Citizen M Hotel Amsterdam City

, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Amsterdam

Citizen M Hotel Amsterdam City

Rooms: 215

30 Prinses Irenestraat - Amsterdam - 1077M - Netherlands Hotel Website | | 31(0) 85 580 7777
1153 Traveller

Reviews - Citizen M Hotel Amsterdam City

Historical Traveller Reviews of Citizen M Hotel Amsterdam City

No. Unless you are a voyeur...

from pivko
Well it is necessary to say, that this is indeed a design hotel and that it implements some very innovative ideas, especially as far as the lobby and other common areas of the hotel are concerned.

However, in my opinion some of the solutions are too innovative and in fact preclude the customer to receive basic services to be reasonably expected from any hotel. First, the room is not adequately designed, especially because the "sleeping part" is not sufficienty separated from the "bathroom part". To understand this you would have to visit the hotel, since the published pictures are not illustrative enough - anyway, the toilet and shower are somehow "integrated" into the room, only separated by more or less transparent glass curtain. Perhaps the folks in Amsterdam enjoy themselves watching their roommate using toilet or taking shower, not mentioning the sound and odour effects, however, I found that quite annoying.

Also in the morning the hotel staff refused to store our luggage because their luggage room was full so we had to take our luggage to train station. Since this is absolutely basic service that must be provided by any hotel, I must take CitizenM as a failure and would not recommend it to anyone.
Management Response from hotelexpertAmsterdam
Dear Pivko,

Thanks for your recent stay with us.
As you might have noticed we just opened our doors a few weeks ago, and the weekend you stayed with us, we had 100 rooms worth of luggage in our luggage room. However, it was our mistake not to accommodate your luggage and we have spoken to the staff member that refused to take yours.
We have implemented procedures for this not to happen again, offering a late check out in this situation is one of them.

On your concern of the layout of the rooms, have you seen the roomtour and room images on our website before you booked???
Most citizens love the layout of the toilet and the shower, because it is so different than what you are used to in "the standard hotel room". However, I do agree that the citizenM room is best used when shared with someone you know well, due to it's open floor plan!

We hope you'll be back at citizenM, and will certainly offer you a late check out, so that you not only can leave your luggage in your room, but also can freshen up before you're on your way again!

Until then,

Your friends at citizenM

Great Value - Fun Place to stay!

from revolved
Location. If you don't mind staying outside of city center, this would be a good choice for you. Its a quick ride on the train (to Amsterdam Zuid Station) to the hotel, and a quick ride on the tram or train into the city.

Rooms. No surprise, the rooms are fairly small. But to make up for that, citizenM gives you an XL King size bed. SO comfortable. We had a few glitches with heat, hot water and flooding water from the shower. But this is a new hotel. They should be able to work out the kinks soon. Front rooms have a view of the WTC complex; back rooms overlook a tree-filled courtyard area.

Hotel. Great modern design and furniture. Large common areas for meetings, talking, watching TV, eating, etc. Free internet access. 24-hour canteen with food and bar (try the cucumber martini). There was still construction going on outisde the hotel. But it looked like they would be done with it in a few weeks.

Service. Great service from all the citizenM "Ambassadors".

Great Hotel!!

from Vera2782
Great rooms, with even better beds, great services and very nice staff. I've enjoyed my stay so much and I really recommand it to every one.

great value for money

from 1TravelDude
I really like the concept of the CitizenM. The whole concept of booking online and getting already the feel for the property. This continues when checking in and having a stylish room with a GREAT bed. The room has all you need and focuses on what you need most. City center location but you do not hear anything besides what you have running on your big flat screen TV. With a funny mobile gadget you can control all kind of things from like the blinds, TV, room atmosphere, alarm clock or the lights.
The staff was extremely helpful with any questions we had and always had this smile in their face with a nice twist of humor.
If you travel for business and are sick and tired of finding WLAN, no worries here! You just sit down somewhere in the lobby (plenty of space, stylish and comfortable furniture) and log into the free of charge high speed connection.

Food and drinks are not included in the rate but there is plenty of choices to pick from. Good thing is that you only pay here what you consume.

The connection to the city center is also great as trams run frequently right in front of the hotel.

To sum it up, great place to be, if you look for a hotel experience that is beyond of the regular places. Stylish but not snobby.
I will definitely come back!

Great place to stay, great bed, friendly staff

from Drummer185
Although I feared the room would be too small based on the images, in practise it turned out that the room was big enough for all my needs. The bed is great! The shower feels good, just don't forget to close the door well, otherwise the shower does not start.

