Hotel Porto Elounda Resort Elounda

, Crete, Greece
Review this Hotel
Popular Travel Destinations

Recently Reviewed Hotels Around Crete

Hotel Porto Elounda Resort Elounda

, Crete
5 star

Rooms: 193

Elounda - Crete - 720 53 - Greece Hotel Website | | 2841-068012
209 Traveller

Reviews - Hotel Porto Elounda Resort Elounda

Historical Traveller Reviews of Hotel Porto Elounda Resort Elounda

A resort to visit

from drivs
During my staying in Port Elounda I felt, and had several evidences, that I was leaving in a perfect environment, which was designed, built and operated by professionals, with respect to its wonderful surrounding and to the needs and wishes of its customers.

Majestic Porto Elounda

from GeoAthens
We spent 4 days at Porto-Elounda with my wife, 4 year-old son and his
nanny. I usually do not write reviews of this kind but I felt like doing so this time, as it was one of the best short-holidays we have had for a long time. The site is absolutely superb, our 2-room suite,
ample and beautiful, had its own pool and a stunning view on the bay. The service was excellent, highly professional, responding immediately with a smile to our every expressed need or desire. All the meals were outstanding, with a wide selection of fresh fruit and salads, and many local delicatessen. Though the hotels were at high capacity the place never felt the least noisy or crowded, and you could always go swimming in one of the quiet small bays of the Elounda coastline. Overall, a delightful and memorable experience.

Eureka - a spa to match asia in europe

from wearyBrussels
As i travel frequently around Europe for business, I tend to be quite choosy about my hotels and am constantly looking for top range hotels with spa facilities and am constantly disappointed! For pleasure I usually travel to the Far East where the facilities and wellbeing treatments are second to none. Wow was I pleasantly suprised when I booked the Elounda Porto with a spa - the Six Senses.

This place is to die for. Apart from the setting and the design of the spa, the staff are so good at their job. I had four treatments and every one of them could match the best treatments I have had in Thailand and the Maldives which I never thought I could find in Europe. Everything about the place inspired calm and serenity. I needed a couple of treatments explained to me and the manageress herself, who I'd noticed was very discreetly but constantly making sure every detail was just so, took me to the treatment rooms and thoroughly explained the procedures.

The hotel was wonderful and service impeccable, but the spa really did make all the difference. If you get the chance to go, ask for Sophie or Marie for your treatments, wonderful girls who really know their stuff and obviously enjoy their work, although I would imagine they are all just as professional.

My only gripe is there are no direct flights from any capital city in Europe to Crete in Winter. I had to travel to Athens and then make a connection down to Crete. With these no-frills airlines flying to every backwater airport all over Europe and beyond, I wonder why they are ignoring this beautiful island with resorts like this.
Management Response from Fotis_Kokotos
We are once more very glad to see that our efforts to improve every aspect of our services is reflected in the satisfaction of our guests. We have been saddened by the fact that we had some negative comments in the past, and this has cemented our resolve to make the Porto Elounda Deluxe Resort the absolute best vacation experience. We will improve and we will not stop trying, and we hope that our satisfied guests will express their sentiments in written reviews such as this one. There are many things new at the resort, and all our guests from the past will be happily surpised to discover them.

Wonderful hotel, fantastic spa!

from antonio_lopez
I stayed at the Porto Elounda with my girlfriend between October 22-29, 2006 and we booked a standard double room. From the first moment we got to the hotel things improved tremendously: we got an immediate upgrade to a private pool deluxe room which was one of the biggest hotel rooms we have stayed at. The staff were very friendly with everything we asked for, and especially the water sports guys were the best we have ever met. I like to water ski and they had some of the best boats and equipment. My girlfriend did a scuba lesson and she liked it so much that she signed up for the course. In five days she had the PADI license! One evening she came back from the spa and told me that I have to see it. I am not a spa person and I don't understand all these different treatments - imagine that it took me 15 minutes just to read the menu! But when I went there I was shocked! I cannot imagine a more beautiful spa, and I am 100% sure that it will be many years until I see something like that again. The architecture and the design are top, and the services are of equal quality. I later learned that the Six Senses Spas that operate here also have many spas around the world, and one of them is in my home town, Barcelona! This experience has made me all the more happier. It's funny, but when we were leaving we were unhappy to end such a fantastic vacation, but happy to go home because we could go to the spa! I strongly suggest this hotel for anyone who want a really good time.

