Best Western Hotel la Solara

, Sorrento, Italy
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Sorrento

  • Hermitage Hotel Via Nastro Verde 9, Massalubrense, Italy 9.0/10 - 354 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 62 Rooms
  • La Minervetta Hotel Via Capo 25, Sorrento, Italy 10/10 - 272 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 12 Rooms
  • Bristol Hotel Via Capo 22, Sorrento, Italy 9.0/10 - 952 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 136 Rooms
  • La Badia Hotel Via Capodimonte 4, Sorrento, Italy 8.0/10 - 127 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 26 Rooms
  • Capodimonte Grand Hotel Via Capo 15, Sorrento, Italy 9.0/10 - 559 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 131 Rooms
  • Del Mare Hotel Via Del Mare 30, Sorrento, Italy 9.0/10 - 204 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 29 Rooms
  • Francischiello Hotel Bellavista Via Partenope 26, Massalubrense, Italy 8.0/10 - 104 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 28 Rooms
  • Regina Hotel Via Marina Grande 10, Sorrento, Italy 8.0/10 - 29 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 36 Rooms
  • Coltur Suites Hotel Via Marina Grande, 28, Sorrento, Italy 9.0/10 - 20 reviews 8 Rooms
  • Hotel Admiral 218 Via Marina Grande, Sorrento, Italy 8.0/10 - 330 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 62 Rooms
  • Vesuvio Hotel 7 Via Nastro Verde, Sorrento, Italy 8.0/10 - 277 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 181 Rooms
  • Villa Maria Hotel Via Capo 8, Sorrento, Italy 7.0/10 - 181 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 58 Rooms
  • Ascot Hotel Via Capo 6, Sorrento, Italy 8.0/10 - 139 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 52 Rooms
  • Tirrenia Hotel Via Capo 1, Sorrento, Italy 7.0/10 - 58 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 60 Rooms
  • Bellevue Hotel Syrene Piazza Della Vittoria 5, Sorrento, Italy 9.0/10 - 199 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars 50 Rooms

Best Western Hotel la Solara

, Sorrento
4 star

Rooms: 40

118 Via Capo - Sorrento - 80060 - Italy | 081 5338000
716 Traveller

Reviews - Best Western Hotel la Solara

Historical Traveller Reviews of Best Western Hotel la Solara

Mixed Review

from spocougar
Our room was the largest we've stayed in in Europe with an outstanding sea view, the common rooms were lovely, and the pool area was outstanding. But I would have traded it all for working air conditioning. Apparently the air wasn't turned on yet for the season, despite hot and humid weather during our stay. I'm usually not such a wimp, but this wasn't a cheap hotel and I was disappointed that we couldn't get a good night's sleep. The road outside the hotel was noisy, despite being a fair distance from the town, so keeping the windows open all night was problematic.

We never ate dinner in the restaurant because it appeared to be continually full of tour groups. It was also so brightly lit that it looked more like a cafeteria. The shuttle bus service worked fairly well, but we still had to take a cab a couple times because it just didn't fit with our schedule. Cabs aren't cheap, so that added to the cost.

Welcome glass of champagne and wine in the room were very nice touches, but we didn't find the staff particularly helpful. When we asked for restaurant recommendations in town, the guy could provide precisely ONE. Fortunately, we simply explored the town and found some delightful places on our own.
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Luxurious and Tasteful

from arizawe
I shared a room with two friends and liked the spaciousness of the lobbies, dining room and verandas. Our room was perfect. It had a small balcony with a slice of a view of the water. The feature we liked the most was the mediterrean blue tile in the main lobbies. I liked the many beautiful original paintings also decorating the lobby areas. The dining room was large and lined with windows for you to view the water. It is decorated with many chandeliers. Food was good, standard breakfast fare. Service was friendly and efficient. We usually ordered one cappucino for the table, then ordered a second to take to the veranda by the pool area. Didn't use pools as the weather was not warm enough. Shuttle service was handy to take to get downtown. It's last stop is just a block over and above the train station. Taxi service from station to hotel was $16. Desk people helped us locate a hotel in Rome for our flight out. There is internet service at a cost. But cheaper if you use the ones near the train station. There is one just at the last stop, but even a cheaper one if you walk toward the station and stay on the same side that you got off. It is in a take-out bakery shop and only $1 for fifteen minutes. You have to use your room key to get the lights going. Our only complaint was the shower doors in the bathroom, it was tight and inconvenient to operate.
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

