Alessandra Hotel

, Florence, Italy
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Florence

  • Pierre Hotel Via De' Lamberti 5, Florence, Italy 9.0/10 - 278 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 44 Rooms
  • La Scaletta Hotel Via Guicciardini 13, Florence, Italy 9.0/10 - 230 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 11 Rooms
  • Pendini Hotel Via Strozzi 2, Florence, Italy 8.0/10 - 298 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 42 Rooms
  • Esperanza Hotel Via Dell'Inferno 3, Florence, Italy 7.0/10 - 25 reviews Hotel Class 1 stars 11 Rooms
  • Helvetia & Bristol Hotel 2 Via Dei Pescioni, Florence, Italy 9.0/10 - 165 reviews Hotel Class 5 stars 49 Rooms
  • Olimpia Hotel Piazza Della Repubblica 2, Florence, Italy 7.0/10 - 135 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 24 Rooms
  • Rocco Forte Savoy Hotel 7 Piazza Della Repubblica, Florence, Italy 9.0/10 - 236 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 107 Rooms
  • Medici Hotel Via De, Florence, Italy 6.0/10 - 267 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 26 Rooms
  • Calzaiuoli Hotel 6 Via Dei Calzaiuoli, Florence, Italy 9.0/10 - 507 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 45 Rooms
  • Maxim Hotel Via Dei Medici 4, Florence, Italy 8.0/10 - 364 reviews Hotel Class 1 stars 22 Rooms
  • Fiorino Hotel Via Osteria Del Guanto 6, Florence, Italy 7.0/10 - 40 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 23 Rooms
  • Hotel Brunelleschi Florence 3 Piazza Santa Elisabetta, Florence, Italy 9.0/10 - 631 reviews Hotel Class 4 stars 96 Rooms
  • Cristina Hotel Via Della Condotta 4, Florence, Italy 8.0/10 - 39 reviews Hotel Class 1 stars 9 Rooms
  • Aldini Hotel Via Calzaiuoli 13, Florence, Italy 8.0/10 - 170 reviews Hotel Class 2 stars 14 Rooms
  • De la Ville Hotel 1 Piazza Antinori, Florence, Italy 9.0/10 - 289 reviews Hotel Class 3 stars 73 Rooms

Alessandra Hotel

, Florence
2 star

Rooms: 25

17 Borgo Ss. Apostoli - Florence - 50100 - Italy Hotel Website | | 39.055.283438
851 Traveller

Reviews - Alessandra Hotel

10/10
Nice family run hotel in great location
Submitted by: Arment in 06/06/06
  • Age Group: 26 - 30
  • From: Bahamas
  • Traveller type: Young Couple
We booked a 4 nights stay at the Alessandra early this month after reading previous reviews. The location is excellent, 50 yards from the ponte veccio and 5 minutes from the uffizzi.

The price was reasonable (Euro 140 per night including breakfast) and the staff was helpful in offering good dinner/shopping suggestions plus they provided tickets to the major museums (no line). Breakfast consisted of yogurt, biscuits, cereals, pastries, cheeses, meats, breads, fruits juice, capucchino , different blended the and a American coffee.

We were very pleased with our visit and will recommend Hotel Alessandra to friends and if ever in Florence again we would be sure to return.

Historical Traveller Reviews of Alessandra Hotel

Nice rooms, but hated the curfew

from A TripAdvisor Member
I have just returned back from vacationing in the wonderful Florence, Italy. We stayed at Hotel Alessandra and have to say that it was very nice there, but its on the second floor, so you have to walk up a lot of stairs to get to their "lobby" area. Plus, really the only bad part is that they have a curfew which can be a problem if you don't know what time you're returning. If that doesn't matter to you, then its a great place to stay.
Management Response from Hotel-Alessandra
I regrets that your stay was not a complete satisfaction but I’m glad to read you had nice time with us. I assure you that here at Hotel Alessandra we takes all feedback/suggestions very seriously and since you have stayed with us we made the necessary improvements to avoid complaint about returning late at night. The desk always close at 1am but the staff is able to open to guess coming home later than that.
I look forward to welcome you back again at Hotel Alessandra in the very near future.
Kind Regards,

