neither the hotel website nor the confirmation e-mail advised the name of the street in which the garage was located, nor were we advised that their was a size restriction on car height. Rather frustrating after a long drive and being stuck so long in the queues for the Gotthard Tunnel.
Management Response from CarlETTO
Dear Guest,

In the name of the Hotel Lugano Dante' Staff I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you have encountered upon arrival at our hotel. One of our challenges is to groom our guests' first impression.

Due to the garage size limitations, we usually inform our guests about these restrictions when a parking space is requested. We should not fell into these inaccuracies, thank you for remarking it.

Regarding the indications about the hotel's garage location, you may find it in our hotel website under location and clicking on the small map to enlarge it. The confirmations that we send directly from our hotel's agents include map indications; unfortunately, this may not be the same case for e-confirmations from other operators such as online or tour operators.

We have taken note about your strong comment and we will be glad to receive you and your family in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana
General Manager

Superb experience

from dmalcom
The hotel was exactly the kind of lodging we wanted--very quiet yet centrally located; easy to get to from the train (approximately 30 steps from the funicular that takes you to and from the Lugano train station); and great staff and service. We had a family of three staying in a triple room, which was similar to most hotels in Europe in that it was quite cosy.

Breakfast buffet included in the room rate was absolutely top notch, with a wide array of hot and cold selections, pastries, cereals, meats, roasted vegetables, fresh juices, etc.

Would recommend booking with the hotel directly. We originally booked through the official Ticino tourism web site ((--)), but then wanted to change the data of our arrival. Called the hotel to make the change, but they told us we had to work through the Ticino tourism directly, which was an absolute pain trying to get a hold of someone (calls and emails) who could sort it out.

Logistics aside, we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Lugano.

Even Better Than Expected

from Americannj
WOW! What more can I say? This place really wowed us. This is the type of hotel that you used to be able to find EVERYWHERE in Switzerland. Now it is an endangered species. The hotel is rated 4 star, but I can not imagine why it is not 5 star.

One problem that I can imagine is that if you come by car, it is probably VERY difficult to find, because its location is in the heart of the old town and that is a pedestrian (walking) area only. Fortunately we came by train and it could not have been easier to find. After arriving at the Lugano Central Station, just head for the funicular, the little train running down from the train station to the old town. The Hotel Dante is located right at the end of the funicular.

The location is actually one of the highlights of the hotel. Walk out the door and you are in the center of everything. The lake is a 2 minute walk, the main square is around the corner. It is one of the best located hotels in the city.

We arrived a bit early, had a very nice reception and were immediately offered our room, which over looked the little square and funicular. The window was opened and the square was very lively, but as soon as the window as closed, all the sound disappeared. They have very well made windows!

The room was well decorated and built for comfort and charm. Though a little bit small, it was modern and well kept. The breakfast buffet was truely amazing. Everything you could want was there. It is one of the best breakfast buffets we have experienced.

Another very nice feature were the things that the hotel offered for free:
* Free coffee, tea and mineral water in the lobby
* Free chocolates in a bowl at the reception
* Free internet corner in the hotel
* Free mini-bar with soft drinks and mineral water in every room

They even offer your choice of about 6 different types of pillows. We just used the ones we found on the bed, but we were very impressed with the offerings.

This is a very, VERY nice hotel. Sometimes we have stayed at hotels that were very highly recommended by trip advisor and have been disappointed. This was not one of those times. This is a great hotel and we will certainly go back.

Excellent Hotel

from MrBunny
I just stayed at the Hotel Dante Swiss Q several weeks ago. Reasons why I would stay again:

1. Convenience--A funicular from the train station literally drops you at the front door of the Hotel Dante. Forget about taking a cab!

2. Breakfast buffet---others have already written about it, but I'll just say it's one of the best I've seen in my European travels.

3. Staff--good customer service, very helpful.

4. Easy walking distance to the lakefront and restaurants. Lugano also has a great central park with an abundance of activities on weekends.

While I went to Lugano to make the connection to the Bernina Express, I would definitely go there again.

Lugano Dante Hotel stay was fantastic, as before

from wzurcher
We've stayed at this hotel 2-3 times, thanks to tripadvisor ratings. We stayed there over Easter for 3 days and again had a marvelous stay. I left a gold pen with a lot of sentimental value in the room, and they promptly sent it on to us, which I was very thankful for.

The location is excellent for walks. It's tough to find the way to drive into the hotel, but their car lift/garage then makes getting in and out of the hotel a breeze.

Check out the Spaghetti Factory restaurant on the lakefront near the hotel. We always have excellent food there, and the waiter there was very friendly.

s not bad

from MottyCaymanIslands
This only just scraped a four circle rating. I was really looking forward to staying here but sadly there were a couple of things that just let it down. First of all the rooms are pretty small, and certainly the one I had. The beds were rock hard and made it difficult to sleep. On top of that the air-con was bust and in total, over the four nights I stayed there, got about a grand total of 10 hours sleep. Not sure how much of that was attributable to the jet lag and how much to the room. In fairness though when I complained for the second the time the air con had packed in they did leave a sweet present for me. On the whole it is good. And a great location although there is no view of the lake. I'm not staying there this week as when you see the beauty of this place if you have not been here before you'll want to be on the lake. Good breakfast, great chocs in reception and the minibar is little more than a can of coke and a packet of orange juice.

Very good

from GenevaCH
We stayed one night at this hotel, located right in the center of Lugano. Perfect situation.

Honestly, I think it was the best value I have had in a hotel, for a long time. The room was not very expensive (less than USD 140 for two), very new, large and confortable, clean, with a free mini bar (without alcohol). The breakfast buffet was simply fantastic. The staff is very nice, and looks proud of working in the wonderful small hotel. It is a pleasure to discover a well managed hotel.

Quite simply - if you go to Lugano, this hotel is the best deal in town!

Top Local Tips for Lugano

Things to do in and around Lugano Lugano is a beautiful town on a lake. We had a car and did some day trips. We drove to the town of Melide to visit the Swiss Miniature Village-a treat for children and adults alike. We took the funicular to the top of Monte Bre and also to the top of Monte San Salvatore. If you only want to do one, we recommend Monte San Salvatore, as the view is superior.The Villa Favorita that we planned to visit has been closed and will not reopen. There are many charming towns and fishing villages along the coast to visit. Also, the boat ride touring the lake is worth doing.

Waymarked walks beginning fromthe top of Monte Bre Take the funicular to the top of Mount Bre. From there, you can choose from a number of well-signposted walks along hill paths. The views are excellent and drinking water is available at regular intervals along the marked paths.

Visit the Village of BRE! Take the funicular or the bus to the top of Monte Bre and wander down into the village of Bre. If you take the funicular, bear in mind that it is quite a number of steps down and a considerable climb back up to Monte Bre. We were told that the bus is an efficient means of getting to the village for those less inclined to exertion. The views are outstanding and the village is speckled with art installations. Be sure to stop in at the Wilhelm Schmid museum. The art is beautiful and so are the views from the top floor. Our visit to this spot was a highlight of our trip to Lugano!

(hotels)loading
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
10/10

See All 772 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Lugano Dante Center Hotel