An excellent hotel

from HMBaggage
We stayed for 7 nights at La Solara. It is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. Why? The staff are helpful and friendly, the hotel is spotlessly clean, and everywhere is well tended and cared for and its just big enough. The food was simple but good, with generous helpings. A couple of dishes we had were just superb, one night I had a risotto, a favourite of mine, and it was to die for. There is a good view from the bar and dining room out to sea and as you eat dinner or sip a drink you can see the sun set across the bay, above the olive trees. When we arrived we were given a drink in the bar to welcome us so that checking in wasn't a rush and there was a complimentary bottle of wine in the room. Each night the bed is turned down and a chocolate left. It is not safe to walk from the hotel as there isn't a pavement but there is a free hotel minibus into Sorrento near to the bus and train station and the times fit in well with the bus and train times. Taxis are not cheap however and will cost 15-23 euros one way. Normally this would be a real downside for us but the laid back and friendly enthusiasm just washed over us and it got us organising our trips so we got out and about - there is just so much to see. Even when the jet from Capri was late we still managed to catch the bus back to the hotel. Long live la dolce vita at La Solara!
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

OK hotel-mediocre dinner

from cfsnow
We enjoyed our recent stay here but it was spoiled by a very forgettable dining experience. Dinner was offered in a very brightly lit school cafeteria-type room. The room was filled with tour groups who were offered a very limited menu. We were not interested in this menu and the waiter and the kitchen tried to accommodate us with mixed results.The hotel itself and the staff were fine but I wish that we had gone elsewhere for dinner.
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Wonderful Hotel

from PoorCinders
This hotel was a joy to stay at, I actually travelled alone! It's about 3km away from sorrento up hill. But up there the view is lovely, from the lounge you look down to the sea. My room was very clean and at night your bed is turned down and a sweet left for you. There is a mini bar in the room, but for a cola/orange it's 4 euro's which was expensive. The food and service at night was brilliant, very good regional food served and good sizes too!
Reception were also very helpful and friendly, alogether an excellent, friendly hotel. Oh yes, there is a free courtesy bus down to Sorrento.
Enjoy this hotel......
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Will DEFINITELY be back!

from A TripAdvisor Member
I have never been to Italy. After staying here, I didn't want to leave!! The staff is friendly and very helpful. The dining room is excellent - both food and service. One night we were too tired to come down and eat (try walking for a day in Positano and you'll see what I mean) and the staff brought our food up for us. You have the same table each time you dine, and the view of the coast and water from the dining room is spectacular - especially at sunset!! The rooms are lovely and very Italian, with doors that open to a small private patio. A bottle of house wine is in the room upon arrival. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you down into the city (the hotel is up a pretty large and winding hill - which is good as it gets you away from the city) and to the bus / train station for trips to Positano, Pompeii, Capri, etc. The pool looked beautiful, although we were too busy sightseeing to relax and swim. I would love to go back and have more time to relax and lounge around - this is the perfect hotel for that!!
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Quite good but out of town

from markfranks
Stayed here for 8 nights. The room was a reasonable size and very clean, and we had a nice balcony (at extra cost) overlooking the sea. Despite being by no means luxurious it was of a 4 star standard. The pool area was ok and provided great views over the sea from the terrace and never got overcrowded. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful.