Andrea Gennarini

What a disappointment!!

from pkfeld
Reviews are not kidding about the stairs and the small elevator. Be warned!! If the elevator is broken, you will have to walk up a lot of stairs. If you have heavy bags you will be sorry. Once inside, the pensione is dark and there are more stairs, depending on the room you have. The rooms are large though which was a plus. If you need to open the window, it will be very noisy. The bathroom door was falling apart and could have been moldy at the bottom from water damage. The breakfast was poor. It was centrally located and very close to "Original Walking Tours of Florence" which we recommend highly.
Management Response from Hotel-Alessandra
My sincere apologies for reading that you have find your experience with us to be disappointing to you.
After you wrote we made some change and have, now, a newly refurnished breakfast room with a generous buffet. The old lift is still working fine without providing bad surprises. We have fixed the bathroom door you have mentioned that was, in effect, damaged by the water, May be we would have been more prompt to fix it if you had informed us directly during your stay.
Again my sincere apologies.

Yours Sincerely

Andrea Gennarini

Would recommend to anyone

from A TripAdvisor Member
Good value, perfect location and excellent family-run staff.
The only drawback is that you have to walk up 3 flights of stairs to get the reception, however, all other aspects were ideal.

Best Bargain and Superior Service

from A TripAdvisor Member
I was to have gone to Florence several years ago, partly on government business, partly on personal travel to a seminar in Florence. As it happened, the business reason for my visit evaporated and so did my government per diem financial compensation! Nonetheless, I was commited to the seminar and happened upon a guidebook listing of the Allesandra and booked probably the cheapest (67 Euro) room. All was set, until I arrived in Florence deprived of my luggage (thanks to Alitalia..!!) and with only 2 hours before the first night's reception of my seminar!! Not a problem, as I was expertly advised by Andreas to head on foot to a particular men's clothing store near the train station and I was soon outfitted in a respectable set of Italian threads for less than $200 in time for my appointment. This plus much other helpful advice from the hotel staff added to the value and great location of this pensione hotel!

Highlight of our trip to Italy!

from travelswithteens
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in Oct 2003, and it was a memorable experience. What sets Hotel Alessandra apart is the people who work there. You will feel like you have your own personal concierge! Warm, friendly, and bending over backwards to meet your needs. The rooms are fine, nothing fancy, the breakfast appealing, and we were not unduly troubled by the outside street noise (the location is on a sidestreet, but there are a couple of bars within earshot). On the other hand, you are located 2 blocks from the Ponte Vecchio, and many other major sites. Highly recommended.

Great little place!

from A TripAdvisor Member
This was the least expensive place we stayed in Italy but probably the best. It is in a great location. We had a double room with private bath which was quite large with a high ceiling. Shower pressure was good. The people at the desk were very helpful, there was cheap internet access, and a decent breakfast. Only thing, there were tons of stairs. You have to climb up about 30 steps to get to the elevator, then you are at the hotel. Then to get up to our room from the hotel desk, we had to climb a long staircase to get to our floor, about 30 more steps. This was with our luggage and everything. The elevator only saved us about a 3rd of the amount of stairs, so half the time it wasn't even worth it. This was fine for us because we are young, but we can't imagine an older couple being able to deal with those stairs and all that luggage them selves.