The best family resort we have ever been to!

from donovan_karren
I usually don't write reviews on hotels, but I decided to do so since I saw that this resort had many bad comments, which I thought is really unfair. First of all I have to tell you that I have been with my husband and 5-year-old son to many family resorts in Italy, Spain, Portugal and Greece in the past 5 years, and that this one is by far the best we have ever been to. To begin with, it has a private sandy beach, which is very difficult to find, and when I say private I mean only for the hotel's guests. The rooms are really big for the price you pay. We had a porto de luxe room with a great view and a huge bathroom. The food at the Nafsika restaurant was really very good and it was nice that they had a different theme every night, ex. italian night, greek night etc. This was interesting and made us feel we were eating in a different restaurant every night. The spa of the resort is unbelievable and really you must visit it, it is a piece of art. The service was good, people were friendly but in some occasions a little slow (the reception especially). Also I was impressed that the guest book was full of very good comments and I really can't understand why someone wrote that there where very bad comments in the guest book, as I said the reception was slow so I had a lot of time to look at it :-) . I believe there is always a way to see things and for every property I have visited I could write thousands of bad comments, but the point is whether or not you have a nice time at the resort you are visiting, and we had a great time, and certainly we are going back.

Not a five star, not family friendly

from Marcopolo_06
The hotel's web site promises much more than the resort has to offer. The main building, in which most of the rooms are lokated, has apparently not been renovated since its construction. Despite this, a new complex has been added to the main building, which offers spacious rooms with nice views. However, when we stayed at the resort, the showers in the new rooms did not work. Nobody of the - not too friendly - staff informed us about this problem when we checked in. We only learned about it when we arrived in our room: on the shower, there was a large sign "out of order". When we returned to the front desk to complain about this, we were told that the showers would not be fixed during our stay, and that we could take showers in the bath tub (unfortunately, without shower curtain and holder for the shower!). After a few days, we were kindly moved to a shared pool room in the old part of the main building.

With half board, we had breakast and dinner in the restaurant located in the main building. This restaurant offers a "family area", which is an unpleasant separate room in the back part of the restaurant. Our five month old baby was, of course, not amused by the noise in this room and usually started screaming whenever we entered. It is apparently the management's policy that families with children are not allowed to sit outside this "family area". The tables on the terrasse are "restricted area". Only after heavy complaints of several families, were were once given a table for dinner outside. In general, service in the restaurant was always unattentive and unfriendly.

From the main building, the beach is a five minute walk with many stairs - thus not accessible with a stroller. The beach front is far from the luxurious cosy place the hotel pictures are suggesting. The old (and rotten) metal (not wooden) sunbeds are standing one on one and leave little space for privacy. And don't get hungry at the beach - the beach restaurant offers "snacks", such as club sandwich for EUR 18 (!), or a greek salad (a few slices of tomate, some lettuce, olives and feta cheese) for EUR 15. A total rip off. The beach restaurant also offers dinner, which is very pleasant, although overpriced . For half board guests, there is a EUR 10 discount per person.

The resort offers child care, the so-called "Childrens' arch", which we did not use, because our baby was too young. It is located in a separate building, again quite a far walk from the main building, and is built next to the hotel's cesspool.

All in all, this is neither a five star hotel nor a famliy friendly resort. We were extremely disappointed and would not return. Although our opinion is certainly an individual impression, it is obviously shared by many guests - the guest book placed on the front desk contained many serious complaints by guests from all over the world.
Management Response from Fotis_Kokotos
We are all very distraught that the experience of Marcopolo_06 at our resort in September 2006 was not satisfactory in some respects. However, we must point out to a number of misrepresentations that Marcopolo_06 has - probably inadvertently – made, so as to establish the truth.