The main problem is the location. In some ways it was nice to be slightly out of the town centre, but this meant we were entirely reliant on the minibus service or taxis (aside from the distance, walking to the town centre would have been suicidal due to the lack of pavement). The minibus was 100% reliable but infrequent (eg. no bus to the town between 12.00 and 16.00). Taxis were expensive (about 20 euros from the town centre) and on one occasion the driver tried to rip us off by adding a few euros to the meter when he thought we weren't watching. The alternative to travelling into the town centre every day (eating and drinking in the hotel) is very expensive too.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel, but its location is definitely the main downside.
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Want to go back!!!!

from jjilcd
From the moment that the front desk clerk met our taxi to the moment the courtesy van dropped us off at the train station I thought I had died and gone to heaven! My daughter and I were tired from a long train trip and the staff at this hotel made our visit so enjoyable. We met people from all over the globe some who return to this hotel each year. The property is well kept and the furnishings are lovely. The breakfasts are wonderful. The dining room staff adds a special touch to your meal. If you want a place to visit that you may not want to leave choose this hotel!
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Lovely La Solara!

from UnitedKingdomTaylor
Just returned from a 7 night stay at La Solara, champagne & a basket of fruit in our room on arrival. Over 3/4 of the people we spoke to during the week had all returned to this hotel time & time again. Our room was very comfortable , we were to the side of the Hotel but still had a sea view. All of the staff including the porter were the nicest people we had ever met and could not do enough for you. The food was excellent with a good variety of choice. the Sunday Gala evening was a great treat with the chefs parading the food into the dining room, piano music was played and the meal was superb!
The hotel is about 3km from Sorrento but the courtesey bus is very convenient and always ran on time. I cannot recommend this hotel enough it was our first visit and like many of the other returning guesta we will be back!
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

5 star holiday all round

from A TripAdvisor Member
We went on 1 August for a week. This was our first time in Sorrento and at the hotel.
What can I say? First class service from start to finish.
We arrived there at almost 11pm and they had laid on some food for us in the dining room. Not many hotels would do that for you.
Our room was spacious despite having a 6 foot bed and a single bed in. the bathroom was clean.
The staff couldn't do enough for you. It was my husband's 40th birthday whilst we were there. We didn't tell them but the maid must have seen his birthday cards in the room and told the chef. That night after dinner, they presented him with a birthday cake and everyone applauded. Such a nice gesture.
The food was excellent. Buffet style breakfast with scrambled eggs everyday along with either bacon, tomatoes or sausages, toast, cold meats and cheese, croissants, fruit and cereal. Tea, coffee and juice also.
Evening meal was gorgeous. Four courses every evening, nicely presented, still hot and a variety of dishes to choose from.
The pool area was a little disappointing. The pool itself was huge but you felt like you could touch the person on the next sunbed to you as they were quite closely packed together.
We were on the first floor in a seaview room. However the bushes and trees were a little overgrown and therefore we had a seaview from the left hand side of our balcony but not the right!!
The air conditioning was very good. You had total control over when you had it on or off and was very efficient.
The courtesy bus to Sorrento was very reliable and clean. It's about 15 minutes by bus into Sorrento itself so it came in very handy.
Overall I would recommend this hotel. If I were going to Sorrento again I would definitely stay there again.
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio
Management Response from UGOSolara
Merry Christmas and happy New year from each and everyone of us

It was another successful season.
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! You are the reason of our pride.
To see you again will be our gratification and we will always do our utmost to deserve your gratitude.
With the fondest regards and wishes from each and everyone of us.
Ugo Di Maio

Top Local Tips for Sorrento

DIY Dont use any of the organised trips they are a rip off. People were paing 40 Euros to visit pompei when u can go yourself for 11.

Train from Naples The train service from Napoli was a little too hectic for us senior citizens with luggage. We elected to take a private limousine back from hotel to Napoli train station.

do your own thing Using public transport is easy if you are able to get about on your own and a lot cheaper than organised excursions. The train from Sorrento to Pompeii is a few euros and you can get a tour guide there (which is a must or you will miss out on so much). Also the boats to Capri Positano and Ischia are easy to use. A tip we were given was to take the bus to Positano (sit opposite side to driver for best views) and get the boat back to Sorrento which we did and were able to spend mst of the day there as it is truly beautiful.So much better than being herded around.

(hotels)loading

Other names for Best Western Hotel la Solara

  • sorrento best western
  • best western sorrento
  • best western la solara
  • Address: 118 Via Capo - Sorrento - 80060 - Italy
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
10/10

See All 716 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Best Western Hotel la Solara