The Prince of Wales Hotel

, Athlone, Ireland
Nearby Airports
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Athlone

The Prince of Wales Hotel

, Athlone
3 star

Rooms: 46

Church Str - Athlone - xxxx - Ireland Hotel Website | | 0906476666
202 Traveller

Reviews - The Prince of Wales Hotel

Historical Traveller Reviews of The Prince of Wales Hotel

ve stayed in for years!!!

from scottish-lass2007
A gorgeous hotel in a gorgeous place! Staff made us feel very welcome during our stay. The facilities were superb, a very comfy large bed and a spotless bathroom with an amazing shower.

We were running late for breakfast and thought we might be turned away, however we were pleasantly greeted and made to feel that there was no rush whilst we enjoyed a beautiful big Irish Fry. Yummy!

I would certainly stay at this place again, it does exactly what it says on the tin.

Look forward to going back again.
Management Response from ManagerAthlone
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Prince of Wales Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Hotel.

Fantastic Hotel

from cckavs
The Prince of Wales is a pleasure to stay in. We had a very enjoyable two nights in it. The staff were incredily pleasant and had upgraded us to a suite for our stay as the suites were'nt booked out. The room was large, very well laid out etc. The showers were AMAZING, water from all angles.

The location of this hotel means that you never have to get a taxi to go out.

I would recommend eating in the hotel if you can book a meal. The food was absolutley delicious and very graciously served.
Management Response from ManagerAthlone
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you had a positive experience during your stay with us over the weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales Hotel.

ve ever had

from Patriciajm
Restaurant closed for no apparent reason. Room-service food microwaved and inedible - of a standard that would disgrace a soup kitchen, never mind what is supposed to be a top-class hotel. Continental breakfast comprised of one stale croissant, some runny flavourless jam and weak instant coffee. Awful service and e-mails to complain about all this were just ignored.

So much of an absolute rip-off it has put us off ever going back to Ireland.
Management Response from ManagerAthlone
We received a complaint from this guest via email. The management looked into the complaint and the duty manager sent an email onto the guest.

The guest was not happy with this reply and wanted one of the senior Managers to reply to it. The operations Manager sent an email as well, excepted some of the issues and apologized about any inconvenience caused. He also offered a discount as a goodwill gesture. We then received this email back with a note saying that she was disappointed that we did not answer their complaint.

We sent an email just saying we were confused over the matter. As they had forwarded our reply email on to us in that email. Which means they did receive an answer to their complaint. I have not heard anything back from this guest since.

A great place

from Anna44
This hotel in the centre of Athlone is a great place to stay. We stayed as part of a big group and Michelle at reservations could not have been more helpful with changes and requests up to the last minute. Staff were so friendly and nothing was a problem from the wait staff through to the final check out staff. Really good value and really convenient place for groups, parties or even couples. It's not ultra luxurious but is a very comfortable, modern and clean hotel. Also really good value.
Management Response from ManagerAthlone
I would like to thank you for your nice comments about the hotel. Michelle was delighted that she was mentioned. As she prints off all the trip advisor reviews for our weekly meetings. I look forward to welcoming you again to the Prince of Wales Hotel

Average stay!

from annualtripper
Just back from a girls night away at the Prince of Wales Hotel. Have to say it didn't quite live up to the other great reviews I'd read before we went. On arrival at 2pm we were told our room's weren't ready & wouldn't be until 3pm, they stored our bags until the room was ready but only after we asked! When we did go back to check in the receptionist was not expecially friendly & didn't offer any information e.g. resturant/breakfast times etc.
The rooms themselves are nice & the 3 jet showers are really lovely!
You get a half price consession into the Karma Club which is located in the Hotel which is pretty okay but I've stayed in other Hotel's where you get a free pass!?!? Would this be too much to ask......
All in all a nice stay but nothing extra special - I don't think!
Management Response from ManagerAthlone
I would like to thank you for your constructive comments. In future we will be advising our guests that check in time is 4pm. If we have early departures we can faciliate guests before this time. But as you can appreciate most of the guests at weekends do not vacate their rooms until the 12 o clock deadline or after. We do see there was a lack of communication here in this case. I will be addressing this issue in relation to communication with the Front office Department. Thanks again for the feedback.

t want to be in a hurry!

from Cazzawaw
So very disappointing! Stayed one night with a group. Arrived at 1pm and we were told we couldn't check in until 3pm. Most hotels I've stayed in check you in from 2pm. We arrived back after 3 and most of the rooms still weren't ready. I was told at 3.20pm that my room would be another half an hour! After complaining that this wasn't acceptable, they miraculously came up with a room! Other members of the group were left waiting until after 4pm! I was directed to the lift to take my bag upstairs. It was only when the lift door closed that I realised the light wasn't working. I know it was only up one floor, but it was in pitch darkeness. Good thing I'm not claustrophobic! The room stank of cigarette smoke and there were burn marks on the furniture. Aside from that, the room was okay. Towels and bedlinen were clean, but the toiletries were minimal. Good portions in the carvery, but there was no sandwich bar at the weekend and bar food was not snackish, more full meal which wasn't what I wanted.