Not to be missed

from Chazanddi
What a fab hotel and only a short tram ride away from the main bars. Massive bed with clean crisp sheets and funky rain shower and toilet .Room has large flat screen tv with free movies. Only downside is Amsterdam is so expensive .


from mexbarza
I’ve stayed in the citizenM at the airport a couple of times and it’s always an enjoyable experience; when I knew they were opening a new hotel closer to city center I immediately wanted to check it out. The first impression when I walked through the red fishbowl entrance was “Oh my, I’m in the Airport hotel”.

I have to thank the citizenM people for the highest consistency I’ve ever seen in a hotel brand, from the decoration to the staff, who I have to say, as in the first hotel are always there wearing a smile and ready to help you feel as if you came home after a long trip.

I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, but if you’re frequently on the road you’ll agree that one of the most relaxing parts of business travel is when you get to a place where you know exactly what to expect.

Congratulations citizenM (for the second time).

Worst experience - room flooed, terrible management, no space

from CityGuard
This was without a doubt the absolutely worst place I've ever stayed in my life -- even sleeping in my car and dirty hostels compare positively to my experiences with CitizenM.

The rooms were small and lacked basic amenities, such as a table or even enough floor space to lay out my suitcase without blocking the door.

But, the major issue was the poorly designed shower system that caused the room to FLOOD. The shower does not have a basin to contain the water if the drain is not working properly, and the way the shower walls are arranged it is impossible to see that an overflow is occurring in the event that the drainage is not working -- this results in a serious flood risk. I happen to have been a victim of a CitizenM shower flood. Several important documents were destroyed, and I was late to an important meeting due to the increased preparation time the flood caused.

When I reported the problem, the first words from the hotel staff member's mouth were "oh, another one." It was quite shocking that this was a known problem and yet the cause of the problem had not been fixed and guest had not been warned of the possible damage to their property. The staff did not seem to know how to respond when asked to make an accomodation for the problems created -- there did not appear to be a manager on duty who was able to make a reimbursement decision. Instead, the decision was made overnight without providing me the opportunity to explain the details to the management, and the small credit that was offered amounted to less than 1/6 of the cost of the stay for myself and colleague.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even my worst enemy.
Management Response from hotelexpertAmsterdam
The description of your stay at citizenM is definitely not the experience we have created for all World citizens and we are very disappointed to see such a sad review. Our sister hotel at Amsterdam Schiphol Airport shows that the concept is very much celebrated since the opening last summer and scores a 4.5 out of 5 on trip advisor and is the number 5 hotel in Amsterdam out of 377 hotels.

Your reality is however much different and I would like to apologize for the flooding and subsequent reaction of our team.

It has only been 10 days since the hotel opened its doors and we have indeed been experiencing some teething problems.
The morning of your experience we had 3 guests that came down that their shower had flooded. Later that day upon investigation, we found out this was caused by a blocked drain. Let me emphasize that our staff did not know about a potential flooding upon your check in to the room.

According to the incident report that we created on your shower flooding, the shift manager spoke to you and asked you what we could do to make things right. According to the same report you left our hotel with a full one night refund.

We have created small yet efficient rooms, with under the “king size bed” (2 by 2,2 meters) a full size drawer for your luggage. Although there is free WiFi and all movies are free at citizenM, we have created together with Vitra furniture a living room type lobby with work and relax area’s

Unfortunately our concept will not live up to everyone’s experience and we therefore regret your unfortunate hotel stay with us.

All my best,

Lennert de Jong
Director of Distribution & Business Development
citizenM hotels.


from Urm
The staff were helpful beyond all expectations. The hotel was immaculate, the rooms were very good, innovative and funky.

I have already recommended the hotel to a friend and would most definately stay here again

Brilliant hotel in Amsterdam: value luxury

from RioFan26
First stay in a citizenM and become an instant fan. They value all the things a business traveler values: high quality shower, great bed with super linens, friendly staff, on a budget. And if you like modern design that has athmosphere, this ones for you. They are priced low because the rooms are container size, literally, because the hotel is made pre-fab at a factory, then shipped to site and assembled there. Unique! So, the only time I would not recommend this hotel is if you stay for several days in a hotel and want to work in private. They have very nice work spaces with and without computers, have a reading area, and an area to relax, all in the common area, i.e. they're encouraging you to be out and about, using the room for TV and sleep. I just loved it.

Other names for Citizen M Hotel Amsterdam City

  • citizenm hotel amsterdam
  • Address: 30 Prinses Irenestraat - Amsterdam - 1077M - Netherlands
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 1153 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near Citizen M Hotel Amsterdam City