Hotel Zandbergen

, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Amsterdam

  • Hotel Aalders Jan Luykenstraat 13, Amsterdam, Netherlands 8.0/10 - 248 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars
  • Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 58 Jan Luykenstraat, Amsterdam, Netherlands 8.0/10 - 287 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 62 Rooms
  • Roemer Visscher Hotel 8-10 Roemer Visscherstraat 10, Amsterdam, Netherlands 8.0/10 - 221 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 23 Rooms
  • Leidse Square Hotel Amsterdam 23 Tesselschadestraat, Amsterdam, Netherlands 8.0/10 - 533 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 89 Rooms
  • Hampshire Hotel Beethoven 43 Beethovenstraat, Amsterdam, Netherlands 7.0/10 - 152 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 52 Rooms
  • AMS Hotel Beethoven Beethovenstraat 43, Amsterdam, Netherlands 7.0/10 - 152 reviews
  • Hotel Acro Jan Luijkenstraat 44, Amsterdam, Netherlands 8.0/10 - 312 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars
  • Hotel Vondel 28 Vondelstraat, Amsterdam, Netherlands 7.0/10 - 444 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 78 Rooms
  • Hotel Washington Frans van Mierisstraat 10, Amsterdam, Netherlands 8.0/10 - 195 reviews Hotel Class 1 stars 21 Rooms
  • Hotel Museumzicht Jan Luijkenstraat 22, Amsterdam, Netherlands 7.0/10 - 83 reviews Hotel Class 1 stars
  • Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 21 Stadhouderskade, Amsterdam, Netherlands 8.0/10 - 745 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 392 Rooms
  • Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel 7 Stadhouderskade, Amsterdam, Netherlands 8.0/10 - 462 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 230 Rooms
  • The Park Hotel 25 Stadhouderskade Central, Amsterdam, Netherlands 8.0/10 - 802 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 187 Rooms
  • NH Museum Quarter Hotel Hobbemakade 50, Amsterdam, Netherlands 8.0/10 - 264 reviews
  • Eden Amsterdam Centre Hotel 387 Nassaukade, Amsterdam, Netherlands 7.0/10 - 302 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 70 Rooms

Hotel Zandbergen

, Amsterdam
Willemsparkweg 205 - Amsterdam - 4356 AH - Netherlands Hotel Website | | (+31) (0)20 676 93 21
331 Traveller

Reviews - Hotel Zandbergen

Historical Traveller Reviews of Hotel Zandbergen

A peaceful, comfortable stay. Excellent.

from A TripAdvisor Member
We stayed a week and found the Zandbergen to be an excellent base. Management and staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Room and bathroom were well thought-out, equipped, and clean. The park is nearby and lovely for walks. We would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Great place, especially if you are looking for a quiet hotel

from emandnj
As very active tourists, one of our main priorities when travelling on vacation is to obtain a quiet, clean, functional, and affordable room where we can get a good night's rest with minimal noise. We chose the Hotel Zandbergen based on other reviews and we were not disappointed. This hotel is located in a peaceful and safe neighborhood, but has accessibility to everything we wanted to see in Amsterdam. The hotel is close to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum and a short, pleasant walk (10min) through Vondelpark to the Leiseplein area. For other sights, a half block up the street, there is a stop for Tram #2 which returns to Central Station. (We had to transfer trams for some destinations, but the trams took us everywhere we wanted to go in Amsterdam with very short waits at all stops.) The staff is also very cordial, friendly, and helpful. Breakfast is provided and included some Dutch cheeses which were excellent. Also a plus: the hotel provides a PC near the check-in desk with free internet access for guests. Note that our room was small by North American standards, but average for most of the hotels we've stayed at in Europe.

Great Stay!

from A TripAdvisor Member
We had booked the hotel at the last minute on last-minute European Discount Hotel Website and I was nervous. This place was fabulous. The room we had was told to us to be a small, twin room and it was truly small. That said, it was clean and service was fabulous. The breakfast wsa generous and the husband and wife owners are very helpful and professional. The location was great right down the street from the Van Gogh museum.

Disappointed in Hotel Zandberg

from linda528
I chose Hotel Zandberg based on positive reviews on this site and was disappointed. The room was overpriced, small and charmless, with a saggy mattress and dual sets of lamps, desk areas, etc., like a dorm room. It was clean, but I don't think we were given new towels for the entire time we were there. Also, this place was relatively far outside the city center, although the surrounding area is nice. The innkeepers were courteous but frosty. For what Hotel Zandberg costs, it should have been much better. Biggest plus: the nearby lunch place at Emma Street tram stop with cheap and terrific broodjes.
Management Response from managementHZ
We take criticisms of our hotel seriously and try to improve our services as much as possible
by responding to negative comments.
Some of these complaints could have been handled here through better communication on both sides. For instance - the fact that no clean towels were provided was a very obvious oversight and something we could immediately have rectified if we had been informed about it.
Unfortunately some things we cannot change - we are indeed situated just outside the city centre – in fact it is a walk of about 12 minutes through the park to Leidseplein. ( 5 minutes by tram)
We always thought this was one of our plus points.
So – we, Margaret and Robert , owners of Hotel Zandbergen, are very sorry that “ Brooklyn, New York ‘’ was disappointed and that they found us ‘’frosty’’ ( I prefer courteous) and we really hope they will give us another chance some day.