Compared to what other members of our party staying in the nearby Radisson got for around the same price, the Prince of Wales was sorely lacking and not somewhere I could reccommend.
Management Response from ManagerAthlone
Thank you for your comments. We have changed our website and check in procedure to inform guests that the check in time is 4pm. The check out time for the hotel is 12pm. Unfortunately most of the guests that stay with us do stay in their rooms till check out time. If the rooms checks out early we can release the rooms before 4pm.

Since June we have reduced the number of smoking rooms available in the Hotel. There was a problem with stale smell of smoke. We have tried all the products on the market but the only effective way to reduce the problem is limit the number of smoking rooms.

We have treid Febreeze, Plug in freshener and aerosol cans. Unfortunately some guests still smoke in these rooms. I know some hotels charge a soilage charge for people smoking in the rooms. But we feel you would get negative press from these actions.

I remember there was a fault with the light in t the lift. We did put in a service call and the lift was fixed on the Sunday morning. Unfortunately they could not get a repair person out to the hotel on the Saturday. I know the guest would have seen that it was fixed on the sunday. As they stayed over for the full weekend.

We do thrive to make everyones stay with us as comfortable as possible. We do take customer comments and feedback very serious. At the end of the day i use trip advisor myself when booking holidays as a guideline.

Absolute dump

from Jebus
This is definitely one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in anywhere, so bad that having recently registered on tripadvisor I still want to write a review two years later...and I'm lazy! One thing stands out about the Prince of Wales, the dinner I had there with my extended family was unanimously decried as one of the worst meals any of us had ever had....I actually felt nauseous the next day it was such an offence to my palate. In the search for redeeming qualities you can forget about the staff, very unhelpful and undertrained. Aside from that it does have a roof and four walls, if it's basic no frills you're looking for but have money to burn then park your masochistic self here!
Management Response from ManagerAthlone
I have decided to reply to all comments be it negative or positive on this site. I dont know exactly when you did stay with us as over two years is a bit vague. In relation to the hotel itself we have a virtual tour of the hotel on our website. The camera cant lie. You can see the decor of the rooms, reception and bar in the hotel. I am sorry that you had a negative experience with your meal at the prince. We do have a good name for our food in Athlone. Our staff are known for their friendly nature. We do try our utmost to look after everyone that visits the hotel. Hopefuly one day you can come back and we can look after you.

Great New Years Eve

from barbaraDCork
We stayed in this hotel for New Years Eve and had a wonderful time. It has a great location and the rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant, again the service was great, as was the food. We will definately be returning to the Prince of Wales for another visit.
Management Response from ManagerAthlone
I am delighted that you enjoyed your New Years celebration at the Prince of Wales Hotel. It is great to see in a review that you are looking forward to coming back to visit us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales Hotel

Simply Fabulous Hotel for a Wedding

from eduarda
We met travelling in Germany and the following year we married in Brazil. We wanted to have some sort of a celebration for our Irish family so we choose to have a wedding reception in this hotel. We picked it because my (john's) parents had their reception there in 1978 (though the hotel is under new management these days).

Our stay at the hotel was simply magnificent; the hotel could not have done any more for us; in many ways we were completely spoiled: the head chief and hotel commercial manager met us one week before the reception and gave us freshly cooked samples of all the available dishes for the menu. We sat around forking into some beautifully cooked options. The hotel were also very flexible with our requests; we wanted to blend a touch of Brazil with the traditional Irish dishes and that suggestion was greeted with great enthusiasm.

On the day of thr wedding, the hotel looked absolutely amazing: so much so that one of the staff commented to us that she was now thinking of changing the venue for her wedding to the Prince of Wales!

All our guests commented on the food, and said they enjoyed a real five star experience. Some guests commented that our reception was 'the best wedding they had ever been at!' which is praise indeed.

Of course we didn't expect to receive that kind of praise; we simply wanted to provide a day-out for all our friends and family who couldn't travel to Brazil. It is the hotel that deserve the praise. If you are considering having a wedding here we couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. Five stars!

John & Eduarda
Management Response from ManagerAthlone
thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure looking after you on your wedding day. I am delighted that you had a fantastic experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales Hotel.

Worst dinner ever

from AOCW
Our Golf society selected to stay and dine at the Prince of Wales in Athlone for our annual outing in Sept 2006. Our dining experience was disatrous due to VERY VERY BAD FOOD (worst ever was the concensus) and bad service. While a bad night in the kitchen is somewhat forgivable, what is unforgivable is the reluctance of hotel management to respond to our complaint despite three requests (2 by phone and 1 by email). Never ever again.

Top Local Tips for Athlone

Go to KinKhao Do not go to Athlone without booking dinner at the Thai restaurant KinKhao - absolutely amazing food, each person in our large party highly recommended the food, impeccable service. the reviews it receives in the national press are definitely deserved. Excellent value also.

Sandwich Bar When in Athlone try the Prince of Wales Hotel sandwich bar. It is wonderful & healthy

walk by the shannon theres a beautiful walk northwards up the shannon on the roscommon side of the river


Other names for The Prince of Wales Hotel

  • prince of wales hotel
  • prince of wales athlone
  • Address: Church Str - Athlone - xxxx - Ireland
Travel Library Traveller Rating?

See All 202 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...

Hotels Near The Prince of Wales Hotel