The assertion that the resort “has not been renovated since its construction” is simply wrong. The building Marcopolo_06 was moved to from the brand new wing (where the shower was out of order due to a leak) was extensively renovated in 2004, the year of the Olympic Games. The cost of the renovation was upwards of 10million Euro for just 110 rooms. All relevant data is available and photographic evidence is abundant.

Another assertion that is wrong is that the Children’s Ark (not “arch”) is next to the hotel’s cesspool. To begin with, there are no cesspools in the hotel, but a fully functional tertiary wastewater treatment plant that is located very far from the children’s area. What Marcopolo_06 was probably referring to was the Children’s Waterpark, which was under construction and fenced off to the public.

Regarding the children’s area at the restaurant, we must point out that this area serves to protect our guests who want to eat in peace, without the noise created by small children. Parents who bring small children and babies to a place where other people want to relax must recognise that their young ones might annoy the public. If you bring your crying baby to a busy restaurant, then you must also take your responsibilities. We have created the children’s area to give parents the option to do so without having to miss their meal. We thought this would please everyone, and especially those guests who benefit from the relaxing environment.

Regarding the comments about the beach, we are very happy to inform all TripAdvisor users that we were aware of the capacity problem and have responded with the construction of two brand new beaches on either side of the current beach. These beaches will be available to hotel guests as of April 2007. The new beaches will be equipped just as the beach photographs on the website show. Nevertheless, we have never suggested that our beaches are not busy places, as European beaches normally are. This is why we have 91 private swimming pools in the resort! You go to the beach for a “beach scene” and you stay at your private pool if you want to be alone.

We were also surprised that Marcopolo_06 chose not to write about the brand new Six Senses Spa which was right next to their original accommodation. This world-class facility has been praised by specialist and journalist, as well as many TripAdvisor members, and we cannot understand why it was not mentioned.

Even more so, we have been hard pressed to find the negative comments mentioned by Marcopolo_06 as being written in our guestbook. Our general manager went through every page at the end of the season trying to find if there was any negative comment to report and to write to guests about, and he came up with just two (!) instances. These were both issues that we addressed and ameliorated. Finally, regarding the issue of food costs at our resort, we are in the process of reviewing our pricing policy at all food and beverage outlets and will certainly take Marcopolo_06’s comments into account.

We thank you for having read our response.