Great location, Nice Rooms!

from A TripAdvisor Member
My friends and I stayed at the Pensione Alessandra on May 22, 2004. We had two double rooms w/private baths. Our room was nice and very spacious. Although the bathroom was small, the shower was roomy. We had a large window with shutters that overlooked the street. The breakfast was good: ham, cheese, cereal, pastries, coffee and juice. Andrea and Anna were very kind and helpful. My friends dropped off some laudry the day before we checked in, Andrea sent it out that day and had it ready when we checked in the next day. She even paid for it first!! Anna was very kind and tried to help us with changing our Uffizi reservations and with our dinner reservations. We left messages for other friends who were in Florence and they received them with no problems at all. By the way, the pensione has an elevator, it's small, but definitely big enough to send your luggage up so you do not have to carry it. It also has a computer to access the internet. The best thing about the pensione is that it is located in one of the best locations. It is around the corner from the Ponte Vecchio bridge, the Duomo, Accademia, Uffizi and walking distance to the train station. It is also surrounded by wonderful shops! Needless to say, I would definitely stay here again and I would highly recommend you do too!!

Location!

from A TripAdvisor Member
Hotel Alessandra was in a great location. We walked from the train station with minimal problems. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fair, but would recommend saving your morning coffee for a pastry shop nearby. The rooms were spacious with large window overlooking the street. We enjoyed ourself and would definitely stay again. Suzanne and Anthony

nice hotel but noisy

from A TripAdvisor Member
This is a family run hotel with a great location, near the PonteVecchio. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was lovely and very large. The only problem was that there was a lot of noise on the street at night....often until 3 or 4 in the morning. It was hard to sleep! The noise wasn't traffic, it was young people, coming home from a night out and were quite drunk and loud.
Breakfast was adequate but not wonderful.
Management Response from Hotel-Alessandra
Thank you for your survey.
I am happy to read that you have enjoyed our location and find your room to be lovely and a nice size. I’m also glad to hear that all the staff’s member at Hotel Alessandra in Florence ensured you had everything you need and do their best to make your stay the most comfortable possible.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the noise coming from the street caused probably, as you said, by young drunk people that ruined your night sleep.
We took your note (as well with other survey) about our breakfast and mode some important adjustment. We have now a new remodelled breakfast room with a new generous buffet.
I really hope to be able in to host you again with us in the future in order to experience the improvement done since your first stay with us
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards

Andrea Gennarini

Great Service, Great location, Great Price!

from kikibat
stayed 4 nights; VERY helpful and friendly staff (Andre recommended restaurant, "Nella" around the corner from the hotel which was fantastic!); also very helpful when it came to reserving museums, etc. Spacious, well-maintained rooms, and convenient location. Breakfast (included) was filling and varied. I would definitely stay there again, and recommend to anyone traveling to Florence.

Top Local Tips for Florence

The Uffizi Although I am glad that I went to the Ufizzi, it was overwhelming and very crowded. I would go back during a slower tourist time. It maddens me that you spend so much money on these museums and go through all the reservation hassle only to find out that little if any of the signage is in English. They want you to rent the audio equipment at an additional expense (or worse yet, hire a tour guide). Clearly over 50% of those in attendance were English speaking. There were not only Americans but many Brits and Australians in attendance.

take guided tours When you are waiting (endlessly) in lines for things and 'recruiters' come along selling guided tours - take them! the one at San Marco Basilica in Venice cost 10 Euro and was worth every penny - you see what you wouldn't otherwise see and you learn what you would never learn on your own. The guide we had there was a petite lady with a lovely accent who was a parishioner of the Basilica! We also took a guide at the Vatican. it was 45 Euro and again - worth every penny - our guide there was an South African art student and although i had been to the Vatican before, and spent plenty of time in the Sistine Chapel, he taught me things i had never heard before.

rent a motor scooter and ride throughTuscany Rent a motor scooter/ Vespa and ride through Tuscany and end in Sienna before returning back to Florence. Two people can share a scooter and the trip is easy because there's only one road. You'll see vineyards and beautiful views, plus you could stop at some of the villas and towns. This is a full day trip that will be a highlight of your vacation.

(hotels)loading
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
9.0/10

See All 851 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Alessandra Hotel