We loved our stay here!

from revjcs
We loved our stay and can't wait to go back! We were there as a family, with seven of us in two rooms. The quad room at the back was wonderful, as has been reported in other emails.

We agree with all the great things that have been written- great and helpful hosts, fine breakfast, perfect location, loved the non-smoking aspect.

We would definitely stay there again. No question. My only caveat would be that I would want a room at the back. There were three of us in our room, and the other two had no problems sleeping. I, a light sleeper, was kept awake by street lights and street noise until I bought earplugs and wore my sleeping mask. It's worth it to stay there, but try for a room on the back side if you are a light sleeper.

Great Find!

from A TripAdvisor Member
I am a seasoned TripAdvisor shopper and depend on its information for choosing hotels, particularly in first-time visits to cities. We chose the Zandbergen because of its consistently good reviews, and the unusual circumstance of Robert Vonk's personal reply to the one negative review on the site. I figured any owner who would take the time to respond the way he did was worth staying with!
We stayed 3 nights in the quadruple room on the ground floor and found it amazing. Spacious with a semi-private garden patio, it was everything we could have hoped for. The mini-bar snacks and drinks were even reasonably priced, saving us the trouble of remembering a grocery stop for that last coke or bottle of water. The beds were comfortable, the room spotless, the bathroom spacious by European standards, and the breakfast was excellent. We also loved the location--away from the crowds and congestion of central Amsterdam but just a 1-minute walk from the tram stop for a quick ride to anywhere you would want to go. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend this fine hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Most pleasant Hotel and neighborhood

from PAHKI
Hotel Zandbergen may have been the most pleasant room and neighborhood we’ve ever stayed in, worldwide. Non-smoking was first on our list for hotels, small was second. Even beautiful luxury hotels can seem so anonymous, not Hotel Zandbergen. Hosts, Robert and Margaret made the breakfast time very personable and tasty. The room was bright, clean and quiet with plenty of water pressure in the shower/tub. There was no noise from other rooms or the street. We did enjoy one evening with gentle acoustic guitar music floating in through our balcony from an artistic neighbor. We prefered the quieter Museum district neighborhood to the bustling central canal area. What could be easier than the tram on the corner or walking to Amsterdam's attractions, parks and cafes we had on our wish list? We shopped in the neighborhood for tram tickets, pastries, and so much more. It was the perfect home-base for our day trip train excursions to Rotterdam, Delft, Haarlem, Hoorn, and Zaanse-Schans. We'd love to go again for another lovely week.

Reasonable, clean and comfortable

from A TripAdvisor Member
For a three star hotel this is a little gem. The rooms were clean, comfortable and we got a great rate on the Internet. It was near enough to the Leidesplein to walk to the entertainment. Near the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. You could get the number 2 tram outside the door right into the centre. The continental breakfast was included with a good selection of cheese, bread, preserves, etc. The staff were friendly and helpful.

True Hospitality

from A TripAdvisor Member
The Hotel Zandbergen is a great hotel located in a beautiful part of Amsterdam.

The hotel is run by Robert and Margaret Vonk who display nothing but true hospitality. They are always willing to provide advice and assist in every way they can.

The hotel is located in a quiet area of Amsterdam, extremely close to the Vondelpark, Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum and Concertgebouw yet is not very far from the very centre of Amsterdam either.

I would highly recommend a stay at the Hotel Zandbergen!

SUPER HOSTS WITH A WONDERFUL HOTEL

from A TripAdvisor Member
we had the good fortune to book a three day break at the hotel zandbergen(21st to the 24th of february 2005),in an excellent location just ten or twelve minutes on the tram from central station.A FIRST CLASS BREAKFAST EVERY MORNING.A comfortable room with a top of the range bathroom.The owners are such charming people and cannot do enough for there guests.We shall certainly be returning.
One handy hint if you are staying for three days as we did call in the transport office across the road from the station and ask for a three day run around ticket which you will find is super value.

Top Local Tips for Amsterdam

Vegetarian and going to Amsterdam? The food was so amazing in amsterdam, I doubt you will have trouble finding food on any menu that is vegetarian. But here are a few places we ate that had delicious vegetarian options: lunch- soup enzo!! (on Kerkstraat, on the corner past mikes bike shop); Los Pilones for dinner: Kerkstraat 63, near Leidesplain (owned and operated by two Mexican guys); Casa Peru- great canal side restaurant near Leidesplain, and sooo delicious: Leidsegracht 68; Oriental City for Chinese- 3 stories and on the corner, with great window/canal seats and delicious chinese: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 177 (near the Dom). Eating was one of our favorite past times in Amsterdam... after living a while in Germany now with their meat centric food and heavy sauces. Everything is so light and fresh in Amsterdam. Enjoy!

Trams If using trams more then 3 times day then get a 24 Hour pass for just over 6 Euro

Bicycles Beware! I got hit by a cyclist on my first day in Amsterdam. I didn't realise I was standing in a bike path. Some bike paths are obvious - they have lines painted on the road and a little bicycle sign but others just look like the side walk. The cyclists don't stop for you and some cycle very fast and if you are the slightest hard of hearing you won't hear their bells (if they bother to use them!) Just remember to look everywhere when you are trying to cross a street.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Hotel Zandbergen

  • zandbergen hotel amsterdam
  • Address: Willemsparkweg 205 - Amsterdam - 4356 AH - Netherlands
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
9.0/10

See All 331 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Hotel Zandbergen