Mediocre: 5-star wannabe, and certainly not Greek

from BostonStephanie
We had a room with private access to a share pool, which was nice. The view was wonderful. This property, however, tries too hard, and falls short in the details that would really make it a 5-star. The bathroom, while large, had a terrible odor coming from the drains. We were unable to reach housekeeping for ironing service, getting only the voice mail on every attempt. The dress codes are rather extensive for a beach property, and the beach is miniscule. I would recommend the Porto Elounda for a family vacation, as there are many theme nights and organized activities.
Management Response from Fotis_Kokotos
The ownership and management of the hotel are saddened by the fact that our guests were not fully satisfied from their stay at the hotel. However, we are also glad they pointed out some things that make the Porto Elounda special, like the wonderful view, the large bathrooms, and the fact that it’s a perfect family holiday destination. We greatly regret the odour issue from the drains and we have taken extensive action to eliminate engineering problems at the hotel. We are sorry that housekeeping could not be reached on the pre-programmed telephone number in the room, as this was due to a software glitch in the phone system that we have since fixed. We must point out though that it would have been advisable to route the ironing request through the concierge service, who would have made sure that our guests receive what they are looking for. Regarding the size of the beach, we are very happy to inform BostonStephanie and all other TripAdvisor users that we are constructing two new beaches at the resort that will be available to our guests as of April 2007, thus essentially tripling the size of the beach. Finally, we often find it necessary to explain to our American guests that cultural and ethical considerations in a hotel that lies in southwestern Europe are different to those in North America. For example, our Saudi Arabian guests would not take lunch at our restaurants if a lady comes to a table in her bikini and our French guests would dislike a gentleman appearing for dinner in shorts and t-shirt. It is a fine balance that we have to strike and it is not always easy. We are certain that our guests will understand this.
Management Response from Fotis_Kokotos
The ownership and management of the hotel are saddened by the fact that our guests were not fully satisfied from their stay at the hotel. However, we are also glad they pointed out some things that make the Porto Elounda special, like the wonderful view, the large bathrooms, and the fact that it’s a perfect family holiday destination. We greatly regret the odour issue from the drains and we have taken extensive action to eliminate engineering problems at the hotel. We are sorry that housekeeping could not be reached on the pre-programmed telephone number in the room, as this was due to a software glitch in the phone system that we have since fixed. We must point out though that it would have been advisable to route the ironing request through the concierge service, who would have made sure that our guests receive what they are looking for. Regarding the size of the beach, we are very happy to inform BostonStephanie and all other TripAdvisor users that we are constructing two new beaches at the resort that will be available to our guests as of April 2007, thus essentially tripling the size of the beach. Finally, we often find it necessary to explain to our American guests that cultural and ethical considerations in a hotel that lies in southwestern Europe are different to those in North America. For example, our Saudi Arabian guests would not take lunch at our restaurants if a lady comes to a table in her bikini and our French guests would dislike a gentleman appearing for dinner in shorts and t-shirt. It is a fine balance that we have to strike and it is not always easy. We are certain that our guests will understand this.

This is not a 5-star De Luxe Resort....

from MetaBaron
Whilst we didn't have a bad holiday, can I honestly say that paying €700/night (incl local taxes etc) was worth it? Most probably not. If this hotel wants to consider itself a 5-star deluxe resort then a lot more attention has to be paid to the details. I'll start with the positives...

Positives:
Six senses spa excellent, probably the most relaxing I've been to.
Excellent location and view (we had a waterfront bungalow)
Quality of food (lunches and dinners) very good

Negatives:
Breakfast monotonous
First few days our sheets didn't even fit the beds!
Laundry took 3 days!
Golf buggy delivering bags had a squeeky wheel and kept waking us up at night.
No broadband wi-fi in room despite being specifically told it'd be there.
Had to make three requests for additional pillows before they arrived
Furnishings more akin to a 3-4 star hotel
sun loungers were rarely tidied up and were a mess each morning
Parasols too low. Everybody kept banging their heads of the fixed sunshades.
Service at lunch too slow
Service at dinner too hectic
€4.40 for a cup of lukewarm filter coffee at beach bar too expensive, but I had be prepared by reading trip advisor before that the hotel wasn't cheap.
Many of the staff's level of English was appalling and it was difficult to communicate
Waterfront bungalows are NOT suitable for families. Get a one-bedroom suite.


Each of the items may be individually small but add them up and you don't get a 5-Star resort.
Management Response from Fotis_Kokotos
The ownership and management of the resort would like to thank MetaBaron for the criticism and for the important points made, as well as pointing out some of the details that make the Porto Elounda such a great vacation resort: the Six Senses Spa, the location and view, and the quality of the food. Naturally, we have also carefully read the negative comments and will make amends as need be. We are already in the process of reviewing all service procedures with our new general manager, while also addressing our engineering services to ensure that there are no glitches at all. The breakfast buffet will be further enriched, there will be new electric vehicles, the waterfront bungalows are being upgraded with additional furnishing and equipment, and our food and beverage policies are also being reviewed. We must say, though, that this is the first instance we receive a negative comment on the staff’s level of English which had never been an issue with any guest. Also, our broadband wi-fi has been operational for the last three years – the first wireless service in Elounda. However, our IT officer often has to adjust our guests’ wi-fi settings and this might have been the case with MetaBaron’s laptop. Finally, we need to point out that August is always the peak season here, with demand skyrocketing to the point where we have to turn away hundreds of requests. Prices are to a great extent determined by demand and supply, as in any market situation, and one cannot complain about that as one cannot complain about paying high rates when booking for – say – New Year’s eve.

Wonderful Family Resort

from A TripAdvisor Member
My husband, three young sons and I just returned from a great vacation at the Porto Elounda hotel. While it may not be obvious from travel brochures or agent descriptions, the three hotels consisting of the Porto Elounda, Peninsula and Elounda Mare are all co-owned and share facilities (such as the golf course). The Porto Elounda is the flagship where the spa and golf course are located. As some reviews mention, this will be a brief walk from the other hotels, but as most of the guests are quite fit, I am surprised that anyone would complain. Knowing that the three hotels share facilities perhaps should be some help for travellers deciding which hotel to stay at. Porto Elounda was very popular with families with very young children, while families with slightly older children stayed at the all suite Peninsula. I will make the deduction that couples wanting a romantic holiday without the bustle and inevitable noise children make stay at the Elounda Mare. The beach side pool area was wonderful and conveniently has two restuarants located there. While the food was good, I have to confess that the dinner buffet got old after a few days. The lunch menu also did not change or have daily specials. Nevertheless, the setting was spectacular, the guests dignified and relaxed and the weather perfect.

Our children went to the extremely well thought out Children's Ark for half a day. While these facilities were wonderful, including an excellent playground and swimming pool, my older children (aged 5 and 8) were fairly bored. Probably the structured environment or lack of sophisticated toys (i.e. Playstation) contributed. My three year old loved his time there.

I would not rate the Porto Elounda as a mind boggling, take-your-breath away experience, but we all had a wonderful relaxing family holiday and would definitely consider going back.

whats the big deal

from A TripAdvisor Member
We stayed at this Hotel for one week in September,and found the Hotel to be very comfortable and because of the time of year there was no problem regarding sun beds on the beach.However when the new extension opens I imagine this will not be the case.The drinks were wildly expensive and the bar service very poor.
We paid cash for most of our extras,and had a small account due at the end of our stay,we tipped on a regular basis.The night before we left we recieved a call from reception asking what time would we like the porter to collect our luggage?The next morning we settled said invoice for amount owed no more no less.
SUITCASES WERE NOT COLLECTED AS ARRANGED!5 STAR TREATMENT?
Management Response from Fotis_Kokotos
The ownership and management of the hotel regret the fact that one minor timing incident at the end of our guests’ stay spoiled the overall experience, but we must point out some erroneous assertions made in the review. Most importantly, although the hotel’s new “spa wing” is now fully opened, there is no congestion on the beach because we have also built two new private sandy beaches on either side of the existing one! Moreover, we cannot be certain which bar our guests were referring to in their review, as we have many bars in the resort, but we have generally received very good comments about the service. Nevertheless, we are in the process of reviewing all service procedures with our new general manager and we will certainly take this comment into account. The pricing of the drinks is an issue that some guests mention while others do not, but we are nevertheless reviewing that too. Finally, we must point out the fact that we have made great improvements to the resort like adding a fantastic Six Senses Spa in 2006. We continue to add and improve on every front, and we can assure our guests that they will continue to be amazed at our resort.

Top Local Tips for Crete

Summer Best season is summer by far. Sea is the main attraction for summer freaks.

Super relaxing wk excellent opportunity to get away

Transfers The hotel will sort out transfers from Heraklion

(hotels)loading

Other names for Hotel Porto Elounda Resort Elounda

  • porto elounda deluxe hotel
  • Address: Elounda - Crete - 720 53 - Greece
Travel Library Traveller Rating?
9.0/10

See All 209 reviews

Review this Hotel
Candid Traveller Photos
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
  •  Loading Image...
(hotels)loading

Hotels Near Hotel Porto Elounda Resort Elounda